Dehumidifier

TSspreeeee
post Mar 26 2018, 05:24 PM, updated 8y ago

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

Dehumidifier - any brand recommendation, any advice on this appliance, where and why you place there, please discuss..
idoblu
post Mar 26 2018, 06:09 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

Only brand I see now is DeLonghi. Around RM1100 - 1200. Wanted to buy but can’t afford....

Got cheaper type not using compressor but not interested in those

This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 26 2018, 06:10 PM
TSspreeeee
post Mar 26 2018, 07:50 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 26 2018, 06:09 PM)
Only brand I see now is DeLonghi. Around RM1100 - 1200. Wanted to buy but can’t afford....

Got cheaper type not using compressor but not interested in those
Yah, saw this brand too, how about those china brand like Keming, basic one around rm80 and larger one around rm250.. can be found in Lzd/11s
idoblu
post Mar 26 2018, 07:59 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 26 2018, 07:50 PM)
Yah, saw this brand too, how about those china brand like Keming, basic one around rm80 and larger one around rhm250.. can be found in Lzd/11s
please try and let us know.... tongue.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 27 2018, 06:01 AM
Kiding
post Mar 27 2018, 02:43 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 26 2018, 05:24 PM)
Dehumidifier - any brand recommendation, any advice on this appliance, where and why you place there, please discuss..
Most aircon has dehumidifier feature
TSspreeeee
post Mar 27 2018, 02:43 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 27 2018, 02:43 PM)
Most aircon has dehumidifier feature
Looking for dehumidifier for laundry/kitchen area
Kiding
post Mar 27 2018, 03:50 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 27 2018, 02:43 PM)
Looking for dehumidifier for laundry/kitchen area
Why do you need a dehumidifier in laundry/kitchen area? don't tell me you plan to dry your clothes smile.gif

This post has been edited by Kiding: Mar 27 2018, 03:51 PM
aeiou228
post Mar 27 2018, 04:14 PM

5,867 posts

Being eyeing for dehumidifier too for storage purposes but not sure about the feasibility of the electricity and maintenance cost.
Current dehumidifier method is using off the shelve moisture absorber crystals and silica desiccant beads put it into a plastic storage container for small storage items. Moisture absorber crystals refills are getting more and more expensive nowadays.
TSspreeeee
post Mar 27 2018, 04:16 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 27 2018, 03:50 PM)
Why do you need a dehumidifier in laundry/kitchen area? don't tell me you plan to dry your clothes smile.gif
the laundry area is quite moisture/damp.. and ventilation is bad, so need to dehumid this area to at least keep well the washer and dryer..
steadystream
post Mar 27 2018, 04:21 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 26 2018, 07:50 PM)
Yah, saw this brand too, how about those china brand like Keming, basic one around rm80 and larger one around rm250.. can be found in Lzd/11s
have air cond at kitchen?
keming is just not that effective , with keming my room relative humidty around 56-65% while outside of my room is 78-80% , but once i switch on air cond , it drop till 33-41%
aeiou228
post Mar 27 2018, 04:24 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 27 2018, 04:16 PM)
the laundry area is quite moisture/damp.. and ventilation is bad, so need to dehumid this area to at least keep well the washer and dryer..
I guess the electricity cost to run the dehumidifier @ 60% in these area must be high.
aeiou228
post Mar 27 2018, 04:27 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(steadystream @ Mar 27 2018, 04:21 PM)
have air cond at kitchen?
keming is just not that effective , with keming my room relative humidty around 56-65% while outside of my room is 78-80% , but once i switch on air cond , it drop till 33-41%
What is the wattage of your dehumidifier ?
steadystream
post Mar 27 2018, 04:51 PM

115 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 27 2018, 04:27 PM)
What is the wattage of your dehumidifier ?
i don't know , u google keming , around RM80+ , it really don't do much but i guess it help the burden of air cond

This post has been edited by steadystream: Mar 27 2018, 04:51 PM
TSspreeeee
post Mar 27 2018, 04:52 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

65W is the rated power, will it significantly increase the electricity bill if ON 24hr/day?
aeiou228
post Mar 27 2018, 04:55 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(steadystream @ Mar 27 2018, 04:51 PM)
i don't know , u google keming , around RM80+ , it really don't do much but i guess it help the burden of air cond
If RM80 dehumidifier, no need google liao biggrin.gif

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 27 2018, 04:52 PM)
65W is the rated power, will it significantly increase the electricity bill if ON 24hr/day?
Those RM1K plus dehumidifier 65W only ?

