Unifi Official TM UniFi High Speed Broadband Thread V33, Enjoy Your UniFi

AjkR06
post Apr 30 2018, 12:35 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Hezegroth @ Apr 30 2018, 11:27 AM)
Hi, what service this cabinet support. They just install last week

[attachmentid=9766670]
Unifi Lite (VDSL) - Copper lines SUBB.
Max speed will be 10Mbps only for the time being.
AjkR06
post May 13 2018, 08:18 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

Since the federal government has changed now, do you think TM will HOLD the current ongoing RMK-11 project (HSBB2 and SUBB) which presumably finished by end of 2019? I'm thinking that most probably TM will hold the project first until the new federal government announce something. If that's true, thus unifi coverage wouldn't be expanding at all sad.gif
AjkR06
post May 25 2018, 03:38 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(ClarenceT @ May 25 2018, 12:57 PM)
Fixed wireless (Fibre at the station but last few kilometers is wireless), and LTE, then a magic box (receiver).
>10Mbps.
So cover non-FTTH areas, FTTH port-full areas. 
TM save money on last-mile infra so cheaper Unifi package.
If what you above say is true, I do hope that this 'fixed wireless' thingy will cover my area as well.
There's no FTTH, VDSL Vectoring cabinet for SUBB yada yada available here albeit this area considered as SUBB. This is my last hope. If this things doesn't cover my area as well, I've no idea what should I do anymore.. mega_shok.gif
AjkR06
post May 31 2018, 11:39 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

I wonder what's so difficult for TM to reduce the price for Streamyx (pre-unifi) packages. RM110 for 1Mbps is too ridiculous nowadays if compared to price per mbps with unifi packages.
AjkR06
post Jun 2 2018, 09:43 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

It’s just raya ads guys.. based on their latest clue. So we can stop the hope for speed upgrade/price reduction/new packages yada yada on this 8th june.

AjkR06
post Jun 8 2018, 03:15 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(monkeybeh @ Jun 8 2018, 02:56 PM)
how to justify first time in M'sia then?
For the first time raya ads was Launched on fb live, perhaps hmm.gif
AjkR06
post Jun 26 2018, 08:34 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(Xefron @ Jun 26 2018, 07:59 AM)
some good news in coming but will not satisfy all type of people.
Surely those stuck under streamyx/pre unifi without hsbb2/subb infrastructure are one of the type of people who will not satisfy with the good news, isn’t it? hmm.gif
AjkR06
post Jul 16 2018, 06:57 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

Installer will come to install unifi tomorrow at my rent house. Well, I just do what the TM 'said', you mau unifi, you pindah rumah' laugh.gif

BTW, usually the 'standard' installation will be FOC, isn't it? Or should I just spare some money around 100-200 for installation?
AjkR06
post Jul 16 2018, 07:33 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Jul 16 2018, 07:07 PM)
1. if straightforward, no extras, all is covered, u dun pay... so, do ask in advance what is and what is not covered.

2. contractors ALWAYS look for extra jobs, u pay... think n decide quick if u want it or not. no receipt usually... if case u complain.

3. some unscrupulous contractors try to cheat... try to charge u when they shudn't... and u may not want 2 wait to confirm... u pay.
i know cases people reject their BS, tell them go away, report to TM/unifi, they send another contractor, no charge.

so... be smart... be reasonable.
Thanks for the advice. Hope they won't 'tiau' me tomorrow sweat.gif

Based on my own eyes survey and observation, getting the fiber to the house shouldn't involve many obstacles. When I open the kitchen window, I can clearly see the FDP right above the pole located at the back of my house alley. So standard installation should be fine I think.

I just took the Advance 30Mbps package, for RM139/month. Well, TM saleswomen at the TMPoint said I should expect to get the speed upgrade to 300Mbps as well. But that'll only happen starting in next year, 2019.

Well, 300Mbps should be plenty enough for my usage. wink.gif Somemore, I'll only reside at that house for 5 days or sometimes 3 days per week. The rest I'll still stay at my parents house.

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jul 16 2018, 07:37 PM
AjkR06
post Jul 17 2018, 02:40 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jul 17 2018, 02:42 AM
AjkR06
post Jul 17 2018, 02:42 AM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(terradrgn @ Jul 16 2018, 11:00 PM)
Can share what your package gives? Was under the assumption the package is over edi.
Well, nothing special. No free voice calls and bundled with some vernacular hypptv packs. I didn’t care much about free voice calls since not going to fully utilize the service. I already enjoyed unlimited call from my mobile. Some more the price wasn’t perpetual to begin with. It stays for 2 years only before rolling back to original price of rm179 after the contract end.

The lady who attending my order at tmpoint said that promotion for rm139 was extended until 30th September 2018. You need to walk in to tmpoint or subscribe the package via agent.
AjkR06
post Jul 18 2018, 01:44 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(.:zep:. @ Jul 18 2018, 01:43 PM)
I'm planning to terminate my streamyx and upgrade to UNIFI 10mbps lite. What speed I get after the free upgrade? 30mbps?
VDSL - nothing
FTTH - 100Mbps
AjkR06
post Jul 18 2018, 01:52 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(.:zep:. @ Jul 18 2018, 01:45 PM)
How to know my area got FTTH or VDSL?
If landed house, to know whether you're being served with FTTH just look through your housing area phone pole whether got white box with TM logo labelled like this eg: C001 | 002. For VDSL, if landed house, look at the pole and see the small black box labelled like this eg: VC 5001 | 001
AjkR06
post Jul 18 2018, 02:42 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(AmeiN @ Jul 18 2018, 02:36 PM)
High rise can use this guide?  hmm.gif
I'm not sure about high rise situation.
AjkR06
post Jul 22 2018, 10:02 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(nikrizal @ Jul 22 2018, 09:14 AM)
I can feel those who suffer waiting for Unifi and stuck with that lowsy streamyx, been there before. But to see others enjoy speed upgrade for free, that’s even worse 😕.
Thanks for your empathy. I really appreciate it within this 'hard time' cry.gif
Wish me luck and with huge hope that the planned 2019-2020 project to cover the SUBB with FTTH at my address will be commence by TM rolleyes.gif
AjkR06
post Jul 27 2018, 03:38 PM

that's me
1,548 posts

QUOTE(JohnLai @ Jul 27 2018, 03:21 PM)
The most important stuff = check if the area is designated as SUBB or NON-SUBB.
If the area is SUBB, can give up on getting fiber.
There are some area which is classify by TM as SUBB, but the technology they use to provide access there will be using FTTH. Eg: Parit Buntar, Pulau Pangkor, Tanjung Piandang, Kamunting in Perak. Even my hometown soon ONLY if the project approved in 2019. cry.gif

TM also stated that in their press statement when they got the green light to proceed with the HSBB2 and SUBB project years ago

Meanwhile, the SUBB infrastructure will also be rolled out over a period of ten (10) years, involving the upgrading of existing copper lines to deliver high-speed broadband access speeds of up to 20Mbps and up to 100Mbps in areas deployed with Fibre-to-the-Home (FTTH) technology, to over 420,000 premises by 2019.

This post has been edited by AjkR06: Jul 27 2018, 03:38 PM

0.0327sec    0.69    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 8th December 2025 - 08:17 AM