Official LYN nVIDIA 8 series thread V2

arc_archive
post Jun 19 2007, 07:59 AM

386 posts

i might try it....but forget it la...coz so lazy assembling the gc and my 400w psu..
rite now im using cm 600w i green psu...n when sli'ing my gts it appear that when being left overnite, the pc restarted.i dunno if this symptom happened to be related wif mobo or psu..some say that 680i mobo had problem wif slied gc...
arc_archive
post Jun 19 2007, 08:27 AM

386 posts

tot so 2...coz no way my 600w didnt enough wif 2 gts...its different story if u sli gtx or ultra..my tot to be the mobo buggy..but the best thing is unlinked option..easy to overlcok ur pc without thinking bout ur ram speed...coz im so lazy 2 oc linked...got no time....
arc_archive
post Jun 20 2007, 03:45 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 20 2007, 01:36 AM)
actually the ones we talking about (BFG/EVGA) are ah-me-li-ka mali wan. most likely made there oso...but u can never really know wink.gif
juz checked...my BFG made from China biggrin.gif ...who cares where it being made, as long as it can perform wonder...its enough reason for me to get it!!! blush.gif

ya im still in wonder...why the hell no one really serious to get my BFG...got like 10+ offer...actually not an offer (offer should be more rite)...but a cut down in price...so i must say...that is damn nice price+shipping already..wont u agree!! nod.gif

i dunno if location will determine ur 'waiting period' when RMAing...coz if u buy from shop too, u still need to do 'waiting period'...coz most of the time, the item will be send back to factory and be troubleshoot. hard to get 1 on 1 replacement (for sure some shop provide it, but i belive there must be limit for how long the shop can endure 1 on 1 replacement)...at the end RMA is a must.

and for those who ought to go for sli setup...be prepare for the heat issue...actually the percentage of ur secondary gc to heat up so quite high coz the space is limited by ur casing.it seem the heat keep circling in that thightened space.i used stacker and align both side fan for in and out air circulation and found out that the temp reduced a little...3~4C...air in aligned directly to the fan and air out directly to the hot air out grill.got the temp idling at 70~72C but if reversely change the fan circulation, it will crawl to 76~78C!!

hope can let go off this card ASAP. biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by arc_archive: Jun 20 2007, 04:13 AM
arc_archive
post Jun 20 2007, 07:46 AM

386 posts

ya..actually evga superclocked is better in many ways compare wif bfg.clocked at 576 core, 1700 memory and 1350 shader proc...while bfg core is being clocked at 580, 1700 for memory and 1350 shader..the difference on 3mhz wont bring much perfomance boost though..
but what do tempting is how they accept any evga gc that bought if not mistaken in 6 months,and u can top up for a new gc that u wanted whilst sending back the previous gc to them...
i try asking karom bout the ACS3 version but not in list la...sigh...but better not take that one coz the temp is much hotter compare wif superclocked or standard..somehow the so called ACS3 cannot bring the performance it intended to do...maybe the gc is being clocked higher...590/1840/1450 !!!!
arc_archive
post Jun 20 2007, 10:25 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(LExus65 @ Jun 20 2007, 08:21 AM)
arc did bfgbundle with games ?? that may help u to sell...............

btw all 8800 series are made in china and from the same factory......for all manufacturer.......there are none non reference design........
no bundle games appear to be bundled in BFG package.thats somehow lame as the company seems big name in gc business..

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 20 2007, 08:31 AM)
The reason for people not wanting to get an overseas card like me personally is not due to the waiting time alone. Everyone knows that RMAing something might take a while as they need to send back to their distributor etc. Heck, even my Galaxy need around 2months to RMA. The problem is due to the fact that people need to pay the cost of RMAing a card. I keep on telling myself last time, dont worry, it wont damage so easily but heck, if it ever happens, i gotta spend more money..Thats the main problem..

However, as we all know, a 8800GTS for a price below the 1k mark is definitely a good buy indeed. It being a BFG and one month old is another plus point..

