Multi Currency Account, which bank are recommended?

contestchris
post Sep 25 2025, 10:27 AM
C
5,878 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 25 2025, 10:18 AM)
contestchris i think it won't matter as you'll still get charged annual debit card fees

otherwise, it'll be a good loophole right? order debit card but don't activate. don't get charged and yet enjoy good forex rates
With credit cards, the first annual fee / service tax is only charged at card activation.

I wonder if the same will apply.

It might be a loophole, it's been 4 days and they still didn't charge it, meanwhile I've already done my transaction.
BenChiew
post Sep 26 2025, 05:02 AM
B
422 posts

Male
QUOTE(contestchris @ Sep 23 2025, 01:51 PM)
I have done it. In at 4.212 (RM3,001.50), out at 4.184 (RM2,981.10). Lost RM19.95. Hopefully gain back at least triple.
I seem to be missing something here. Why would you buy and then sell?
contestchris
post Sep 26 2025, 05:38 AM
C
5,878 posts

QUOTE(BenChiew @ Sep 26 2025, 05:02 AM)
I seem to be missing something here. Why would you buy and then sell?
RHB Smart Account
Medufsaid
post Sep 26 2025, 09:39 AM
M
3,662 posts

if you alway have .100k deposit, you may exchange RM3000 to USD each month, you will get extra 1.6% each month (rm131.50), then exchange it back, it lose rm20 only. am i correct? if you dont exchang it back you can plan foreign weelky term deposit got high interest too 4%/annual. (min placement usd2k)
of course lah it have some risk on currency up n down

oh ok, so RHB smart has some promo going on
bm_kia
post Oct 2 2025, 09:14 AM
B
156 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Sep 26 2025, 09:39 AM)
oh ok, so RHB smart has some promo going on
I currently have ~2k in my RHB USD account. How do we place the Term Deposit (1week~) to get higher interest?
BenChiew
post Oct 4 2025, 02:04 AM
B
422 posts

Male
QUOTE(bm_kia @ Oct 2 2025, 09:14 AM)
I currently have ~2k in my RHB USD account. How do we place the Term Deposit (1week~) to get higher interest?
Go to the app. There is a placement button there.

GlimmeringGoddess
post Jun 7 2026, 03:08 PM

42 posts

So RHB multi currency is the best as compared to the other options out there?
Ramjade
post Jun 7 2026, 04:36 PM
R
24,739 posts

Male
QUOTE(GlimmeringGoddess @ Jun 7 2026, 03:08 PM)
So RHB multi currency is the best as compared to the other options out there?
Yes. That so right.
!@#$%^
post Jun 23 2026, 01:35 PM
&
Safe Trader
17,711 posts

anybody knows how's the rate for rhb mca internal conversion? meaning example yen to usd, instead of yen to myr to usd again.
Medufsaid
post Jun 23 2026, 01:58 PM
M
3,662 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jun 23 2026, 01:35 PM)
anybody knows how's the rate for rhb mca internal conversion? meaning example yen to usd, instead of yen to myr to usd again.
i think all local banks conversion will always involve MYR. only exception is Wise

if in doubt, just walk to RHB to ask
!@#$%^
post Jun 23 2026, 03:52 PM
&
Safe Trader
17,711 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 23 2026, 01:58 PM)
i think all local banks conversion will always involve MYR. only exception is Wise

if in doubt, just walk to RHB to ask
so means it's the same rate i guess.

yen to usd = yen to myr to usd
dwRK
post Jun 23 2026, 05:39 PM
D
the consummate chartist
6,353 posts

Male
QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jun 23 2026, 03:52 PM)

nope. no direct conversion yen to usd is what medufsaid is saying except for wise.

!@#$%^
post Jun 23 2026, 05:42 PM
&
Safe Trader
17,711 posts

QUOTE(dwRK @ Jun 23 2026, 05:39 PM)
nope. no direct conversion yen to usd is what medufsaid is saying except for wise.
it's possible. i did yen to usd just now though im not sure if the rate is favorable.
xander2k8
post Jun 23 2026, 05:43 PM
X
4,764 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jun 23 2026, 03:52 PM)

Nope 🤦‍♀️ if you do double conversion there is bid-ask spread on two separate transactions, which can be less cost-effective than a direct JPY/USD conversion hence why you direct conversion so you only pay for a single spread

