Buying Advice Canon 400D Prices (KL Prices May 11th 2007)

TSmyjunk
post May 11 2007, 02:40 PM, updated 19y ago

3,446 posts

Went to KL and went asking around for prices of The Canon 400D

Pudu Plaza - RM2800 (Kit Lens + 1G+T+B)

BB Plaza and Sungai Wang

Foto Edar
RM2750 Kit+1G+T+B (2880 Easy payment) (I think Credit Card also Rm2750, forgot)
Rm2400 Body Only

KMart
Rm2700 Cash Kit + Nothing

Jaya
RM2600 Cash Kit + Nothing

FS
Rm2750 Kit + Nothing
RM2950 Kit+2G+T+B+Screen Proctector+Filter
CASH

FotoKem
Rm2660 KIT + NOthing

Shangri-La
Rm2700 Kit
Rm2750 Kit+1G+Bag

Boeing
RM2650 Kit + Nothing
Rm2850 Kit+1G+T+ScreenProctector + Filter

Tarita
RM2699 Kit Only

1 Utama

Shiong Hee
RM2799 Kit + nothing

FotoKem
RM2899 Kit + Nothing

Shangri-La
RM2999 Kit + Nothing

Problem is, not sure what the is so called "Free Gift/bundle stuffs", meaning the Card Speed/Brand/Bag Brand etc.. For all I know, they give those LOWEST/cheapest one.

This is better than PC Fair Prices I think.

So.. Will most likely getting one from Edar.

Actually would prefer to NOT get the Kit lens, but seems like no-brainer to get the lens since it's RM300 Extra only. (or is it??) since I read that the lens is a let down.

Would prefer to get another lens, say a 20-100+mm walkaround lens like the D80 18-135 that would be Great.

Any recommendations??

This post has been edited by myjunk: May 16 2007, 04:57 PM
jeffbong
post May 11 2007, 02:53 PM

281 posts

I believe paying the body and the kit is the best. No need to get all this card,bag, tripod or nonsense by adding let say 150-200 ringgit. Some shops do that.

Why I say so?? Cos the stuff u get is mostly junk bags, a lame tripod and 1GB card, filter and etc.

2GB card is cheap out there, u will throw the so call package tripod and get a more solid one, and of course Lowepro or Tamrac bag n better Hoya filter(CPL,UV n etc). Why pay twice and have same items but double amount. The price u buy outside is more expensive but worth it!!!

Just get the kit set only.

That's my opinion only. Other ppl other opinion. Apology if i offended anybody

This post has been edited by jeffbong: May 11 2007, 02:56 PM
neoro_blitz
post May 11 2007, 03:07 PM

492 posts

CF - Get Sandisk 2GB Ultra 2 , bought 160-170 - Fast and reliable
Tripod - Manfrotto if possible. Its your life long savings on 3 legs - 300 - 400
Bag - Anything wld do , as long as it protects your camera and also some might not want to have their bag look too much like a camera bag, to avoid catching attention - thus - Crumpler maybe .. tongue.gif 200-500
'
Not cheap other investments , but to complement a sports car , i'm sure you'll need at least sports equivalent parts to go with it. Save from the package - only to suffer from your photographic experience.

Red Maniac
post May 11 2007, 03:31 PM

347 posts

When checking in SWP few days ago.

FotoKem: $2800 Kit + 2G (Pendrive) + B + T + 4% (Easy payment)

Tarita: $2800 Kit + 2G (Pendrive) + 3.5% (Easy payment) + $100 (upgrade to Sandisk Ultra II).

Foto Edar charge 5% for easy payment option.

TSmyjunk
post May 11 2007, 03:44 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(Red Maniac @ May 11 2007, 03:31 PM)
When checking in SWP few days ago.

FotoKem: $2800 Kit + 2G (Pendrive) + B + T + 4% (Easy payment)

Tarita: $2800 Kit + 2G (Pendrive) + 3.5% (Easy payment) + $100 (upgrade to Sandisk Ultra II).

Foto Edar charge 5% for easy payment option.
Low Yat Sandisk Ultra II RM 149 (viewnet)

The problem with NOT getting the "package" is that it seems like add in RM50/100 for the stuffs seems like a good deal anyway. If don't want it, I don't think they will -ve the price.

Cheapest Kit only is RM2600 from Jaya (cash)
+ 2G Sandisk = Rm2750 which is the same as getting the stupid Bag + Stupid Tripod + 1GB Stupid (Slow Speed CF)

Just Seems like not very intelligent to NOT get the package leh..

Added on May 11, 2007, 3:46 pm
QUOTE(jeffbong @ May 11 2007, 02:53 PM)
2GB card is cheap out there, u will throw the so call package tripod and get a more solid one, and of course Lowepro or Tamrac bag n better Hoya filter(CPL,UV n etc). Why pay twice and have same items but double amount. The price u buy outside is more expensive but worth it!!!
I've yet to actually see the bundle stuffs. Maybe you are right in this case. But I'm going on vacation in 2 weeks time (beach!!) so, it's a bit rush..

