Let's Talk Salary v8, Sharing Thread

Dead4Life
post Feb 14 2018, 11:58 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(DoomCognition @ Feb 14 2018, 11:45 AM)
Nice. See, that's what I am talking about. 8.3K is not much by /k standards, but your perks and bonus are definitely something here. Imagine comparing to another job that only pays RM 10k, but have nothing else. Yours is definitely better.

For Medical, how much coverage? Family coverage?
If you live in Klang Valley or KL/Selangor areas, even RM 10k also not enough huhuhu.
Dead4Life
post Mar 26 2018, 06:20 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(sizune @ Mar 26 2018, 04:31 PM)
https://www.thestar.com.my/news/nation/2016...e-homes-target/

PM say Engineer can earn >RM10k monthly salary in 5 years
How many Engineer here able to achieve this target?
PM doesn't define which Engineering field can get more than RM10k salary in 5 years. He just spit ball from his mouth wherever his brain can think.

Dead4Life
post Apr 3 2018, 02:00 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(criceta @ Apr 3 2018, 05:35 AM)
Job Title : Data analyst
Industry : German tech startup
Years' work experience so far: 3 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Liberal arts degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): typically 7 hours a day, or 35 hours per week

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : 4300+ Euros / RM21,000 per month

Benefits (where relevant) :
Health Benefits : Comprehensive health insurance as mandated by German law
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : Any computer / tech gear of my choice. 2000 Euro annual education budget.
Flexi Working Hours : Complete freedom to work as many (or as few) hours as I like, in the office, or at home.
Other benefits: My colleagues are smart and lovely, the work is meaningful and rewarding, I feel that I am making the best out of my talents, I have a boss who is encouraging and trusting, I have complete autonomy over my job scope, and I genuinely enjoy my work, etc. - all of which are invaluable aspects of my job. So job satisfaction is 200% irrespective of salary.
Any job opening there? biggrin.gif
Dead4Life
post Apr 20 2018, 12:09 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(shadowzephyr @ Apr 20 2018, 11:53 AM)
Job Title : Sr Software Engineer
Job Description : system integration development life-cycle dealing with multiple agencies system at the same time (from requirement gathering to development & deployment, not to mention assisting support team on tech issue  dry.gif )
Years spent in company : Nearly 6 years
Company : Local
Industry : Software house
Tenure : Permanent
Employment Level : Executive
Experience before joining (years) : 0
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 45 hrs (9 hrs per day inc 1 hr lunch)

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM4100 basic (increased 3 times after performance review, started at 2700) + RM500 professional allowance + RM300 transportation allowance
Contractual Bonus (months): none
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : got 1 month bonus twice last time, 2014 - 2015 IIRC. After that, none.

Benefits (where relevant)
Health Benefits : Medical card (single, not family)
Transport Benefits : Fixed transport allowance given as mentioned above
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : company laptop
Flexi Working Hours : none
Other Benefits : none

What do you think? For me, I believe that I'm underpaid & bit overloaded, and the company is not really stable right now (few issues with current projects that delay few salaries of all staffs, after no such records since I've joined). However, I kinda like the current job & having close team members, the company is quite near from my rented home, and I've been officially offered a manager position by mid of this year (with few hundreds increment only laugh.gif), so I honestly not sure should I jump to other company soon or stay for a while to see.

Furthermore if I quit, I'm sure there will be issue of getting replacement and knowledge transfer which further impact the current project that I'm focusing upon for past few years, mainly due to limited resources and specialized technology (hence the professional allowance).
First of all, I would like to congrats on your new role as manager and my hat's off to you for staying longer in the same company.

I think based on your experiences in handling end-to-end project, I think you are in demand on the market. Just make sure your skills in programming is relevant to the latest tech.

Yes you ARE underpaid, but the downsize of this is that you are not specialize in certain area that you can request for better salary and remuneration. If you DO specialize in certain area, that's fine.

You can change to different area such as becoming Business Analyst/System Analyst/Project Manager, or become support specialist. It's up to you.

You are also have difficulties to find opportunity elsewhere because you are comfortable with your current work and colleagues. But do know you are young and its better to challenge yourself and seek out of your comfort zone.

Good luck and all the best in your career.

