post Mar 10 2018, 03:34 PM, updated 8y ago

Hello guys,

I wanna ask sifu about my car speaker spec,

My car speaker
- ori HU
- OEM speaker 2 way coaxial for 2 front and 2 rear
- 1x underseat woofer

is it ok? after using month i realised that the oem speaker when listen to normal bassy song it will be shaking . is it cause of not enough power or what. im still newbie.
magnesium
post Mar 10 2018, 03:41 PM

1,130 posts

replace to component speaker
ttan777
post Mar 10 2018, 03:47 PM

449 posts

headunit not enough power
eek-1
post Mar 11 2018, 12:32 PM

Custom member title
778 posts

You could buy a headunit with a built-in crossover, like kenwood for less than 300. Then change the HPF settings to so your oem woofers won't respond to bass
TSMaulicious
post Mar 12 2018, 05:59 AM

QUOTE(magnesium @ Mar 10 2018, 03:41 PM)
replace to component speaker
Which brand is good and not too expensive?
TSMaulicious
post Mar 12 2018, 06:01 AM

QUOTE(ttan777 @ Mar 10 2018, 03:47 PM)
headunit not enough power
I think so. cause its shaking unnormal. seems not enough power from HU to produce good bass from the speaker without produce distort sound.
TSMaulicious
post Mar 12 2018, 06:06 AM

QUOTE(eek-1 @ Mar 11 2018, 12:32 PM)
You could buy a headunit with a built-in crossover, like kenwood for less than 300. Then change the HPF settings to so your oem woofers won't respond to bass
I would like that speaker to have bass also only i think it just the HU not giving enough power . If i change to component speaker do i need to change the front and rear to component also?
magnesium
post Mar 12 2018, 07:37 AM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(Maulicious @ Mar 12 2018, 06:06 AM)
I would like that speaker to have bass also only i think it just the HU not giving enough power . If i change to component speaker do i need to change the front and rear to component also?
rear no need

set it to minimum

if u go to concert, the singer and stage will be in front of you

not behind

for component speaker price, i don't know

but for brands there is many reputable brand

u need to Google on this and search within ur budget
eek-1
post Mar 12 2018, 10:40 AM

Custom member title
778 posts

If the speakers are vibrating too much you could try add some sticky pads around the frames. Maybe that'll solve the shaking
TSMaulicious
post Mar 12 2018, 04:17 PM

QUOTE(magnesium @ Mar 12 2018, 07:37 AM)
rear no need

set it to minimum

if u go to concert, the singer and stage will be in front of you

not behind

for component speaker price, i don't know

but for brands there is many reputable brand

u need to Google on this and search within ur budget
Ok sifus, another question if u were me what would u do first,

1 - Change HU to a good brand after that then change front to component set

or

2 - Change front to component then change the HU .
magnesium
post Mar 12 2018, 08:39 PM

1,130 posts

QUOTE(Maulicious @ Mar 12 2018, 04:17 PM)

or

component

after that huge portion for hu

actually can set budget first

if u have budget rm3k

rm1k fir component speaker

and rm2k for hu

after that slowly get 4 channel amp than woofer

*im no way can be sifu, just that long time passed i left ice worlds

This post has been edited by magnesium: Mar 12 2018, 08:40 PM
naveenkalai7
post Mar 13 2018, 12:43 AM

75 posts

QUOTE(Maulicious @ Mar 12 2018, 04:17 PM)

or

Component bro..

try with some entry level but reputable brand like focal, morel, german maestro, helix, infinity.. can found below 1k range..

and add surround foam and soundproof for front doors.. it will eliminate the rattling..