RM150 for 2GB sandisk is OK for me
but to get a new (better) Bag for Rm200-500 that seems like Very Expensive man...

This post has been edited by myjunk: May 11 2007, 03:46 PM
neoro_blitz
post May 11 2007, 03:58 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ May 11 2007, 03:44 PM)
but to get a new (better) Bag for Rm200-500 that seems like Very Expensive man...
you will want something that protects ur camera at the same time distributes the weight evenly. A sore shoulder or neck is a sure no-no , the following day.

Some people as they travel , they want something ( bag ) that blends in more rather than shout CAMERA BAG RM5000 and ABOVE here. So if you're up to that level, whats additional RM100-200
jeffbong
post May 11 2007, 04:06 PM

281 posts

QUOTE(neoro_blitz @ May 11 2007, 03:58 PM)
you will want something that protects ur camera at the same time distributes the weight evenly. A sore shoulder or neck is a sure no-no , the following day.

Some people as they travel , they want something ( bag ) that blends in more rather than shout CAMERA BAG RM5000 and ABOVE here. So if you're up to that level, whats additional RM100-200
Spot on neoro_blitz, last time use side sling bag cheap one, sakit shoulder woh. Bag keyword= Singapore.....

I tot bag is just bag last time. Buy twice!!! And got Lowepro!!!! If i listen to my fren, i only invested once on the bag only. Now rugi. sad.gif

scorgio
post May 11 2007, 04:15 PM

4,695 posts

Wow....
U surveyed 10 places for the price.
So does the time & money spent on transport/phone calls justify the RM50-100 difference in selling price?
TSmyjunk
post May 11 2007, 05:52 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ May 11 2007, 04:15 PM)
Wow....
So does the time & money spent on transport/phone calls justify the RM50-100 difference in selling price?

I went to KL to pay for my Golden Holiday Air tickets. (Stupid MAS package can only pay in the KL office !!! so was already down there)

I already wasted 1 day LEave just to get the tckets anyway.. so after that, I drop by BB/Sungai Wang to "Kepo" lah.

I will go and ask in 1 Utama later. (then no need to go down again if the price ~ same)

Hmm.. I wonder what the "WAF(wife acceptance factor)" will be on the getting "package" vs only the Kit and the Rm50/100 difference.

YOu know lah.. Must be "Value" mah..

TQ all for the guidance, but in the end, the WAF will have the last say. Dont you thinK:

rclxub.gif

This post has been edited by myjunk: May 11 2007, 05:53 PM
porkchop
post May 11 2007, 05:54 PM

Lalala Life's Sweet
6,633 posts

[ - i l l u s i o n s - ]
post May 11 2007, 05:54 PM

Photography Addict
744 posts

aero99
post May 11 2007, 05:56 PM

581 posts

thx for the price survey dude...salute to u...
now i can target to edar to get the body + kit only liao...
ehh..wanna ask 1 more question...there accept credit card or not har?

This post has been edited by aero99: May 11 2007, 05:58 PM
TSmyjunk
post May 11 2007, 06:10 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(aero99 @ May 11 2007, 05:56 PM)
thx for the price survey dude...salute to u...
now i can target to edar to get the body only liao...
ehh..wanna ask 1 more question...there accept credit card or not har?
of course accept!! But whether got extra charge or not I forgot to ask. Use Easy Pay got even more extra. Rm2880 IIRC.

Hey.. Body only.. you already got lens or you target get another lens? Pls tell. I also don't really want this lens. Everywhere say not v good.

Come to think of it. if get a 20-100+mm lens tamron, cost ~Rm1.2-1.6K which would be equilvalent to getting the D80 w/ the kit lens. Right???

This post has been edited by myjunk: May 11 2007, 06:12 PM
aero99
post May 11 2007, 06:19 PM

581 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ May 11 2007, 06:10 PM)
of course accept!! But whether got extra charge or not I forgot to ask. Use Easy Pay got even more extra. Rm2880 IIRC.

Hey.. Body only.. you already got lens or you target get another lens? Pls tell. I also don't really want this lens. Everywhere say not v good.