This post has been edited by Dead4Life: Apr 20 2018, 02:57 PM
Dead4Life
post Apr 24 2018, 05:59 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(twiteroll @ Apr 23 2018, 10:43 AM)
Wow. My title currently is Network Engineer also. More to network security. Really can got that high? rclxm9.gif  rclxm9.gif
Network Engineer in demand la. Now towards big data, of course security will be tighter especially in banking and telco.

Untung you.
Dead4Life
post Apr 25 2018, 10:00 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(commtrader @ Apr 24 2018, 08:38 PM)
Big data era shouldn't be data analytics role in high demand?
Aiyak, of course la high demand. Tak paham ke my comment is for network security. G swing to data analytics lak.
Dead4Life
post May 14 2019, 10:11 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(WinkyJr @ May 11 2019, 06:31 AM)
want to ask for opinion here
should i sacrifice my permanent job for better pay but contract job
current job -

salary: 4k - GLC - (5% increment/y)
status: permanent, almost impossible to get retrench unless commit crime
benefit: family medical coverage, phone allowance, parking allowance, house loan subsidy
bonus: 0 ~ 3 month
workload: relax
career growth: hard, due to strong political practice & group is losing money

offered job -

salary: 6 ~ 6.5k - MNC, O&G based (1 ~ 8% increment/y)
status: contract - project based, but they say always renew, never end contract (maybe sweet talk)
benefit: family medical coverage, phone allowance, parking allowance
bonus: not sure
workload: probably hectic
career growth: not sure
Changing from perm position to contract position is a risky decision. I have friends do that because of the higher pay and career opportunity.
But in your case your expected salary is still low for contract based. You should ask them to give around 7k to compensate any of your benefits as compare to perm. person.

You have family and other commitments as well. Make sure you have long term plan and backup plan if you encounter worst case scenario such as termination contract or project cancel.
As for your age (mid 30s), I don't think this would impact at all if you want to find perm position in future. Potential employers would only care on your experience and your contribution to the company. Probably few employers would think age might influence their decision to hire someone, but very rare.

All the best.
Dead4Life
post May 14 2019, 10:15 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(budang @ May 14 2019, 09:13 AM)
Contract jobs don't come in favor for you anymore it seems. It's really quite risky for your age and like what you have mentioned, what if they don't renew your contract and you have to go through the hassle and agony of not having a job when you have bills to pay.

I think you can leave behind the option of going contract but instead open yourself up for permanent job opportunities. As age & commitments climb, job security should come above all else.
I disagree on you on age part.

Age does not influence for employers to decide (unless the person would like to apply for lower post).

Dead4Life
post May 15 2019, 08:59 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(budang @ May 14 2019, 03:59 PM)
I hope you can say that again when you're closing to your 40s, with kids, their education, mortgage & car loan to pay tongue.gif
Then again coming back with the age issue. STOP seeing this as burden to change your career movement.

Its up to the person whether they can cover their commitment or not.

I have alot of colleagues who are in age range between 40s and 50s, and working as a contract position. They are all doing fine and can support their family and commitments.

I have talked them why prefer taking contract post. One thing they mentions is the pay is high, and can expose much on career development, compare to as permanent position.

I have also seen they can transition from contract to permanent position easily, as employer only regards experiences and skill as their upmost priority.

Dead4Life
post May 15 2019, 09:04 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(Frank3 @ May 14 2019, 09:04 PM)
Oops, I forgot to mention i haven't reach 30s, yeah, i agreed with you when you have high commitment, you need high stability job.
As of now, i just need to learn as much as possible no matter contract job and permanent job.  biggrin.gif

Also, some of the C-Suite positions are in contract basis, so you will let go the offer when you are 40s yo with family commitments? Correct me if i am wrong.
C-level position is different than any other employees level due to high pay scale. Some of employees who got promoted to C-level position had worked in the company for so long and had to change from permanent to contract basis. But they are totally difference than a person who get contract position on lower grade. Besides high pay, C-level also receives alot of benefits (car/driver/house/travelling/business/board meeting allowance, stock shares, etc.).
Dead4Life
post May 15 2019, 09:50 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(budang @ May 15 2019, 09:39 AM)
The contract-permanent debate can go on, but as a married person I can understand the uncertainty in my wife whenever I consider taking up a contract job.

When you have family and commitment, you can't be as self righteous as you were before. Taking into account your family's feeling is more important than down-right career development.

