e-Wallet Wechat Pay (MY) Discussion Thread V1, Officially launched!
alucard89
Mar 21 2018, 11:16 AM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Mar 21 2018, 11:05 AM) I don't know any insider lol, but at least that's what the some news source claimed it to be. Actually, Wechat Wallet is already available for our region, but it's still in testing stage. Fingers crossed for the local launch. https://www.reuters.com/article/us-tencent-...a-idUSKBN19W0RNDoes this mean it will support more local banks like cimb? Or do I just need to sign up for Hong Leong bank?
alucard89
Mar 21 2018, 11:29 AM
QUOTE(xperiaDROID @ Mar 21 2018, 11:24 AM) Most likely more banks will support the service soon, and HLB only got it's approval for the service, but the service itself is still not officially launched yet. So you shouldn't do anything yet until it officially launches here. I see, can we also link our local bank to alipay as well once this service is officially lunched?
alucard89
Jun 11 2018, 05:27 PM
Guys, do I need an account at Hong Leong to use wechat pay?
alucard89
Aug 21 2018, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Aug 21 2018, 06:14 PM) Hi Sifus, I just managed added bankcard yesterday for MYR wallet. and just now some China sellers was gave me Ang Pao, but it's CNY wallet. Is that options for Static QR code for MYR wallet? Which bank card you're using bro?
alucard89
Aug 21 2018, 08:02 PM
QUOTE(wilson1stop @ Aug 21 2018, 07:23 PM) cimb debit card, im believeĀ any Malaysia Bank cards also can. Ok, I do have cimb kwik card & visa card. So basically now no issues to send payment directly to other users/china sellers This post has been edited by alucard89: Aug 21 2018, 08:03 PM
alucard89
Nov 9 2018, 11:16 PM
Anyone sent money to sellers from HK? Can they accept money from us?
Also, i can't seem to topup my wechat since I got error that it's not enabled for root/jailbroken phones but my phone is not rooted (pocophone f1)
alucard89
Jan 9 2020, 11:00 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 8 2020, 11:00 AM) This method no longer works, post was from 2018... Is there an alternative way now? Also, with wechat malaysia, can i send money to wechat china account?
alucard89
Jan 9 2020, 11:11 PM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 9 2020, 11:05 PM) Nope. Some said can use desktop WeChat app, you can search this thread. I personally didn't try. Another way is to find someone to verify your account using China ID, you can get such service from Shopee if you want. Mine is already verified but verified by my China friend, I'm using her identity now. No, cannot cross wallet. Ok, so assuming i can get someone to verify my account with china id. That means i can switch to china region for wechat? Could i link local msian bank issued credit card to my china wechat pay?
alucard89
Jan 10 2020, 08:33 AM
QUOTE(fruitie @ Jan 9 2020, 11:22 PM) Hmm. You can switch to China wallet even without verification, you can't see the option to change? Me > WeChat Pay > Upper three dots > Select wallet region > China Mainland (Android). If you don't have, I'm sorry but I don't know how to enable China wallet, maybe others can advise. Only with China wallet activated, then you can verify it. Here's the thing, if you have verified with someone's ID, you can no longer add your credit cards under your name anymore. If you insist, this will unlink the verification. If you plan just to use e-wallet service in China, I will suggest you to opt for Alipay Tour Pass that is dedicated for foreigners. Easier to manage compared to WeChat Pay. I just wanna make payment directly to china sellers actually from here (malaysia). Don't really plan to go visit china I'm aware there are wechat/alipay agent that helps with payment but i wanna be able to pay as soon as possible. So alipay tour pass is accessible for tourist only correct? This post has been edited by alucard89: Jan 10 2020, 08:38 AM