6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

> Japan Trip Report: Zao Onsen Winter Ski Video!, Plus Zao Fox Village and Tokyo also.

delon85
post Feb 21 2018, 12:54 AM

Ad Astra
1,061 posts

Thanks deodorant for sharing with us your experience and the itinerary
tdzheng
post Feb 21 2018, 01:24 AM

23 posts

nice, i went to hakodate, saporro and some of their volcanic onsens, sad thing is japanese food doesnt suit me, at least in hokkaido it doesnt.

bereev
post Feb 21 2018, 08:24 AM

257 posts

rclxms.gif rclxms.gif rclxms.gif

firs time i see use shower tap as basin water tap biggrin.gif
if want to fill up bath tub just turn the water tap to the side fill the bath tub laugh.gif
great idea for small bath room design thumbup.gif

This post has been edited by bereev: Feb 21 2018, 08:26 AM
DarkNite
post Feb 21 2018, 08:50 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Feb 21 2018, 08:24 AM)
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif

firs time i see use shower tap as basin water tap  biggrin.gif
if want to fill up bath tub just turn the water tap to the side fill the bath tub  laugh.gif 
great idea for small bath room design  thumbup.gif
This is consider normal size for most bachelor apartment.
bereev
post Feb 21 2018, 09:00 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Feb 21 2018, 08:50 AM)
This is consider normal size for most bachelor apartment.
i believe couple also can brows.gif
unless cannot tahan everyday bath together
nightshade_nova
post Feb 21 2018, 09:21 AM

443 posts

Interesting but seems expensive. Out of my budget. cry.gif

Going to Japan soon, still working on the itineraries.
TSdeodorant
post Feb 21 2018, 10:13 AM

Surfing LYN instead of Working.
5,691 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Feb 21 2018, 09:00 AM)
i believe couple also can  brows.gif 
unless cannot tahan everyday bath together
Maybe it looks bigger than it really is in the photo, but in reality this is a SMALL bathroom. The tub is probably only around 4feet long, so 2 people really can't soak or even shower in it together comfortably.
TSdeodorant
post Feb 21 2018, 10:14 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(tdzheng @ Feb 21 2018, 01:24 AM)
nice, i went to hakodate, saporro and some of their volcanic onsens, sad thing is japanese food doesnt suit me, at least in hokkaido it doesnt.
Hokkaido means you ate a lot of cooked seafood (crabs etc) and I guess a lot of raw fish scallops etc on rice? Not a fan of seafood?
TSdeodorant
post Feb 21 2018, 01:51 PM

5,691 posts

Day 1 continued

After checking in and resting for a while (previous night we only got ~4+ hours of sleep cos we needed to be awake for breakfast), we went out to just walk around, enjoy the cooling weather, and to see some winter illumination at Marunouchi Oazo and Tokyo Illumilia.

user posted image user posted image user posted image

Verdict: "Meh." I don't really think this illumination is anything that special, maybe it's better on Christmas day / new year period. Anyway at the Marunouchi Oazo area there was a Valentine's Day Chocolate "expo" where my wife bought some chocolates for me (In Japan, gals give guys chocolate on 14/Feb, guys only give back on 14/Mar).

Then we headed back to Tokyo Station / Tokyo Ramen Street to eat Ramen dinner. Rokurinsha queue was too damn long so we just settled for this Oreshiki Jun (3.54 on tabelog). It was really quite nice, but not like mind-blowingly so or anything.

user posted image user posted image

Directly opposite Rokurinsha there's a shop that sells tons of food souvenirs, including many (most? all?) non-chocolatory kit kat flavours.

Peach Coke: Nice. The aroma of peach is quite strong, but the taste is just a "hint" of peach rather than being a centerpiece flavour.
Tokyo Banana KitKat: Abominable. Tastes artificial, terrible, my wife and I shared one finger each and couldn't bring ourselves to eat any more.
TSdeodorant
post Feb 21 2018, 08:39 PM

5,691 posts

Day 2

Hmmmmmmmmmmm ... being TOO close to a JR station also not so good, especially when the hotel is right next to the track. The soundproofing on the windows were good enough that the train noise wasn't that loud, but it was noticeable nonetheless.

Peasant breakfast of hotel coffee (not replenished after 1st night wtf), yesterday's dorayaki, and konbini jelly

... and then we went to visit the Imperial East Gardens!

The gardens are quite nice, but not as nice as the shinjuku gardens (or even the hama rikyu ones). But then admission is free. And also the plum trees started blossoming liao, which were nice.

ThanatosSwiftfire
post Feb 21 2018, 08:52 PM

Irregular
2,787 posts

living the life bruh!
tdzheng
post Feb 22 2018, 12:33 AM

23 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 21 2018, 10:14 AM)
Hokkaido means you ate a lot of cooked seafood (crabs etc) and I guess a lot of raw fish scallops etc on rice? Not a fan of seafood?
allergic to crustaceans, yeah lotsa scalolops and some expensive fruits, could b water prob.
TSdeodorant
post Feb 22 2018, 09:24 PM

5,691 posts

Day 2 continued

More pics from the Imperial East Gardens

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

... and also a random snipe of japanese couple getting married at palace hotel

TSdeodorant
post Feb 23 2018, 10:27 PM

5,691 posts

Day 2 continued

After walking around the garden, we then headed to our lunch place in Shinjuku: A yakitori joint named Imaiya Honten (tabelog: 3.58). Dinner seems quite expensive, but the lunch sets are reasonable. No queue.

user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image user posted image

Chicken was really pretty damn good, crispy and just the right amount of char. But the breast meat skewers were a little dry, and the chicken wing a little tough. Favorites of the afternoon: Bonjiri (chicken tails), Foie Gras (crazy fatty and decadent) and the Kuroge Wagyu.
balambgarden
post Feb 24 2018, 12:45 AM

Nice
JustcallmeLarry
post Feb 24 2018, 12:53 AM

1,363 posts

Did you go to the naked onsen??
SMF97
post Feb 24 2018, 01:08 AM

41 posts

nice post TS!
Chisinlouz
post Feb 24 2018, 01:36 AM

848 posts

Park
TSdeodorant
post Feb 24 2018, 11:11 AM

5,691 posts

QUOTE(balambgarden @ Feb 24 2018, 12:45 AM)
Nice

QUOTE(SMF97 @ Feb 24 2018, 01:08 AM)
nice post TS!

QUOTE(Chisinlouz @ Feb 24 2018, 01:36 AM)
Park

Thanks you for support, will continue updating all photos.

QUOTE(JustcallmeLarry @ Feb 24 2018, 12:53 AM)
Did you go to the naked onsen??

All onsens are naked, so yes I did ... to segregated gender baths. But if you mean mixed gender then no, I never go before and never research before also where got mixed one lol.
lunchtime
post Feb 24 2018, 11:25 AM

487 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Feb 23 2018, 10:27 PM)
Day 2 continued

After walking around the garden, we then headed to our lunch place in Shinjuku: A yakitori joint named Imaiya Honten (tabelog: 3.58). Dinner seems quite expensive, but the lunch sets are reasonable. No queue.

Chicken was really pretty damn good, crispy and just the right amount of char. But the breast meat skewers were a little dry, and the chicken wing a little tough. Favorites of the afternoon: Bonjiri (chicken tails), Foie Gras (crazy fatty and decadent) and the Kuroge Wagyu.
nice photos, which camera model are you using?

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » 

0.0198sec    0.88    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 30th November 2025 - 02:23 PM