Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

louzie
post Aug 28 2018, 11:25 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(ahinigami @ Aug 25 2018, 08:52 PM)
Previous
======

Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 9500
Contractual Bonus (months): -
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : 2-4 mths

Transport Benefits : N/A as I don't travel overseas
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : RM 1000 annually

Other Benefits : Close to 30 days of annual leave

===========================================

holy rclxms.gif
25 years old and you are earning like a champ .

louzie
post Sep 18 2018, 03:15 PM

102 posts

Whats with youngster nowadays , starting salary all so dang high one?!?!
louzie
post Sep 23 2018, 01:38 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 22 2018, 11:48 PM)
Lol. And are you high? Or are you still living in Rahman era? Inflation doesn't exist in Malaysia? How much Proton Saga costed back in 80's and how much a terrace costed in KL?
High how are you , not really high, RM4.4k Engineer 29 years old
louzie
post Sep 23 2018, 03:01 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 23 2018, 01:46 PM)
Well, that's quite low for an engineer, and you're reaching 30.  So I assume  you have at least 5 years experience? What industry are you in?

My fresh graduate engineer friends that havent gotten their IR are all getting above 3k. Some are even 4.5k in MNC
I was gunning for a faster career development and went str8 cainaman company wanna go to managerial position faster., My current company promised me a management position . But i got the position , just not the title .
I am HOD for Engineering and HOD for production for a mass pro manufacturing plant . So aside from QA , im the boss of that plant .

But as usual ECM company will try to cut cost hence extra work but no title and pay .

Im moving to china in 3 weeks. That time i will have 5 figure .

Yeah i know its low but my friends is earning almost the same like me .

1 in osram getting 4.8k , 2 in motorolla getting 4.5 k & 5k respectively

We are all MEng (masters in engineering)

mayb new batch of after 1990 kids will need higher pay to entice them to work?
im not sure .

In your opinion whats the average 30s engineer should be making

This post has been edited by louzie: Sep 23 2018, 03:01 PM
louzie
post Sep 23 2018, 03:23 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 23 2018, 03:15 PM)
Last time I used to think engineers (with IR) will be getting 5 figures sooner than anyone in any professional industry (except medical) laugh.gif
Cause one of my colleagues' husband was in Petronas back in 2014, he was the senior engineer and was looking for fresh grad for Petronas and Kencana, both offering 4-4.5 (bumi only, pathetically). Then one friend in his own consultation firm willing to pay 8k for his MRT project, but at least 5 years experience solely in construction.

From what you stated, perhaps your industry is way different, thus lower pay. But good thing that you'll be getting 5 figures soon smile.gif
Is it an expat package?
Yeah , no need pay for rent , transportation and lunch provided . 5 trip home with airfare ticket included . 9 days each. Everything paid except for dinner.
If i walk the MNC path i predict i will be getting RM5k+ working in penang .

But IR isnt that great in malaysia . The demand for them is not that high except for construction . Engineering/Design not really .

At first i was gunning for Oil and Gas , those engineers earn a shit load of $ especially those working in oil rigs. 3 months offshore 3 months holiday. Pay RM10k+
but without family ties its hard to enter .

And position allocation for non bumis less than 1% ( not sure 15% maybe , i dun have any insider there), all of my friend & uni mate tried entering there first. We even took O & G final year project.

But only one end up entering cos his dad is working there.
louzie
post Sep 23 2018, 03:40 PM

102 posts

QUOTE(Quang1819 @ Sep 23 2018, 03:32 PM)
Thats quite a good package. Is it a consumer electrics company?

None of the non bumis engineer I know are in Petronas. And I can tell many Chinese are in Shell oil rig in Malaysia. Even one Sarawakian UTP graduate couldnt get into Petronas and ended up in Shell as well lol
And yeah, they make a hell of loaded of pay checks. Off shore engineer easily 20-30k a month for an inexperience one. Even HSO in Petronas is making 1k/day allowance during off shore, but 3 weeks a month and one week off.
Shell huh , do you have experience there?

Whats the requirement and hows the OAG life dude.

louzie
post Sep 24 2018, 08:39 AM

102 posts

QUOTE(jetblast @ Sep 24 2018, 01:23 AM)
Just curious how many year is the longest anyone has worked in the same company. I worked more than 20 years before I left the first company.
Pray tell whats your job and pay when u left your company .

0.1820sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 05:24 AM