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Mar 27 2018, 04:56 PM
TSspreeeee
post Mar 27 2018, 05:51 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 27 2018, 04:55 PM)
Those RM1K plus dehumidifier 65W only ?
those like delonghi, around 190W.
aeiou228
post Mar 27 2018, 06:21 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 27 2018, 05:51 PM)
those like delonghi, around 190W.
190w, that's more like it.
If run 24/7, the energy consumption is around RM1.63 per day. (take average rate for 500 unit/mth usage for example)
The duration of auto on/off is vary depending on the relative humidity in your laundry/kitchen area and the humidity level your set on the dehumidifier.
Say the dehumidifier requires 12 hours On time to maintain at 60%, thus RM1.63 / 2 = 81sen/day, 81 x 30 = RM24 per month.

I'm just guessing the figures. Hopefully actual user can share some facts and data.
ozak
post Mar 28 2018, 08:55 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 27 2018, 04:14 PM)
Being eyeing for dehumidifier too for storage purposes but not sure about the feasibility of the electricity and maintenance cost.
Current dehumidifier method is using off the shelve moisture absorber crystals and silica desiccant beads put it into a plastic storage container for small storage items.  Moisture absorber crystals refills are getting more and more expensive nowadays.
How much you get the silica gel ?

I brought 1kg for RM75. Food grade.

Non food grade, half the price.

If the thing to stay dry not that much, silica gel is good enough.
aeiou228
post Mar 28 2018, 10:49 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 28 2018, 08:55 AM)

RM48 after discount voucher for 1kg from photo Shangri la Lazada.
Blue colour turn to pink. Not sure what grade.
ozak
post Mar 28 2018, 11:31 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 28 2018, 10:49 AM)
RM48 after discount voucher for 1kg from photo Shangri la Lazada.
Blue colour turn to pink. Not sure what grade.
Food grade silica gel is clear color.

Any silica gel with color is non food grade type. It already ban in western country.
aeiou228
post Mar 28 2018, 01:12 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 28 2018, 11:31 AM)
Food grade silica gel is clear color.

Any silica gel with color is non food grade type. It already ban in western country.
Half price of RM75 for non food grade is very cheap, where did you get it?

I keep non food item with silica gel. As for dried food item, I use reusable vacuum sealed bag in various sizes.
SheepGeeks
post Mar 28 2018, 01:45 PM

637 posts

I did dehumifier system for few f&b line. It's not easy to get low RH with the dehumifier machine itself, you'll need to combine it with cold air (air con) to achieve low RH value.

Like other said, for a small space like kitchen it's better to use silica gel or add a fan blowing toward the gel for better efficiency.
idoblu
post Mar 28 2018, 06:33 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 28 2018, 08:55 AM)

Loose packing, as in just the gel?
I bought those Daiso ones in paper sachets- you need an air right container, if not very fast it loses its efficiency
ozak
post Mar 28 2018, 07:47 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 28 2018, 01:12 PM)
Half price of RM75 for non food grade is very cheap, where did you get it?

I keep non food item with silica gel. As for dried food item, I use reusable vacuum sealed bag in various sizes.
Sorry not rm75. It is rm85/kg.

I top up rm43 for the food grade.

I think from lelong or shopee. Have the contact if you want.
ozak
post Mar 28 2018, 07:52 PM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 28 2018, 06:33 PM)
Loose packing, as in just the gel?
I bought those Daiso ones in paper sachets- you need an air right container, if not very fast it loses its efficiency
Not loose pack. Sell in kg just the gel.

Than I pack it separately and make some hole on the pack.

I have those daiso wan. Put it in comforter set, bag and closet. But expensive if big qty.

You can recycle it by heat back the gel. Control it at 80c

Daiso wan, you got to buy that can change color. Pink to blue.

This post has been edited by ozak: Mar 28 2018, 07:53 PM
idoblu
post Mar 28 2018, 08:11 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 28 2018, 07:52 PM)
Not loose pack. Sell in kg just the gel.

