bearbear's Weight Loss Journal

TSbearbear
post May 11 2007, 11:42 PM, updated 19y ago

You'll Never Walk Alone!~!~
10,061 posts

Hi people,

Ya i'm gaining more weight nowadays and everytime i meet up with my old friends they will say that i gained weight. Ya it's right as i do not exercise and eat lots of junk food tongue.gif

Since i'm on holiday now so i started to have thoughts of losing some weight to be at least normal and better looking tongue.gif

So i started with Threadmill in gym on 8th May 2007, well i guess i'll just lose some weight first before i start on body building as i know nothing bout it biggrin.gif

8th May 2007
Height : 173 CM
Weight : 88 KG
Aim : Lose bout 3-5kg/month, hope to weight around 65-70kg(ya, dream tongue.gif )

The weight was in the gym before i started exercise so i will check on my weight once a month to see if i do lose some weight or not.

Basically i toto the gym daily for some jogging session using threadmill, can't really run for long but i keep walking for a speed of 6km/h and do some short jog like 300-500m in btw at 8km/h. So normally i'll do that for 40-50 minutes and do btw 4.5 to 5km/day.

What else can i do to help to lose some weight?Any other exercise?

And what food should i take?Say if i were to eat bread, kaya and peanut butter are those thing i should avoid right?

I'm not a milk person so anything that has milk, cheese is totally out.

This post has been edited by bearbear: May 11 2007, 11:49 PM
jones007
post May 12 2007, 12:21 AM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

well i guess i'll just lose some weight first before i start on body building as i know nothing bout it.

the other way round. build up your muscle mass 1st, then burning fats will be much easier. what exercise u ask? u can always check out the pinned thread. a few good beginner's workout routine, especially mark rippetoe 3x5. if milk is out take eggs. works as well. where do u workout? which gym?

and do u play biru server? ur name in bnet is bearbear as well? unsure.gif i know a guy name bearbear in biruserver bnet unsure.gif
TSbearbear
post May 12 2007, 01:32 AM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(jones007 @ May 12 2007, 12:21 AM)
well i guess i'll just lose some weight first before i start on body building as i know nothing bout it.

the other way round. build up your muscle mass 1st, then burning fats will be much easier. what exercise u ask? u can always check out the pinned thread. a few good beginner's workout routine, especially mark rippetoe 3x5. if milk is out take eggs. works as well. where do u workout? which gym?

and do u play biru server? ur name in bnet is bearbear as well? unsure.gif i know a guy name bearbear in biruserver bnet unsure.gif
Hi, thanks for the reply.

Well i go to Sunway Club gym cos my dad has the membership so it's free for me to go rather than spending anymore money on other fitness center.

Alright eggs, roughly how many i should take a day?Boiled egg?

I read about mark rippetoe 3x5 on the pinned thread

Workout A
3x5 Squat
3x5 Bench Press
1x5 Deadlift
2x5-8 dips (only add weight if you are doing >10 bodyweight dips)

Workout B
3x5 Squat
3x5 Standing military press
3x5 Pendlay Rows (or power cleans for 5x3, 5 sets of 3 reps apiece)
2x5-8 chinups ***if you do the power cleans, do 3 sets of chinups***

Fridays only (Not earlier than 3 weeks into program) -
Parallel Bar dips or incline skullcrushers - 2 x 8-12
barbell/DB/EZ-Bar curls - 2 x 8-12
Any pic for me to see what's squat, bench press, deadlift and etc?As i said i don't know anything about bodybuilding blush.gif

Ya i used to play i bnet but my username was b3aR, bearbear was taken by someone else tongue.gif

This post has been edited by bearbear: May 12 2007, 01:44 AM
goliath
post May 12 2007, 07:18 PM

5,532 posts

http://www.bodybuilding.com

Search for those. They have instructions and pics and video in there.
musclemass
post May 12 2007, 09:33 PM

934 posts

http://www.exrx.net/Lists/Directory.html

Your holy bible in weight training

This post has been edited by musclemass: May 12 2007, 09:34 PM
TSbearbear
post May 12 2007, 10:42 PM

10,061 posts

Thanks for the links

A friend of mine will be going to gym with me tomorrow and teach me some stuff about body building, new thing to learn biggrin.gif

Added on May 14, 2007, 8:48 pmI have a question bout the stuff that i eat.

Now i'm having a short holiday so i'll wake up 10-11am then make myself toasted bread then i'll cook a fried egg(with minimum oil) and a piece of smoked chicken ham(cook with no oil) then some vege&tomato.

That will be my brunch then i'll head off to gym and back home.

Dinner will be usual stuff mom's cooking but i tried to eat less and if i'm hungry at night i'll take some fruits.

My question will be on my brunch, is it ok or is there any other better way to cook non-fat brunch? biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bearbear: May 14 2007, 08:48 PM
Neek
post May 16 2007, 09:31 PM

Stop imagining whats supposed to be here.
1,593 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 12 2007, 10:42 PM)
Thanks for the links

A friend of mine will be going to gym with me tomorrow and teach me some stuff about body building, new thing to learn biggrin.gif

Added on May 14, 2007, 8:48 pmI have a question bout the stuff that i eat.

Now i'm having a short holiday so i'll wake up 10-11am then make myself toasted bread then i'll cook a fried egg(with minimum oil) and a piece of smoked chicken ham(cook with no oil) then some vege&tomato.

