Kia Sportage 2018

VeeJay
post Apr 3 2018, 01:43 PM

3,853 posts

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Apr 3 2018, 01:29 PM)
My brother owns a Sorento.  Spare part scarce and need to wait long time for delivery. Official service center yah.
Thanks, your have a point there....Depending on the SC, ya, some SC are a pain. Most of the time, I source outside, if its not under warranty or some minor work.

I bought mine a used model, and warranty is till 2018. Thus far, the pervious owner had changed the steering rack, took about a month to get the parts, but could still continue to use the car.

I did a warranty claim on compressor; and it took a week.

TSDuckies
post Apr 3 2018, 01:46 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(VeeJay @ Apr 3 2018, 01:25 PM)
Did you own one? Comeon this is not Kopitiam, if you have any first hand info do share.

Duckies try to get info  directly from owners for Sportage.

As far as in general, Korean model, there is no issue in spare parts, and the pricing is comparable with Japanese counterparts.

I used to own a Optima, had no issues in terms on reliability or parts. Currently I own a Sorento, its been great.
QUOTE(Hades76 @ Apr 3 2018, 01:29 PM)
My brother owns a Sorento.  Spare part scarce and need to wait long time for delivery. Official service center yah.
Contradictory opinions here sweat.gif
ZeneticX
post Apr 3 2018, 01:49 PM

stars for what
12,413 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 3 2018, 01:46 PM)
Contradictory opinions here  sweat.gif
it totally depends on which service center you go to and the personnel in charge with you

there's good ones and bad ones
TSDuckies
post Apr 3 2018, 01:58 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(ZeneticX @ Apr 3 2018, 01:49 PM)
it totally depends on which service center you go to and the personnel in charge with you

there's good ones and bad ones
How's the maintenance cost for wear tear items and also cost for spare parts? Similar to Japanese cars?
adlizinc
post Apr 3 2018, 01:58 PM

64 posts

I own a kia optima k5. I didnt get the 3 years free service though😓. Service cost i guess not that expensive. Service centre is good. But for accident claim and repair go to the kia red cube service centre, the spare part delivery is much faster the normal 3s service centre.
Jasonist
post Apr 3 2018, 02:14 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

i think its based on personal perception & how well u can maintain ur car.. if u care for ur car well, even a 20 year old Kancil can still run like day 1..

also, ask urself whether u are sensitive to brand or having any good/bad perception on certain brands.. there are people who view Korean kimchis as low keras as opposed to Japanese brands as they perceive good quality build from the Japanese, probably due to their surrounding influences
TSDuckies
post Apr 3 2018, 02:16 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(Jasonist @ Apr 3 2018, 02:14 PM)
i think its based on personal perception & how well u can maintain ur car.. if u care for ur car well, even a 20 year old Kancil can still run like day 1..

also, ask urself whether u are sensitive to brand or having any good/bad perception on certain brands.. there are people who view Korean kimchis as low keras as opposed to Japanese brands as they perceive good quality build from the Japanese, probably due to their surrounding influences
Don't really care about brand. I like how sexy Kia Sportage looks but I am not sure of their maintenance cost. I am comparing the service/repairing cost with the Japanese cars, not their popularity.

This post has been edited by Duckies: Apr 3 2018, 02:16 PM
TSDuckies
post Apr 3 2018, 02:18 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(Forever01 @ Apr 3 2018, 02:13 PM)
nevermind i think you should choose japanese car...because in your mind japanese is the best already...why bother choosing other makes like korean or german? less korean car on the road for better uniqueness... biggrin.gif  biggrin.gif
Japanese cars are not really the best but they are affordable next to local cars and I don't really mind Korean cars. I am opening this thread cause I am not sure how's the service/maintenance or repairing cost for Korean cars.

Unlike Japanese cars which everyone is familiar to, I've an idea on how much their service/maintenance or repairing cost already. I am comparing the service/maintenance or repairing cost, not their popularity.

