he he he~ thx god... dont hav 2 worry anything... thx guys
Upgrade guide - 939 X2, 939 X2 & opterons dual - please come in!
Aug 21 2007, 06:03 PM
707 posts Joined: Jan 2007 From: Island of Borneo |
he he he~ thx god... dont hav 2 worry anything... thx guys
Oct 22 2007, 12:08 PM
44 posts Joined: May 2006 From: KL |
a very nice thread..
thumbs up.. |
Nov 2 2007, 06:41 PM
![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]() ![]()
20,901 posts Joined: Jan 2003 From: Miri, Sarawak |
i might upgrade my athlon3000+ to x2 3600+ or 3800+ soon.. anything i need to take notice off..?
Nov 2 2007, 08:17 PM
14,576 posts Joined: May 2006 From: Sarawak |
All the details is in the first page. If you're using vista, shouldn't be a problem....
Nov 2 2007, 09:21 PM
If use XP then need do those things..? Then Vista no need..?
Nov 2 2007, 10:04 PM
Yup.
Pls note that this is quite old info, maybe there is newer info |
Nov 2 2007, 10:26 PM
3,593 posts Joined: Feb 2005 From: ***Penang*** |
just that AMD released a newer version of dual core driver
Nov 3 2007, 05:44 AM
Nov 3 2007, 08:24 AM
How much can i sell my 3000+ now.. rm 80-100..? coz if can sell at that price means i can get a dual core 360+ already.. XD..
Nov 3 2007, 03:18 PM
1,672 posts Joined: Sep 2005 |
i juz upgraded to the new x2 3800 from 3000+..
my system kept on restarting while i benchmark my system by using 3dmark05 or 06.. when i change to x2, i did not install the hotfix, but it automatically update the driver itself.. after restart, then i can see there's 2 graph on the cpu taskmanager.. already installed the dual core optimizer, but still the same.. do i really need to install the hotfix? afraid it will get worst such as BSOD or OS hang.. |
Nov 3 2007, 03:29 PM
QUOTE(StratOS @ Nov 3 2007, 08:24 AM) How much can i sell my 3000+ now.. rm 80-100..? coz if can sell at that price means i can get a dual core 360+ already.. XD.. Yeah, probably around that much.... you can try your luck in garage sales.... QUOTE(Amal @ Nov 3 2007, 03:18 PM) i juz upgraded to the new x2 3800 from 3000+.. By right, even if you do not install any hotfix or updates, your computer shouldn't restart or BSOD. It must be something else. Did you reset the bios? What vcore is your x2 running at now (and what's the stock vcore)?my system kept on restarting while i benchmark my system by using 3dmark05 or 06.. when i change to x2, i did not install the hotfix, but it automatically update the driver itself.. after restart, then i can see there's 2 graph on the cpu taskmanager.. already installed the dual core optimizer, but still the same.. do i really need to install the hotfix? afraid it will get worst such as BSOD or OS hang.. |
Nov 3 2007, 07:52 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 3 2007, 03:29 PM) By right, even if you do not install any hotfix or updates, your computer shouldn't restart or BSOD. It must be something else. Did you reset the bios? What vcore is your x2 running at now (and what's the stock vcore)? my current vcore is at 1.35 same as stock.. i do notice a bit that my gc temperature rise high a bit faster than usual since i installed the x2.. could it be my mobo is faulty? already update the bios to the latest one.. |
Nov 3 2007, 11:45 PM
7,863 posts Joined: May 2007 From: highbury |
if AM2 single core upgrade to dual core need to follow the step ?
