Aztech FG7008GR(AC) AC2400 MU-MIMO WiFi Router, Awesome router but for the firmware...

lol0919
post Sep 17 2018, 03:10 PM

168 posts

Just received my fg7008gr but not able to setup, when I connect using LAN cable, I can't access the web ui,
Only able to access web ui once, but can't get to work, so I reboot it. But after that can't access again, all the indicator lights are off except power.
On and off for many times already but still no different, tried press the reset button for 10s and release, no changes....
lol0919
post Sep 17 2018, 08:13 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 17 2018, 07:26 PM)
Wait, later I try mine. Got it already also but haven’t had time to set it up.

IP address correct? Don’t connect PC to the wan port. Try connecting with wifi?
can't get ip address, and even manually set it still cannot ping to router. for wifi, the password provided on the sticker cannot be use, even SSID is different.

UPDATE: it is working now after 30/30/30 reset, can access to Web UI and SSID and password on sticker works.
But i find it very hard to setup this router

added entries in Quick Setting Page but it gone after clicking save, after awhile when i load back my info is there,
but may i know how to connect? the connect button is non clickable button..really don't understand this UI

And in advance mode, trying to modify setting but getting following message, even reboot dry.gif
lol0919
post Sep 17 2018, 09:37 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 17 2018, 08:38 PM)
I always use advanced settings. Configuration steps are the same as innacomm cos they are almost the same since broadcom.

What i did: go to advanced setup, delete everything under WAN and ETH if possible, then under WAN create interface with vlan 500, priority 0 but name INTERNET (case sensitive and v impt be exact), choose pppoe and enter credentials + custom dns. Done.

Repeat same thing for hypptv, create interface vlan 600 name IPTV, choose Bridging, done.
Then go to advanced setup, interface grouping, assign lan port 4 to iptv interface.

Lastly, delete every entry under the QoS settings page, disable ipv6 everywhere, enable upnp (optional)

Once everything works and your wireless ssid + password + channel ok alr, pls DO NOT ever try to change the config again. Keep backup of the config file to be safe. This router firmware is the most shitty i have ever seen, worse than all of the tm router. This aztech is just a beefed up innacomm that support turbo and fast wireless lmao
Done with some of the settings, but still not working.
Anything i missed?

lol0919
post Sep 17 2018, 10:20 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 17 2018, 09:57 PM)
Correct leh... maybe reboot router (mine was liddat). If not it means u need to go with .003 firmware sad.gif
So the newest firmware confirm cannot use?
Is it safe to flash the firmware? I'm afraid i will bricked the device, lol.
how come they dare to sell something like this sweat.gif

This post has been edited by lol0919: Sep 17 2018, 10:45 PM
lol0919
post Sep 17 2018, 11:57 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 17 2018, 11:32 PM)
.007 is not newest, but still incompatible. Only .003 and below compatible for unifi

Now u know why this router so cheap... but if u know how to configure then worth it la lol
The internet is UP after flashed to .003 but IPTV still not working,
and having some issue with my wireless connection which 2.4ghz's signal is very weak and slow,
even 5ghz can reach my room on first floor, but speed also slower than my innacom rg4332 bangwall.gif ....
what are the optimal settings for wireless?

This post has been edited by lol0919: Sep 18 2018, 02:22 AM
lol0919
post Sep 18 2018, 03:19 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 18 2018, 08:53 AM)
Iptv i think u try play with the igmp settings abit (eg on off snooping and multicast etc trial and error until it works)

Wireless what channel and region are u on? Can use some sort of wireless analyser to screenshot the bandwidth and channel etc here tks

Cos if u encounter certain bandwidth bugs, need to execute some commands in telnet (some old post above)
For wireless, i use Singapore and channel 11, any different by using different region?

the 2.4ghz 's signal is very weak and unstable, even not far away from it, 5ghz seems works fine.
Isn't 2.4ghz has better range coverage than 5ghz??

Matcha=5ghz, Oolong=2.4ghz

Living room, 2-3meter away from router

dining area 4-5m away from router, block by 1 wall+

kitchen, 7-9m away from router, block by 2 wall+

This post has been edited by lol0919: Sep 18 2018, 05:07 PM

lol0919
post Sep 18 2018, 08:59 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 18 2018, 04:33 PM)
Ok, u have to disable 40mhz on the 2.4ghz band. Normally aztech 40mhz support poor because theres little space to test in sg.. wifi too congested
Anyway the upper/lower control sideband from the pic looks broken, so i think 40mhz is wonky.. So change to 20mhz should solve alr

Also, WMM must be enabled or else will cap at 54mbps link rate (try this first it might be the real issue lol)
changed to 20mhz but the problem is still there,
the 2.4ghz signal strength was very weak and drops easily even not very far away.
Was so much different with RG4332's signal

Matcha=5ghz
Oolong=2.4ghz
We Are Happy Family=2.4ghz RG4332

is this suppose to be like this?? or is the radio parts for 2.4ghz is failing sad.gif

lol0919
post Sep 18 2018, 11:49 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 18 2018, 09:03 PM)
Yaaa. Anyway my region is set to US so that might help

By any chance can i have yr rg4332 config (with pppoe crednetials cancelled ofc) cos migjt br able to 'transplant' the config over due to both being broadcom
IT WORKS!!! Thanks a lot. notworthy.gif notworthy.gif

after set the region to US, the signal become as strong as RG4332

am i need to set 5ghz to US also even if it is working fine?

