6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Bottom

International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

cckkpr
post Mar 12 2012, 08:34 AM

4,514 posts

There are two intakes a year so any delay not a big issue. The important thing is to get the place first. If you are lucky enough, you may be given an earlier intake should other students reject the offers as many students took the August intake as "insurance".
cckkpr
post Apr 22 2012, 01:25 PM

4,514 posts

Abt 200 per intake, so a year should be 400.
cckkpr
post May 12 2012, 04:51 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(manking91 @ May 12 2012, 01:56 PM)
interesting to say for m110 there's only 6 persons taking grad. the least i have seen from all the other batches. and my batch so far has recorded the least number of pms stream students as compared to the senior batches that i have seen. most of my batchmates actually switched back to local. making m110 to have a big batch of seremban students, around 95+/- and pms undergrad just around 85+ just fyi heh
I also heard about this thing. Why ah?
cckkpr
post May 14 2012, 08:28 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 14 2012, 06:48 PM)
like i said, most of imu-pms students will not get direct entry into the unis they are matched to.......

and the matching process is very opaque....

and 'top' unis like edinburgh will also have to take some weaker students....they are not allowed to only select the best....
Why Edinburgh need to accept such terms when they only take in 5% of the direct foreign applicants each year. Contractual agreement?
cckkpr
post May 14 2012, 10:12 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 14 2012, 08:50 PM)
i have explained this before....

based on the pattern of matching, it appears that pms have to take a spectrum of students within their allocation...this is to balance out the students, to avoid a situation where the popular uni chooses all the good students and the weak ones get dumped in unpopular ones....

eg, if edinburgh takes 4 students from a batch, they cannot choose all from the top, but maybe have to choose 2 from the top half, and 2 from the bottom half...

that is why strange situations exist commonly where better students' top choice is not matched, but weaker students got matched instead..
Does the weaker students want to be matched to Edinburgh? I would not want that path given that in Imu already struggling n would prefer a less competitive environment. Unless the better students and the presumed weaker ones are not that far off. I am assuming a weaker student in Unimas n we matched him to UM. He would have nightmares.
cckkpr
post May 14 2012, 10:56 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ May 14 2012, 10:34 PM)
note that, despite differences in presumed prestige of some uk med schools, there is actually little difference in the 'difficulty' of the respective universities....

therefore it is a mistake to think edinburgh would be tougher than liverpool or leeds or hull-york, for eg.....

the hallmark of developed countries' education is they tend to be pretty consistent in quality.....
I appreciate your replies and hope that potential students take note to ensure a better success rate. From what I gather, for every applicant, at least 2 or 3 choices are similar to that of the next applicant. This could also be due to the fact that unis conducting interviews in Malaysia are limited and very few wanted to attend an interview in uk.
cckkpr
post May 15 2012, 07:55 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ May 14 2012, 11:59 PM)
Among the unis that interview in this region, those that do not interview in Malaysia will interview in Singapore. Leeds do not interview intl applicants. When there's 4 choices to include in UCAS application, the likelihood of similar unis being applied to is pretty high.
Some do interviews here and in sg. I think Manchester and Glasgow do that. Edinburgh also no interview; ps and voluntary health service rank highly.
cckkpr
post Jun 7 2012, 02:29 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(Aying @ Jun 7 2012, 10:01 AM)
I have just finished my medical degree in Uk and going to graduate this summer. Will be working foundation years in the uk.

Unfortunately after this year, working places are not gauranteed due to the large volumes of medical students in uk. Uk medical students go through a first selection national selection programme which includes 40% university results, 50% professional questions (prior to this was blank questions where you write reflections - show that you have certain values) 10% others which include extra degree, international presentations, researches etc.

You will then be given a score, and will use it to apply the area in uk you want to work in. You could choose from 20+ areas. If you get an area to work at, you will get a job. If not, you will have to be put on waiting list. Either that, you will have to go through a second selection system which includes foreigners (non-uk grad) to compete for even more limited jobs.

