cannavaro
post Jul 11 2018, 12:03 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

just wanna share
my wdr4300 finally died after 5 years of use
ordered the archer c7 from lazada as a replacement
while waiting for it to arrive, I use archer c60 (I have a few of them for a project, to be used merely as AP)

man this model is crap. my experience from less than 24 hours of usage,

slow power up / reboot to 'ready to use internet' status compared to wdr4300.. probably like 1 -2 mins

buggy old firmware (2016) with no updates. among the things I remember:

- iptv suddenly stopped working after I changed wireless settings

- the router suddenly changed the 'igmp version' to 'V3' in the iptv settings page.. I realized this when the iptv stopped working suddenly and I rechecked the settings.

- I put the hypptv box on standby mode; 2 hours later I turn it on again and wtf only channel info visible but on a black screen? Rebooted both the router and tv box twice and it was magically fixed. Ran the diagnostic test on the tv box when it wasn't working, it failed at 'multicast connectivity'

- cannot get 100Mbps on both wired and wireless connection, even on 5GHz. For wired this is probably due to the lack of gigabit ports on the c60. Wifi speed is better (consistent high 90s) than wired speed (high 80s to low 90s), lol. no such issues with the wdr4300

- at one point I was getting a consistent 10Mbps-ish results on speedtest (wired).. I was like what the hell did TM suddenly cap my connection wrongly? Rebooted the router and that problem was fixed

- cannot use special characters (like @,# etc) for the admin password. primitive xD

no wonder when I was buying 3 units of this archer c60 at ALLIT the staff there was like 'boss ini model problem sikit.. you try kalau tak ok boleh return' and I replied "it's ok I just use it as wifi access point bukan main router"

ok end of rant. thanks for reading laugh.gif
cannavaro
post Jul 11 2018, 06:19 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

I am still paying RM279 for 100Mbps + RM30 hypptv..
subscribed when it was 1st launch for the so called early water fish discount, I mean early bird.
pffft
cannavaro
post Jul 12 2018, 05:41 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

any other unfortunate unifi 100Mbps subscriber here who pays either -

a. RM329

or

b. RM309 (slightly less unfortunate because sign up early. LOL)

cannavaro
post Jul 12 2018, 06:04 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(Boldnut @ Jul 12 2018, 05:45 PM)
cut the line, sign up the lowest package.

it is the usual SOP now for casual user.
have you done this before?
I wonder if it is as easy as.. go to tm, say I wanna cancel and sign up for a new account, keeping the same unifi phone number.
then on the spot they will activate, don't have to wait for their contractor to come and all since everything is already in place.

QUOTE(mylinear @ Jul 12 2018, 05:46 PM)

If you're on that and not on contract, why did you not switch to a cheaper package when there were promos?
was there a promo for new 100Mbps subscribers? I'm only aware of the upgrades for existing non-100Mbps subscribers. sweat.gif
I did try asking their cs on the phone to get a lower price but was told it's not possible.
I remember reading somewhere in here about going to TMPoint and ask for a lower price from the manager and it worked. Gonna try that soon.

cannavaro
post Jul 13 2018, 02:43 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

heads up

Spotted ASUS RT-AC1300UHP going back to the price of RM399!
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/asus-rt-...49fbXIWzK4&mp=3
cannavaro
post Jul 13 2018, 09:42 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(stasio @ Jul 13 2018, 08:18 AM)
Where you see price RM399.....?
I saw RM539.......!!
wah damn fast they increased back to the normal price. I posted that around 2AM+ I think

cannavaro
post Jul 14 2018, 10:51 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Jul 14 2018, 10:13 PM)
Hey Vigor2130n actually supports up to 800mbps nat throughput, maybe tm giving these out since they are cheap??https://www.draytek.com/en/products/products-a-z/router.all/2016/03/30/vigor2130n/
definitely not cheap
it was originally priced at RM8xx
then price dropped to RM480

this router is old, it was released back in 2009/10 when 5.0 Ghz wifi was still not mainstream
hence the wifi on the 2130n is single band
cannavaro
post Jul 18 2018, 04:51 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(pokchik @ Jul 18 2018, 12:48 PM)
by going through the forum, this is also what i understand - some users make noise
because they pay more for 30Mbps vs. what 'selected' users like you pay.

but most of them don't understand/see that there was a time when the 'selected'
users had to pay RM199 just for 10Mbps for 5-6yrs beforehand..  laugh.gif

i just wish that TM would also take into consideration us users who paid RMxxx
for 1Mbps-8Mbps streamyx for 8-10yrs before..
I have been using unifi since they first launched (2010), that time only ttdi, bangsar and shah alam have it IIRC.
Started with VIP20 straight away, RM249, before that was using Shitmyx 1Mbps for as long as I can remember laugh.gif
Around 2011/12, I registered 2 more VIP20 accounts.
In 2016 I upgraded 1 account to unifi pro 100Mbps with jumbo pack, getting the so called 'early bird' price.
Some time that year I received a call from TM to upgrade the other two VIP20 accounts to 50Mbps for free(, just have to renew contract.
During the 'thank you surprise' period, these 2 accounts received free upgrade to 100Mbps.

My mistake was to willingly upgrade to 100Mbps not long after it was launched bangwall.gif bangwall.gif
Now have to go to TMPoint talk talk sign form to get a price adjustment.. on phone or livechat die die cannot do anything
cannavaro
post Aug 4 2018, 06:37 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(prokiller1199 @ Aug 4 2018, 09:37 AM)
guys my 1043nd die d. suggest me an AC access point to maximize 500mbps.tq sifu
Archer C7 v4, RM340 as of this time of posting
https://www.lazada.com.my/products/tp-link-...2OJw8Z&search=1
cannavaro
post Aug 11 2018, 10:08 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

one sure way to find out if the upgrade has been done is by checking the package name on the unifi portal right?

cannavaro
post Aug 12 2018, 10:46 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(chocobo7779 @ Aug 12 2018, 03:26 PM)
That's interesting - do you happen to work in the telecommunications industry?  Because it appears you are quite knowledgeable about this hmm.gif
he is a legend here laugh.gif
see this news back from 2010
I guess TM recruited him after that
https://www.thestar.com.my/tech/tech-news/2...ttacks-updated/
cannavaro
post Aug 15 2018, 11:25 AM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

just checked on the rhombuscake site..
my 3 unifi 100Mbps accounts, all on the same apartment but different floors and unit. this apartment is full FTTH
2 account marked January - June 2019 (1 account since 2010 when unifi was launched (paying RM3xx per month), the other account (RM249 per month) registered the same time as the account below in 2011 or 2012)
1 Account marked August - December 2018 (RM249 per month)

If this is accurate... you gotta be kidding me doh.gif doh.gif
What formula they use to determine which 1 gets upgraded first?
The only think that I can think of is the fact that I always do late payment for the 2010 account mentioned above.. but that doesn't explain why the other account gets 2019 date as well

edit:
forgot to add.. I also received 3 emails for the 3 accounts, all stating "you'll be one of the first, upgrade starting from august 2018"

This post has been edited by cannavaro: Aug 15 2018, 11:28 AM
cannavaro
post Aug 15 2018, 01:56 PM

CATTENACIO
3,008 posts

QUOTE(Zayn Chew @ Aug 15 2018, 01:47 PM)
Update

This is what I get after restarted my BTU and router  cry.gif
[attachmentid=9973994]
tested using wifi or cable?

0.2150sec    0.93    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 02:54 PM