Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

w3sley
post Aug 4 2020, 09:02 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(icebryanchan @ Aug 1 2020, 12:19 AM)
There two paths for career life of an engineer:

1. Junior Engineer -> Senior Engineer -> Staff Engineer -> Architect Engineer ( name may vary in different companies but you get the idea, it means you are getting more nerd and engineering is your life now  tongue.gif )

2. Junior Engineer -> Senior Engineer -> Junior Manager -> Senior Manager -> Head of Department -> Director -> CEO ( name may vary too but the idea is, with some degree of engineering knowledge, you decide to manage/control/direct those engineers instead of joining them in most of the problem solving. )

Take note that, most of the people taking management path ( Path 2) is because it is easier for them to switch to different field in future.
Management and leadership skills are needed every where, regardless of what your company is doing.
On the other hand, once you are getting deeper into technical skills, your management skills / leadership might grow as well but not as much when compared to manager role. It will eventually "lock" you in your current field.
If you are staff engineer in production line,
A network company will not need a staff production engineer, but it definitely needs a manager.
A bank will not need a staff production engineer, but it definitely needs a manager.
You get the idea.

Thank you for sharing your perspective!
May I know what industry are you in? Semiconductor? Metal?

I am an engineer myself, but involved in the full product lifecycle development (design, R&D, assembly, calibration, alignment, buyoff, etc)

What path do you think will be compensated equally for the amount of work/ value added?
The reason mainly because I feel I am underpaid and would like to strive higher.
Is sales the best alternative? We don't have production engineer in our company
w3sley
post Sep 30 2020, 07:12 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(ImTheLian @ Sep 30 2020, 12:02 AM)
Job Title : Technical Consultant
Job Description : advise customer in their requirement, propose relevant solution to meet customer requirement, presenting overall solution and technology update to customer, setting up demo to show the capability of my proposed solution.
Years spent in company : 2 years +
Company : MNC
Industry : IT
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 1.5 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 5 hours per week, yes is per week, due to MCO now, just WFH and really less workload, just reply email settle customer requirement.

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 7,200
Contractual Bonus (months): 0
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 1 month

Benefits (where relevant) : WFH, flexi, whereby manager and supervisor never ask where am I, they just want things to be done.

Health Benefits : Yes, standard

[22 yo] 2016 - network engineer = 4000 (first job/fresh grad)
[24 yo] 2018 - technical consultant = 5500 (second job)
[25 yo] 2019 - in the middle = 7200 (i signed offer letter from other company but manager decided to counter offer me matching the offer there and there it goes)

I really lost now and i need some advise from you guys, due to some company arrangement, my workload has been cut to the minimal, the good thing is the company still doing very well, not gonna have retrenchment as of now, but not sure for later. I have too much freedom and which makes me lazy at the same time too, part of it is because of the working environment and im like in a comfort zone now.

Apart from my fulltime job, i do own a online business and averagely gives me around 5k per month and its now fully auto pilot, not taking me so much time to manage, also i do involve in some others business as well and get annually bonus as well.

Im thinking to find maybe some partime to earn some side income and also learn something new, or maybe i just find a new job so that i can have another 20-30% increment on salary.

What to do now ? Im really lost, I don’t know what I want
If money is not a concern, perhaps allocate time with family. Trip or makan. Other than that, self-improvement course within the topic you interested. A lot of free online course, perhaps certification for network engineer to improve your value. Otherwise, can also join sport activities that can be done with a team so that to be disciplined.

If its the concern of the stability of job, you have much buffer time given the automated online business, assuming your expenses is less than your income. Even retrenched, you have time to look for another or maybe expand further your side hustle instead. Just having 6month monthly income as emergency or 12month if you have family.

No right or wrong but up to individual preferences.
If you dont mind, can you share how do you started the online business and other business? Is it related to your job?

Cheers!
w3sley
post Sep 15 2021, 09:00 PM

264 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Sep 6 2021, 11:59 AM)
Gundam you can pm me to discuss
Please share some tips here too. Have similar intention ✌️
w3sley
post Sep 17 2021, 01:11 AM

264 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Sep 15 2021, 10:27 PM)
Yea sure why not, lemme share my experience. Ok basically there are 3 "tiers" of consulting firms. I'm excluding engineering / O&G etc. as usually people don't think of them when consulting is brought up, though technically they are consultancies too.

Tier 1 - fresh grad can get above 10k MYR in Msia, future is unlimited:
Mckinsey
Bain
Boston Consulting

To get into these you either need to be from a top uni like Oxbridge or the Ivy league unis or really really really outstanding. They advise people on really high end things like company strategic direction and so on. If you're asking on Lowyat it's probably already too late. Anyway I didn't get into one too so it's not the end of the world  biggrin.gif

Tier 2 - fresh grad around 3-4k MYR, average to hit 10k maybe 7-8 years (less if you are outstanding), senior personnel can get 20-30k or significantly more
Big 4 consulting wings (Deloitte, PWC, EY & KPMG) - they advise on IT, finance, process restructuring, taxation, HR, etc
Accenture & IBM - they advise on IT mostly and some finance / process restructuring for Accenture

If you're moderately hardworking and not a complete idiot you can probably get into this tier - this is where I got in. Best to start as young as possible like a fresh grad, make sure your grades are good and you speak good English. If you are a bit older you can still join, but your years of experience may get discounted to some extent depending on what you did. Anyway to get in a certain vibe helps a lot (think good English, well-dressed, look and sound like the typical corporate annoying person) cos consultants are quite snobbish. The question here is if you are already in another industry is it worth it to lateral in or not since your say 5 years in another company may get downgraded to 3 years of experience here, my view is that if your existing company and job role are already promising like say you're on the fast track in Nestle or something then DONT COME, but if you are in local Chinaman company 101 and there isn't much job progression... well why not. You can slog it out, get a promotion and a much nicer looking CV then go back out for work-life balance.

Tier 3 - fresh grad around 2k+ to 3k I think, high end no idea...
All the small vendors (mostly IT)

This is mostly for IT folks, going in here frankly is still much better for your learning than 99% of end user companies as IT is not their key focus. So you can go in to accelerate your learning. As for tier 2, if you are stuck in your current job and it sucks, you can consider getting into here. One way to get into tier 2 is to get into tier 3 first then apply for tier 2 in a couple of years time.

I've heard of people going from tier 2 to tier 1 but never seen it happen myself. I think it's a very rare occurrence, somewhat like winning the lottery or something.
Thank you for the response and detailed sharing, @flying_manate!
Tier2 doesnt seems too bad from Tier1 from how you are right now. What is your education background? Any colleague coming from unrelated background or non consultant type job history?

0.5851sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 11th December 2025 - 08:02 AM