Buying Advice Canon 400D Prices (KL Prices May 11th 2007)

ac98
post May 12 2007, 12:54 AM

The Spirit of Photography
3,758 posts

QUOTE(scorgio @ May 11 2007, 04:15 PM)
Wow....
U surveyed 10 places for the price.
So does the time & money spent on transport/phone calls justify the RM50-100 difference in selling price?
Totally agree on that man ... what we dun realise is the hidden cost behind the actual cost we are paying and all the attempts to dig out the best possible price for our lil' so called investment. Reality shines.

Added on May 12, 2007, 1:29 amCurrently, the pricing of the Canon EOS 400D remained strong due to the fact that it's relatively new in the market and also thanks to Nikon's indecisive move to roll off a 10MP Nikon D40X within months after the halfway-selling D40. A move like that caused quite a stir in the newbies' market when potential Nikon DSLR owners will think "Wah, within months aleady upgrade, what is going to happen to my investment if they keep on doing like that?" Not many ppl think like some of us ... nobody wants to purchase something and becomes 'obsolete' the next months or before the Warranty expires.

Old school photographers will always consider used units becoz of tight budget or simply wanna get a better camera to use regardless of the age (me for instance) versus the cost of the latest model but lower end. No matter what I say, I simply cannot convince lotsa newbies to follow my way.

No point the EOS 400D dropping price becoz there are still lotsa obvious advantages that it has over the Nikon D40X which is the only direct competitor now : DIGIC processor which have better noise control at higher ISO settings, usage of all EF lenses without restriction and dust removal at startup to name a few. If the kit lens is the ONLY reason you're getting the Nikon D40/D40X instead then you're not really smart ... you're loosing out more than just lense usage in the long run. Nikon has over a dozen lenses waiting for you to grab, the some you'll have to loose autofocus or metering options over.

This post has been edited by ac98: May 12 2007, 01:29 AM
ac98
post May 12 2007, 01:39 AM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(neoro_blitz @ May 11 2007, 03:58 PM)
you will want something that protects ur camera at the same time distributes the weight evenly. A sore shoulder or neck is a sure no-no , the following day.

Some people as they travel , they want something ( bag ) that blends in more rather than shout CAMERA BAG RM5000 and ABOVE here. So if you're up to that level, whats additional RM100-200
So you are a photographer that really utilises your gear and been around, good. I see lotsa DSLR users walking around with 'camcorder bags' and soon there will be an extra bag lying around at home when they upgrade from their kit lens to a new lens, buying extra ones or just a new external flash. Such a pity.

Paying for a better bag means more comfort, better carrying ability and of course better weight distribution. People like me even call for weather changes, robustness and blending in into different shooting environment. Choice of carrying system is very crucial for me, I wanna have one that is not too expensive, safe and comfortable to carry around becoz I am always prepared to walk miles and miles with it, so I need something that can live my lifetime if possible.
ac98
post May 16 2007, 07:01 PM

3,758 posts

QUOTE(ramblie @ May 15 2007, 03:11 PM)
Still counting my money to buy D80 or D50!
That's almost Rm1K difference now right? tongue.gif

0.0164sec    0.93    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:39 PM