372 posts

where do i start if i want to get a 96 mkb w/ cherry mx brown

edit: nvm, found more compilation of information on reddit. reading now

This post has been edited by ShadowFiendZXC: Mar 13 2020, 09:06 PM
ShadowFiendZXC
post Mar 15 2020, 07:28 PM

372 posts

i came across terms like CNC sandwich case, ps2avrgb. Can someone explain them to me in simplest terms pls?
ShadowFiendZXC
post Mar 19 2020, 06:07 PM

372 posts

any1 using an acrylic base casing? How is aluminum better than acrylic base?
ShadowFiendZXC
post Apr 8 2020, 07:15 AM

372 posts

QUOTE(Chyan @ Apr 6 2020, 10:33 PM)
1800 layout by Leopold  & Keychron K4 is so good. Why aren't more manufacturers making them? Well technically Tecware had it for their Phantom 96 but it's more of a hassle with the toggle keys than anything. 

What's your opinion guys?

im a big fan of 96 layout mkb, but not many choices. Those custom build models by China manufacturer are so much more expensive than ready build ones.

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 7 2020, 09:27 PM)
you can look them up at taobao/aliexpress.

however, if you wished to try out gateron key switches, e.g., ks-3 and gateron ink, there is an up-coming groupbuy at mymkb fb page, https://www.facebook.com/groups/MalaysiaMechanicalKeyboard/

what switches are you using now? why do you need to swap them out?
hi, do you know what is the closest gateron switches to cherry mx brown?

Using brother's cherry blue now, so heavy.
ShadowFiendZXC
post Apr 15 2020, 12:56 PM

372 posts

sifus, how are Gateron KS-3X1 and KS-3X47 different from Gateron KS-3?
ShadowFiendZXC
post Apr 18 2020, 06:44 PM

372 posts

if iwant to buy from taobao, how much will kena charge import tax?

edit: Also, if soldered switches, still can lube? ohmy.gif

This post has been edited by ShadowFiendZXC: Apr 18 2020, 08:34 PM
ShadowFiendZXC
post Apr 18 2020, 08:36 PM

372 posts

ahh reposting cuz too late to edit the previous post, people might miss.

If soldered switches, still possible to lube?
ShadowFiendZXC
post Apr 18 2020, 10:21 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 18 2020, 09:56 PM)
if you have a plateless build, or a plated build with switch top removal support, yes.

edit: however, it's better to do switch tuning and test them out first before soldering. it's more convenient.
Oh no. I am looking at a pre-built mkb, because custom build one is so expensive.

edit: can take a look at this one ? Cant lube already right?

This post has been edited by ShadowFiendZXC: Apr 18 2020, 10:24 PM
ShadowFiendZXC
post Apr 18 2020, 11:05 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 18 2020, 10:35 PM)
er what's your budget? which form factor are you looking for? the custom builds are not expensive, unless you use all those expensive parts.

there is a temporary workaround to lube switches on soldered prebuilts, but only with partial outcomes of properly lubed switches.

for switch lubing, i suggest to do it properly, with the right lube and techniques that you want.
96%. i havent looked into other form factors, so i dont know their pricing.

melody 96 kit 1 with acrylic bot (excluding switches, leds and key caps) is almost rm600 already, kit 2 full alu almost 800 LOL.

iqunix f96 KAT ~680, everything included. KAT Alpha keycap costs 100usd, but iqunix clones GMK keycaps and implements them into their products. So the KAT keycaps i think the company also copies from the original KAT alpha.

QUOTE(ntw @ Apr 18 2020, 10:41 PM)
even with plates that claim support for switch top removal, its actually a pain to do so. might, that iqunix seems to be a custom kit, why not buy it and send to a builder like grexer to do it for you?
i saw on taeha vid that he received the kb fully assembled. I dont think it is a custom kit.

