LYN PROTON IRIZ OWNER THREAD V9, Fun, meet feisty.

Helldiver
post Apr 21 2019, 08:44 PM

460 posts

Did anyone try the new Proton Iriz yet? Test drove it at the Malaysia Autoshow last week. Some things I took note:

1) The buttons are all very tactile and solid, except the light-stalk, which felt damn flimsy.
2) Black ceiling really makes the driving experience feel very "focused".
3) Car is incredibly quiet when you're driving normally/cruising.

Unfortunately during the test-drive, I accelerated and the CVT is really damn noisy sweat.gif It's damn loud wei
Helldiver
post Apr 22 2019, 10:08 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(herpderp9394 @ Apr 22 2019, 07:46 AM)
Thanks for the feedback man!
What about the acceleration? Is there any laggy-ness when you pressed on the pedal? The existing version may take abot 0.5 second to respond to the throttle after you stepped on the pedal
I didn't pay much attention to the acceleration, but from memory, it felt very much like a normal response - something I felt like in the Honda CR-V.

Handling is amazing, but the CVT's noise really turned me off. My Saga BLM is much quieter sweat.gif I can't imagine what the older Iriz models are like if this is supposed to be "quieter"
Helldiver
post May 15 2019, 08:10 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(sumjit @ May 15 2019, 03:30 PM)
i'll need a few weeks to give a good feedback but back when i was testing both the iriz and myvi back to back i can already say that i'm quite disappointed of the quality of the myvi

Nice car! Curious question: Is the headunit linked to the speedometer's display in anyway?
Helldiver
post Jun 19 2019, 05:43 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(bakry @ Jun 19 2019, 02:00 PM)
test drove myvi..but pusing2 dekat situ je.
then yaris..fella let me drive jauh sikit

maybe this weekend try iriz
How did you find the Yaris? I test drove it and while I'm very impressed with its safety suite, NVH-levels, and the overall package, one thing turned me off from it entirely: The lack of a left foot rest.

It felt really uncomfortable test driving it, I can't imagine living for years with it. Very stupid omission, if you ask me. bangwall.gif
Helldiver
post Oct 7 2019, 09:48 PM

460 posts

Been almost a week since I've had my Iriz 1.6 Premium, thought I'd share some thoughts about the car thus far:

Good stuff:
1) It is really quiet! So much better compared to the first and second generation Iriz's. You'll still hear some droning from the engine and transmission when you lenjan the fella, but it's otherwise okay for normal driving. Gotta get used to a clutch-based transmission.
2) The handling is really top-notch. I cross-shopped this car with the Yaris and Jazz, but I think the Iriz really takes the cake for me. Hitting the backroads with this is just wub.gif
3) Campros have always been pretty punchy, and this one is no different, really gives the Iriz a nice kick in the power delivery.
4) The seats are awesome for me, good support, comfortable, and pretty high quality.
5) I love the steering wheel's design and feel.
6) Super safe car, quite a lot of safety kit that makes you feel secured.

Bad stuff:
1) Those shitty tyres from the factory has got to go! Can't believe how many time VSC has kicked in when I'm taking an exit from the highway shakehead.gif
2) The head-unit is quite buggy. Sound turns on when you reverse, it doesn't remember settings when you turn off the car. Can be rectified with an update from Proton, I think. hmm.gif
3) Not a fan of the reverse camera, the lines are a bit misleading to me.

Helldiver
post Oct 8 2019, 09:33 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 8 2019, 08:30 AM)
welcome to the Silverstone tires world. the worst tires ever.
please get new one once it is bald (take sometime due to high treadware rating this tire) n change to other better brand/model
Already made my mind up to swap it out in the next few months to PS3s brows.gif

QUOTE(Jescon @ Oct 8 2019, 09:02 AM)
1) I'm planning to change to Michelin XM2+. Fitted them on my gf's myvi, and it's quiet. Quietest would be CC6, but I'm not a fan of continentals wet grip (bad experience). With your driving style, seems like PS3 would be a better fit. Lel
2) What settings? Like volume and such? If it's buggy, do a factory reset.
3) I use the reverse camera just to check, especially because my reverse sensor a little slow on the alert.
1) Yeah, I'm going to go for the PS3s soon drool.gif
2) There's a well-known bug that audio would turn on randomly when you move it into reverse. The others are like the FM radio turning on and playing automatically when you start the car. The unit also don't save my settings such as me turning off the touch-tones hmm.gif Anyone else face this issue?

Helldiver
post Oct 8 2019, 02:08 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(ayamxxx @ Oct 8 2019, 12:14 PM)
Why not a ps4? Get better wet traction vs ps3. Currently on ps4 and compared with my previous ps3, the dry is similar but when totally heavy rain, ps4 did not even trigger the vsc/traction control symbol in the meter (accord). But nevertheless the ps3 is miles ahead vs other model.

My iriz still with junk Silverstone tires. Wait to worn it out b4 change.
QUOTE(jesserider223 @ Oct 8 2019, 02:06 PM)
ps4 is very good but size starts from 16 inches wheel though

iriz needs change bigger rims to wear ps4
Yeah, there aren't any PS4s in 15". I'm not looking to upsize either, the 15" size is just right for me - the PS3 prices are quite affordable too. Can get a set of four just under a thousand at some places hmm.gif

Helldiver
post Oct 10 2019, 05:45 PM

460 posts

Been noticing an odd thing with the lights of the car, (1.6P 2019 facelift) - anyone notice the automatic headlights a bit aggressive?

The lights will turn on in an early bright morning or rainy sunshine day. Then the bootlight has also been rather inconsistent, it turns on sometimes, and doesn't turn on sometime. Anyone experience the same thing?
Helldiver
post Oct 10 2019, 06:59 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Jescon @ Oct 10 2019, 06:11 PM)
Yeah, their sensor is bonkers. I'm just turning on/off the lights manually. My SA told me to go to SC to change the sensitivity.