USD to JPY is around 162, if you do double conversion 162 yen will cost you around rm4.60 instead of USD to RM at around rm4.37 so the difference is 0.23 is at 5% spread
!@#$%^
post Jun 23 2026, 05:58 PM
&
Safe Trader
17,711 posts

QUOTE(xander2k8 @ Jun 23 2026, 05:43 PM)
Nope 🤦‍♀️ if you do double conversion there is bid-ask spread on two separate transactions, which can be less cost-effective than a direct JPY/USD conversion hence why you direct conversion so you only pay for a single spread

USD to JPY is around 162, if you do double conversion 162 yen will cost you around rm4.60 instead of USD to RM at around rm4.37 so the difference is 0.23 is at 5% spread
i think a bit different for this rhb mca.

i used 40780 yen to get 250 usd directly.

after some calculation 40780 yen should get me 1044 myr. and 1044 myr should get me 251 usd. using rhb mca.

correct me if I'm wrong.

This post has been edited by !@#$%^: Jun 23 2026, 06:08 PM
Medufsaid
post Jun 23 2026, 06:01 PM
M
3,662 posts

here's the wise market rate for reference. simulating direct conversion vs double conversion

https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?sourc...USD&track=false

user posted imageuser posted image
https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?sourc...MYR&track=false https://wise.com/my/pricing/hold-fees?sourc...USD&track=false

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jun 23 2026, 06:07 PM
!@#$%^
post Jun 23 2026, 06:11 PM
&
Safe Trader
17,711 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 23 2026, 06:01 PM)
yup. it only make sense direct conversion better.

but somehow this rhb mca gives better rate when dealing with myr i.e. yen to myr to usd. rather than yen to usd directly.
xander2k8
post Jun 23 2026, 08:17 PM
X
4,764 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jun 23 2026, 05:58 PM)
i think a bit different for this rhb mca.

after some calculation 40780 yen should get me 1044 myr. and 1044 myr should get me 251 usd. using rhb mca.

correct me if I'm wrong.
Correct usd1 is the bid ask spread difference

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jun 23 2026, 06:11 PM)
yup. it only make sense direct conversion better.

but somehow this rhb mca gives better rate when dealing with myr i.e. yen to myr to usd. rather than yen to usd directly.
Of course myr gives better rate you need whether it is RHB preferential MYR rate but for sure if it is foreign currency it won’t be RHB preferential because there is fees bundled into it together with the swift fee
Medufsaid
post Jun 24 2026, 09:59 AM
M
3,662 posts

QUOTE(!@#$%^ @ Jun 23 2026, 05:58 PM)

my educated guess is this, if you directly convert Yen to USD inside RHB MCA, they'll do the manual work (JPY->MYR->USD) and charge you convenience fee

so you can do the manual work yourself and save
QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 23 2026, 06:01 PM)
based on checking, Wise is more expensive than RHB MCA for
  • buy usdmyr
  • sell usdmyr
  • buy jpymyr
  • sell jpymyr
the fact that Wise direct JPY-USD is also USD251, indicates that double conversion is already happening inside RHB for both of your cases. bcos if RHB is doing direct conversion, they should beat Wise rates of USD251, assuming that RHB rates are cheaper

luckily sunwaymoney still wins when it comes to buying SGD. else i have to crack head to think of how to do telegraphic transfer from RHB MCA MY to sg bank

This post has been edited by Medufsaid: Jun 24 2026, 10:19 AM
!@#$%^
post Jun 24 2026, 10:19 AM
&
Safe Trader
17,711 posts

QUOTE(Medufsaid @ Jun 24 2026, 09:59 AM)
my educated guess is this, if you directly convert Yen to USD inside RHB MCA, they'll do the manual work (JPY->MYR->USD) and charge you convenience fee

so you can do the manual work yourself and save based on checking, Wise is more expensive than RHB MCA for

• buy usd
  • sell usd
  • buy jpy
  • sell jpy
the fact that Wise direct JPY-USD is also USD251, indicates that double conversion is already happening inside RHB for both of your cases. bcos if RHB is doing direct conversion, they should beat Wise rates of USD251, assuming that RHB rates are cheaper

luckily sunwaymoney still wins when it comes to buying SGD. else i have to crack head to think of how to do telegraphic transfer from RHB MCA MY to sg bank
yup.

just for reference for anyone in the future.

10 Pages « < 8 9 10Top

0.0152sec    1.00    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 12th July 2026 - 05:23 PM