That will be my brunch then i'll head off to gym and back home.

Dinner will be usual stuff mom's cooking but i tried to eat less and if i'm hungry at night i'll take some fruits.

My question will be on my brunch, is it ok or is there any other better way to cook non-fat brunch? biggrin.gif
why dun just eat half boiled egg tongue.gif or boiled egg and mash it up like an egg sandwich (but DUN put mayo) and put the ham on top and toast. btw, what bread are you eating? if can get whole grain variety might be better?

btw, you only ate brunch and dinner? only 2 meals?
TSbearbear
post May 16 2007, 10:13 PM

10,061 posts

QUOTE(Neek @ May 16 2007, 09:31 PM)
why dun just eat half boiled egg tongue.gif or boiled egg and mash it up like an egg sandwich (but DUN put mayo) and put the ham on top and toast. btw, what bread are you eating? if can get whole grain variety might be better?

btw, you only ate brunch and dinner? only 2 meals?
Ya i have being eating boiled egg this few days, no half boil for me i just hate it!yucks! tongue.gif

I'm taking those normal hi-5 bread, what other do you recommend?

Ya only brunch and dinner, i'm fat cos of the junk food not because i eat alot for meals blush.gif
Neek
post May 16 2007, 11:19 PM

1,593 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 16 2007, 10:13 PM)
Ya i have being eating boiled egg this few days, no half boil for me i just hate it!yucks! tongue.gif

I'm taking those normal hi-5 bread, what other do you recommend?

Ya only brunch and dinner, i'm fat cos of the junk food not because i eat alot for meals blush.gif
the brand not really important for bread. just the type of bread. go for wholemeal/wholegrain breads instead of white bread. maybe you wanna try the new gardenia breakthru bread. taste wise is ok la.. not as good as the white bread tho. but its better for you to meet your goal.

ok, if you wanna lose weight, its about achieving caloric deficit. not starving yourself.
eating 2 meals a day would qualify to starving yourself.
the way to lose weight is this: burn more calories than consuming (ie, a caloric deficit)

here's a better way to work towards a diet. start with getting the figure for maintenance calories. then minus out 500-1000calories from that figure. that is the total amount of calories you need to consume daily to lose weight.

now you have that figure, you divide that into several meals. recomended is 5. means you eat every 3 hours or so... WHY? is because when your body gets food, it will continue using up energy, meaning your metabolism keeps on running. when you starve your body, your body adapts to the starved state by using up LESS calories for daily activity until it gets food. get it? so its better to spread out your meals so that your body keeps on burning energy.

and as your body adapts to the overall lower calorie diet, then you progressively decrease your calories.
by cutting out a huge amount of calories from your diet will shock your metabolism and you'll hit a plateau after a few weeks into your starve-yourself diet. at that point, you'll get depressed and think "dieting sucks, it don't work"
So, diet the RIGHT way. read up the pinned diet thread for more information. knowledge is the key to a good diet.
Good luck biggrin.gif

TSbearbear
post May 17 2007, 12:18 AM

10,061 posts

Well i do take fruits and vege if i feel hungry in btw meals but mostly it's just 2 meals.

I just visited calorieking.com and using their calculator it says

The approximate daily calorie count for you to maintain your current weight is 2371 calories.

so 2371 - 1000 = 1371

I need to consume around 1371 calories per day?

So say if i were to saperate to 5 meals a day thats like 260+ calories per meal?

Is this the way to calculate it?

If it is then can you share with me like what usually they eat which contains 260+ calories per meal?

Btw thanks alot for the infos biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by bearbear: May 17 2007, 12:19 AM
jones007
post May 17 2007, 03:13 AM

Internets Super Heroes LOLWUT
8,878 posts

QUOTE(bearbear @ May 17 2007, 12:18 AM)
Well i do take fruits and vege if i feel hungry in btw meals but mostly it's just 2 meals.

I just visited calorieking.com and using their calculator it says

The approximate daily calorie count for you to maintain your current weight is 2371 calories.

so 2371 - 1000 = 1371

I need to consume around 1371 calories per day?

So say if i were to saperate to 5 meals a day thats like 260+ calories per meal?

Is this the way to calculate it?

If it is then can you share with me like what usually they eat which contains 260+ calories per meal?

Btw thanks alot for the infos biggrin.gif
not necessarily your every male have to be the same amount of calories, make one more and one less if the total is the target its find, u cant eat the same amount u eat for dinner and for breakfast man.

and 1000 caloric deficit diet is deadly. u're gonna starve urself
Neek
post May 17 2007, 11:42 AM

1,593 posts

when i put 1000 cals. it was ment for the severely overweight. you case is not that bad. so cutting out 500 calories should be enough. don't go 1000. thats too much, you'll actually lose muscle also. tongue.gif
but i think you get the idea of it already eh. just look at nutritional info of the food b4 you eat it to count the calories. other stuff can try to go here to count: www.fitday.com

but that website can be a pain in the ass sometimes. shakehead.gif
TSbearbear
post May 17 2007, 12:30 PM

10,061 posts

Ok so i guess it better i start off with 500

Thanks for the info guys, will post up again if i have other questions biggrin.gif

0.0165sec    0.51    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th November 2025 - 12:48 PM