KIA Spectra 1.6 (AT) Owner Thread, ...it's never too late to start

gimcrack
post Dec 5 2013, 07:55 AM

QUOTE(sjz @ Dec 4 2013, 05:14 PM)
oh...
because the user manual of my car state if ABS+handbrake light 2gether = EBD problem..
my car is a Kia Rio JB btw...
haha...

when the speed sensor having some problem...
better take care a bit while driving lo...
esp dun do emergency brake...
coz my case oso same wif u, ABS warning light sometimes on sometimes off...

but the speed sensor dun function normally...
so 1 time i wan to do brake, just normal braking, while the ABS warning is off and ABS is functioning..
the speed sensor i think send wrong info to the ECU (maybe send info that i do hard braking) and the ABS suddenly activates, causes me almost fail to brake..
as ABS wrongly regulating my tyre braking (ABS system thinks they are doing the right thing based on the wrong signal send to them by ABS wheel speed sensor)...

mine is FR wheel sensor problem.. wink.gif..
i at first oso feel don't like changing such small sensor for RM350++!!
but since that incident, i immediately go change the speed sensor...
Thanks for the input.

What year is your RIO?

How did they diagnose and isolate that the issue is the Front Right sensor is the issue? Did you try to change the cables to the sensor first?

What was the exact error did you got if you use the computer tool to diagnose it?

I don't feel any issue on breaking for now. sweat.gif
ben_online
post Dec 15 2013, 06:01 PM

Hi Guys,

It was great to find this thread, love all the support from the contributors.

I am planning to get the Kia Novus:
-less than 60k mileage
-price RM12,800

http://www.mudah.my/Kia+Spectra+1+6+AT+NOV...ER-24636647.htm

Appreciate your comments on this, in terms of price and technical aspects.

This car is mainly to be used to commute to and back from work - I live in Seri Kembangan and working in Damansara. I can escape the jam as I am working 7am to 4pm.

Thanks guys.

Cheers!
gimcrack
post Dec 21 2013, 10:55 AM

QUOTE(ben_online @ Dec 15 2013, 06:01 PM)
Hi Guys,

It was great to find this thread, love all the support from the contributors.

I am planning to get the Kia Novus:
-less than 60k mileage
-price RM12,800

http://www.mudah.my/Kia+Spectra+1+6+AT+NOV...ER-24636647.htm

Appreciate your comments on this, in terms of price and technical aspects.

This car is mainly to be used to commute to and back from work - I live in Seri Kembangan and working in Damansara. I can escape the jam as I am working 7am to 4pm.

Thanks guys.

Cheers!
KIA Spectra is good. Its spacious for big guys like me. Only issue is the part replacement for expensive than the usual since its not a local car.

The car that you saw, grill on the dash board is still okay, which is rare for a KIA Spectra. hehehe.

Usual problem with KIA Spectra is the transmission so better check for any leaks or jerkiness when it change shift specially from the first gear to 2nd on slow speed running 2000RPM onwards and engine eating oil.

The lights from the gear for the transmission in the dashboard is another issue. So check on that as well. Its always rosak. For that age of a car better check the alternator as well.

So bottom line is, you can buy the KIA Spectra as cheap as it goes but if your planning to hold it for more than a 2-3 years make sure you have a deep pocket so spend on it for maintenance / parts replacement.

================================

For my update for my KIA Spectra 04 AT

It's in the shop right now, got my alternator replace since its not charging the battery any more. Just got a Bnew OEM Part mechanic says its 90AMP. Not sure what brand and where its made but he assure me its not from China. I just ask him to get a photo of the part that he will replace before he put it since I'm here in the office right now.

Hopefully the weirdness of the electrical should be out after he replace it. Like ABS and Handbreak light will lit and goes out, back sensor not working if other electricals are open like aircon, headlights or car radio. icon_idea.gif

Will keep you posted guys. smile.gif

nazlizainuddin
post Dec 29 2013, 12:55 AM

39 posts

QUOTE(madstone @ Oct 18 2013, 12:33 PM)
SOLD my KIA Spectra last year for RM7K after changed the gear box. sad.gif
what year was ur kia spectra? how much u bought recond gear box?
im spectra owner since 2006
recently noticed the transmission is not so smooth, but no typical symptom like what hv been described in this thread
scared of gear box problem, new gear box cost about RM 24000 shocking.gif
so i was thinking to swap with manual gear box
anyone has experienced with manual gear box in spectra?
sjz
post Dec 29 2013, 10:53 AM

3,879 posts

QUOTE(gimcrack @ Dec 5 2013, 07:55 AM)
Thanks for the input.

What year is your RIO?

How did they diagnose and isolate that the issue is the Front Right sensor is the issue? Did you try to change the cables to the sensor first?

What was the exact error did you got if you use the computer tool to diagnose it?

I don't feel any issue on breaking for now.  sweat.gif
my Rio is year 2007...
the SC people just connect the diagnose device to the car ECU while the ABS warning light is thee and there it comes the error code...
they did check the wire for an hour as according to them initially error code is electrical problem..

