[Cookware] Recommendation, Non stick/granite/aluminium/etc.

kimhoong
post May 31 2018, 06:19 PM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(idealhometech @ Apr 22 2018, 12:21 PM)
I am using La Gourmet Shogun Marble Cookware.. It constructed with ILag Granite non-stick coating, a lot better than Tefal Non-stick coating.
I'm using this for 4 years +/- and recently the coating at the center is cracking up (maybe due to bad washing technique).

Anyway, I'm done with cookware with coating.

I'm planning to get a new cookware (32cm++ wok) with no coating such as iron cast or aluminium type. Important consideration is lasting and healthy.

Any recommendations out there? I am setting a low budget of <RM150.

This post has been edited by kimhoong: Jun 1 2018, 06:11 PM
kimhoong
post Jun 10 2018, 11:38 AM

5,154 posts

How to tell if a wok is made from Carbon Steel or Iron Cast if there is no description found on it?
weikee
post Jun 10 2018, 01:09 PM

12,019 posts

If you cook a lot, like frying used cast iron, learn how to take care of it. Much better. Alternative use stainless steel.

SS cookware is expensive here in Malaysia. If you go to Singapore regularly or have friend can help you buy, go down Lion land and buy. Wmf always have discount there, some other brands too.
helven
post Oct 4 2018, 05:51 PM

Doko Online
919 posts

Just wondering if those black wok used by chinese restaurant is safe to use

CloudBaby
post Apr 22 2019, 02:03 PM

55 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ May 31 2018, 06:19 PM)
I'm using this for 4 years +/- and recently the coating at the center is cracking up (maybe due to bad washing technique).

Anyway, I'm done with cookware with coating.

I'm planning to get a new cookware (32cm++ wok) with no coating such as iron cast or aluminium type. Important consideration is lasting and healthy.

Any recommendations out there? I am setting a low budget of <RM150.
have you found any? mind to share?
kimhoong
post Apr 23 2019, 04:34 PM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(CloudBaby @ Apr 22 2019, 02:03 PM)
have you found any? mind to share?
I found 1 in NSK, around RM40+

but but but... the hassle using carbon steel wok is really high.... especially when you are using electric/induction stove.

I'm thinking to return back to non-stick ones sad.gif
blancpain4470
post Apr 23 2019, 05:43 PM

1,063 posts

Don't waste your time and money on cheap nonstick cookware. They are cheap for a reason and they are hardly durable ... not to mention some coatings are harzedous.

You can go to Chinese cookware shops to get those that are similar to the ones used by Chinese restaurants. They are of course safe to use. But then you won't have the hob to be able to cook the same.

For premium non coated ones WMF and Silit are best. If you want non stick, Green Pan is ok and reasonably priced. However, it's coating is not as durable but at least it is not harmful.

If you want the best go for Scanpan. However they are expensive and heavy like shit.

This post has been edited by blancpain4470: Apr 23 2019, 05:55 PM
Mijac
post Apr 23 2019, 09:12 PM

538 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Apr 23 2019, 04:34 PM)

but but but... the hassle using carbon steel wok is really high.... especially when you are using electric/induction stove.

Isn’t the coating of non-stick hazardous to health?
kimhoong
post Apr 23 2019, 09:58 PM

5,154 posts

QUOTE(Mijac @ Apr 23 2019, 09:12 PM)
Isn’t the coating of non-stick hazardous to health?
From what I read, the coating itself is fine but when there's leak, it will be bad for your health.

I still haven't get used to carbon steel/cast iron wok. Still sticky when I cook minced meat or egg although I have seasoned it.

MeToo
post Aug 21 2019, 11:52 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(kimhoong @ Apr 23 2019, 04:34 PM)

Does a wok even work with induction cooker?

Dont they need a flat bottom pan instead?

Also I have a bunch of SS pots/pans that is somehow not magnetic... wondering if they will work with an induction cooker I m thinking of getting...
idoblu
post Aug 21 2019, 08:27 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 21 2019, 11:52 AM)

Also I have a bunch of SS pots/pans that is somehow not magnetic... wondering if they will work with an induction cooker I m thinking of getting...
they do have flat bottom wok.
if non magnetic means cannot use for induction.
glasgowkitchen
post Aug 22 2019, 02:11 AM

84 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 21 2019, 11:52 AM)

I've come across a cast iron wok which is flat on the bottom (contact with the induction) and rounded on the top (cooking part). So can use that for gas cooktop and induction. Made in USA and imported... A bit pricey tho.
Youtube link here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqFMq2vVSUk

Slightly hesitant on getting it. Maintenance is not an issue. Just the weight of it and it's not that multipurpose- can't cook acidic stuff or curry in it.

The non magnetic stainless steel ones will not work.

Reasonable SS that works with induction...Most Horse brand pots work with induction... Zebra brand doesn't... I usually bring a magnet along when I shop for stainless steel pots to check.
MeToo
post Aug 22 2019, 11:06 AM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(glasgowkitchen @ Aug 22 2019, 02:11 AM)
I've come across a cast iron wok which is flat on the bottom (contact with the induction) and rounded on the top (cooking part). So can use that for gas cooktop and induction. Made in USA and imported... A bit pricey tho.
Youtube link here: https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=CqFMq2vVSUk

Slightly hesitant on getting it. Maintenance is not an issue. Just the weight of it and it's not that multipurpose- can't cook acidic stuff or curry in it.
The non magnetic stainless steel ones will not work.

Reasonable SS that works with induction...Most Horse brand pots work with induction... Zebra brand doesn't...  I usually bring a magnet along when I shop for stainless steel pots to check.
Ya apparently my whole set la gourmet pots/pans is out...

The few zwillings i have works well (its got the words 'Induction' on the bottom)...

So I'm gonna be in the market for a new set, add that to the never ending list of $$ when moving to a new place... sweat.gif
glasgowkitchen
post Aug 22 2019, 02:00 PM

84 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Aug 22 2019, 11:06 AM)
Ya apparently my whole set la gourmet pots/pans is out...

The few zwillings i have works well (its got the words 'Induction' on the bottom)...

So I'm gonna be in the market for a new set, add that to the never ending list of $$ when moving to a new place...  sweat.gif
Sounds like you have quite a number of pots and pans...

Hopefully the new set will be a one off 'investment'.

Let me know how you get on with your wok purchase... I'm still on a look out for one. biggrin.gif
idoblu
post Oct 10 2019, 10:51 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

This post has been edited by idoblu: Apr 16 2021, 01:56 PM
ZzZzz...
post Apr 16 2021, 11:17 AM

Art of Sleeping
1,787 posts

hi sifu chef, any NEOFLAM user here???

i have do some research that NEOFLAM it is Ceramic coating with aluminum in it, basically is TOXIC free

is so hard to get genuine NEOFLAM cookware in Malaysia, any other similar Brand can recommend?

- not very expensive
- ceramic coating
- toxic free material
- not really care about the look and design
markist_lemon
post Sep 15 2021, 02:57 PM

18 posts

granite and marble cookwares are generally much safer than older tech ones

0.0205sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 10:49 AM