Than I pack it separately and make some hole on the pack.

I have those daiso wan. Put it in comforter set, bag and closet. But expensive if big qty.

You can recycle it by heat back the gel. Control it at 80c

Daiso wan, you got to buy that can change color. Pink to blue.
I feel they are quite useless. Once you put in your closet, 1-2 days already cannot absorb anymore moisture. Waste money

I put in small airtight plastic container for my camera. The moment I open the lid, the humidity goes up and can’t go back down unless I put new silicate gel in

This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 28 2018, 08:13 PM
Kiding
post Mar 28 2018, 09:09 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 28 2018, 08:11 PM)
I feel they are quite useless. Once you put in your closet, 1-2 days already cannot absorb anymore moisture. Waste money

I put in small airtight plastic container for my camera. The moment I open the lid, the humidity goes up and can’t go back down unless I put new silicate gel in
Yeah... I think putting silica gel in such a room like kitchen is useless, because it is an open space, not a closet, it can't continue adsorb moisture, the most effective way is still using an active device such as aircon, dehumidifier to continue absorb moisture.
TSspreeeee
post Mar 28 2018, 09:15 PM

♠ . ♥ . ♣ . ♦
3,812 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 28 2018, 09:09 PM)
Yeah... I think putting silica gel in such a room like kitchen is useless, because it is an open space, not a closet, it can't continue adsorb moisture, the most effective way is still using an active device such as aircon, dehumidifier to continue absorb moisture.
True, those unit selling online one, said able to reuseable by recharging the unit, but it doesn’t absorb much and turn pick very fast and took hours to charge it to become original color.
idoblu
post Mar 28 2018, 09:21 PM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(spreeeee @ Mar 28 2018, 09:15 PM)
True, those unit selling online one, said able to reuseable by recharging the unit, but it doesn’t absorb much and turn pick very fast and took hours to charge it to become original color.
deswai i think if you gonna buy a powered dehumidifier, make sure it has a hose to drain away all the water. If using a tank alone, make sure its a big tank. If not you will be emptying the collection tank everyday, maybe even twice a day

if you open all your windows, your dehumidifier will need to work longer.

why xiaomi got no dehumidifier? waiting for one from them biggrin.gif

This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 28 2018, 09:22 PM
ozak
post Mar 29 2018, 12:11 AM

17,018 posts

If it so fast goes up, it mean that the silica gel is not enough for that cubic meter container. You need to put more.

Just same like air purifier or dehumidifier. The unit size depend on the room size. Getting too small unit will not absorb enough moisture.

Those Daiso pack I put in closet or bag that does not seal tight, I won't border even it change color. Just let it be for a month than take out and reheat it back.

I put like almost a kg gel inside Ikea seal tight 22L container. Can last pretty long.

Container project. smile.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=88173677

Modify toaster for reheat silica gel. smile.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=88407600

ozak
post Mar 29 2018, 12:14 AM

17,018 posts

Silica gel is only for seal tight container. Not mean for big area.

Big area still need a proper dehumidifier. But the cost of unit and running cost is high. I would rather get a aircon.
idoblu
post Mar 29 2018, 08:23 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2018, 12:11 AM)
If it so fast goes up, it mean that the silica gel is not enough for that cubic meter container. You need to put more.

Just same like air purifier or dehumidifier. The unit size depend on the room size. Getting too small unit will not absorb enough moisture.

Those Daiso pack I put in closet or bag that does not seal tight, I won't border even it change color. Just let it be for a month than take out and reheat it back.

I put like almost a kg gel inside Ikea seal tight 22L container. Can last pretty long.

