6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Bottom

The mother of ALL laptop: HP Pavilion HDX 20.1", HD DVD Rom, HD 2600 ATI graphic :p

chalorlay
post Dec 31 2007, 02:47 PM

104 posts

IMO the PC, not the laptop (not suitable for ur lap anyway) is a desktop replacement.
Moveable, portable. The battery is also not suitable for "main"less operation.

Move ur work and maybe ur office in a single package.
For a laptop/notebook a 10" or 12" is most suitable. Or if only wants ONE computer, a 15" to 17" is the best compromise.

There is one 20" built by Dell, better design than the HP, with a handle (since there's no carrying bag available in the market for that size) and detachable keyboard lagi. Bought the HP because of the spec (quote from my tech colleague).

selinix
post Dec 31 2007, 03:15 PM

7,343 posts

Dell XPS 2010 rite if not mistaken ?? the 20 inch 1 ... we don't have it in our market...

but to me that 1 totally don't look like a laptop already .. is more like a desktop
death_nite
post Dec 31 2007, 03:30 PM

Lossless Land...
2,366 posts

with ati HD2600 only? erh...i think it a waste... tongue.gif
Endless9930
post Dec 31 2007, 04:02 PM

757 posts

Saw this in Lowyat

I was surprise why they want to make big laptop. Even 15.4" monitor laptop is huge to me , cant image i take a 20" monster everywhere...

And i am an nvidia and Blueray supporter , too bad the spec is not my love ....
SUSbabyrabies
post Dec 31 2007, 04:43 PM

281 posts

does it come with rollers and a bell boy?
amenlo9
post Dec 31 2007, 05:08 PM

2,627 posts

will get 1 this when become full time trader.LOL

mych
post Dec 31 2007, 05:11 PM

2,068 posts

How big is the laptop bag?
chalorlay
post Jan 13 2008, 06:00 PM

104 posts

QUOTE(mych @ Dec 31 2007, 05:11 PM)
How big is the laptop bag?
Bag ? No bag. Its not even a notebook.
I think its a desktop in a notebook packaging.

And now, my experience with the machine :

Comes with 4GB, 2x250GB HDD, ATI2600 and Vista Ultimate 64bit.

Don't like :

Buggy HP on-screen feedback of the touchswitch and remote control (eg. volume control screen hang with VLC player and WMP)

Right side shift key is too small

Arrow keys not like Dell 1720 (my other notebook) - Dell places the arrow keys just like desktop keyboard

Left hand felt too warm for long computing hours (like my other notebook Acer 3044. Unlike Dell, all the heat is near the hinge of the display)

Still got problems :

Vista 64bit compatibilities with apps that i use in my line of work
The webcam is not recognized by YM
Got original XP Pro and still cannot do the dual boot (no more budget to buy 64bit version of ESRI's software - cari yang lanun nak try pun tak dapat)

Lain lagi...cukup puas hati !!

Attached is screen capture of the Vista Windows Experience Index.

initial.craig
post Jan 14 2008, 09:05 PM

411 posts

that's a desktop replacement rite? wah the specs... chalorlay, wad do u mean no bags? u mean there is no laptop bags for this? smile.gif
williamngwl
post Jan 15 2008, 03:13 AM

3,368 posts

QUOTE(initial.craig @ Jan 14 2008, 09:05 PM)
that's a desktop replacement rite? wah the specs... chalorlay, wad do u mean no bags? u mean there is no laptop bags for this? smile.gif
yes,no carrying case is included when u purchase this
initial.craig
post Jan 16 2008, 06:35 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(chalorlay @ Jan 13 2008, 06:00 PM)
Bag ? No bag. Its not even a notebook.
I think its a desktop in a notebook packaging.

And now, my experience with the machine :

Comes with 4GB, 2x250GB HDD, ATI2600 and Vista Ultimate 64bit.