ILoveXperia
post Feb 9 2014, 07:33 PM

201 posts

Hi kia user, my dad kia spectra 1.6auto 2005 enjin block crack. So now its in the workshop. Do u guys have any contact for me to get a new or 2nd hand enjin block for this car. Am staying at cheras. But the car at sabah..
danielcmugen
post Feb 9 2014, 10:42 PM

5,538 posts

QUOTE(gimcrack @ Dec 21 2013, 10:55 AM)
part replacement for expensive than the usual since its not a local car.

Will keep you posted guys.  smile.gif
Expensive but is it hard to find? I'm not sure about Spectra, but someone told me that Sephia parts are expensive and hard to find....so need to order and wait awhile for the parts to arrive. unsure.gif How's your experience so far with parts?
megat89
post Feb 9 2014, 11:02 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(ILoveXperia @ Feb 9 2014, 07:33 PM)
Hi kia user, my dad kia spectra 1.6auto 2005 enjin block crack. So now its in the workshop. Do u guys have any contact for me to get a new or 2nd hand enjin block for this car. Am staying at cheras. But the car at sabah..
Try express mobis at jln segambut..
ILoveXperia
post Feb 10 2014, 06:36 AM

201 posts

QUOTE(megat89 @ Feb 9 2014, 11:02 PM)
Try express mobis at jln segambut..
Do u have the shop contact nmbr? Thankyou very much.. Any idea what the price may be?
megat89
post Feb 10 2014, 07:18 PM

278 posts

QUOTE(ILoveXperia @ Feb 10 2014, 06:36 AM)
Do u have the shop contact nmbr? Thankyou very much.. Any idea what the price may be?
No idea how much the price..
egneus
post Apr 12 2014, 07:25 PM

22 posts

Hi, i'm new in this thread.
Can a Spectra able to use Forte's steering wheel? i'm intend to change the steering wheel. Looks nicer. :-)
marczeman2
post May 2 2014, 05:08 AM

177 posts

The major problem with a Spectra is its high FC so what if I buy one that has been converted to NGV? Good idea?
TSmadstone
post May 2 2014, 03:20 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(marczeman2 @ May 2 2014, 05:08 AM)
The major problem with a Spectra is its high FC so what if I buy one that has been converted to NGV? Good idea?
Just try it

My sold my Spectra for cheap price after changed the gearbox which cost me RM3k
The new owner like the car very much. No problem so far he said. unsure.gif whistling.gif

jeff1090
post Dec 6 2014, 01:17 AM

138 posts

Dad just bought a Spectra 1.6 (A) from his Bro for 6k, Planning to install NGV, worth it guys?
TSmadstone
post Dec 11 2014, 10:35 AM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(jeff1090 @ Dec 6 2014, 01:17 AM)
Dad just bought a Spectra 1.6 (A) from his Bro for 6k, Planning to install NGV, worth it guys?
From my POV, might as well stick to petrol bro beacuse in my experience, Spectra is the most fuel save car in it's class.

Better stick to normal petrol & try use Ron97.

I felt regret that i've sold my Spectra. The current owner is so satisfied with the car.

cry.gif

jeff1090
post Dec 12 2014, 08:58 AM

138 posts

Walao I just noticed the price of 97 and 95 20sens saja....wtffff. Spectra save fuel meh?? The one my dad bought, i drive for few days d....like no horsepower like that....press pedal quite hard only go fast.....like dragging.....but then press hard on pedal=fuel makan banyak no?
Crazyfool
post Dec 20 2014, 11:33 PM

148 posts

hi all.. i want to get a kia spectra 2003 - 2005 with price around 7k. see many in mudah.. its seems cheap and at least seems better than getting second hand kancil or proton.. most of the car still look quite ok .. but dont know will have many issue or not after brought.. any comment?
TSmadstone
post Dec 21 2014, 03:57 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Crazyfool @ Dec 20 2014, 11:33 PM)
hi all.. i want to get a kia spectra 2003 - 2005 with price around 7k. see many in mudah.. its seems cheap and at least seems better than getting second hand kancil or proton.. most of the car still look quite ok .. but dont know will have many issue or not after brought.. any comment?

Bro, make sure it's the leather seat, full leather, not the half leather seat Spectra. The 2001,2002 model arebthe good one with full leather.

I just sold mine for rm5k only. Now regret becaise the condition is awesome plus new gear box somemore.
TSmadstone
post Dec 21 2014, 03:58 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(Crazyfool @ Dec 20 2014, 11:33 PM)

Bro, make sure it's the leather seat, full leather, not the half leather seat Spectra. The 2001,2002 model arebthe good one with full leather.

I just sold mine for rm5k only. Now regret becaise the condition is awesome plus new gear box somemore.
TSmadstone
post Dec 21 2014, 04:00 PM

BUY 1st REGRET LATER
3,042 posts

QUOTE(jeff1090 @ Dec 12 2014, 08:58 AM)
Walao I just noticed the price of 97 and 95 20sens saja....wtffff. Spectra save fuel meh?? The one my dad bought, i drive for few days d....like no horsepower like that....press pedal quite hard only go fast.....like dragging.....but then press hard on pedal=fuel makan banyak no?
Try fill with ron97 or try shell v-power racing. A bit high but try fill it around 2,3 weeks and younwill know the difference.

Lot of my friends noticed the change after fill with ron97 or shell v-power advanced.

20 Pages « < 15 16 17 18 19 > » Top

0.0315sec    1.36    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 10:14 AM