Container project.  smile.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=88173677

Modify toaster for reheat silica gel.  smile.gif
https://forum.lowyat.net/index.php?showtopi...post&p=88407600
Keng! thumbup.gif
ozak
post Mar 29 2018, 08:58 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 29 2018, 08:23 AM)
Keng!  thumbup.gif
Poorman DIY. sad.gif

Remember I do place a Hippo (poorman dehumidifier) in the kitchen cabinet. Sink below cabinet. It can last about 1.5month or 2. It get rid of smell and moist.
idoblu
post Mar 29 2018, 09:09 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2018, 08:58 AM)
Poorman DIY.  sad.gif

Remember I do place a Hippo (poorman dehumidifier) in the kitchen cabinet. Sink below cabinet. It can last about 1.5month or 2. It get rid of smell and moist.
last time at this hardware store (homefix) in 1Utama - they sell these rods.....with a wire attached. You suppose to plug it in and the rod heats up to dry up the air
But I sked burn my house down only hahaha.... laugh.gif sweat.gif

something like this -

This post has been edited by idoblu: Mar 29 2018, 09:11 AM
ozak
post Mar 29 2018, 09:34 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 29 2018, 09:09 AM)
last time at this hardware store (homefix) in 1Utama - they sell these rods.....with a wire attached. You suppose to plug it in and the rod heats up to dry up the air
But I sked burn my house down only hahaha.... laugh.gif  sweat.gif

something like this -

Wuahahaha.... How many you want ? tongue.gif

Brought 20yrs ago from Handimart SS17. Close shop liau.

When they throw sale, I sapu all. I think still got 2 or 3 spare in store. Come in 2 lenght. 18" and 12". Running at 11w and 18w if not mistaken. It can heat up to 60°c in small close area.

Put in cloth closet. But I didn't ON it all the time. No money pay bill. sad.gif
idoblu
post Mar 29 2018, 09:36 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2018, 09:34 AM)

When they throw sale, I sapu all. I think still got 2 or 3 spare in store. Come in 2 lenght. 18" and 12". Running at 11w and 18w if not mistaken. It can heat up to 60°c in small close area.

Put in cloth closet. But I didn't ON it all the time. No money pay bill.  sad.gif
wah you bought.... rclxms.gif
do they work well? Supposed to put inside cupboards. I think it will heat up the whole cupboard

ozak
post Mar 29 2018, 09:50 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 29 2018, 09:36 AM)
wah you bought.... rclxms.gif
do they work well? Supposed to put inside cupboards. I think it will heat up the whole cupboard
Yup. It work. But I don't no how much the humid level go down. I check later when the hygrometer arrive. (farking long from aliexpress)

It just luke warm in the cupboard. Your cloth is warm to touch.

It is good to use if your cloth have smell or cloth that long been keep.

Last time use it for dry some paint after spray.

And also camera cabinet. But stop it after some advice that camera not good in hot condition.

Recently I modify it to use for the printer. Some material print require stable hot condition. This is the best heater stick to use.
idoblu
post Mar 29 2018, 10:04 AM

stars for sale
11,308 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2018, 09:50 AM)
Yup. It work. But I don't no how much the humid level go down. I check later when the hygrometer arrive. (farking long from aliexpress)

It just luke warm in the cupboard. Your cloth is warm to touch.

It is good to use if your cloth have smell or cloth that long been keep.

Last time use it for dry some paint after spray.

And also camera cabinet. But stop it after some advice that camera not good in hot condition.

Recently I modify it to use for the printer. Some material print require stable hot condition. This is the best heater stick to use.
which hygrometer did you buy?
i use one of my aqara sensors put in my camera box. If humidity goes above 50%, send notification to my phone
aeiou228
post Mar 29 2018, 10:15 AM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2018, 09:34 AM)

Put in cloth closet. But I didn't ON it all the time. No money pay bill.  sad.gif
My piano came with this type of dehumidifier rod too, But I always wonder the efficiency of this rod. It uses heat to vaporize the moisture in the air, isn't it moisture is already a vapor in the air ? The rod doesn't condense the air into water nor it absorb water like silica desiccant.

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2018, 09:50 AM)
Buy from Shopee ma... cheap cheap nia.
Last time, I put hygrometer overnight in the air tight storage box with hippo and 1kg silica inside but I forgot the reading liao blush.gif
Need to search for the record.

This post has been edited by aeiou228: Mar 29 2018, 10:17 AM
ozak
post Mar 29 2018, 10:27 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(idoblu @ Mar 29 2018, 10:04 AM)
which hygrometer did you buy?
i use one of my aqara sensors put in my camera box. If humidity goes above 50%, send notification to my phone
This --> https://www.aliexpress.com/item/Professiona...9999.263.ICjoLN

Put agara in camera box ? Walau so detail jaga your camera. RM10k camera huh ?