But if budget allows like 2.5k mean can get pioneer p80 and morel maximo or focal auditor or german maestro alpha and add soundproof.. you will be amaze by the outcome bro..
TSMaulicious
post Mar 13 2018, 09:42 AM

QUOTE(magnesium @ Mar 12 2018, 08:39 PM)
component

after that huge portion for hu

actually can set budget first

if u have budget rm3k

rm1k fir component speaker

and rm2k for hu

after that slowly get 4 channel amp than woofer

*im no way can be sifu, just that long time passed i left ice worlds
Thanks for the recommendation . Goin to save budget lor for this. hahah

TSMaulicious
post Mar 13 2018, 09:46 AM

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Mar 13 2018, 12:43 AM)
Component bro..

try with some entry level but reputable brand like focal, morel, german maestro, helix, infinity.. can found below 1k range..

and add surround foam and soundproof for front doors.. it will eliminate the rattling..
But if budget allows like 2.5k mean can get pioneer p80 and morel maximo or focal auditor or german maestro alpha and add soundproof.. you will be amaze by the outcome bro..
Is it ok for that reputable component to perform if HU still standard? Just scared HU will not give enough power to that speaker to perform well. I heard they said speaker could be broken if theres not enough power from HU transferring to speaker. 🤔 correct me if im wrong.
naveenkalai7
post Mar 13 2018, 05:25 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Maulicious @ Mar 13 2018, 09:46 AM)
Is it ok for that reputable component to perform if HU still standard?  Just scared HU will not give enough power to that speaker to perform well. I heard they said speaker could be broken if theres not enough power from HU transferring to speaker. 🤔 correct me if im wrong.
No bro, if speaker sensitivity is higher, it still can be power through the HU and sound well bro.. but you cant blast due to distortion..

or else, you can try autocraft underseat subwoofer with built in amp + dsp bro.. 3 in 1 device.. with an aftermarket component set..

Can save $$ and space too smile.gif smile.gif

Or

have a look at this bro..

https://www.xciteaudio.com/index.php?route=...&product_id=634

This post has been edited by naveenkalai7: Mar 13 2018, 07:00 PM
TSMaulicious
post Mar 13 2018, 08:51 PM

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Mar 13 2018, 05:25 PM)
No bro, if speaker sensitivity is higher, it still can be power through the HU and sound well bro.. but you cant blast due to distortion..

or else, you can try autocraft underseat subwoofer with built in amp + dsp bro.. 3 in 1 device.. with an aftermarket component set..

Can save $$ and space too  smile.gif  smile.gif

Or

have a look at this bro..

https://www.xciteaudio.com/index.php?route=...&product_id=634

Oh i see. I get it. For underseat woofer i have already so maybe goin to upgrade front to component. searching for focal brands. But is it ok if front and rear are speaker not from the same brand if im goin to change the front only?

naveenkalai7
post Mar 13 2018, 09:44 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Maulicious @ Mar 13 2018, 08:51 PM)
Oh i see. I get it. For underseat woofer i have already so maybe goin to upgrade front to component. searching for focal brands. But is it ok if front and rear are speaker not from the same brand if im goin to change the front only?
Should be fine bro.. becoz im also using diff brand for front and rear.. u wont hear much from rear bro because u will be driving the car.. so front speakers should be higher / better one compared to rear..
TSMaulicious
post Mar 14 2018, 02:49 AM

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Mar 13 2018, 09:44 PM)
Should be fine bro.. becoz im also using diff brand for front and rear.. u wont hear much from rear bro because u will be driving the car.. so front speakers should be higher / better one compared to rear..
Ok bro. tq for the advice . btw, is it possible to add another underseat subwoofer and place it on front passanger seat?
naveenkalai7
post Mar 14 2018, 05:14 PM

75 posts

QUOTE(Maulicious @ Mar 14 2018, 02:49 AM)
Ok bro. tq for the advice . btw, is it possible to add another underseat subwoofer and place it on front passanger seat?
Boleh bro.. as long got enuf space can fix..

so you mean add two underseat sub for both front seats?
TSMaulicious
post Mar 15 2018, 12:14 AM

QUOTE(naveenkalai7 @ Mar 14 2018, 05:14 PM)
Boleh bro.. as long got enuf space can fix..

so you mean add two underseat sub for both front seats?
Yes bro thinking about getting another underseat subwoofer and put it under front passanger seat. hahaha.

0.0242sec    0.79    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 03:09 AM