sonyclie77
post Apr 7 2007, 02:16 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Apr 6 2007, 11:44 PM)
Haha...true . I wanna ask another question.

The GPS taking so long to lock on is the flaw of the firmware or the hardware itself?
It's the GPS chipset in the N95 which causes this problem.

As stringfellow mentioned, he bypassed the internal GPS receiver and instead used his Garmin GPS receiver (Garmin GPS10?) which sports the latest SiRF III Star chipset, and was able to obtain a fix very fast.

I'm using Holux GPSlim 240 which also uses the same chipset, and I can get a fix in <30 seconds. smile.gif Though I'm pairing it with my Dopod 838Pro. smile.gif
sonyclie77
post Apr 7 2007, 02:25 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(minde @ Apr 7 2007, 02:23 PM)
haiz...check the old thread that has been locked ... =.= ... the last few post ...
You can quote the posts you wanted to reply to and reply in this thread instead, like what I did. smile.gif
sonyclie77
post Apr 9 2007, 10:10 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(chenster @ Apr 9 2007, 10:08 AM)
wanna ask ar.. gps izit useful in malaysia or not? or only in big cities like the klang valley..
Depends on the maps used.

Malsingmaps pretty much covers the whole of Peninsula Malaysia, including smaller towns. I use GPS a lot due to the nature of my work which requires extensive travel to new places all the time. It saves me time from referring to a hard copy of the map.
sonyclie77
post Apr 13 2007, 02:22 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(maxkth @ Apr 13 2007, 01:48 PM)
My hometown only hav Ap set currently, selling RM2950. cry.gif
That's pretty expensive.

How about making a trip down to KL if you seriously want the N95? tongue.gif
sonyclie77
post Apr 17 2007, 05:35 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(animegod @ Apr 17 2007, 03:32 PM)
Dont worry, the battle is over. No point fighting with a kid who doesn't understand a word.

Anyway,
I dont think N95 GPS can support 3rd party application yet.
Tom Tom and route66 are few good GPS applications. You can try, but I dont think it'll work.
TomTom and Route66 are good mapping softwares, but too bad they don't have maps for Malaysia.
sonyclie77
post Apr 17 2007, 06:45 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

No cracks discussion are allowed in LYN.
sonyclie77
post Apr 17 2007, 11:01 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Apr 17 2007, 10:47 PM)
If inot mistaken that CSL is selling their own set (AP) but heard rumour that they might get authorized dealership from Nokia. But till no news lor....me also getting all these installment free with credit card...but some look genuine.... rclxms.gif
CSL was O'Conors, the ex-authorised distributor of Nokia phones back in the monochrome Nokia phone's days.

Doubt Nokia will give the distributorship to the same bunch of guys again.

But we'll see. smile.gif
sonyclie77
post Apr 17 2007, 11:29 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ Apr 17 2007, 11:12 PM)
Yup, let us wait and see ah? By the way, have anyone know why I-Mobile didn't get N95 under their wings ah??? Heard they will face out from Nokia Wings lor... hmm.gif
I too read that they're out of the picture since 1st April 2007.

Not sure why is that so.

So there's only 1 authorised distributor for the N95 now?
sonyclie77
post Apr 18 2007, 10:12 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ Apr 18 2007, 09:38 PM)
bought N95(Sand) today zitron at Rm3199. Could have gotten at Rm2999 but due to personal reasons decided to go for the 3199 instead.

RM 2,999 for AP and RM 3,199 for Ori?
sonyclie77
post Apr 21 2007, 06:40 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

Thread created by ericchan merged into the Official N95 discussion thread.
sonyclie77
post Apr 30 2007, 12:22 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(betterman @ Apr 30 2007, 11:50 AM)
For everybody info, in Singapore Starhub and other 2 telcos is offering Nokia N95 at SG$968 (RM2197.36 @ RM/SG 2.27 Exchange Rate) and Navifon @ Asiamap license is only valid for 60 days. After that need to pay SG$15.00 (promotional rate) for license upgrade.
The price of S$968 is with contract or without contract? unsure.gif
sonyclie77
post May 1 2007, 10:07 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(minde @ May 1 2007, 09:10 PM)
yea  nod.gif

Added on May 1, 2007, 9:45 pmC**bai ... the Maxis 3G so expensive . 7MB is RM70 !!! My phone bill RM2xx !!!
You should subscribe to maxis's unlimited data package for RM 120 if you're a heavy data user.

