Getting a headphone from Japan, custom tax worries

TS_KIMI
post Apr 6 2018, 03:32 PM, updated 8y ago

I got a really good deal for an AK120II and an akt5p beyer headphone, the bill for both is at 5K. I've read something about headphones under myr500 is exempted, how does this apply to something that cost 5K.

This post has been edited by _KIMI: Apr 6 2018, 03:33 PM
rocketaz
post Apr 6 2018, 03:37 PM

186 posts

Cross post: Anyone owned the non mainstream Sol Republic Tracks HD2 headphones? Hows the sound quality?
BelaCHAN
post Apr 6 2018, 03:40 PM

580 posts

Haha, not to scare you, but ALL ENTERTAINMENT related electronic items
(i would say headphones included, correct me if i'm wrong), is 25% Tax =D

Your read that right : TWENTY FIVE PERCENT!

Shipping fees also kena charge the 25% =D

Good luck and pray you receive your item, and not a customs letter...

This post has been edited by BelaCHAN: Apr 6 2018, 03:44 PM
raop
post Apr 6 2018, 03:41 PM

33 posts

just wear it on you during travelling. the other one put in laptop bag and say spare
harras88
post Apr 6 2018, 03:43 PM

no import duty. only 6% GST
Zot
post Apr 6 2018, 03:44 PM

7,938 posts

You should have bought the ticket. Fly to Japan. Buy and come back with headphone on your head
bongah
post Apr 6 2018, 03:44 PM

116 posts

QUOTE(raop @ Apr 6 2018, 03:41 PM)
just wear it on you during travelling. the other one put in laptop bag and say spare
this. buang the kotak
BelaCHAN
post Apr 6 2018, 03:45 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 6 2018, 03:44 PM)
You should have bought the ticket. Fly to Japan. Buy and come back with headphone on your head
or this =D
Lone Wolf X
post Apr 6 2018, 03:46 PM

728 posts

QUOTE(_KIMI @ Apr 6 2018, 03:32 PM)
I got a really good deal for an AK120II and an akt5p beyer headphone, the bill for both is at 5K. I've read something about headphones under myr500 is exempted, how does this apply to something that cost 5K.
You can check yourself from the customs website http://tariff.customs.gov.my/
Under the search criteria choose --> Item Description
Then under Search Keyword --> Headphone

It will tell you how much tax or levy is imposed and also the documents needed to import one (if its not done by the selling company).

Cheers cheers.gif
khalis7
post Apr 6 2018, 03:55 PM

25 posts

I had fair share of experience improving stuff from overseas for my personal usage/consumption.

The way customs tax works is this:

(Item cost + shipping cost) x 6% gst.

If the currency of item bought is in USD or any other foreign currency, custom will convert it to MYR using rate that's available to them on the day you make the custom clearance. Usually all items if you use DHL, ups, FedEx etc. will pass thru customs office at klia nearby the old LCCT. Large box or heavy item usually will get customs attention and detained for further inspection. You'll get notification from Pos Malaysia that there is item detained at customs klia and they will make an offer to you if you wanna use their service to clear the item.

If you don't want, go there yourself and proceed with the clearance. It's very simple and won't take whole day to do it.

But beware, if you try to escape the 6% Gst by lowering the invoice value provided the seller prior to shipment from the origin, that's an offence and punishable. The customs can catch for offence made up to 6 yrs prior.

Good luck!

This post has been edited by khalis7: Apr 6 2018, 03:58 PM
TS_KIMI
post Apr 6 2018, 04:28 PM

QUOTE(BelaCHAN @ Apr 6 2018, 03:40 PM)
Haha, not to scare you, but ALL ENTERTAINMENT related electronic items
(i would say headphones included, correct me if i'm wrong), is 25% Tax  =D

Your read that right : TWENTY FIVE PERCENT!

Shipping fees also kena charge the 25% =D
Good luck and pray you receive your item, and not a customs letter...
I'm so dead if it's (25% + shipping) + GST 6%. THAT'S OVER 1000!! shocking.gif

I only wanted to hear good music huhu. cool.gif bye.gif

optimism is key, so I'll believe it's just GST 6% go bolehland.
TS_KIMI
post Apr 6 2018, 04:30 PM

QUOTE(Zot @ Apr 6 2018, 03:44 PM)
In college loh, I would've visited Japan if I ever had a chance.

This post has been edited by _KIMI: Apr 6 2018, 04:49 PM
BelaCHAN
post Apr 6 2018, 04:48 PM

580 posts

QUOTE(_KIMI @ Apr 6 2018, 04:28 PM)
I'm so dead if it's (25% + shipping) + GST 6%. THAT'S OVER 1000!! shocking.gif

I only wanted to hear good music huhu. cool.gif  bye.gif

optimism is key, so I'll believe it's just GST 6% go bolehland.
Haha =D Thats y bro Zot mentioned to just go there, buy and come back =D
it would be cheaper + you got free trip, LOL.

Whats done is done. Just pray REALLY hard. If the item arrive at your doorstep then all is well.

If the seller go and declare the actual value and item type, then really good luck.

Now you know why all audio visual electronics are hell expensive in malaysia...
TS_KIMI
post Apr 11 2018, 09:23 AM

Updates: do i receive a call when item is detained, its been in kastam office since last friday. Its been 3 days without any update, not including weekends. Last message is "Clearance by Postal for customs inspection (Import)" on the 6th.

0.0174sec    0.72    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 23rd December 2025 - 01:56 AM