Come to think of it. if get a 20-100+mm lens tamron, cost ~Rm1.2-1.6K which would be equilvalent to getting the D80 w/ the kit lens. Right???
its depand on u lah...
i target for 350D/400D at 1st liao ...and the kit lens is can tahan for few month then u will start finding for more~
better get another one...
well..for me ...
get myself a wide angle, fix range and a tele + macro enuf for the moment~ of course...not asking to buy 1shot...1 by 1 lah...buy the most needed 1st..then only the rest coming in~

This post has been edited by aero99: May 11 2007, 06:20 PM
TSmyjunk
post May 11 2007, 10:08 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(aero99 @ May 11 2007, 06:19 PM)
its depand on u lah...
i target for 350D/400D at 1st liao ...and the kit lens is can tahan for few month then u will start finding for more~
better get another one...
well..for me ...
get myself a wide angle, fix range and a tele + macro enuf for the moment~ of course...not asking to buy 1shot...1 by 1 lah...buy the most needed 1st..then only the rest coming in~
WAF is a NO-No on the 400D at this time lah. B'cos based on estimates, better get the D80 then at least don't have to think over these items.

1. Kit Lens Not good and Not enough Zoom. (D80 comes with 18-135 which is already Rm1+K right?)
2. Ergonomics not an issue. The 400D harder to hold comfortably compared to the D80 and if want the 400D to feel better, have to get the battery Grip which is RM500

So.. all in all.. I think no buy lah.. save a little bit more moolah and then get the D80 direct. AT least with the D80, the itchiness to get another (better) lens will be many more months after.

Wah.. sounds like you already got 'poison' as they say in the forums.
neoro_blitz
post May 11 2007, 10:53 PM

492 posts

QUOTE(myjunk @ May 11 2007, 05:52 PM)

Added on May 11, 2007, 5:53 pm
That also the problem. I don't have the chance to go S'pore within these 2 weeks to get another BAG to take on the vacation leh..
If you're interested you can make some searches around the photography forums as well as FTZ, I always see bags up for sale and some 2nd hand really good bargains smile.gif

Drop me a PM if you want a head up.. smile.gif
TSmyjunk
post May 11 2007, 11:00 PM

3,446 posts

QUOTE(neoro_blitz @ May 11 2007, 10:53 PM)
If you're interested you can make some searches around the photography forums as well as FTZ, I always see bags up for sale and some 2nd hand really good bargains smile.gif

Drop me a PM if you want a head up..  smile.gif
Thanks but I will take a raincheck on your offer till later (much later when I get moolah for the d80.
Have to start saving like RM500 per month icon_question.gif )

ac98
post May 12 2007, 12:54 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ May 11 2007, 04:15 PM)
Wow....
Totally agree on that man ... what we dun realise is the hidden cost behind the actual cost we are paying and all the attempts to dig out the best possible price for our lil' so called investment. Reality shines.

Added on May 12, 2007, 1:29 amCurrently, the pricing of the Canon EOS 400D remained strong due to the fact that it's relatively new in the market and also thanks to Nikon's indecisive move to roll off a 10MP Nikon D40X within months after the halfway-selling D40. A move like that caused quite a stir in the newbies' market when potential Nikon DSLR owners will think "Wah, within months aleady upgrade, what is going to happen to my investment if they keep on doing like that?" Not many ppl think like some of us ... nobody wants to purchase something and becomes 'obsolete' the next months or before the Warranty expires.

Old school photographers will always consider used units becoz of tight budget or simply wanna get a better camera to use regardless of the age (me for instance) versus the cost of the latest model but lower end. No matter what I say, I simply cannot convince lotsa newbies to follow my way.

No point the EOS 400D dropping price becoz there are still lotsa obvious advantages that it has over the Nikon D40X which is the only direct competitor now : DIGIC processor which have better noise control at higher ISO settings, usage of all EF lenses without restriction and dust removal at startup to name a few. If the kit lens is the ONLY reason you're getting the Nikon D40/D40X instead then you're not really smart ... you're loosing out more than just lense usage in the long run. Nikon has over a dozen lenses waiting for you to grab, the some you'll have to loose autofocus or metering options over.

This post has been edited by ac98: May 12 2007, 01:29 AM
ac98
post May 12 2007, 01:39 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(neoro_blitz @ May 11 2007, 03:58 PM)

So you are a photographer that really utilises your gear and been around, good. I see lotsa DSLR users walking around with 'camcorder bags' and soon there will be an extra bag lying around at home when they upgrade from their kit lens to a new lens, buying extra ones or just a new external flash. Such a pity.

Paying for a better bag means more comfort, better carrying ability and of course better weight distribution. People like me even call for weather changes, robustness and blending in into different shooting environment. Choice of carrying system is very crucial for me, I wanna have one that is not too expensive, safe and comfortable to carry around becoz I am always prepared to walk miles and miles with it, so I need something that can live my lifetime if possible.
g88
post May 12 2007, 03:51 AM

1,631 posts

if you really serious and looking into upgrade in future, drop the package..just get kitset (or even body only if you think kitlens cannot sactisfy you).

CF can go Lowyat get a decent one (no need super pro series as it's very expensive)....

0.0192sec    0.26    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 22nd December 2025 - 04:03 AM