This post has been edited by lol0919: Sep 19 2018, 05:55 PM
lol0919
post Sep 18 2018, 11:57 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 18 2018, 09:28 PM)
The 2.4 Ghz is quite low power 100mW (20dBm). Maybe that's why.
The 5Ghz is 1W which is what I like.
Info from Aztech's IDA SG approval.
ftp://ftp.aztech.com/support/SINGAPORE/Ce...EGISTRATION.pdf
100mW is default power for most of 2.4Ghz access points for full signal,
i think the problem here is that when i set the region to Malaysia and Singapore,
it get capped and go even below the maximum txpower allowed of this 2 country,
this doesn't make sense as other routers with these countries as region can works properly and this doesn't go beyond the rules,
might be a bug of this version of firmware or some errors in their presets? who knows... dry.gif

This post has been edited by lol0919: Sep 19 2018, 12:14 AM
lol0919
post Sep 19 2018, 12:29 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 19 2018, 12:23 AM)
Oops sorry i mistaken, not all innacomm router same base firmware as broadcom lol..
do you know which setting from router to solve image loading problems of facebook and instagram?
all devices from my network cannot load images in fb and ig...

lol0919
post Sep 19 2018, 12:45 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 19 2018, 12:33 AM)
That may be the 1.0.0.0/8 route problem. Check the first post.
okay, thanks rclxms.gif
lol0919
post Sep 19 2018, 02:16 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(soonwai @ Sep 19 2018, 01:29 AM)
No prob, hope it works. are you on turbo speed already? Would love to see a Speedtest. I'm still waiting for 800Mbps so cannot test anything yet.
not yet, wait till neck long already... bangwall.gif

lol0919
post Sep 20 2018, 11:25 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(NooBiE888 @ Sep 20 2018, 07:29 AM)
I have been interested to get this router for awhile now.

Just asking before I take the plunge, has anyone managed to get both internet (vlan 500) and HyppTV (vlan 600) working together?
Both can works
lol0919
post Sep 20 2018, 08:02 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 20 2018, 07:10 PM)
Wow that router is damn cheap! Its their china telecom stock router! Aztech fg7008 used to be singtel stock router too!!

Anyway i figured that u might have to enable fullcone nat for unifi pppoe to work which is kinda retarded (may affect nat acceleration too) cos the aztech malaysia config enables it.
If u ask their firmware support team they will give u this: "Good day! We apologized but the FG7008GR(AC) is a discontinued or end-of-life router so we do not have any more updated firmware." Lol
I didn't enable it and it works, is it recommended to enable fullcone??
Actually this is the worst part, the firmware is end of support but the firmware is full of bugs, nothing near to "stable release"...
my router's firmware sot already, now cannot configure 5ghz at all, if click in, the page will hang there, and can't open the web ui again, even on other devices, sometimes it load, but drop down list for region setting will be empty... /.\

This post has been edited by lol0919: Sep 20 2018, 08:28 PM
lol0919
post Sep 20 2018, 08:14 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(Zi-Tech @ Sep 20 2018, 07:23 PM)
both are working??

i still cannot make it the internet to connect...IPTV straight away working...

the best part is, broadband led is light up, iptv not light up, under the webgui, iptv is green, internet is black...

pening mau setting ini router....
my iptv doesn't lights up even on web ui, but it is working fine.
you using stock firmware with aztech malaysia config loaded?
lol0919
post Sep 21 2018, 12:19 AM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 20 2018, 08:17 PM)
I got that b4.
U need to:
1. Reflash firmware .007 (to reset the wifi driver and quantenna firmware)
2. 30/30/30 Broadcom reset to clear configuration
3. Perform factory default from within web ui (to rewrite the web scripts to nand)

The new wireless driver should not contain DFS bands anymore since that affects reliability. Set region to Singapore for 5ghz works well but no DFS bands present.
Then all is good!

Im not sure why they enabled fullcone nat in the sellers unifi config, could be something to do with a firmware bug of pppoe not working on some peoples .007 firmware (like @soonwai). Theres a goofy warning message if u try to enable it "ONLY IF REQUIRED—DISABLES NETWORK ACCELERATION AND SOME SECURITY" but its a mystery if its actually true since u cant have multiple public ips on pppoe and that this message was placed by broadcom on all their socs.
so, after all these steps, i need to back flash to .003 again in order to use unifi pppoe?? then after that will this problem happen again?
and another issue i'm facing is that sometimes the 5ghz's channel will change by itself, and sometimes can't be detect, or connected but cannot access internet...

This post has been edited by lol0919: Sep 21 2018, 12:55 AM
lol0919
post Sep 27 2018, 04:28 PM

168 posts

So firmware .007 confirm compatible with unifi right?
It works only when using Aztech Malaysia config?
or which setting should i tick or chose?
previously using .007 but it can't connect unifi, but then using same settings in .003 and it works...so if i change back to .007, how to do the setting for unifi?
lol0919
post Sep 27 2018, 08:04 PM

168 posts

QUOTE(miloaisdino @ Sep 27 2018, 04:36 PM)
Factory reset the device then upload the aztech malaysia config. Then should be ok
ok, thanks
lol0919
post Sep 27 2018, 11:31 PM

168 posts

Anyone here using .007 with Aztech config with unifi?
I'm still can't make it work, after loading the config file, I'm just insert my unifi account and password without modify anything else, but still no internet. Is it really working??
lol0919
post Sep 27 2018, 11:31 PM

168 posts

Anyone here using .007 with Aztech config with unifi?
I'm still can't make it work, after loading the config file, I'm just insert my unifi account and password without modify anything else, but still no internet. Is it really working??

0.0254sec    0.32    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 1st December 2025 - 05:48 AM