After areas, you select the hospital and tract you want to work in for the next 2 years.
UK grads still stand a better chance than non-uk grad.

Up to now, ALL grads are placed.

What do you mean by large volume of medical students?

From our Malaysian students? Don't think so. More likely a reduction!

From IMU, also dont think so as the number of PMS places are also being reduced.
cckkpr
post Jun 7 2012, 03:40 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Jun 7 2012, 03:13 PM)
the number of medical graduates have increased due to new medical schools, and larger intakes, just like in oz, and there is coming, a time when the same shortage of f1 positions will exist, just as in oz.....
This is on the assumption that there are no increase in the number of hospitals and the capacity of the existing facilities.

I presume that the British are better planners in forecasting. tongue.gif

Maybe, both oz and the brits have something to learn from Bolehland! rclxm9.gif
cckkpr
post Jun 7 2012, 06:02 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(podrunner @ Jun 7 2012, 05:43 PM)
So there's about 450 - 500 international graduates (based on 7.5% international student intake).
Still manageable lah. Not too bad.

Brits are better managers than oz. tongue.gif
cckkpr
post Jun 9 2012, 11:22 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(Elephant^^ @ Jun 9 2012, 10:23 PM)
How long did it take you guys to prepare for ielts?

Added on June 9, 2012, 10:29 pmMy friend has an engineering degree, second class hons. could he enter imu directly?
Ielts -abt a month.

What is your fren gonna do there? Medic? What are his a levels or other pre-u qualifications.
cckkpr
post Jun 10 2012, 09:44 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(Elephant^^ @ Jun 10 2012, 09:02 PM)
cck- yes, medicine. no pre-university. he did diploma, then degree
Check with Imu whether diploma acceptable.
cckkpr
post Aug 23 2012, 09:08 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(satrez @ Aug 23 2012, 03:57PM)
are there parties and drinking at IMU ? or is it just studies ??
Even in Cambridge or Harvard, the parties are more wild than you imagine. Play hard, study smart.
cckkpr
post Aug 23 2012, 11:33 PM

4,514 posts

Join the open day for a guided tour. If you like booze, stock up your fridge and the world is yours.
cckkpr
post Aug 24 2012, 07:15 AM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(satrez @ Aug 24 2012, 12:05 AM)
are you telling me ppl dont like to booze ?? and how are the parties on there ?
They have minimum no of lecture hours and plenty of work to do and cant afford the time to booze.
Tell me what do you expect from the parties held in uni premises. I can assure you no drugs, hard liquor or free sex. Disappointed?
cckkpr
post Aug 24 2012, 05:20 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(satrez @ Aug 24 2012, 04:54 PM)
could you tell me what kind of stuff happens in it ??
briefings, social networking, team building etc
cckkpr
post Aug 24 2012, 06:36 PM

4,514 posts

You had a better chance of your desired personal life at Monash. There are more than enough foreign students in Monash who shared or has similar ideals and has the time and the monies to indulge in the various vices.
cckkpr
post Aug 24 2012, 07:24 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(zstan @ Aug 24 2012, 06:48 PM)
not for medical and pharmacy students.

other courses then got la.
Yeah. For sure. Nearly every night outside Monash residence, you have such students drinking and smoking away.
I will be very surprised if any are pharm or med students.
cckkpr
post Oct 3 2012, 11:12 PM

4,514 posts

QUOTE(znlwinvk @ Oct 3 2012, 09:41 PM)
i got my a*aaa for my A levels. october is here and i am prettyyyyyy nervous. i cant afford to be postponed to august intake.  cry.gif
Didn't you apply to oz or uk?
cckkpr
post Oct 4 2012, 09:11 AM

4,514 posts

[quote=znlwinvk,Oct 3 2012, 11:17 PM]
financial problems proved too tough as I am an international student :/

Added on October 3, 2012, 11:20 pm

But I thought you are going for pms program. A direct entry into your choice will outweigh the savings that you get.

6 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 > » Top

0.0621sec    0.78    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 10:11 PM