My camera dry cabinet already have a built in hygrometer. I modify the cabinet to use solar power after the adapter kong. Only use 3w at 45-50%.
ozak
post Mar 29 2018, 10:44 AM

17,018 posts

QUOTE(aeiou228 @ Mar 29 2018, 10:15 AM)
My piano came with this type of dehumidifier rod too, But I always wonder the efficiency of this rod. It uses heat to vaporize the moisture in the air, isn't it moisture is already a vapor in the air ? The rod doesn't condense the air into water nor it absorb water like silica desiccant.
Buy from Shopee ma... cheap cheap nia.
Last time, I put hygrometer overnight  in the air tight storage box with hippo and 1kg silica inside but I forgot the reading liao  blush.gif
Need to search for the record.
According to what I read long long time when search for this rod, if the temperature above ambient temperature, moist will be less in atmosphere. Just like desert. Hot and dry.

So this rod heat up the surrounding above the ambient temperature to vaporise it. Since it in closet, the moist to vaporise is much less. That's why this rod don't require high watt to run.

Kiding
post Mar 29 2018, 06:15 PM

1,135 posts

QUOTE(ozak @ Mar 29 2018, 10:44 AM)
According to what I read long long time when search for this rod, if the temperature above ambient temperature, moist will be less in atmosphere. Just like desert. Hot and dry.

So this rod heat up the surrounding above the ambient temperature to vaporise it. Since it in closet, the moist to vaporise is much less. That's why this rod don't require high watt to run.
Actually it is not the moisture will be less in atmosphere when the temperature goes up, it is the relative humidity reduce when temperature goes up, because higher temperature, higher saturation point, hence, moisture content remain the same but vapor saturation point goes up, relative humidity goes down.
aeiou228
post Mar 29 2018, 11:26 PM

5,867 posts

QUOTE(Kiding @ Mar 29 2018, 06:15 PM)
Actually it is not the moisture will be less in atmosphere when the temperature goes up, it is the relative humidity reduce when temperature goes up, because higher temperature, higher saturation point, hence, moisture content remain the same but vapor saturation point goes up, relative humidity goes down.
So, condensation and desiccants method is better then ?
J.alexander
post Mar 27 2023, 12:56 PM

178 posts

Pulling this thread up after 5 years.

Looking for a dehumidifier for an air lock room.
Finding mould starting.

Hopefully more people have used the common brands like Delonghi or Firenzzi to share their reviews. Thanks!
mingyew
post Mar 29 2023, 09:51 PM

4,177 posts

QUOTE(J.alexander @ Mar 27 2023, 12:56 PM)
Pulling this thread up after 5 years.

Looking for a dehumidifier for an air lock room.
Finding mould starting.

Hopefully more people have used the common brands like Delonghi or Firenzzi to share their reviews. Thanks!
Hi boss, if you looking more advance features appliances, maybe you can consider "LG Styler", can treat it as dehumidifier, and also your fabric cleaner.

You can check out this video: https://youtu.be/YL0Kt5dEEiI

And now is very cheap to own it too. Can pm me if you want to know more.
seinganchai
post Jul 9 2023, 12:16 PM

53 posts

Need some feedback and help, anyone using this machine?

https://shopee.com.my/Xiaomi-Mijia-Smart-De...33-1bb5c99f505a
Mattressdepot
post Jul 10 2023, 07:48 AM

655 posts

QUOTE(seinganchai @ Jul 9 2023, 12:16 PM)
Need some feedback and help, anyone using this machine?

https://shopee.com.my/Xiaomi-Mijia-Smart-De...33-1bb5c99f505a
The price is kind of high and does it have local warranty?

I choose stadler form which has 5L water tank. I can purchase extended warranty for It too.
seinganchai
post Jul 16 2023, 10:02 AM

53 posts

I am unable to get the stadler form to be continously blowing on through out the night in a stable manner. Any thoughts?

QUOTE(Mattressdepot @ Jul 10 2023, 07:48 AM)
The price is kind of high and does it have local warranty?

I choose stadler form which has 5L water tank. I can purchase extended warranty for It too.

0.0257sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 3rd December 2025 - 05:22 AM