Fitness WTF is Virtual Run?, Advice needed

TStaufoo
post Feb 12 2018, 04:54 PM, updated 8y ago

147 posts

Guys! icon_question.gif

I just started running because stamina macam like cannot make it brows.gif . Haven't exercise since started college 10 years ago tongue.gif

So I came across this thing called Virtual runs. Anyone tried it before?
Lemme know thanksss!

Sincerely,
Cannot-make-it-guy sweat.gif
wailam
post Feb 12 2018, 05:04 PM

Apa benda ini?
976 posts

Google
https://www.justrunlah.com/2016/02/16/virtu...u-done-one-yet/
What is a Virtual Run? A Virtual Run event is a distance run or a walking goal you wish to obtain.
Shadow Kun
post Feb 12 2018, 05:48 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

Virtual run is like a self-regulated runs la.

You pay, you run on your own wherever you want, track distance yourself using app and show proof that u run based on the distance and duration given.

Later organizer will send you the tshirt and medal or whatever it is.

Imo these virtual runs are cashgrabs, basically selling tshirt and medal with extra steps only. There's tons of them.

Easy money as no need to go through the trouble of actually organizing a running event without need to pening2 venue or medical or insurance or water station keepers.

For me, i think the value of running events is the service provided during the race day - water stations, ambulance/medical support, tracked placement (which position you're at), moral support, snacks etc. Also the atmosphere of the running event - competing with fellow runners, motivating each others, going through the same challenge, same route and same conditions, the rush of making the final sprint and finally crossing the finish line.

My advice is you're better off running on your own, track your own distance and reward yourself rather than pay for these virtual runs.

Or you can just join an actual running event and have fun there. See the atmosphere, feel challenged when u got cut off by old aunties and fat pipu laugh.gif. Motivate urself chasing pretty ahmois brows.gif and make friends to join more runs together.

It's not like you need to be pro go 10km without stopping only can join. Just go and slowly improve.

There's plenty of 5k and even 3k fun runs for absolute beginners and u can see a lot of makcik2 push baby in stroller in these events. And most average healthy individuals can usually finish a 10k without much trouble even with little to no training.

This post has been edited by Shadow Kun: Feb 12 2018, 06:02 PM
TStaufoo
post Feb 12 2018, 06:06 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Feb 12 2018, 05:48 PM)
Virtual run is like a self-regulated runs la.

You pay, you run on your own wherever you want, track distance yourself using app and show proof that u run based on the distance and duration given.

Later organizer will send you the tshirt and medal or whatever it is.

Imo these virtual runs are cashgrabs, basically selling tshirt and medal with extra steps only. There's tons of them.

Easy money as no need to go through the trouble of actually organizing a running event without need to pening2 venue or medical or insurance or water station keepers.

For me, i think the value of running events is the service provided during the race day - water stations, ambulance/medical support, tracked placement (which position you're at), moral support, snacks etc. Also the atmosphere of the running event - competing with fellow runners, motivating each others, going through the same challenge, same route and same conditions, the rush of making the final sprint and finally crossing the finish line. 

My advice is you're better off running on your own, track your own distance and reward yourself rather than pay for these virtual runs.

Or you can just join an actual running event and have fun there. See the atmosphere, feel challenged when u got cut off by old aunties and fat pipu laugh.gif. Motivate urself chasing pretty ahmois brows.gif and make friends to join more runs together.

It's not like you need to be pro go 10km without stopping only can join. Just go and slowly improve.
Nice response.

Hmm.. really never run all these marathon events before. So i really dunno how is the environment. I think one event minimum RM80 right?
For beginner like me, starting is seriously damn suffering hahaha. But just need to be consistent I guess.

I am still trying to figure out why there are so many people actively running (aside from health factor). Is it addictive? hahahha
Shadow Kun
post Feb 12 2018, 06:38 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Feb 12 2018, 06:06 PM)
Nice response.

Hmm.. really never run all these marathon events before. So i really dunno how is the environment. I think one event minimum RM80 right?
For beginner like me, starting is seriously damn suffering hahaha. But just need to be consistent I guess.

I am still trying to figure out why there are so many people actively running (aside from health factor). Is it addictive? hahahha
Not really. RM80 usually for long distance (>10k) and "branded" runs like standard chartered or penang bridge. 10k usually around RM50 to RM70. Sometimes can get cheaper and even free events, but usually those comes with limited medal/tshirt or none at all.

It can get addictive i guess. Sometimes it's just nice to collect medals and running tees. When u bump into others with the same running tee u got this sense of camaraderie. I also like the idea of wearing a shirt that's limited edition, and that you get not just with money, but with sweat and tears. If got a team it can be fun running together or compete with each others. Even competing with your own personal best can be fun.

Plenty of reasons why people run laugh.gif

When i first started i train by running around 1km few times per week. Then slowly increase the distance week by week. If u can do few kms per week u can easily finish a 10k event.

This post has been edited by Shadow Kun: Feb 12 2018, 07:09 PM
sweet_pez
post Feb 12 2018, 07:52 PM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Feb 12 2018, 06:06 PM)
Nice response.

It's a trend. Just like how Cafes started booming in the past few years, marathon events and fun runs have also became very popular among people. Some are serious runners - going for half to full marathon. However the majority/ bulk you'll see them in the 5km-10km run. Some take it as a "workout" and enjoy, then look forward to breakfast (without guilt) later on.

But I've also noticed that some do it for the Social Media laugh.gif to show people they're joining the majority/ following the trend. I can never understand those in this group.
Shadow Kun
post Feb 12 2018, 08:11 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Feb 12 2018, 07:52 PM)
It's a trend. Just like how Cafes started booming in the past few years, marathon events and fun runs have also became very popular among people. Some are serious runners - going for half to full marathon. However the majority/ bulk you'll see them in the 5km-10km run. Some take it as a "workout" and enjoy, then look forward to breakfast (without guilt) later on.

