Astro Version 13A, All about Astro Malaysia offerings

DValentine
post Jul 5 2019, 12:01 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Jul 5 2019, 12:01 AM)
In some extent, good also la... I hope Media Prima, especially its TV channels to improve its content offerings to viewers, as well as making it a platform where many Malaysians would want to watch their TV channels again in the future, just like the good old days....  biggrin.gif
how media prima going to compete

nowadays habit of watching dramas has changed,

ppl wont follow the linear time anymore

linear channel can only act as introductory platform for programs only,

if the viewers like the drama, they can watch online ahead of linear channel

and tonton nowadays no more dedicated server anymore, they just upload to youtube only
DValentine
post Dec 6 2019, 02:14 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Dec 6 2019, 12:35 PM)
Tqvm 4kind reply/suggestions. 👍
It's Ch332 and prg is The Sound of Happiness...
Will chk it out if available On Demand...
Hv a nice day & wkend ahead... 💕❤️✌️
yes that title is available on demand
DValentine
post Dec 6 2019, 03:09 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Dec 6 2019, 03:00 PM)
Hi... Many thks... smile.gif
Is there a specific On Demand menu item for Ultra Home Screen?
Pls guide me how 2access the On Demand items.
If there's no such special menu item, can it be created?
Tqvm in adv.
i assume ultra box same as AG menu
DValentine
post Dec 6 2019, 03:38 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(zeone @ Dec 6 2019, 03:29 PM)
Hi again...with thks... 😀
Yes...me juz chked. 👍
However, the added chosen subtitle eg BM (we kenot read Mandarin.. 🤔😅) is very clear!!
The chosen subtitle is displayed on a black background!! 😀😀
So the Ori subtitle does not obstruct reading...
But that does not happen on TV with the Ultra STB... sad.gif

Btw there's also no specific On Demand menu item on Astro Go...
I cld get 2watch the prg via Continue Watching ...
yes new ultra stb does not have black background

guessed the black background is not supported on the ultra box stb software

so the old stb does have some great feature which ultra box cannot replicate

This post has been edited by DValentine: Dec 6 2019, 03:38 PM
DValentine
post Dec 30 2019, 03:11 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Dec 30 2019, 12:02 AM)
As always, all kind of people also have....

This lady thinks that IT movie has clown, so she thought this movie is something for the whole family to enjoy.
She should do more research before renting movies from Astro, instead of putting the blame on Astro of showing a rated 18 movie.  shakehead.gif
ppl oledi said the dish is pedas giler, tis lady mati mati nak makan

lepas makan curse dahell spicy, u should stopped me beforehand
DValentine
post Jan 17 2020, 10:58 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jan 17 2020, 10:50 AM)
Hits Movies delayed 1 hour from regional schedule.
censor la apalagi
DValentine
post Feb 4 2020, 08:43 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Fazrien97 @ Feb 2 2020, 05:07 PM)
There is some "khabar angin" from indonesia that tvN and tvN movies will be focusing on streaming. Meanwhile they are losing SBS content for pay tv segment previously air in SBS IN channel as the channel provider are toward online segment. (Meanwhile in malaysia the SBS content still secured by one tv asia)
FYI AXN, ONEHD, ANIMAX already acquired by KC media as sony already exit asia linear channel market (excluding india market)

This post has been edited by DValentine: Feb 4 2020, 08:50 PM
DValentine
post Feb 5 2020, 12:14 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(JuneResources @ Feb 5 2020, 11:59 AM)
What about GEM HD, is it also the same?

no mention i think tarak sold yet la

GEM only in thai right

GEM is jv between Nippon TV and sony

if wan to sell also problem la
u have to get japan counterpart approve 1st

This post has been edited by DValentine: Feb 5 2020, 12:16 PM
DValentine
post Mar 23 2020, 11:36 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Mr Loh A+ @ Mar 23 2020, 07:24 PM)
Sony has stopped licensing its movies to HBO Asia and FOX Movies, but they distribute the first-run movies to Netflix Malaysia. There's rumour out there claiming that Sony will launch its own movie channel in Asia.
wat? source from?