Don't like :

Buggy HP on-screen feedback of the touchswitch and remote control (eg. volume control screen hang with VLC player and WMP)

Right side shift key is too small

Arrow keys not like Dell 1720 (my other notebook) - Dell places the arrow keys just like desktop keyboard

Left hand felt too warm for long computing hours (like my other notebook Acer 3044. Unlike Dell, all the heat is near the hinge of the display)

Still got problems :

Vista 64bit compatibilities with apps that i use in my line of work
The webcam is not recognized by YM
Got original XP Pro and still cannot do the dual boot (no more budget to buy 64bit version of ESRI's software - cari yang lanun nak try pun tak dapat)

Lain lagi...cukup puas hati !!

Attached is screen capture of the Vista Windows Experience Index.
4GB, 2x250GB HDD, ATI2600 and Vista Ultimate 64bit
swt... dunno when can i lay my hands on this
ALIMUS
post Jan 19 2008, 03:07 AM

108 posts

Just saw the computer on cnet. It's WOW!! Gotta get this type oneday. It has 4 Altec Lansing speakers with built-in HP Triple Bass Reflex subwoofer. That's huge!! Sound like a cinema super surround. The lid is very strong and can be put in many ways. I really love the computer. The imprint is aesthetical. HP doesn't seem to stop impressing us with their imprints. The drawback are HD-DVD (instead of more popular Blu-Ray), ATI graphic (instead of better nVIDIA) and most importantly, HP only give 1 year of warranty for the cost of 5 digit value.

This post has been edited by ALIMUS: Jan 19 2008, 03:16 AM
ALIMUS
post Jan 19 2008, 03:14 AM

108 posts

For the CNET video review, click here

Unleashing the Dragon

This post has been edited by ALIMUS: Jan 19 2008, 03:16 AM
derred
post Jan 19 2008, 04:13 AM

alienated
1,238 posts

It covers the model's whole body wahaha. With that GPU, this is not a beast of performance. This is a beast of physical appearance.
selinix
post Jan 19 2008, 04:18 AM

7,343 posts

Wow look at the box for that laptop .. hahaha
initial.craig
post Jan 19 2008, 06:56 PM

411 posts

QUOTE(ALIMUS @ Jan 19 2008, 03:14 AM)
For the CNET video review, click here
Unleashing the Dragon

wow, look at the ratio of the laptop to the model. btw, how is the heat generated by this monster?

This post has been edited by initial.craig: Jan 19 2008, 06:57 PM
gstoh
post Feb 19 2008, 02:23 PM

INTJ
1,282 posts

got one people i know.. he want to sell it off..at price of RM7K or RM6k, he just used for 3months, bought at rm9999 doh.gif
haha..
it is too bulky...
to me.. i dono what is the purpose of the existence of this HP HDX20.1
laptop ? not portable
desktop ? performance is poor

for showing off purpose ¿?

derred
post Feb 19 2008, 05:14 PM

alienated
1,238 posts

QUOTE(gstoh @ Feb 19 2008, 01:23 AM)
got one people i know.. he want to sell it off..at price of RM7K or RM6k, he just used for 3months, bought at rm9999 doh.gif
haha..
it is too bulky...
to me.. i dono what is the purpose of the existence of this HP HDX20.1
laptop ? not portable
desktop ? performance is poor

for showing off purpose ¿?
Showing off? That's only applicable to Malaysians.

In some other places (say US), it could be use as home-entertainment platform. With the remote and stuff, so i think huge enough for say a family of 4-5 to watch movies on living room, and portable enough around the house.

I don't blame you didn't see the purpose, as I do agree this doesn't fit into our "culture".

And hell no I am not an HP fan at all, HP will be the last brand I'll buy.
post Feb 19 2008, 05:45 PM

761 posts

20"? Man, the ultimate portable multimedia player then? With a screen as huge as that, it's gonna be fun watching movies ( don't know about the sound though) The viewing angle must be fabulous, OMG, it's like your portable TV set.... that comes with a DVD/CD player ( along with the capability of playing virtually any media files)
SWATwolf
post Apr 9 2008, 11:10 PM

431 posts

i was wonder izzit possible if we order this from US?

they have newer spec tat i want tat msia / sg doesnt have.

6 Pages « < 3 4 5 6 >Top

0.0257sec    0.58    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 01:30 AM