ianho
post Jul 4 2007, 08:06 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kutet @ Jul 4 2007, 06:46 PM)
wow shocking.gif with 2x 8800gtx only xtra 0.9 point no thank you ... but sometin weird about my card can't play quake 4 or farcry ... the game crash ... even with latest driver or disable openAL (for quake 4) ...
QUOTE(Lemmings @ Jul 4 2007, 07:08 PM)
how bout ultra SLI?
maybe you didn't update the driver?
Haiz..... u fellas dunno that the max points is 5.9? U put in whatever oso the max u can get is 5.9. It's not a 10 point scale ler.
ianho
post Jul 4 2007, 11:14 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(Lemmings @ Jul 4 2007, 10:51 PM)
noob here mah...still learning  tongue.gif
so the max point for everything is also 5.9?
Yup the max is 5.9.
ianho
post Aug 3 2007, 10:15 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(efisherman @ Aug 2 2007, 01:59 PM)
LCD stills a LCD.. Not as powerful as CRT..
I've tried on a 19" CRT Flat(Samsung Synmaster) and a 19" LCD(Samsung 931c) to play Lost Planet..
I turn the graphic/resolution details to all MAX, and found that when you facing some in-game scene that has mass shaking+blur effect.. CRT Flat no color problem, but i found that LCD will may have a bit color changed, which mean u'll saw some purple color in your shaking in-game scene..
Problem is............. CRTs are very small n who on earth is gonna want a 30" behemoth CRT on the worktable even if it did exist. laugh.gif The table oso will picah lar if got 30" CRT. Also just imagine the amount of electricity it wud consume. Not very friendly to the planet eh.
shakehead.gif I just finished Lost Planet n I didnt see any such purple color shaking shaking thingamajigs. laugh.gif Mebe it was ur drivers?

This post has been edited by ianho: Aug 3 2007, 11:26 PM
ianho
post Aug 4 2007, 07:08 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Aug 4 2007, 05:00 PM)
of course.....thats the reason i bought a digital camera laugh.gif
n until today shawty still hasnt got his digicam yet.
ianho
post Aug 5 2007, 11:02 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(ben3003 @ Aug 5 2007, 08:26 PM)
btw, anyone tried 3dmark05 on vista? y i cant run de... i download from guru3d..
U need to patch it. IIRC
ianho
post Aug 9 2007, 08:57 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(weikai_ng @ Aug 8 2007, 10:58 PM)
But the laptop cooler "looks" better than my XFX 8600GT XXX stock cooler... sweat.gif I really not satisfy with my noob stock cooler...
Y r u not satisfied with the stock cooler? They're not gonna sell u a card that will get damaged by overheating coz of inadequate cooling. That's just being silly coz it costs them even more $ for RMAs not to mention the damage to their reputation. U only change coolers if ur playing around with extremely heavy overclocks to challenge benchmark rankings n so on.
ianho
post Aug 9 2007, 09:23 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(weikai_ng @ Aug 9 2007, 09:14 AM)
If you are in my situation you also won't satisfy with the cooler as the peak temperature is 90~92'C.
"If you are in my situation you also won't satisfy"? laugh.gif Dude if ur in MY situation then u pengsan oredi lor. Both my cards run up to 100C on hot days without air cond. I can boil 2 pots of maggi mee in my rig. laugh.gif But u dont hafta worry about temps as long as it's totally stock n u never mess around with OC.
If ur not OCing the card, u dont hafta worry about temps at all. Just leave it alone n enjoy the card.

ianho
post Aug 9 2007, 10:21 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

Actually the 8600GT shud still haf the traces there for the power plug. I'm very sure U can jsut solder a power plug there. There must be a mod sumwhere out there on the WWW.
ianho
post Aug 20 2007, 04:33 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

I set my monitor to turn off after 10 minutes. After the monitor goes off, I sumtimes haf problem in turning it back on by just moving the mouse which shud turn it back on immediately. What I hafta do is manually switch the monitor on n off using the power button on the monitor n then swinging the mouse around n the monitor wakes up after that. I dunno if it's specific to my set up or not though coz I'm using Apple monitors.
ianho
post Aug 26 2007, 10:59 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 26 2007, 10:45 PM)
Cannot tahan ady, supposed to wait until Oct/Nov 07....  smile.gif

Anyway, I've finished benchmarking the card. My post above edited.....  nod.gif
Y u buy 640mb for use with 1280x1024? U shud had saved the $ by getting the 320mb card. The 640mb card is kinda in no man's land actually. Not enuf to go to 1920x1200 n too much for 1680x1050. later u upgrade to 24" oso the card cannot tahan.
ianho
post Aug 26 2007, 11:20 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 26 2007, 11:17 PM)
I sorta know about that. However, there are certain games that need more than 256-320mb rams. On my previous 7800GS with 256mb rams and gaming on 1280x1024, I sometimes get warnings when I try to set the texture to maximum - some warning that my GC's ram is not enough and will slow down game play.