Sony Pictures Television already sold ONE, AXN, ANIMAX, GEM to KC global media
and Sony channel ceased broadcast June last year

I'm highly in doubt with your "sources"
linear channel is dying business, who else want to enter this anymore...

This post has been edited by DValentine: Mar 23 2020, 11:41 PM
DValentine
post Mar 25 2020, 02:46 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(joshhd @ Mar 25 2020, 02:29 PM)
Okay, okay....
According to our PM that recommends us watching HBO, now the movement control order (MCO, or partial lockdown) will be extended for another 2 weeks, until 14 April 2020.

I wonder would Astro also extends their complimentary viewing of all movies, news channels and free access to Astro Go to non-Astro customers until that date as well?
Also, what happens to those who facing difficulties on either their satellite dish misalignment or faulty Astro box? Technician can't be assigned until the MCO period is over...
If worst case scenario, especially those elderly people's homes where Astro is their primary method of entertainment, that's like almost 1 month of no Astro to watch.  rclxub.gif

Astro Go? If that person's home does not have Internet connection? Not familiar with using Astro Go? Finish la like that....  blink.gif
aiyo kesian la those not tech savvy elderly
DValentine
post Mar 25 2020, 02:49 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Mr Loh A+ @ Mar 24 2020, 12:42 PM)
Well, I have used the word "rumour" to refer to the source. I saw it on Astro Facebook page a few months ago (before Sony sells the channels to KC). Since Netflix distributes the first-run Sony movies in Malaysia and the subscription base is high, I don't think Sony will launch a linear channel in Asia. But that doesn't mean Sony won't launch SVOD channel in Asia (like BBC First).
QUOTE(fandom96 @ Mar 24 2020, 02:32 PM)
Maybe Sony decide to promote its own contents on their own streaming services - Sony Crackle. That explains why they stop licensing their contents to HBO or FOX Movies.
wait hold the horses

last night i watched the amazing spiderman on fox movies
DValentine
post Apr 8 2020, 02:05 PM

773 posts

nagging for censorship

mehhhh

1st day in marehsia izzit? u broadcast dekat marehsia have to comply to the country's law la

"u dont like just keluar la"- by some minister who said it

mehhhhhh

think from other's view as well la dont just be selfish

I can't stand seeing someone who act like taikor aka big brother aka encyclopedia who knows it all,

tak sabar sabar nak naggg

This post has been edited by DValentine: Apr 8 2020, 02:08 PM
DValentine
post Jun 1 2020, 03:10 AM

773 posts

QUOTE(linkinstreet @ May 31 2020, 11:47 PM)
I am waiting for Gem just to watch latest J Drama lol.
QUOTE(Qash-M @ May 31 2020, 11:52 PM)
Same, and still waiting #719 to get direct HD upgrade.
japan drama no laku la

malaysia kdrama laku je

thats why u see One still standing strong
DValentine
post Jun 4 2020, 10:53 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(khainiz94 @ Jun 4 2020, 06:39 PM)
This is bad news.
Since Disney controls most of the channels in Asian Pay TV networks, they are capable to do anything they want.
They are controlling all FOX properties which includes Fox Sports, FOX Movies, FOX life, FOX, FOX Crime, tvN, Nat Geo, FX, babyTV, Star Chinese Channels plus with Disney Channel, Disney Jr, Disney XD.
Damn they control almost all of our media content on our Pay TV.
There is a possibility that the contract negotiations have failed during Disney Channel negotiations which all of these channels might be removed from Singapore Pay TV services.
If this happens, sure all people will be pissed.
err i think you konfius liao

FOX sports was a part of disney-FOX deal

disney sold it to sinclair broadcast group due to DOJ ruling must be sold to 3rd party

This post has been edited by DValentine: Jun 4 2020, 11:00 PM
DValentine
post Jun 11 2020, 07:18 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ Jun 10 2020, 08:14 PM)
Ya I was expecting the content to be a lot more. Popular mandarin drama like Qing Yu Nian, Lang Ya Bang or TV shows like Wang Pai etc.

