LHDN Tax filing

isr25
post Mar 1 2018, 08:50 AM

1,263 posts

Lifestyle tax relief:
(i) Purchase of books journals, magazines, printed newspaper and other similar publications (except banned reading materials) for self, spouse or child;
(ii) Purchase of a personal computer, smartphone or tablet for self, spouse or child;
(iii) Purchase of sports equipment for any sports activity as defined under the Sports Development Act 1997 (excluding motorized two-wheel bicycles) and gym memberships for self, spouse or child; and
(iv) Payment of monthly bill for internet subscription

As long as it's a paid monthly internet subscription, you can claim it.
isr25
post Mar 1 2018, 09:11 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(TheEvilMan @ Mar 1 2018, 08:52 AM)
just realise they put all this into one categories
damn, internet bill alone already exceed 2500, how to claim if buy laptop, smartphone magazine mega_shok.gif
They pandai do this. But ok la. At least I claim full 2500 every year.
isr25
post Mar 1 2018, 10:54 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(patienceGNR @ Mar 1 2018, 10:51 AM)
How about fishing equipments? Does it fall under sports equipment? hmm.gif
http://www.kbs.gov.my/my/akta-pekeliling/a...ct-1997-act-576
No tongue.gif

1. Archery
2. Athletics
3. Aquatics
4. Automobile Sports
5. Badminton
5A. Baseball
6. Basketball
7. Billiards and Snooker
8. Body Building
9. Bowling
10. Boxing
10A. Canoeing
11. Cricket
12. Cycling
13. Equestrian Sports
14. Fencing
14A. Fitness
15. Football
16. Golf
17. Gymnastics
18. Handball
19. Hockey
19A. Ice Skating
20. Judo
20A. Kabbadi
21. Karate Do
22. Lawn Bowls
22A. Martial Arts
23. Netball
23A. Paralimpiad
23B. Petanque
23C. Recreational
23D. Rowing
24. Rugby
25. Sepak Takraw
26. Shooting
26A. Silambam
27. Silat Olahraga
28. Soft Tennis
29. Softball
30. Squash
31. Table Tennis
32. Tae kwan do
33. Tennis
33A. Traditional Games
34. Volleyball
35. Waterski
36. Weightlifting
37. Wrestling
38. Wushu
39. Yachting
isr25
post Mar 1 2018, 05:55 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(Moktaktin @ Mar 1 2018, 05:50 PM)
Any advise on how to file tax for person whom lost his/her job? Fill with "0" as earning?
If you don’t have any income from 1 Jan 2017 to 31 Dec 2017, then yes, put in 0.

If you lost your job somewhere in 2017, just put in what income you made from the dates above.
isr25
post Mar 2 2018, 09:35 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(parama88 @ Mar 2 2018, 07:57 AM)
Peeps, Under lifestyle(smart Phone) if the smart phone  is bought through Telco Plan, where u pay monthly. Can that be claimed? or is it a cash and carry Smart Phones only?  :confused:  icon_question.gif  unsure.gif
Can. Just claim the amount at the lifestyle relief section - but only the total amount payable in 2017. Not the total amount of the device
isr25
post Mar 12 2018, 10:27 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(haroldz123 @ Mar 9 2018, 07:35 PM)
Unifi with jumbo pack

Can claim total bills or just unifi?
Just Unifi. Your TV channels cannot be claimed.

Just out of curiosity, anyone else received their tax refund? My colleague received hers last Friday.
isr25
post Mar 12 2018, 10:55 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(BuncitPesonawan @ Mar 12 2018, 10:31 AM)
wow that's fast. what time she submitted?

submitted mine at 1pm on 1st Mar, not yet received  sad.gif
I submitted mine 6am 1st March. Have not received yet too. She submitted on 1st March afternoon - but her refund is significantly less than mine though tongue.gif
isr25
post Mar 12 2018, 01:04 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(jibbot @ Mar 12 2018, 12:48 PM)
pay tax rm2xxxx
return 5xx

gosh....

received 2 weeks ago... last week went cimb ambik duit... on that day... all gone went to fees... begin of month...
Here already know how bullshit you are...
isr25
post Mar 14 2018, 10:56 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(cicak.fakir @ Mar 14 2018, 09:26 PM)
serious question.

full-time salaried. if i drive uber part-time, do i need to include into income tax?

i haven't tabulate, but assume it's less than 5K for now. haven't minus out fuel, etc yet.

1. for such amount, is it considered purely for BE form? or have to use B form?

2. if B form, is the same tax rate applied on total of salary+profit, or different rate for salary and for profit?
Yes, but you need to minus the cost of doing business - fuel, car loan, maintenance fees etc.

If the amount is more than 0, use the B form. Tax rate is your income + part time profit.
isr25
post Mar 14 2018, 11:02 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(cicak.fakir @ Mar 14 2018, 10:59 PM)
if I didn't keep receipt for fuel, though I have them keyed into android app fuelio, is that ok to approximately minus off fuel costs?
Oops, sorry. I don’t think fuel, maintenance etc is tax deductible for Grab drivers. To be safe, contact Grab to find out which cost of doing business is tax deductible for drivers that are declaring income tax - fuel, road tax, insurance, maintenance, mobile data etc.
isr25
post Mar 14 2018, 11:07 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(mushigen @ Mar 14 2018, 11:05 PM)
Please correct me if I am wrong. As driving Grab is not considered doing a business, can one claim the expenses like fuel and maintenance - and car loan? The logic is, regular wage earners do not get to claim the transportation cost of going to work.
http://lampiran2.hasil.gov.my/pdf/pdfam/Ke..._31032017_2.pdf

Ok just found this for you guys doing grab. Yea, it’s confirmed deductible smile.gif not car loan though...