I have been using it for a few months now and it really helps me save on data charges. smile.gif
sonyclie77
post May 2 2007, 11:48 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

OK so I've just bought my E61i and am loving every moment of using it.

Though I know this is the N95 thread, but I have some questions pertaining to GPS which I think N95 users would be more familiar with. Coming from a WM5 based GPS background, GPS on Symbian is totally new to me.

So I've downloaded Smart2Go on my E61i. And I also transferred Malaysia's map to my device using Nokia's maploaded which someone posted the download link above. When I tried to plan my route, say for example to 1 Utama from my current location, it asks me to purchase.

My question:

1. Smart2Go is free right?
2. I thought you only pay if you want voice navigation, but still can use to plan route as some N95 users reported. But I find that I am asked to pay even if I want to use it to plan my route only.

Anything I missed somewhere in my installation?

Thanks a lot guys! biggrin.gif
sonyclie77
post May 3 2007, 12:09 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ May 3 2007, 12:01 AM)
Hmmm... as to your 1st question I've answered above and yea it is free except the navigation module.

the routing is supposed to be free. Mine is free where i select
1. options
2. plan route
3. choose starting point and destination
4. choose show route (it will calculate the route for me)
5. start tracking

doesnt seem to prompt me for payment
Thanks for the quick response.

By navigation module, which one do you mean?
sonyclie77
post May 3 2007, 12:11 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ May 3 2007, 12:09 AM)
voice navigation
the one that tells u to turn which direction
Hmm... but I even failed to plan my route, let alone voice navigation.

Is it because I'm using an E61i paired with Holux GPSlim 240 BT GPS receiver, and not a N95? Having said that, Smart2Go comes pre-installed in the N95?

sonyclie77
post May 3 2007, 12:21 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ May 3 2007, 12:12 AM)

Added on May 3, 2007, 12:18 am
not sure about that so can't be of help.

yea smart2go comes preinstalled on N95 by the name Nokia Maps
You've been of great help in your posts! biggrin.gif Helped me clear some doubts. smile.gif

Anyway I'll try it again tomorrow and see how it goes.

Thanks! rclxms.gif
sonyclie77
post May 5 2007, 08:12 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(schizophrenic @ May 5 2007, 08:00 PM)
by the way, anyone else tried geotagging your pictures?

just get shozu, open your gps and make sure you get a satellite lock and start taking pictures. when you upload for flickr, you'll see on yahoo maps where did you take those pictures.

http://www.shozu.com
Thanks for the introduction to Shozu! thumbup.gif

Will toy around with it. tongue.gif
sonyclie77
post May 13 2007, 10:43 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(BlazingFrosty @ May 13 2007, 10:28 PM)
but i see the site, it say buy map need $$ is it?
As mentioned above, you only need to pay for voice navigation (which I think is ridiculous).

The free version entitles you to navigate silently. whistling.gif
sonyclie77
post May 19 2007, 10:17 AM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(hihi @ May 19 2007, 09:12 AM)
received catalog from MBF credit card, selling RM169 X 18 month (RM3042), Sapura Technology. is that ori or AP?
QUOTE(panasonic88 @ May 19 2007, 09:26 AM)
http://www.sapura.com.my/

hmm.gif  i also wan to know
Sapura, AFAIK is one of the authorised distributor for Nokia phones.

Only difference between them and Avaxx is that Sapura deals with corporate clients only.
sonyclie77
post May 20 2007, 06:11 PM

Stressed Personnel
10,928 posts

QUOTE(aruja_69 @ May 19 2007, 07:16 PM)
Those days before SAPURA is authorized dealer for Nokia phone but nowday they still but just wondering what happened if the phone is faulty or need updgrade..where to send ah???
Not sure about that, but they're still an authorised distributor for Nokia phones, handling corporate clients.

Maybe when you purchase their phones there will be a warranty card stating it's service centre addresses?

QUOTE(saffron @ May 20 2007, 05:55 PM)
btw KL got sell silver/sand color of Nokia N95..??
IIANM some forummers bought their sand colour N95 from BB area.

0.0238sec    0.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 10th December 2025 - 06:15 PM