You are right in a way but have not explained why would MY capture SG. What strategic objective to be achieved? Capture in a day? Have you seen urban warfare? How it bogs down troop movement? Give you an example, Battle of Ramadi, how long did it take to clear sector by sector. Too many simplistic assumption. Mass troop movement will not be detected? Maybe spec ops in SG to remove certain incriminating evidence related to IMDB more likely.
I know it is pointless article but it sure is interesting to hear what others have in mind on IF it happens. It is what armchair generals relish.
We can argue if war ever reaches Singapore soil, it's already too late. Singapore is practically finished.
Whether an army is able to totally capture it or not is irrelevant, if you force it to fight on its own soil, it means Singapore will already come into a standstill, ceases to economically function and the dominoes will start to fall. Without international business, trade and an economy running it, what is left for Singapore?
This post has been edited by MilitaryMadness: Mar 14 2018, 04:55 PM
We can argue if war ever reaches Singapore soil, it's already too late. Singapore is practically finished.
Whether an army is able to totally capture it or not is irrelevant, if you force it to fight on its own soil, it means Singapore will already come into a standstill, ceases to economically function and the dominoes will start to fall.
Thats the reason for their pre-emptive strike....if they failed to achieve that.... this will wait for them....
Inilah barisan kita..... 3rd CAD artillery brigade
Singapore doctrine is pre-emptive strike....thats the reason they project on their offensive cap... with their well known Mersing line....
Malaysia doctrine is self-defence..... Malaysia wont go towards singapore for urban warfare. Only clandestine ops will be conducted by specops there.
So...to say Malaysia is disorganise on that side.... 1st.... pls look at where is Malaysia 3rd Combined Armed Division (3rd CAD) is located. That is the most war ready division with the most complete & integrated elements. The elements of this CAD is positioned such a way in that region to counter the mersing line doctrine. Thats 3rd CAD.... the main ASSIGNED FORCES for the southern threat. 4th Div..... is the 2nd wave.
So what if the Mersing Line is a red herring? Attack the enemy where he isn't. Supposed 3rd CAD gets hit first and is the real target? So MY is going to mobalise 3rd Div in a decisive battle? You just reinforced my opinion on defensive delaying tactic that CAD is positioned in such a way that it is far enough to overextend the enemy reach while still close enough to engage. Are you assuming the 3rd division placed so far to SG can hold southern Johor preventing it from being overrun without overextending itself? Not familiar with MY SIOP so do not know how fast they can react until proper authorisation is given. Cant just mobalise at will. It would take more than a division to hold while others regroup.
Imo a good commander would not do spec ops in SG as it entails v high casualty. Then again we got a lot of macho wannabes would do anything to succeed. So if we can work out the casus belli for this battle then it would give a clearer picture on force composition, utility and tactics.
simple aim whole rocket to pulau..anti-rocket also cant tahan ler..see sg ppl can use their skill from NS or not...even send torpedo also can benam 1 pulau
Even the slightest rumors of conflict will make all foreign MNC's pack up and leave Singapore by the shipload, which will ruin Singapore's economy more than any actual shooting war will.
You are right in a way but have not explained why would MY capture SG. What strategic objective to be achieved? Capture in a day? Have you seen urban warfare? How it bogs down troop movement? Give you an example, Battle of Ramadi, how long did it take to clear sector by sector. Too many simplistic assumption. Mass troop movement will not be detected? Maybe spec ops in SG to remove certain incriminating evidence related to IMDB more likely.
I know it is pointless article but it sure is interesting to hear what others have in mind on IF it happens. It is what armchair generals relish.
3am jus send full force missiles into sg city and full air strikes burning them while they are still sleeping and dreaming. Within hours those sinkies also panic and gg. They not yet able to counter strike, but their city also burned and finished. Whats left for them to survive? Target their airport until those sinkies cannot flee away. I knw its cruel but japanese more cruel in ww2
Whether an army is able to totally capture it or not is irrelevant, if you force it to fight on its own soil, it means Singapore will already come into a standstill, ceases to economically function and the dominoes will start to fall. Without international business, trade and an economy running it, what is left for Singapore?
As stated, I am commenting purely from a war POV while leaving out social, economical and political influences. If it really comes to fruition, not just sg would suffer. Thats why I mentioned strategic value for the reason for war. My simple assumption is we have what they need. They dont have what we need.
So what if the Mersing Line is a red herring? Attack the enemy where he isn't. Supposed 3rd CAD gets hit first and is the real target? So MY is going to mobalise 3rd Div in a decisive battle? You just reinforced my opinion on defensive delaying tactic that CAD is positioned in such a way that it is far enough to overextend the enemy reach while still close enough to engage. Are you assuming the 3rd division placed so far to SG can hold southern Johor preventing it from being overrun without overextending itself? Not familiar with MY SIOP so do not know how fast they can react until proper authorisation is given. Cant just mobalise at will. It would take more than a division to hold while others regroup.
Imo a good commander would not do spec ops in SG as it entails v high casualty. Then again we got a lot of macho wannabes would do anything to succeed. So if we can work out the casus belli for this battle then it would give a clearer picture on force composition, utility and tactics.
3rd CAD is not positioned in a single place. They are always in move...mostly in guerilla style way. As singapore is good in localisation of target...thats what malaysia do to counter it.
Specops.... it is already tested....sorry to say. Its good enough....
Just bomb and raze all building laa... afterall what is the benefit of retaining Sinkie peoples... can easily being replaced with mat rempit and importing some bangla... LOL
unlike Iraq, you still need to protect your ur citizen inside there...
Same old nationalistic inferiority complexes being displayed again, no regard for pure fact
Oh well
QUOTE(LTZ @ Mar 14 2018, 02:58 PM)
X de sape2 nk study 3rd CAD vs 3rd CAD ke?? Ni baru yg btul2 punye capability klu perang. Org tak pakai semua aset klu gi perang....x boleh guna ape yg ade sbb kena pikir defence from diff axis pulak. So ni le elements yg akan involve klu perang jadi...compare both.
3rd CAD & 3rd CAD
What I want to ask is why both side settled on number 3
For whoever was second to follow... why copycat
Actually I do have more questions. Why do you think the other SG CADs will not be involved? What about their 21st Div and our Airborne brigade?
This post has been edited by KLboy92: Mar 15 2018, 01:07 AM
Malaysia don't even need to send troops for winning a war against singapore. Cut the water supply, close the border, all ports and ship yard going 90% sales and tax free. The butterfly effect will shut singapore down within weeks. If Singapore trying to revenge, then blow up the bridge, and they basically left only F16 and some small ships for defense and I believe they don't dare to loose any of them.
But who will do such stupid things? Maintain business partner relationship is benefiting both countries.
No one would've thought Israel would win the 6-days war either.
Nonsense. When the Israelis preemptively destroyed the Egyptian and Syrian air forces in the 6-day war, they were practically guaranteed to win the war with their air superiority. That's why the war only lasted 6 days.
You're probably thinking of the 1973 Yom Kippur war. Even that was more of a draw: Israel gained a military victory by defeating the allied arab armies, but lost politically as they had to return the Sinai peninsula ( a valuable buffer) to Egypt and lost control of the Suez canal.
A popular saying about the peace treaty that ended the Yom Kippur war is: "(Anwar) Sadat got the Suez canal and a land huge in resources (the Sinai), while Prime Minister (Menachem) Begin only got a piece of paper."
This post has been edited by MilitaryMadness: Mar 15 2018, 07:56 AM