Games How you guys solve the expensive issue of ps4 game, Rent? Borrow? 2nd hand? Online streaming

LegendLee
post Apr 29 2018, 12:44 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(adam_lew85 @ Apr 29 2018, 11:57 AM)
Hi guys, I m not from rich family and deciding to buy a ps4, just curious and wondering how u guys get a ps4 games? Buy a brand new during promotion period? Borrow or exchange with friend? Rent a game? Or even online streaming games from ps4 site? Or any other cheaper option available?
Buying brand new is just way to expensive.
You pretty much have to accept you won’t be able to buy a brand new game at launch.

But that’s ok as PS4 is close to the end of its lifespan so most of the games are already out.

- get second hand from shops.
- borrow from friends
- ps+ is pretty worth it. You can consider getting it during a promotion.
- during sales, AAA games can go below RM50.
- online streaming is not that worth it. 3rd party game seller via account sharing is also too risky imo.
LegendLee
post Apr 29 2018, 02:30 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(adam_lew85 @ Apr 29 2018, 01:39 PM)
When will the promotion sales that below rm50? Btw, what is PS+ ?
There're sales everyday
https://store.playstation.com/en-my/grid/ST...=asc&sort=price

PS+ is a subscription which gives you online play/multiplayer and 3 free games.
- there are promotion on this subscription occasionally
- free games will only remain Free while you're subscribed.
- some games might be discounted further.
LegendLee
post May 2 2018, 09:26 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(Rustaman69 @ May 2 2018, 01:04 AM)
Me still waiting for some genuises to hack the console and play backup games....then shop in Malaysia sell the game cheaply like ps3 now
Hacking your PS4 is really not worth it.
Why?
By the time they fully hack it, PS5 would be out and PS4 games would be dirt cheap. Just like PS3 games today. They’re like rm10-20 today ?

Also hacking your PS4 would mean
- no online capability
- you might brick your console
- Sony will brick your console
- any accounts used will have all its purchased forfeited. Those 100+ PS+ games you have will be gone. Those games you bought during a sale will be gone.
Sure, you can sign in with a “new account”. But who’s to say they won’t ban any account with a history of being logged in to the hacked PS4 ?

Too many things to lose for too little a benefit.
LegendLee
post Jun 21 2018, 02:44 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Jun 21 2018, 02:30 PM)
How often is the PS4 sales?
I bought The last of us Remastered during the Days of Play sales. Was so happy!  rclxms.gif
US releasing a lot of great exclusives under the hit series for 20USD.
This includes the last of us.

LegendLee
post Jun 22 2018, 09:38 AM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 21 2018, 06:32 PM)
Weird bickering in this thread.

The only objective way to alleviate the notion of "expensive" games is to earn more. Cost is a subjective matter. People saying that "sales" is the correct way of getting cheap games supports this notion. A sale makes a game cheap to your eyes only because it is low enough for your wallet to handle without affecting your actual necessities.

I'm not bragging and I'm not saying that you shouldn't buy games on sale or you know if you want, pirate them. But to answer the question directly and nothing else, you simply need to think outside of the box and look at it objectively - cost is simply a number that is weighed higher or lower depending on what you have.

Now don't go ask idiotic bigot questions like how to earn more so that games would be cheap subjectively speaking. You've got bigger problems in life than playing games if you have to ask that question.
That’s the wrong way to look at things.
Just because one earns 10-20k a month or even a week doesn’t mean we should just all buy games at full price without looking for alternatives.

Sure, it might not be straineous at all to the bank account, however it doesn’t mean one will feel comfortable to spend RM300 on a brand new premium game several times a month only to play 1-4 hours on it.

This is the same mindset as micro transaction. Just because some can afford it doesn’t mean they should support it.

Value is a subjective matter. But cost is not.
If I can get something for way lesser, why not ?

For those who can’t afford them. Requesting to increase their income is a captain obvious statement. Pretty sure almost everyone is working to do that. But that depends on their situation and it’s quite an insensitive statement.

Do take note there are students in this thread as well. Telling them to work harder will not do anything for them.

In the end, if you can afford to spend 200 k on your gaming centric mancave - Great. But to say making more money is the only way and looking for other options to get game cheaper is weird - that’s not right.

This post has been edited by LegendLee: Jun 22 2018, 10:04 AM
LegendLee
post Jun 22 2018, 06:21 PM

><3LG3|\|D
2,725 posts

QUOTE(SSJBen @ Jun 22 2018, 03:24 PM)
@bolded 1

If I have to wait an uncertain amount of time just for something to be cheaper, of which that time item would make no difference to my wallet - why would I want to waste time waiting for a sale? You can't earn time, you can earn money.

@bolded 2

Read again, I said it's an objective way. I didn't say it's a myriad of subjective ways which you already listed out. There are always alternatives to an objective solution, that's call adapting to a situation. Waiting for a sale is a subjective solution because that's down to you.
On the first point.
Again it’s how you value it.
What’s the point of buying a semi interesting game on launch when you’re not even bothered to play it within the next few months.

Good for you if you always want to get all games at their full price. But some of us don’t like to waste money.

On the second point.
Making more money =\= games are cheaper.
I’m sure this might be an alien concept to you.
But just because when your income level go up, that doesn’t mean your expenditure must go up proportionally as well.

Anyway, we are deviating from this thread.
This thread is about sharing ways to obtain games at a lower price to which you offer nothing in advice.
This is not a self-help/career thread/kopitiam.

0.0153sec    0.66    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 12:48 AM