There was a reference to games that require 512mb ram but I can't seem to find it.....  hmm.gif
Doom3 on max settings specially for 512mb cards n above only. smile.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Aug 26 2007, 11:21 PM
ianho
post Aug 27 2007, 12:07 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 26 2007, 11:26 PM)
How did you know? Hehe, found the thread. I actually posted the thread, already forgot!  sweat.gif

Yeah, in that thread, I've posted a linked which showed that Doom 3 and Call of Duty 2 benefits from 512mb ram at 1280x1024 (although I don't know where they got the references from)

Here's the link : http://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopic=487440&hl=
Because there is an actual option in the gfx settings for Doom3 that is specifically for 512mb cards n above only. When u click on the option to turn it on, it warns u that it's meant for 512mb cards only. COD2 I didnt realise coz there's no specific option n I've been on cards with more than 1gb ram for a long time n never realised there was a drop in performance with cards less than 512mb.
ianho
post Aug 27 2007, 08:38 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Aug 27 2007, 12:21 AM)
OIC. Forgot about that already.

I'm quite sure that future games will also take advantage of 512mb or more rams, even on 1280x1024. Hmm.... maybe I should upgrade to 24' wide screen?  hmm.gif Hehe, my wife would kill me!!!  wink.gif

Anyway, to owners of 8800 series card, does your core/mem speed run at lower speed in 2D or still at full 3D speed.

Mine is running at full speed whether it is 2D or 3D. Thinking of downclocking the core/mem when at 2D settings..... Anybody tried this?  hmm.gif
Windows Vista is always on 3D mode. That's y the cards r always so hot.
ianho
post Aug 29 2007, 07:12 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(tanghm @ Aug 28 2007, 09:36 AM)
I come to conclusion that the load temperature depends on what 3D application you are running.

I was playing Company of Heroes yesterday my load temperature only 72'C, Stalker was 88'C, Lost Planet 91'C. All at 100% manual fan speed.

Hhmmm might wanna try kmarc's downclocking trick to save energy.
My 8800GTX SLi goes up to 100C while playing Lost Planet! Hot day, no aircond. Must be coz I'm asking them to do so much work running Lost Planet in DX10 n 2560x1600 resolution. laugh.gif

QUOTE(davidbilly87 @ Aug 29 2007, 02:34 PM)
eh ...hard to say ...just my 1 of capacitor alredy losse....market can get those capacitor?
Capacitor loose then just solder it back. Easy oni wat. That's if u knocked it loose lar. If the card came like that brand new then u better RMA.
ianho
post Sep 2 2007, 05:55 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

laugh.gif Just sumthin interesting for all u fellow 8 series owners to try out. Try to run all those progs that I ran while doing 3DM06. Let's see what every1 else can get. Try n use ur normal daily use settings ya, dont go n cheat by doing extreme OC on the rig just for suicide run. I just gave it a go on my daily use setting and got these results. laugh.gif

Look at the load on the rig while doing all that. sweat.gif

Come come, It's a boring weekend so let's all try this out n c what the results are. tongue.gif

This post has been edited by ianho: Sep 2 2007, 06:00 PM
ianho
post Sep 2 2007, 10:32 PM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Sep 2 2007, 08:14 PM)
Boring weekend but machine doing folding la.....  smile.gif

Anyway, what priority do you set for the prime95, default priority 1? Wonder whether it will be the same as running orthos.....  hmm.gif
I set Prime95 to:- Torture Test-Custom-Leave all settings default except set Memory to use(in MB) to max out the ram usage. In my case was 600MB. Do that for both cores. Actually any prog that runs both cores at 100% oso can lar I suppose. It'll be interesting to c how many ppl's rigs can tahan abuse like that. laugh.gif That's what I'm interested in.
ianho
post Sep 3 2007, 01:37 AM

Cucimangkoklife
15,705 posts

QUOTE(kmarc @ Sep 2 2007, 11:01 PM)
Anyway, had nothing to do, so here's mine...  smile.gif

Weird. Not much change from my actual score. Reduced by about 200 only.... (Previous 3Dmark06 score was 9295 at same GC settings....)
Hmmmm. u've only lost 200marks. I lost thousands of marks running with dual instances of Prime95. I think I will give it a go with Orthos n c what happens. Interesting............................ laugh.gif Really NBTD lar we all.

This post has been edited by ianho: Sep 3 2007, 06:16 AM

0.0379sec    0.21    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 07:14 PM