But I've also noticed that some do it for the Social Media laugh.gif to show people they're joining the majority/ following the trend. I can never understand those in this group.
Meh they're bandwagoners. What else is there to understand. At least they're following and promoting a healthy trend rather than just become another viral food instagrammer or tide pod challenges lol.

Sometimes you can see a wave. A group of bandwagoners rise, inspires another wave of bandwagoners, and then collapse. And the circle goes on and on. Pretty good trend i think.
TStaufoo
post Feb 13 2018, 09:44 AM

147 posts

I think these bandwagoners are actually a good thing right? They are not disrupting the running scene but actually further promoting to non runners to try a healthy lifestyle.

Like for me, just wanna run or at least find a good community or platform to keep me motivated. haha

I assume Shadow Kun is a hardcore runner at this point?
sweet_pez
post Feb 13 2018, 10:10 AM

何を見ているの
4,277 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Feb 12 2018, 08:11 PM)
Meh they're bandwagoners. What else is there to understand. At least they're following and promoting a healthy trend rather than just become another viral food instagrammer or tide pod challenges lol.

Sometimes you can see a wave. A group of bandwagoners rise, inspires another wave of bandwagoners, and then collapse. And the circle goes on and on. Pretty good trend i think.
Indeed. True runners stay with it for a long time, and was part of it long before the whole fad came into light.
But like you said, as long as it's something healthy and good - no harm. But sometimes I wonder if it's really healthy for some. I have seen those who did 5km and then went for a big breakfast laugh.gif I should think the calorie input > output.

QUOTE(taufoo @ Feb 13 2018, 09:44 AM)
I think these bandwagoners are actually a good thing right? They are not disrupting the running scene but actually further promoting to non runners to try a healthy lifestyle.

Like for me, just wanna run or at least find a good community or platform to keep me motivated. haha

It's definitely not a bad thing as long as it's not overly-done to the point of harming one's own body.

As long as you enjoy, reap the benefits of it physically and socially - it's definitely worth the time and investment.
Shadow Kun
post Feb 13 2018, 11:59 AM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Feb 13 2018, 09:44 AM)

Yea i don't think there's anything bad about them. And sometimes these people really want to continue but life gets in the way. Like my old team i used to run with. One guy gets his knees busted and his doctor told him that he shouldn't continue. He's kinda the unofficial leader of the group whos usually the one who find races to join and get the others to register. Without him the team falls apart and gets harder to run together as everyone started to get busy with their family and kids.

I dunno can call myself hardcore or not. I'm quite slow and i very lazy to train lol. Usually dont really care about the time as long as can finish ok ady. Did my first full marathon last month and gonna have my first ultramarathon by the end of this month. Dunno can make it or not just dive in and think later lol.
Shadow Kun
post Feb 13 2018, 12:09 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Feb 13 2018, 10:10 AM)
Indeed. True runners stay with it for a long time, and was part of it long before the whole fad came into light.
But like you said, as long as it's something healthy and good - no harm. But sometimes I wonder if it's really healthy for some. I have seen those who did 5km and then went for a big breakfast laugh.gif I should think the calorie input > output.
It's definitely not a bad thing as long as it's not overly-done to the point of harming one's own body.

As long as you enjoy, reap the benefits of it physically and socially - it's definitely worth the time and investment.
Yeah usually you can get 1 or 2 serious runner out of a group of bandwagoners. im kinda on my third group currently since i started running about 8 years ago and most of us are like "survivors" of our previous groups.

The way i see it is these kind of people will usually binge eat regardless. At least with running it will balance their calorie input-output a bit. Im not a healthy eater myself so dont really have comments about that lol.

This post has been edited by Shadow Kun: Feb 13 2018, 12:25 PM
TStaufoo
post Feb 14 2018, 06:36 PM

147 posts

QUOTE(Shadow Kun @ Feb 13 2018, 12:09 PM)
Yeah usually you can get 1 or 2 serious runner out of a group of bandwagoners. im kinda on my third group currently since i started running about 8 years ago and most of us are like "survivors" of our previous groups.

The way i see it is these kind of people will usually binge eat regardless. At least with running it will balance their calorie input-output a bit. Im not a healthy eater myself so dont really have comments about that lol.
Maybe thats why cannot lose weight , eat after run, hahaha.

Anyways did a quick search about these Virtual Runs , seems quite interesting especially all those challenges monthly.
But I can also see all the hardcore runners may not be fully interested in this (unless im wrong) hahaha

Shadow Kun
post Feb 14 2018, 07:14 PM

TOASTY!
621 posts

QUOTE(taufoo @ Feb 14 2018, 06:36 PM)
Maybe thats why cannot lose weight , eat after run, hahaha.

Anyways did a quick search about these Virtual Runs , seems quite interesting especially all those challenges monthly.
But I can also see all the hardcore runners may not be fully interested in this (unless im wrong) hahaha
Haha true. Losing weight is not that complicated. As long as u spend more energy than u consume then u lose weight la. The rest is just balancing whether to consume less or to spend more energy with exercise.

Well it depends i guess. If you could use the motivation to start running by joining these virtual runs then by all means join them. I think they're usually much cheaper right? I seen one ads on Facebook showing one costing rm 25. Not too bad i guess.

Sometimes runners not living in kl area have limited options for races to join so virtual runs will be ideal. Or people who's busy on weekends.

0.0155sec    0.33    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 25th December 2025 - 02:20 AM