CELCOM home wifi broadband

edge81
post Jun 28 2018, 02:08 PM

48 posts

Celcome Home Wireless user here as well.

Every few days / week I will also encounter some connection issue of being disconnect/reconnect. Only by calling CS to reset does it help. According to CS, it is due to congestion at the cell tower.

Besides this I find Celcom as a whole isn't fully supporting this Home Wireless product line. Any issues or inquiry raised about this product through OCS (Online Customer Services) portal and they just say call that 1-300-11-3282 number. OCS doesn't gives a breakdown of video quota usage. Celcom Life app doesn't give any data quota usage details. It is like they launched this product without telling the rest of the company.

So my gripe is mainly with their CS. Their speed is decent and I use it mainly for iflix.

This post has been edited by edge81: Jun 28 2018, 02:10 PM
edge81
post Oct 24 2018, 10:51 AM

48 posts

Digi (Mobile) Broadband is the first to revise their plans (postpaid only) for more data quota.
https://www.lowyat.net/2018/172009/digi-bro...ta-up-to-100gb/

Let's see if Celcom will do similar with their mobile broadband plans to be competitive.

This post has been edited by edge81: Oct 30 2018, 04:22 PM
edge81
post Dec 5 2018, 04:45 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(godslayer84 @ Nov 7 2018, 10:11 PM)
sure.. i already asked their cs to confirm this..
u can also check their official website, the netflix icon is back..
don't believe so. don't be fooled by an icon on a webpage. means nothing if theirs terms don't say so.

their video walla TnC does not include Netflix:
https://www.celcom.com.my/legal/terms-and-c...ras-video-walla

their moderator on community page also confirms no Netflix:
https://community.celcom.com.my/t5/Your-Dev...tflix/m-p/13851

QUOTE(john_deo @ Nov 16 2018, 05:21 PM)
How do you check your Walla quota?

only way is to call Celcom Home Wireless CS number (1-300-11-3282 i believe).

This post has been edited by edge81: Dec 5 2018, 04:48 PM
edge81
post Jan 8 2019, 04:06 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(godslayer84 @ Dec 31 2018, 01:37 AM)
actually anyone tries to stream netflix using this plan recently?
i did a test today, i think streaming netflix using the video walla quota because my main quota didnt decrease. anyone can confirm this? coz last time somebody said it was not included in the video walla although the official website did put the netflix icon in the video walla section..

i ask this because i wish to upgrade my 100 plan to 150 plan to get the 1tb video walla to stream netflix 4K..

quite sure netflix is no longer part of video walla quota.

they still refuse to update their video walla page:
https://www.celcom.com.my/personal/extras/video/walla

the best place to be sure is still their tnc page:

also confirmed by their community page admin:
edge81
post Jan 9 2019, 05:26 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(josal @ Jan 9 2019, 01:47 PM)
Hi, how to check Video Walla balance for my Home Wireless?
only way is to call Celcom Home Wireless CS number (1-300-11-3282).
edge81
post Jan 10 2019, 03:28 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(killer zone II @ Jan 10 2019, 11:42 AM)
Guys, Netflix is still under Video Walla. Where you check it doesn't include?

1- There still Netflix icon on Video Walla page.
2- I tested my self. Playing Netfix, and it deduct my Video Walla data quota.
Netflix not listed in their TnC:

and mentioned by their community admin back in Nov 2018:

Great if Netflix still counts to Video Walla quota.
But published info from Celcom seems inconsistent.
edge81
post Jan 11 2019, 03:39 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(okuribito @ Jan 11 2019, 02:09 PM)
If data quotas all used up, what will happen? Throttle or no service? Assume dun add- on data
according to their FAQ page ( https://www.celcom.com.my/support/faq/perso...m-home-wireless ), throttled to 64kbps.
edge81
post Aug 1 2019, 08:53 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(syahpian @ Jul 31 2019, 01:33 AM)
you mean this one?

oh darn. how to prove i signed on these previous terms when I should terminate my plan one day?
I can't find the previous hardcopy TnC which I signed on.
edge81
post Aug 10 2019, 12:22 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(daigoking @ Aug 9 2019, 11:30 PM)
Question: after 2 year contract finished, modem belongs to us or need return back to Celcom? In tnc seem write down need return to Celcom if terminated after contract complete
Over at the Huawei B618 v2 thread, they have shared the screenshot PDF of Celcom Home Wireless TnC from the earlier batch, which states modem belongs to us after contract over. I will keep this and hope Celcom honours this when I should terminate.

This post has been edited by edge81: Aug 10 2019, 12:22 PM
edge81
post Aug 11 2019, 07:09 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(daigoking @ Aug 10 2019, 09:49 PM)

This speed still ok? A bit surprised me. As my original using Maxis 4G broadband and I though 30Mbps is the best at my area already. But Celcom can go up to 100Mbps...wow

Let me try few more test first. Hope Celcom won't let me disappointed
i believe the good speed also due to the Huawei B618 modem. It is supposedly one of the best 4G modem out there.
Unfortunately as the forumers mentioned, new batch from Celcom is SIM locked. If it were unlocked and you tried a Maxis SIM in it, I think you would see pretty good speed as well.

edge81
post Apr 4 2020, 03:44 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Crawley @ Jan 18 2020, 01:47 PM)
Anyone knows what is Celcom's policy regarding p2p usage on their home wireless network? Completely blocked?
no ISP policy will ever state that P2P is allowed. it always follows the FUP (Fair Usage Policy).
But having said that, I torrent at times and have always been able to without any need for VPN.

This post has been edited by edge81: Apr 8 2020, 08:19 AM
edge81
post May 7 2020, 02:01 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(Evirober @ May 2 2020, 09:32 PM)
It’s video walla

Anyone facing frequent network dropout? I get connected then disconnect. The WiFi says no mobile connection occasionally message says wrong profile then works again.. anyone?
past 1 week I have been getting disconnections.
the bad thing I have noticed about the Huawei B618 modem is that losing 4G signal connection just makes the Wifi go wonky, such as can't sign-in to Wifi etc.
this makes your entire Wifi network having issue even when Internet is out.
edge81
post May 13 2020, 10:04 PM

48 posts

2 weeks of unstable connections, disconnections and slow speeds of below 5Mbps. called Celcom CS a number of time with regular reset of my data (I'm guessing this is reseting my SIM to a different cell tower) which improves for awhile before it starts all over again.

CS says something like cell towers in my area is congested, serving too many other Celcom services like postpaids, prepaids and home wireless.

Fed up and just swap out for another Celcom SIM (Xpax prepaid) into my B618-22d this morning. Surprisingly stable the whole day and speed test showing 20Mbps. Make me wonder how Celcom is allocating their infrastructure to their users, thinking if Home Wireless is somehow given lower priority compared to others.

0.0432sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 12:14 AM