New Proton Persona VVT 2016 - Official Thread V4, Its New, Its Refined, Its Safe ⭐⭐⭐⭐⭐

SUSrtk74
post Aug 6 2023, 11:44 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Aug 6 2023, 11:42 AM)
any1 can recommend a good workshop to perform brake hose change?

want to change to steel brake hose but afraid got some cheap knock-off
Think there's a shop in KV that specialises in making custom brake hoses
SUSrtk74
post Aug 14 2023, 06:55 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(tctham @ Aug 14 2023, 05:15 PM)
Difficult to crank from day 1. At first thought battery getting weak, but no. I can struggle to crank for months or even more than a year, after it says low batt. So i just keep driving until i cannot start it anymore or when it reaches 2.5 years and i suddenly dun wish to get stranded at unknown area, so i drove to varta and trade in for a new batt
Should've replaced the battery under warranty
SUSrtk74
post Sep 23 2023, 08:58 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Sep 22 2023, 05:30 PM)
Heavy vibrations on steering for mileage almost 100k km. Normal?

At what mileage the engine mounting gets changed?
When idle?
When braking?
SUSrtk74
post Sep 26 2023, 04:39 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Sep 26 2023, 04:28 PM)
When idle, gear at N or D also can feel vibrations.
No braking issues.
The most likely engine mounts.
SUSrtk74
post Sep 29 2023, 12:55 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Sep 29 2023, 11:48 AM)
Any1 know where to get lower arm of this persona 😭😭

The bush started to tear, both side also same

[attachmentid=11480410]

[attachmentid=11480411]
Check out (1PC) PROTON IRIZ NEW PERSONA VVT FRONT LOWER CONTROL ARM BUSH (PREMIUM QUALITY) for RM18.00 - RM30.00. Get it on Shopee now! https://shp.ee/5n3jk3q.

Why not just get a whole lower control arm?
Pressing out the bush is already another rm30-50 at engineering
SUSrtk74
post Sep 29 2023, 02:55 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(herojack41 @ Sep 29 2023, 02:18 PM)
Yes, I'm looking at replacing entire lower arm.

But even SC have no stock.

Not sure if pressing the bush out method works or no. Cause I heard it will not be as good as entire new arm
If you're in KV just go to proton parts in Glenmarie.
Bought it and brought it to SC before when they said need to wait weeks.

else shopee
SUSrtk74
post Sep 29 2023, 07:42 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Sep 29 2023, 03:44 PM)
from FB group date Feb 2023

price is ok as includes alignment + balancing

me sis just bought a new premium, no waiting.
3.3% 8 years
SUSrtk74
post Oct 3 2023, 09:12 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(putra23 @ Oct 3 2023, 10:21 AM)
Radiator coolant. 2016 maintenance table showing 90,000km interval.

Latest maintenance table showing 30,000km interval and SC using this.

Is there a change in the coolant type in SC that now last only 30,000km?

Which interval to use?
Lots of persona/iriz having issues with rusty coolant
SUSrtk74
post Oct 9 2023, 09:12 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(allomicro @ Oct 9 2023, 01:20 AM)

QUOTE(allomicro @ Oct 9 2023, 04:54 AM)
Yeah, will probably do that then, save time and money on delivery. Will probably check the local store first.
When I went for my first service (100k), the guy actually topped from a waterring jug. The place had those windows, so when I saw I told the SA, and he said it was ok. I'll probably get a bottle of coolant on stand by the on my next visit to the SC. Or can we mix different types/brand of coolant?
During my last service the SA told me can wait till the next service (1 year). Probably not a bad idea doing outside, since can save time spending in the SC.

Thanks for the input!
Just do rotations outside, balancing too
Every 6 months

My partner Kena scam by an SC, paid for balancing but when I drove her car after 2 weeks/1k km (we're PJJ)
steering vibrates at 90kmh. Told her that she has tyre balancing issues, true enough she did

30g on one of the tyres +- 10/20g on the other.
Won't name and shame cos later LOD

The should check coolant condition even without your prompt

You can replace the bulb yourself, as the other ktard said, use a towel/tissue or glove

YouTube helps
SUSrtk74
post Nov 7 2023, 09:20 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Nazrull @ Nov 7 2023, 09:07 PM)
Hi, yesterday my key fob (Premium MC2) suddenly cannot be used to unlock the car from distance (usually can), only can unlock by putting it closer to door handle.

I thought the culprit is low battery so I changed the battery. But the problem persist.