Of course everyone's situation is different, if your situation allows you taking up contract and if that's what you really wanted, then great for you. For mine at least I'm in a company with stable growth for the past decades, permanent role with a salary I'm satisfied with, challenging enough job to take me out of my comfort zone but at the same time I could plan for my next step in life like buying my next house and my next family vacation.
I am not arguing on your career decision or self righteous. The argument I am pointing is AGE is not a decisive decision for someone to decline to jump to contract role from stable permanent position.

Dead4Life
post May 16 2019, 12:06 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(ventolin @ May 15 2019, 02:22 PM)
August 2017 - June 2019
Just accepted a new offer...

Job Title : Account Manager
Years spent in company : Just joined
Company : Global tech start-up
Industry : Data & tech
Tenure : Permanent hire
Employment Level : Manager
Experience before joining (years) : 3 years
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Master's degree
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 35 hours
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM11,000 / month
walawei, untung nyer b4 30 already get 5 figures
Dead4Life
post Jun 13 2019, 11:48 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(flying_manatee @ Jun 13 2019, 11:31 AM)
Job Description : Work on Finance Systems
Salary : about 16k
Years spent in company : 1+
Company : MNC
Employment Level : Manager
Experience before joining (years) : 8 years

Not sure where to progress from here though...
Wow you have achieved 5 figure in early 30s. Congrats!!
Dead4Life
post Jul 8 2019, 11:59 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(UsopSontorian @ Jul 8 2019, 10:35 AM)
Job Title : Assistant Manager (Sit in Manager box but promotion is freeze)
Job Description : Reporting
Years spent in company : 3 years plus
Industry : Telco (GLC)
Experience before joining (years) : Join once graduated (bonded 8 years)
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in Finance
Basic Salary : RM 4,000 ++
Still bonded 4 years (already served half) if want to pay around 50k, should i jump ? Started fresh 3500, growth not so much. Unfortunately, sit in Manager box but promotion freeze till who knows when.
This mostly people already know which company you're coming from. Its start with T....and end with M
Dead4Life
post Aug 12 2019, 08:13 PM

652 posts

QUOTE(Liaw88 @ Aug 12 2019, 07:18 PM)
Job Title : Goverment Doctor
Job Desciption : -
Years spent in company : 7 years
Company : KKM
Industry : Healthcare
Employment Level : Senior
Experience before joining (years) : -
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 8-5pm. If oncall 8am-12pm next day.

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Fixed Allowance : RM 5751 + 2862 +(oncall depends on days of oncall, usually 1000/m)
Contractual Bonus (months): mths nil
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : mths nil

Health Benefits : Free at gov
Transport Benefits : nil
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : nil
Flexi Working Hours : nil
Other Benefits : nil

People says doctor earn alot, in private yes, in goverment NOPE.....
You can if you pursue specialist instead of staying as MO forever.
Based on your age, you should be in grade 48 already, another 2 years you'll be in grade 52.
I dunno why you intend to post here. Your salary is already fix according to your grade and age. Except you have become specialist and resign from Government.
Dead4Life
post Feb 10 2021, 11:56 AM

652 posts

QUOTE(kellyC @ Feb 3 2021, 02:28 PM)
Job Title : Systems Architect.
Job Desciption : Solutions selling.
Years spent in company :6 years.
Company : MNC
Industry : Hardware/Software Vendor
Employment Level : Senior Level (i think so)
Experience before joining (years) : 8 years.
Highest paper qualification/ education background : Degree in IT .
Average Working Hours Per Week (incl lunch hours): 40-45

Monetary Payout
Basic Salary + Commission : RM 16300 + commission= RM22K+
Performance, Variable Bonus & Commissions (months) : company stock 9k to 10K USD if got.

Health Benefits : Panel clinic
Transport Benefits : RM1200 fixed per month.
Mobile / Internet / Gadget Benefits : mobile
Flexi Working Hours : Depends

recently got a very good salary increment >10%+ during this Covid-19 pandemic,make me even more grateful.
When I started off with just RM1500 salary as graduate trainee and , i have never dreamt of earning >20K a month.
I hope this can give some inspiration to the fresh graduates out there.!:)) Work hard, and be bold!

Which platform you are currently handling as system architect?

0.1547sec    0.55    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 26th November 2025 - 10:38 PM