Anyway, whats your idle temperature on the BFG in single card setup?
Look at below..my temp b4 assembling and after assembling the second gcard...(juz xpecting to do sli one last time b4 sold it)

b4 the assembling of secondary gcard...idle at 61C (wif sound card in the far away pci slot)...

after assembling both card (i do not assmble my sound card to ease the assembling process....see...

ntune || everest U
1st : 58C || 1st: 60C(GPU)
2nd : 63C || 2nd: 54C(GPU)

i believe everest reporting the 1st and 2nd gpu in reverse compare wif ntune..u can see the diff in temp reading.dunno is it affected due to sound card has been discarded...thus slightly reducing the temp...by the way, in everest U, which temp u take as reference??the GPU or GPU DIODE??

arc_archive
post Jun 20 2007, 06:35 PM

386 posts

even my fan running at 70%, still the temp insist to go lower than 70C...but when both gc shoot out to 70%, it does annoy u...the sound damn noisy...
bfg offer double lifetime warranty...that whats written on the box...dunno is it apply to asian country like us...
arc_archive
post Jun 21 2007, 03:56 AM

386 posts

QUOTE(mmohdnor @ Jun 20 2007, 09:52 PM)
i realized that my nvidia ntune doesn't load my OC speed everytime i startup windows .. anybody facing this problem?

or should i change my OC utility to something else?

i'm using nvdia whql 158.22 driver for my 8500GE
u need to save the adjustment u made and apply the option for startup load ur configuration. better, use riva tuner.

QUOTE(jonjon87 @ Jun 21 2007, 12:04 AM)
hello there =)

galaxy 8800 gts 320mb

idle 65-70
playing games 76-78

and the nvidia control panel, i cant set the fan speed.....
try googling or go to guru3d and download rivatuner..

arc_archive
post Jun 21 2007, 09:12 AM

386 posts

ya thats when using stacker, the alignation of ur fan does help a lot..if u put 4 fans suck in the cool air from outside, but none blow it out...it will be hot like hell!

ya, i already thinking on getting a blower but when do sli ing, not much space left coz being occupied by gc and sound card.
arc_archive
post Jun 21 2007, 06:00 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(akachester @ Jun 21 2007, 10:16 AM)
Well, for me, i just focused on getting a good fan for my rear exhaust to help push out all the hot air. Hopefully when i get a side panel fan to suck cold air for the GC, it is able to lower the temperature even more...

EDITED:

Installed COH yesterday, tried to push everything to MAX. No AA. Resolution 1650 * 1050 (Widescreen).

Using the game performance tester, only got an Average with min. FPS around 10fps and max is around 60fps. Average at 26fps..Is this even normal? I am starting to feel my processor is dragging the performance of my GC down..
waah all of u can run COH wif ur 8800GTS??i alredy using 2 diffrent brand of gts, still the game wont work properly..using Asus, the game cannot be load...hear the sound but no pic...and wif BFG,somehow all the screen turn to yellow and hear a sound..no figure of any 3d object appear...is there any fix or patch for COH??

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Jun 21 2007, 12:12 PM)
wooohooo!!!! finally got my BFG 8800GTS 320MB OC2 up and running last night rclxm9.gif

in aircond room....
idle 64
load 72

this morning around 11am after aircond has been turned off for around 5 hours.
idle 72!!! shocking.gif
no time to test for load coz already very late for work sweat.gif

i definitely need to either get a bigger case or mod/ change my sidepanel sweat.gif

either way...looks like ill have to update my sig soon hehehe
it seems that ur temperature is the same wif my secondary gc...70~76C...better have a look at ur casing ventilation...

QUOTE(kmarc @ Jun 21 2007, 05:45 PM)
Why not open the side casing then? Would cool down a lot!

Guys, I need some advice on the 8800 GTX. I'm planning to get one in 1-2 months and wanna ask those with the 8000 series on which brand would be the best.

Thx for any advice!  thumbup.gif
go for evga la!!superclocked or ACS3!!!
arc_archive
post Jun 22 2007, 01:45 AM

386 posts

hey anyone have an ultra?? superclocked or ACS3 or any overclocked version??need to know how hot when idling...

rite now using version 94XX version..maybe will try later using new driver...
arc_archive
post Jun 24 2007, 08:34 AM

386 posts

ya ya..tell us the stock clock of ur GTS...is it more than mine??

finally a words bout 9 series...hoping no delay...
arc_archive
post Jun 25 2007, 03:33 AM

