Chinese Wedding Pantang Larang, friend's wedding same year

TSkyxxx
post Mar 15 2018, 09:02 AM, updated 7y ago

283 posts

Hey, i'm just wondering, is it really a pantang larang to attend friend's wedding which is earlier than ours?

my own wedding on 1-Dec
best friend 1 wedding on 1-June (i'm heng dai)
best friend 2 wedding on 18-Nov (just attend dinner)

replies from one elderly is 1-June one see whether that day got opposite my zodiac or not
for 18-Nov not good, because very near my own wedding

BTW, my family and i a pure buddhist, meaning not taoism or those chinese god worshipper.
We pray to the original buddha and eating meat is normal even for our monks (Thai buddhist to some ppl's term)

So, TBH, these pantang all is not in my dictionary, however my wife's family is chinese god worshipper.
So basically, is wife side making a fuss la~~

This post has been edited by kyxxx: Mar 15 2018, 09:21 AM
MiLKTea
post Mar 15 2018, 09:15 AM

942 posts

What i know usually is 3 months after.
Means if your wedding is in December 2018, then cannot attend wedding till March 2019.

But then again, different families different belief different practice.

So it depends on your belief.
Since you are attending friend's wedding and not your wife's family side, your wife's family belief shall not impact you.

This post has been edited by MiLKTea: Mar 15 2018, 10:06 AM
gennee
post Mar 16 2018, 04:14 PM

169 posts

QUOTE(kyxxx @ Mar 15 2018, 09:02 AM)
Hey, i'm just wondering, is it really a pantang larang to attend friend's wedding which is earlier than ours?
my own wedding on 1-Dec
best friend 1 wedding on 1-June (i'm heng dai)
best friend 2 wedding on 18-Nov (just attend dinner)

replies from one elderly is 1-June one see whether that day got opposite my zodiac or not
for 18-Nov not good, because very near my own wedding
BTW, my family and i a pure buddhist, meaning not taoism or those chinese god worshipper.
We pray to the original buddha and eating meat is normal even for our monks (Thai buddhist to some ppl's term)

So, TBH, these pantang all is not in my dictionary, however my wife's family is chinese god worshipper.
So basically, is wife side making a fuss la~~
firstly, what's original buddha? laugh.gif

i suppose, it all depends on you / your family and your friends. if all no pantang, just attend only biggrin.gif

TSkyxxx
post Mar 17 2018, 11:34 AM

283 posts

QUOTE(gennee @ Mar 16 2018, 04:14 PM)
firstly, what's original buddha? laugh.gif

i suppose, it all depends on you / your family and your friends. if all no pantang, just attend only  biggrin.gif
Original Buddha meaning Gautama Buddha, the one and only.
https://en.m.wikipedia.org/wiki/Gautama_Buddha

Which we do not pray to Kuan Yin or have those no meat restrictions or so for our diet. Just the Buddhist precepts.

In malaysia ppl easily confuse Taoism and Buddhism.

Understand and noted. It's depend on our own belief
KohSin
post Mar 19 2018, 10:07 PM

721 posts

To me i dun really care about those pantang.....some are just pure bullshit.....even pregnancy pantang i also boh follow....

Following those pantang just make my life bad nia...
shinchan^^
post Mar 20 2018, 09:02 AM

K66
21,256 posts

modern days, just merely a reason to ffk only

0.0112sec    0.36    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 29th March 2024 - 10:00 AM