Nov 4 2007, 02:06 AM
QUOTE(Amal @ Nov 3 2007, 07:52 PM) yup, already reset the bios by removing the batt.. You don't have to remove battery to reset the bios/cmos. Just need to short the jumpers only. Look at the mobo manual.my current vcore is at 1.35 same as stock.. i do notice a bit that my gc temperature rise high a bit faster than usual since i installed the x2.. could it be my mobo is faulty? already update the bios to the latest one.. Nope. The X2 is hotter and thus your system will be slightly hotter. QUOTE(fcuk90 @ Nov 3 2007, 11:45 PM) Dunno. Never used AM2. Should be the same as 939..... |
Nov 4 2007, 08:20 AM
finally problem resolve with my x2..
what i did was i decrease the voltage for the vcore on my cpu to a very low voltage 1.25v.. then i manage to oc my x2 to 2.4ghz easily.. and can run all of the 3dmark smoothly.. will try to oc more later.. do u think it will effect the cpu in the future if i use a low voltage?? |
Nov 4 2007, 03:30 PM
QUOTE(Amal @ Nov 4 2007, 08:20 AM) finally problem resolve with my x2.. Weird. Was your initial vcore at auto (1.35v) or did you put it at 1.35v exactly?what i did was i decrease the voltage for the vcore on my cpu to a very low voltage 1.25v.. then i manage to oc my x2 to 2.4ghz easily.. and can run all of the 3dmark smoothly.. will try to oc more later.. do u think it will effect the cpu in the future if i use a low voltage?? No, no problems in the long run, in fact, if your rig is stable, undervolting the CPU is better! |
Nov 4 2007, 04:15 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 4 2007, 03:30 PM) Weird. Was your initial vcore at auto (1.35v) or did you put it at 1.35v exactly? i set it to auto inside the bios.. so it set it at 1.35 as default.. then i install an application to detect the vcore of my cpu..No, no problems in the long run, in fact, if your rig is stable, undervolting the CPU is better! the vcore were not stable, sometimes it goes to 1.45 from 1.35.. that's y i lower the voltage.. tried oc it more to 2.6ghz.. seems stable for a while, but then shut down.. i lowered the voltage more to 1.225v.. now its very stable as normal.. will oc it more later on.. conclusion: issue solved because of the voltage.. does anyone face this kinda problem before? |
Nov 4 2007, 04:55 PM
QUOTE(Amal @ Nov 4 2007, 04:15 PM) i set it to auto inside the bios.. so it set it at 1.35 as default.. then i install an application to detect the vcore of my cpu.. Eh! If that is the case, your system is not stable because of the high fluctuation in voltage. The vcore shouldn't fluctuate so much. Must be either your mobo or your PSU.the vcore were not stable, sometimes it goes to 1.45 from 1.35.. that's y i lower the voltage.. tried oc it more to 2.6ghz.. seems stable for a while, but then shut down.. i lowered the voltage more to 1.225v.. now its very stable as normal.. will oc it more later on.. conclusion: issue solved because of the voltage.. does anyone face this kinda problem before? Normally, if you set 1.35v, the vcore will be slightly lower at load, usually - this is called vdroop. I've never seen a rig that has higher vcore on load!!! Well, if it is stable at 1.225v, then by all means, run it at that vcore.... would be good for your system too! |
Nov 4 2007, 08:58 PM
QUOTE(kmarc @ Nov 4 2007, 04:55 PM) Eh! If that is the case, your system is not stable because of the high fluctuation in voltage. The vcore shouldn't fluctuate so much. Must be either your mobo or your PSU. not sure which is it cause from..Normally, if you set 1.35v, the vcore will be slightly lower at load, usually - this is called vdroop. I've never seen a rig that has higher vcore on load!!! Well, if it is stable at 1.225v, then by all means, run it at that vcore.... would be good for your system too! maybe because previously on my athlon 3000+, i increase the voltage to 1.45.. it could be from that.. but most importantly, now i can oc my cpu with much lower voltage.. will keep the setting (2.6ghz) for a while.. maybe oc it more in the future if i upgrade my graphic card.. |
Nov 4 2007, 09:50 PM
im very noob in this BIOS stuff so if i dun dare do it can send to shop and do right..? do they know these procedures..?
| Change to: | 0.0253sec
5 queries
Time is now: 5th December 2025 - 03:46 AM |