Difficult to search as in the 'show' are not very well categorized. Variety shows, drama, news, documentary all grouped together. The search function also not easy to search for mandarin shows, their English name in Astro sometimes not same with what I find in Google.

Also just happened to me, my ultrabox suddenly switched off by itself and unable to switch on again for like 15 mins.
Qing Yu Nian, Wang Pai rights acquired by FTA tv liao

aiya just subscribe iQiYi app la laugh.gif laugh.gif since both titles in iQiYi hands

if want more subscribe youku, tencent video

This post has been edited by DValentine: Jun 11 2020, 07:22 PM
DValentine
post Jun 11 2020, 10:21 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ Jun 11 2020, 10:12 PM)
Astro has partnership with iQiYi right? I was thinking they might have most if not all iQiYi shows in AOD haha...

I prefer not to subscribe to multiple providers, was hoping Astro and their AOD to be my all-in-one solution for tv entertainment.
i guess on the new show only

and they acquired selected high ratings only since they got limited slot and scheduling
if you want to see other show not selected, just got iQiYi app la, they got the netflix subscription model
DValentine
post Jun 11 2020, 11:54 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ Jun 11 2020, 11:29 PM)
Hmm so the only way to watch on TV is to use the app and cast it to smart TV?

Any reason why Astro doesn't just port over the content (or just a link) into their own library? Since the app is also co-launched by Astro. Even if they require to pay the same amount of iQiYi subscription fee just to get the contents I would.

Reason I ask is because usually my parents or wife are the one who watch and look for those shows. They're not very good with tech stuff. It's better to have just 1 control for every shows/dramas/movies/news.
acquring rights need money

iQiYi app owned by iQiYi itself
if you wan to port over all library, you have to pay la

and have to check the rights also
since some already acquired by FTA TV
rights kenot be stacked
DValentine
post Jun 12 2020, 11:52 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Xenopher @ Jun 12 2020, 11:07 AM)
I see. Thanks for sharing Dvalentine and joshhd.

Didn't know TV rights cannot be stacked. I always thought any broadcaster can purchase rights from any content providers.
usually rights acquired for a period of time only

regarding the stack issue, if u pay for exclusive rights it cost more, others cannot get it
it depends on the deal between content provider and the buyer
DValentine
post Jun 18 2020, 04:25 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 18 2020, 09:28 AM)
2 more commie channels getting yeeted soon. rclxm9.gif
QUOTE(eduardo2020 @ Jun 18 2020, 12:25 PM)
TVBS News HD coming soon on Astro
Replacement for PHOENIX & PHOENIX INFO NEWS Channel
QUOTE(nexona88 @ Jun 18 2020, 01:37 PM)
removed 2, give 1 back?  laugh.gif

best strategy by astro  bruce.gif

at least it's HD which good news tongue.gif
QUOTE(joshhd @ Jun 18 2020, 02:37 PM)
Roughly when would TVBS News launch on Astro?

Besides TVBS News, is there any other channels?
hahaha there go commies but come a light commies
DValentine
post Jun 18 2020, 08:32 PM

773 posts

QUOTE(fandom96 @ Jun 18 2020, 07:06 PM)
Comparing Astro and UnifiTV, I noticed Unifi is very active in terminating channels, even the channels were just launched for more than a year or two. I guess UnifiTV is not serious with TV broadcast business.

Eh talking about serious, what happened to SiriusTV that was supposed to become another options for pay-TV service. Seriously injured or what? The website is still there tho. But the channel line up sucks. Really wanna know the subscribers' feedback. If there's any.
QUOTE(Qash-M @ Jun 18 2020, 08:06 PM)
Least it's not CCP controlled. brows.gif
but lean towards KMT which = CCP

aiya no phoneix watch CCTV je

same level je

0.0771sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 05:05 PM