1. May I know what caused this?
2. I thought key fob use CR2032 battery but car manual suggest CR1620. So which one should I use?
have tried using 2nd remote?
SUSrtk74
post Nov 7 2023, 09:26 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Nazrull @ Nov 7 2023, 09:25 PM)
I try with spare remote just now same problem  sweat.gif
then issue ain't remote but the car itself
since it's still under warranty go bring to SC.

maybe antenna receiver was disconnected or weak car battery
SUSrtk74
post Dec 20 2023, 12:22 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(tlc3035 @ Dec 20 2023, 11:07 AM)
Hi everyone, me thinking of getting persona executive or premium, any owner can tell me the cons of the car eg gearbox problem blablabla.
Still relatively new to the car field and rn desperate need a car because my wira got too much problem and decided not to fix.
I think any new car would be better than a wira right now.

SUSrtk74
post Dec 20 2023, 04:21 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(tlc3035 @ Dec 20 2023, 02:04 PM)
I agree but my budget is roughly around 50~60k, which is either myvi or persona.
But since have to wait dunno how long for myvi might as well go for persona hence i ask the question.
Maintenance wise, myvi abit cheaper.
It's more fuel efficient
But less comfy for long distance

But both use CVT now. Just need to change driving style
i.e. don't just step on acc after changing gear

I would suggest to test drive it
My sis recently picked up the premium 2 months ago. no issues.
Upgrade from Gen2
SUSrtk74
post Jan 12 2024, 11:03 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Seth Ho @ Jan 12 2024, 10:42 PM)
How is your sis car? so far so good? i heard persona got a lot of issue so thinking wether to get persona or not
My sis and my gf bought same car
Smol2 issues
They're OK with it but annoys me to hell

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 12 2024, 10:46 PM)
No issues. Exveot for one time pasang dashcam terkacau wiring the auto fold n wiper not working. Sent to SC to fix the wiring. Settle.
How kacau auto fold?
360 cam?

QUOTE(g5sim @ Jan 12 2024, 10:48 PM)
Persona I waited around 2 weeks. The salesperson can got faster stock but different gray. I said okay only.
Sis got within the week
SUSrtk74
post Jan 13 2024, 09:19 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(Winter-3 @ Jan 13 2024, 09:16 PM)
I have a question on the driving style since I'm coming from manual gear driving style, i.e. step on the accelerator  biggrin.gif

Whenever I fully stop at T-junction and want to go out, I step on acc and the car just won't go! And I need to brake cos oncoming cars are already near.

Any help is appreciated  notworthy.gif
Dunno, my partner from manual persona to the new cvt
Not really an issue for her transition

if preve time need to release brake first then can press throttle

but the new persona needs less time. Generally with cvt you need to change your habit just bit
SUSrtk74
post Jan 16 2024, 01:13 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

Also, those that replaced Headunit on MC2 but retain the reverse cam, do you still have this on your reverse cam display?

Planning to use canbus adapter as well

SUSrtk74
post Jan 16 2024, 05:15 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(croydon @ Jan 16 2024, 03:25 PM)
https://www.facebook.com/soundstream.my/pos...QCvChCoQfwUxcZl

MC2 exec

certain player wont show sensor

planning to get a generic TS10 based player due to wireless AA and budget
SUSrtk74
post Apr 5 2024, 05:32 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(ikanbilis @ Apr 5 2024, 04:58 PM)
Is this a scam? Previously i received a whatsapp msg regarding updating software my persona and requested my location. I block right away thinking it is a scam. Today receive another sms regarding car software update below. Please advise.
[attachmentid=11494439]
Just go to your nearest proton sc or just call one
SUSrtk74
post Apr 21 2024, 11:18 AM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ May 18 2021, 11:19 AM)
Had similar issues & also rattling sound from passenger side dashboard.

Sent to Glenmarie SC for rectification & service. They told me at A pillar side got some components free play, so they fixed it back & apply foam tape at some areas.

2 days driving the car since then. So far no more noise. Hopefully it last
That's all that needed to fix it?

This post has been edited by rtk74: Apr 21 2024, 01:47 PM
SUSrtk74
post Apr 21 2024, 01:47 PM

;"K]6pKBg;1]U)uSs!eF
1,151 posts

QUOTE(amscouzach57 @ Apr 21 2024, 01:14 PM)
Yes at that point.

Now after 7 years, the are some squeaky sounds can be heard around the touchscreen infotainment unit

PM done.
Thanks!
Bought a new car?

3 Pages < 1 2 3 >Top

0.2252sec    0.35    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:32 PM