Ara damansara good place to live?

9m2w
post Jan 22 2021, 07:53 PM

Victoria Concordia Crescit
1,035 posts

Used to live there for nearly 10 years. The LRT stations are a plus point. Accessibility when there is no jam another. Many smaller roads leading out to KD, BU, PJ, Glenmarie and also major roads leading out to the NKVE, Federal highway and USJ. In the beginning nothing much to shout about in terms of food and shopping but slowly getting better and self sufficient.

But my god was it a pain to get in an out during peak hours because of the jam. And if you have kids there really is a shortage of good schools nearby. All are at a distance away. SK Taman Megah if you want to go kebangsaan or SJKC Damansara for Chinese.

Also with the PPRs there snatch theft is a problem. Not all PPRs are crime hotpots, some of the lower density ones are pretty ok decent places to live. The ppl there also are freaked out by the snatch thefts.
9m2w
post Jan 22 2021, 08:07 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(HarrionX @ Jan 22 2021, 07:55 PM)
omg i didn't know about the snatch theft problem

It's happening at which ppr? the one at Pacific Place or the one near Eve suite? (since i'm living at the eve suite area)
Just watch out when walking in general. Common spots are the roads in front of NZX leading to the LRT station and the big park next to Seri Pillmoor. The park is a real waste, when it was opened it was full of ppl. Then it got vandailised and there were several cases of robberies and less ppl frequent it

We had a dialogue with the local police before and the suspects for most of the petty crime in the area are the inhabitants of the PPR in front of the LRT depot. The high density ones.

But if you're in Eve suite then you're ok I guess, the LRT station is just next door. Just take care when walking to Citta Mall.

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Jan 22 2021, 08:08 PM
9m2w
post Jan 22 2021, 08:16 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(teutonic @ Jan 22 2021, 08:12 PM)
Everywhere also jam. Place that have no jam is ulu. But if got lrt, at least have alternatives to jam in person or inside car.
Dude you should see it when it pours. And when the Subang airport road is flooded as well as the Tropicana tunnel. Thats two of the major exits sealed off. Then you literally have ppl trapped inside Ara Damansara. And the traffic gets backed up all the way to the entrance of my housing area haha

Still nice place to live la. I miss the place sometimes
9m2w
post Jan 22 2021, 08:48 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(HarrionX @ Jan 22 2021, 08:40 PM)
aw not really. I live at Cantara now and frequently went to the park next to Seri Pilmoor.

Usually when i go jog and go back at 7pm, usually few guys lepak at the park entrace at their motor and i always felt in danger due to it. (ya the vandalize part really a waste lah)

But if earlier time with lots of people seems fine.

For the common spots infront of NZX i didn't know about any stories so far.

Wish i knew at least 1 story so i can tell my friends to be aware haha.
😂 You want a story. Go deeper into the park. Check out the gazebos inside. Sometimes you will find discarded handbags and wallets. Snatch thieves usual go there to sort out their loot, take the money and dump the bags and wallets there.

But on a serious note. Remember several years back there was that young man who was killed in Kelana Jaya by snatch thieves? They hit him with a chain and stole his bag. It was caught on cctv. His bag was found in this park by a resident. The local resident's association informed the police and they beefed up patrols but end of the day couldn't catch the culprits.

Nice place la don't worry. Just be careful 👍
9m2w
post Sep 6 2021, 11:19 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(thankyou @ Sep 6 2021, 01:48 AM)
The park is really wasted... I'm living right beside the park... Like 10 seconds away but really... Don't even know if I ever step into the park for the past 1-2 years...

It was beautiful at first but spoiled by the visitors from PPR...
Its like an arms race. First Sime pre handover then later MBPJ fixes the park, vandals come in and destroy. MBPJ puts the concrete blocks to prevent motorcycles from going in, ppl remove it and drive their motorcycles inside or demolish part of the fence and make their own route. Seri Pillmoor is the most kesian. Pay so much to have practically a beautiful park next to them and only to have it defaced constantly.

QUOTE(Relaxing work @ Sep 6 2021, 07:15 AM)
Surprised that the police and authority know about this, but yet do not really take more pro active steps to curb this from happening. Maybe more patrol and light up the area and safer pedestrian walk.
Ironically there is a police beat base opposite the park. The moment it was abandoned i felt ppl became more brazen in and around the area near the park

Not sure if the police beat base is still abandoned or not. The official reason why it was abandoned was manpower/staffing issues. The unofficial reason me and a few folks heard was the police there got disturbed by the local "inhabitant" haha. Before Cantara and the commercial area next to it came up, the whole area surrounding the beat base was secondary jungle. So it was kind of creepy if you were manning the beat base there at night. IINM it was two desk officers

This post has been edited by 9m2w: Sep 6 2021, 11:22 AM
9m2w
post Sep 6 2021, 11:47 AM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(geelim77 @ Sep 6 2021, 11:41 AM)
abandoned?....didnt notice that before.
so far for these past few years the small balai still in use till now.
Ah I see good to hear. I moved out more than 2 years already. It was closed for a couple of years at least. There was an incident where a couple on motorcycle was chased by thieves and they turned into the beat base for help only to find it closed.
9m2w
post Sep 6 2021, 12:16 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(bashlyner @ Sep 6 2021, 11:55 AM)
I live in Kota Damansara now, feel like it's better with more access road, and the Persiaran Surian is not as jam as I thought before moving in. Also has better mixture of Malay and Chinese food, just that its a new township so some traditional food is harder to find.

For Ara Damansara I think the commercial area just isn't as vibrant and also only has half dead Citta Mall for shopping (Evolve mall I think is 90% dead  laugh.gif ).
Citta Mall was the bomb for my family. Wanna catch a movie? MBO confirmed got seats. Got kids and worried they cause a ruckus? Screw it Citta Mall had so much space they can run as much as they like most of the time without banging into ppl and stalls 😂. Presto was also pretty decent but when Village Grocer took over it became better. Food selection also OK
9m2w
post Sep 6 2021, 01:44 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(mw1980 @ Sep 6 2021, 01:34 PM)
more like developers bought cheapass lands nearby PPRs and thought they can make it the next bangsar south.
Iinm the LRT depot and the PPR infront of it was there first. And to be fair to Sime they never market it as the next Bangsar South 😂. Ppl gravitated towards it in the 2000s as it was the last few landed developments in PJ and for its time cheap. Prices have gone up 5-6x easily these days
9m2w
post Sep 6 2021, 06:25 PM

1,035 posts

QUOTE(sexysarah1992 @ Sep 6 2021, 06:17 PM)
One of the best place to live in klang valley. Inside ara less traffic. But the traffic precovid times is hell. Going to subang jaya is jam. Going to Tropicana BU area is jam as hell at the tropicana traffic lights. That tunnel to BU always flooded. Yes there is PPR at the back, but u hardly see it as the area is well designed. Roads are wide and lots of food nearby. Doremi is one of them. But there always jam during lunch hour.
The Curry Mee stall opened in the daytime was good. If i'm nearby I would make it a point to buy from him.

0.0217sec    0.27    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 02:08 AM