386 posts

ya...this benchmarking tools really cpu dependant as my last 4200 AMDX2 does score round 8005 only at cpu speed of 2.6G...while my E66 C2D does 8600 at speed 2.4Ghz...after oc...i can go till 9500+ using my BFG..
arc_archive
post Jul 8 2007, 02:24 PM

386 posts

is there any noticeable difference when using aquatank version??ya the temp is what i mean....heard some forumers said that the difference not that overwhelming...
arc_archive
post Jul 8 2007, 09:06 PM

386 posts

it would help a bit if ati launch their next flagship card....and hopefully it would bring an overwhelming perfomance wif it...

cant wait anymore coz those high end gc damn xpensive..feels somehow not worth to upgrade anymore as the dx10 perfomance wont promise a thing....better stick wif current gc till 9series launch...
arc_archive
post Sep 1 2007, 10:15 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 1 2007, 12:14 PM)
if i put the fan on top of the HDD then none of the GCs will be getting air...the air from the fan will be blowing over the top of the card...
EXACTLY! icon_rolleyes.gif the air around the sli bridge area gets hot...even my sidepanel on that side feels warm. need to figure out a way to exhaust the hot air from there.
thought about that....but then all my hidden cables behind the HDD bay will be exposed! laugh.gif

besides...even if i did do it...im still gonna install another 120mm fan right before the GCs to help pull fresh air from the front intake (same thing like now la)....but at least now both my HDD and my GCs are benefiting from this setup cooling wise.
that nice rclxms.gif

u manage getting the lowest temp for the secondary card...for my last setup...its more than 70C..

ya i agree that the space between both card firggin hot!! mad.gif if running any 3d app, my exhaust fan will blow out the heat till my feet can felt it even the
rig stood up 0.5 meter from me.

anyway,nice idea though. feel sory for selling my GTS last time...but to get new one is a foolish idea coz nvidia will preparing new gc at the end of this year..
better get a new one wif much power for DX10. laugh.gif
arc_archive
post Sep 2 2007, 12:31 PM

386 posts

had anyone break the 1000mhz barrier wif the mem clock??

ive tried last nite..but when the setting applied...the window color crashing...
arc_archive
post Sep 2 2007, 01:06 PM

386 posts

true..true...i jump from 950 to 1000mhz and the window crashed...but it seems the mem kinda reaching its limit..

this nite will try find the sweet spot for mem clock using ati tool.
arc_archive
post Sep 2 2007, 09:24 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 2 2007, 02:53 PM)
i did..... 680/1000 (2000 effective) max ive gone so far. perfect 3dmark05 stable. never tried going any higher though.

but this was on single card.... driver 158.22

now using the latest 162.sumthin....... and on SLI...cannot touch 1k mark. will pass RT test...but 3dm05 crash. but then already SLI still need to OC meh icon_idea.gif

lansi laugh.gif
680/1000 dads is 'sumtin' rclxms.gif

my card still crashing if i change the mem clock to 980mhz... cry.gif

bout the core clock..still not try pushing to the max yet..is there the crashes thingy related to the heat ??
or maybe it is the limit of the card or the driver it self??

madman..u using 158.22 to reach that speed huh??rite now im using 162.18..might try reverting back the driver to see any differences.
arc_archive
post Sep 2 2007, 09:48 PM

386 posts

is it ur first GTS that can do 680/1000??how bout the later GTS..very ocable huh??

so lucky la xD...maybe b4,u using a high end card so no need to OC la biggrin.gif

anyway,my 6600GT 24/7 OC..mid range gc..so need to pushing for the juicing...
arc_archive
post Sep 2 2007, 10:21 PM

386 posts

QUOTE(mADmAN @ Sep 2 2007, 10:03 PM)
only tested with the first GTS @ 680/2000... the second GTS didnt bother to test....just wanted to make sure its working only tongue.gif

B4 this where got high end card??? i was using an FX5200 -> 9550 -> 6800 Vanilla -> 8800

the 8800 would be my first high end card man...ever tongue.gif
clap for double high end card rclxms.gif

anyway,how long u tested wif 3Dmark using dad speed??last time i set for 600/1900 playing games like 3-4hours..no prob..not a high setting ler tongue.gif

but suddenly exit to window and then restarted.even at stock speed..dunno if u do encounter this symptom o not...i tot,mayB coz of the heat...the rig suddenly restart..

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.0437sec    0.79    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 03:54 PM