But as usual, receipts are needed - physical receipts or pictures of the said receipts.

This post has been edited by isr25: Mar 14 2018, 11:08 PM
isr25
post Mar 15 2018, 06:10 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(otek @ Mar 15 2018, 02:11 AM)
hi guys. i am new.

i worked for 2 years already. company gave me ea form and pcb. it shows there in pcb rm299 was deducted from my salary for last year.

so does that mean i can only claim up to rm299 ?

i have internet subscription maxis fiber. rm 147 since may 2017. how can i claim them?

i went google but still confused.

i have efiling account. but still confused what i should do. and where can i upload the online bill as proof?
Yes, you can only claim up to RM299 if you indeed overpaid your taxes - govt won’t pay you more since you only paid LHDN that amount laugh.gif however, if your company underpays your PCB, you might have to pay LHDN more money.

Internet subscription - amount must be excluding GST. Since you’re using since May 2017, then you can only claim from May-Dec (8x147). You can also claim handphone purchase, handphone internet bill, books etc under the lifestyle tax.

Edit: there is no place to upload the proof online. You have to keep the receipts. Take pictures of the receipts to be safe as thermal paper receipts nowadays don’t last longer than a year - they can audit you as far back as 7 years ago

This post has been edited by isr25: Mar 15 2018, 06:12 AM
isr25
post Mar 15 2018, 08:39 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(hirano @ Mar 15 2018, 08:34 AM)
It's quite unfair for Grab drivers to be able to deduct fuel for tax. Other people also use fuel for work, but can't claim. And there should be a cap to Grab's fuel claim... Some of them may be a part timer but only using 30% of fuel for grab 70% his own leisure
It’s their nature of business. It’s similar to a company, they need to deduct cost of producing a product, then sell the product for profit.

Grab and Uber drivers drive their cars for business, so they should be able to deduct fuel, toll and maintenance from their revenue to get their profit.

How they derive what % of their fuel, I’m not sure how LHDN will calculate - I guess they will use a standard km/l used by the vehicles. If the drivers are stupid, they would agressively put in cost of fuel, and leave very little, or no profit left after driving. Sure kena audit kaw-kaw by LHDN and need to pay 100% penalty for cheating tongue.gif

I mean, why do Grab/Uber if very little/no profit right?

This post has been edited by isr25: Mar 15 2018, 08:40 AM
isr25
post Mar 19 2018, 04:43 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(nko6213 @ Mar 19 2018, 10:30 AM)
Was retrenched last year with some job instability. Few months without pcb deduction.

Done filling on 1st March, kena pay 3k sad.gif
If you were retrenched, you were actually entitled for more tax breaks. Your previous HR should've given you the forms. Around RM10k extra tax relief per year of service.

QUOTE(JungWoo @ Mar 19 2018, 11:30 AM)
this one mean brim ke?
No. That is if you are given full/partial tax exemption by the Minister. Basically if you don't know what it is, just put in "Tidak Berkenaan".

On another note, I submitted 1/3, they accepted 7/3, and in the e-lejar says 15/3 pulangan balik cukai. Maybank account still have not received the refund.
isr25
post Mar 19 2018, 05:07 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(phra09 @ Mar 19 2018, 04:57 PM)
My elejar also shows bayaran balik on 15/3, but no info. Last year i use hlbb. This year i try mbb

Btw, what is the final amount on elejar? It shows -7xx
that 7xx balance is presumably your January + February PCB.
isr25
post Mar 20 2018, 11:51 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(wadieq @ Mar 20 2018, 11:16 AM)
thats the max i can claim  sweat.gif

i paid double of that amount
I paid triple that amount, but only received 1.5k refund sad.gif
isr25
post Mar 20 2018, 04:11 PM

1,263 posts

Got it at 4pm! MBB user here smile.gif
isr25
post Mar 21 2018, 08:10 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(shamsulaswad @ Mar 21 2018, 07:58 AM)
For item ii under computer does it stated only once in 3 years like previous ruling?
No. The relief is given yearly and capped at RM2,500 combined.
isr25
post Mar 21 2018, 08:28 AM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(kord @ Mar 21 2018, 08:20 AM)
Mine on the 2nd.. Im guessing the theory is somewhat true.. Cimb got problem with fpx at the moment..maybe lhdn cant pay to cimb acc yet.. sweat.gif
Or LHDN is having problems with cashflow to pay the income tax return + BR1M at one go.
isr25
post Mar 6 2019, 09:31 PM

1,263 posts

QUOTE(DarkForXe @ Mar 6 2019, 09:24 PM)
Guys if broadband bill under wife's name. Wife not working can claim under my name?
No. Change to your name soon

7 Pages  1 2 3 > » Top

0.1363sec    1.51    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 24th December 2025 - 03:21 PM