This post has been edited by Duckies: Apr 3 2018, 02:18 PM
TSDuckies
post Apr 3 2018, 02:51 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(Forever01 @ Apr 3 2018, 02:31 PM)
if always service with service centre, korean and japanese cost is identical
but if service outside, japanese for sure cheaper than korean

this is because korean has parts from two sources: korea(original, most expensive) and OEM(local-built original, normal price)
while japanese has parts from three sources: japan(original, most expensive), OEM(local-built original, normal price) and fake part(cheapest)
so japanese car is always cheaper to maintain outside because all people will choose the fake part(cheapest)

btw, this only apply on toyota, honda and nissan...others japanese makes like mazda or subaru is the same as korean
Ah I see. That gives a clearer view! Thanks man!
TSDuckies
post Apr 3 2018, 03:02 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(Forever01 @ Apr 3 2018, 02:58 PM)
no problem  biggrin.gif
Eh I got PM for GT line up but Petrol. Should be last year's spec right hmm.gif Might consider it but is there any issue with this batch?
MeToo
post Apr 3 2018, 03:02 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 3 2018, 11:35 AM)
Don't really mind on the resale value as I mostly buy it to drive, not to sell.

What I want to know is on the service, whether it's good or shitty like Peugeot and VW? Car maintenance and repairing cost?
Ya... i used to think that...

Until I wanted to sell my korean... RM4000.... similar class (and price when buying new) Japanese still can sell 25k...

TSDuckies
post Apr 3 2018, 03:03 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 3 2018, 03:02 PM)
Ya... i used to think that...

Until I wanted to sell my korean... RM4000.... similar class (and price when buying new) Japanese still can sell 25k...
Why u wanna sell ur car ya?
MeToo
post Apr 3 2018, 03:05 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 3 2018, 03:03 PM)
Why u wanna sell ur car ya?
House no more parking space.

Unless u drive yoru car for 20 yrs, then buy any car u like.
TSDuckies
post Apr 3 2018, 03:07 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(MeToo @ Apr 3 2018, 03:05 PM)
House no more parking space.

Unless u drive yoru car for 20 yrs, then buy any car u like.
LOL!!!

For my case should be drive until car rosak. That's why I don't really mind on the resale value.
MeToo
post Apr 3 2018, 03:12 PM

9,338 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 3 2018, 03:07 PM)
LOL!!!

For my case should be drive until car rosak. That's why I don't really mind on the resale value.
If u really dun mine RV, then get korean no problem.

Mine was pretty free from problem. Mileage about 120k when I sold it, did a top overhaul, usual service, replaces abs, otherwise no issue at all.

shinoxun
post Apr 3 2018, 03:14 PM

261 posts

QUOTE(Hades76 @ Apr 3 2018, 11:32 AM)
Korean cars....LEL...... service bad....second hand value none... enjoy your lemon
Bro,u had a Korean car before? I doubt you dont. whistling.gif
acbc
post Apr 3 2018, 03:14 PM

9,050 posts

I’ve the 2013 Sportage. The least problematic car at home. The most is my Peugeot 3008. Worth buying as used car not new due to lousy resale value.
TSDuckies
post Apr 3 2018, 03:15 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

QUOTE(acbc @ Apr 3 2018, 03:14 PM)
I’ve the 2013 Sportage. The least problematic car at home. The most is my Peugeot 3008. Worth buying as used car not new due to lousy resale value.
Peugeot, Ford and VW is no no for me laugh.gif
JaSoN WaTaRu
post Apr 3 2018, 03:16 PM

21 posts

Pm me for the Besi KIA price .

For more information can pm me directly

4S Center in Chan Sow Lin KL
(priority for indoor customer)
acbc
post Apr 3 2018, 03:25 PM

9,050 posts

QUOTE(Duckies @ Apr 3 2018, 03:15 PM)
Peugeot, Ford and VW is no no for me laugh.gif
Korean brands plenty of features but performance damn slow or boring. If accelerate a Sportage at corners, the SUV might flip over if only 2WD. If 4WD, still ok. Tested before. Scary. Peugeot 3008? Car will fishtail and lose rear traction before traction control took over.

10 Pages < 1 2 3 4 > » Top

0.0210sec    1.13    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 19th December 2025 - 12:01 PM