As for the boot light, mine always turns on when I open the boot.
Hitting the first thousand mark soon, guess I'll make sure they check it out... hmm.gif
Helldiver
post Oct 16 2019, 10:00 AM

460 posts

Finally sent car for 1,000KM service! Service was great, Proton really improved a lot.

Sadly, my non-functioning boot-light has to claim warranty - they said it'll take up to 3 weeks (and maybe up to 2 months) for the part to arrive. The electronic switch isn't sending a signal to the light.

Also, they can't adjust the auto-light sensitivity it seems, it's hardwired. Anyone has tried getting Proton to adjust?
Helldiver
post Oct 16 2019, 01:07 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(Jescon @ Oct 16 2019, 10:47 AM)
Dang, so my SA lied to me. She told me can adjust the sensitivity at Proton. Anyway, about 3,000KM more to go for my 10k service, I'll ask them again then.

Lol, 3 weeks to 2 months just get an electronic switch.
Do update us if the sensitivity can be adjusted! But generally the sales people don't know much about the cars lah.
Helldiver
post Oct 17 2019, 08:36 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(wenyiwenyi @ Oct 16 2019, 10:44 PM)
Hi, buying my first car this year
I'm considering Proton Iriz 1.6 exec and Proton Persona 1.6 Exec now.
Any known issues with these two 2019 models from Proton??
I don't have kids and mostly driving the car in city, sometimes outstation for work.

Any advice pls?
They're both excellent choices for driving! If I'm not mistaken, the Iriz 1.6 Exec is a bit sparse in production now due to low demand, apparently.

Never driven the Persona, but the Iriz does very well in city driving cos smol. No issues thus far, but keep few things in mind lah:

1) CVT with clutch is a bit different than the ones in Hondas or Toyota's (torque converters), city driving may require some practice to be smooth.
2) Fuel consumption of both cars in the city isn't the best, but then again most cars aren't that great in traffic (approx. 400km per tank)
3) Outstation/Highway driving, Protons will always be king. Iriz suuuuuper stable hitting speeds and corners above the limits.

Best you go and test drive the cars yourself, but don't lenjan it like the SAs will tell you to. Try the slow driving, from stop etc.

Helldiver
post Oct 22 2019, 12:44 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(yadea @ Oct 22 2019, 11:53 AM)
Proton brakes tend to be spongy. Light presses hardly have any feeling for comfort. Only deeper presses then can feel the braking.
I experienced this at the start too, but it's either I'm getting used to it or that first spongy half of brake travel has dissipated... I have to say, it's not really bothersome at this point hmm.gif It's not affecting my drive that badly - took the car to tougeh also okay only bruce.gif
Helldiver
post Oct 23 2019, 12:43 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(hdd-corrupted @ Oct 23 2019, 11:04 AM)
guys,

my iriz got problem the auto headlight continue to turn on even when i switch off engine.

so all the time headlight is on. now when i park if have to pull out the battery connector

anyone encouter this before? thanks
What year and spec? Could it be the "Follow Me Home" feature - where the lights stay on after you shut off the engine for safety purposes?
Helldiver
post Oct 29 2019, 07:12 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Oct 27 2019, 01:06 AM)
The sponge for the bolster on both my front seats are becoming very thin now, can feel something sharp poking through. If this goes on, I think the fabric will be torn.
Can take to any car seat shop to fill up with foam. It cost me about RM80 for my Saga BLM's side bolsters last time smile.gif
Helldiver
post Oct 31 2019, 10:49 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Entrux @ Oct 30 2019, 03:43 PM)
Hi smile.gif

Was wondering if anyone knows how to use your own customized wallpaper on the 1.6 Premium 2019 version.

Can't seem to find an option to use other wallpapers other than the built in ones.

Many thanks in advance!
You cannot do this with the GKUI headunit, only with the simpler ones on the lower specs (1.6 Exec and below). But it's not a great headunit anyway, I'm planning to change it out next year. puke.gif

This post has been edited by Helldiver: Oct 31 2019, 10:49 AM
Helldiver
post Oct 31 2019, 11:10 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(Entrux @ Oct 31 2019, 10:57 AM)
Ahhh, thanks for the insight! (So frustrating, everything else is 10/10, ok, maybe except for the stock tyres).

Mind sharing which headunit you're thinking of changing it to? tongue.gif
Can't have everything tongue.gif I'm looking into getting a headunit from Sony or Kenwood with Android Auto, but can be a bit costly, so gonna wait till the next year
Helldiver
post Oct 31 2019, 08:14 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(killer_mistake @ Oct 31 2019, 02:02 PM)
How about android 10" player? seems good bargain. RM1500 all in

thanks rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
I personally stay away from those types of Android players lah, they're not exactly built for cars and they're just a thinly skinned version of unoptimized Android in a headunit form sweat.gif

Helldiver
post Nov 3 2019, 01:06 PM

460 posts

QUOTE(danielcmugen @ Nov 3 2019, 02:12 AM)
I see, thanks. Can I have the shop name? I got quoted RM160 per seat from the shop I asked sad.gif
Where's your location tho? The one I did is in Kajang hmm.gif
Helldiver
post Nov 4 2019, 09:54 AM

460 posts

QUOTE(EremesGuile @ Nov 3 2019, 06:46 PM)
Hi guys. I'm thinking of buying 2nd hand Iriz. Saw some Iriz price starts from 20k for year 2015 and above. Quite attractive for a car like this. Maybe can please give me some insight and opinion on the latest condition of your car? Worth it or not?
You should get the manual 1.6 for previous models if you can find one! rclxms.gif

0.0278sec    0.44    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 01:30 AM