ShadowFiendZXC
post Apr 19 2020, 10:50 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(horns @ Apr 19 2020, 12:54 AM)
i think you need to understand something: kit 2 for ymdk melody96 is a full-metal kit, with brass weight, usb-c port, qmk-based pcb (with solderable and hot-swap options), its top-mount plate supports switch top removal. (this option should be the heftiest) it's way better and relatively cheaper than f96, just by comparing features. top-mount keyboard construction is obviously better than tray-mount for typing feel and sound.

f96 and nym96 are tray-mount.
D: premium price for premium stuff. I'm swayed by your words.

how bout sandwich mount?

ShadowFiendZXC
post May 15 2020, 08:12 PM

372 posts

Are those 'cherry卫星轴' stabs on taobao legit? Do people generally use cherry stabs?

Can recommend cheaper backlit double shot pbt keycap pls? taihao is very exp, pokai already

This post has been edited by ShadowFiendZXC: May 15 2020, 08:13 PM
ShadowFiendZXC
post May 15 2020, 09:13 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 15 2020, 08:52 PM)
usually known shops like ymdk and kbdfans sell genuine cherry stabs. well, for custom builds most people will pick up better ones, like gmk or c3.

you can find ikbc backlit double-shot pbt at taobao. anything that is cheaper than that are not good imo.
doubleshot = 双色, am i right?
ShadowFiendZXC
post May 22 2020, 02:47 AM

372 posts

oh wow, didnt know switch film is a thing and the difference it makes. Is transparent switch films on taobao?
ShadowFiendZXC
post May 22 2020, 04:03 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(horns @ May 22 2020, 03:49 AM)
+1
it's very effective in minimizing switch top wobbles, a good addon if you tuned your switches.

you can get it from various places, including garage sales section at lyn (link above)
the color of the switch films wont affect the led lighting since the switch will be underneath the key cap, right?

edit: anti static tweezer is still electrical conductive to test the pcb board, right?

This post has been edited by ShadowFiendZXC: May 22 2020, 04:35 PM
ShadowFiendZXC
post May 23 2020, 09:07 PM

372 posts

cry.gif cry.gif all the switch gap films in the garage sales are sold.
ShadowFiendZXC
post May 30 2020, 02:53 PM

372 posts

https://item.taobao.com/item.htm?spm=a1z10....82&on_comment=1

how well do these screw-in stabs perform compared to GMK ones?
ShadowFiendZXC
post May 30 2020, 03:21 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ May 30 2020, 03:11 PM)
based on reviews i read(dont have much money to spend trying one by one),

GMK is the superior one with any kind of stabs(this is b4 C3 stabs came out but i dont think c3 stabs have screw ins)

u can wait for others replies, im just replying coz im bored.  whistling.gif
C3 sux for pbt keycaps and c3 has screw ins
ShadowFiendZXC
post May 30 2020, 03:46 PM

372 posts

QUOTE(irsyadfy @ May 30 2020, 03:39 PM)
owh ma bad.

n why is it sux?
https://www.reddit.com/r/MechanicalKeyboard...s_should_i_get/

"Do note that with PBT caps they have problems I think with the caps being too tight and messing up the stabilizer or something like that (please someone else clarify)."

"Avoid PBT with C3 stabilizers."

"Yeah, c3 apparently doesn't like some pbt caps. Things are too tight. They can bind. That's a deal breaker personally."

maybe new batch of c3 stabs they will fix the problem. idk
ShadowFiendZXC
post May 31 2020, 02:47 PM

372 posts

where can i buy 3mm foam?
ShadowFiendZXC
post Jun 1 2020, 09:48 AM

372 posts

https://mkultra.click/products/melody96-combo

Includes 4mm plate foam, 2mm cutout foam and 2mm bottom foam. Cutouts account for screw in stabilizers, reset button and all RGB underglow.

so if i want to buy eva foams and cut them myself, i will have to buy 2 different thickness?

This post has been edited by ShadowFiendZXC: Jun 1 2020, 10:14 AM

0.1150sec    0.17    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 09:17 PM