I think people with a right mind will choose s something better, I guess.....?
This post has been edited by Yeyechan: Aug 12 2011, 05:57 PM
International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor
Aug 12 2011, 05:53 PM
85 posts Joined: Jan 2009 |
And Singapore...
I think people with a right mind will choose s something better, I guess.....? This post has been edited by Yeyechan: Aug 12 2011, 05:57 PM |
Nov 13 2011, 12:11 PM
QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 12 2011, 10:21 PM) @yufa - afaik pharm chem is different than pharmacy, u might have some shared modules with the pharmacy but thats about it, not sure whether u can take up masters in pharmacy, but most probably not. Entry requirement for it will be, if I'm not wrong, a 1st class honours will be preferred over a 2nd upper class, but you must at least achieve a 2nd upper class with an overall bandscore of 7.5 in IELTS to be considered. Good luck. |
Nov 13 2011, 04:05 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 13 2011, 12:47 PM) just wondering.....if someone wants to be a practising pharmacist, why bother to do pharm chem, and then pharmacy....why not just enter pharmacy directly.....? 1) Monetary reasons? Direct entry is expensive. People might opt to work for a few years prior to jumping into MPharm.(5%)2) Pre-U cannot make it(95%) Added on November 13, 2011, 4:15 pm QUOTE(pipedream @ Nov 13 2011, 04:03 PM) Oh that's hard then Err... I said at least a 2nd upper class a... But, it is University of Sydney we are talking here. You know what I mean??? =)It takes only 2 years to finish this MPharm program. If you calculate based on years spent for the whole course of study, 3 years pharm chem+2 years mpharm=5 years it's just one year extra compared to most of the direct entry MPharm programs in the world which is 4 years. And, it's cheaper. Unless you're comparing it to IMU's MPharm which both costs around the same, you can save quite some money. This post has been edited by Yeyechan: Nov 13 2011, 04:17 PM |
Dec 5 2011, 02:09 AM
QUOTE(iamjames5 @ Dec 5 2011, 12:55 AM) ......Spoon feed you one time... Since you're only 15... You barely know any of these things.... MBBS, MD, MBChB, MBBCh, MBBChir, MBChB BAO, BM, BMed, BMBS, BM BCh... Semua sama barang... Usually based on your title, people can agak agak and know where you graduated from. If you're given a MBBS which the majority of the medical schools in the world uses, people will know that you're a doctor... But can hardly guess where you graduated from.... If you're given an MD, people will think that you graduated from the US... But, you can also graduate from UKM and end up with a MD degree... If you're given a MBChB, people can think that you graduated from Egypt.. But, you actually graduated from Glasgow... If you're given a MBBChir, people will definitely know you're a smart ass who graduated from Cambridge because only Cambridge awards MBBChir to their medical graduates.... If you're given a MBChB BAO, people will know you graduated from Ireland... so forth and so forth... Simple as that... They are the same thing... It's good to plan ahead...... But there's lot more things to consider other than fixing yourself into the doctor's pathway. =) You're still young... You've got many options... TJU is a unique partner medical school with IMU. The partnership between TJU and IMU is established because there's sort of like an agreement between the US and Malaysian government to actually help train doctors for Malaysia in the american style of medical education... This is why, TJU only accept Malaysian students (not for international students)... Let's say 5 years down the road, you've come into IMU, and you've made it into semester 5 which a thing called the "matching process" that would take place during that time, you'll be asked to rank your choice of universities in a list with all the partner medical schools on it. So you rank them 1-23... which one you want, you rank them 1st... But, if you want TJU, you'll have to "opt out" from the matching process.... You will compete against with your other peers, who's dying to go to TJU also, just like you.... TJU only accepts 6 students per year.... And usually around 10 students will fight for the mere 6 places, and I can say that the competition is very strong.... You all will compete based on your USMLE part 1 results, the one with higher marks will get the place. As for the remaining students who did not get TJU, they will either be offered in any of the PMS or in a case where there's no leftover places in the PMS stream, you'll go to Seremban. I hope the information that I've given is clear and accurate. If there's anything I've mentioned wrongly, sorry har... USMLE Source: Wikipedia The United States Medical Licensing Examination (USMLE) is a multi-part professional exam sponsored by the Federation of State Medical Boards (FSMB) and the National Board of Medical Examiners (NBME). Medical doctors with an M.D. degree are required to pass this examination before being permitted to practice medicine in the United States of America. This post has been edited by Yeyechan: Dec 5 2011, 02:29 AM |
Dec 6 2011, 03:51 AM
QUOTE(iamjames5 @ Dec 5 2011, 06:09 PM) thanks so much. if i stay in imu for 2nd phase and do the housemanship for 1 year in msia, can i still bcome a Foundation Doctor in UK to become a surgeon? (http://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Foundation_doctor) Not to say impossible... But its possibility is unfortunately somehow near 0...Housemanship in Malaysia is 2 years. Different country have different duration for their housemanship training. UK foundation training also takes 2 years to complete, ie the foundation year 1 and 2. But, for example Singapore, only requires you to do one year of housemanship........... Different country have different bodies regulating the recognition of medical schools. I guess that you have gone to the GMC website to find out information regarding international medical graduate(IMG) wanting to work in the UK, and I suppose that it gives you hope somehow... But in reality, there're so many obstacles you will face if you choose to go this pathway. Firstly, the PLAB exam.... Secondly, NHS will prefer UK grads over IMG.... Thirdly, you won't have time to do so.... Fourthly, it's not cheap.... UK foundation program is on a point-based system.... You'll be awarded certain "pts" in many ways.... Such as, if you graduated from the top 25% percentile of your batch(uk medical school), you'll be awarded 40pts... If you have an extra degree such as BMedSci, you'll be awarded 4pts for 1st class degree.... Or if you have some medical journal publication, extra points will be given too.... so forth and so forth.... And then the final mark is calculated, and you'll be allocated foundation training program based on your marks.... Sounds like PMS matching huh? Ya... It is... However, this point-based system is only for the UK grads. As you'll fall into the IMG category, you'll be dump to the bottom on the list. The 1st on the list is always UK citizen+UK grad, 2nd will be EU citizen+UK grad. For a Non-UK citizen+UK grad, they will fall in either 3rd or 4th, but a Non-UK citizen+Non-EU citizen+IMG will always be.... at the bottom...... Ahem... Sorry for being losoh... One word... Hard la... This post has been edited by Yeyechan: Dec 6 2011, 03:54 AM |
Jan 13 2012, 05:25 PM
Dundee is back to 3 years for clinical school so it's no longer 'short'.
Aberdeen and Nottingham are the 2 schools with shorter clinical years(Aberdeen 2 1/4, Nottingham 2 1/2). Besides, Queen's belfast is no longer cheap. The fees has rised from some 18k to 25k and hence, right now only Liverpool and Aberdeen are cheap. And, Edinburgh is no longer the most expensive because St george's has taken the place of being the PALING MAHAL one. Leicester is a very good school but there is an entrance examination that you have to pass in order for you to proceed. Once you reach there, you'll have to study for about 3 months(Leicester syllabus, not IMU's) and you'll sit for the entrance examination. Failing rate is about 80%, this explains why it's not favoured. Try it if you dare. To kane: Once you've paid the fees, they'll just tutup satu mata. Clear? Simple as that. |
Jan 15 2012, 11:31 PM
Feb 3 2012, 11:47 PM
QUOTE(cherrychapstick92 @ Jan 24 2012, 06:56 PM) Hey,does anyone here have any idea if there are remaining seats (possibly vacant seats are available due to rejection by other candidates who have decided to go to other universities upon accepting their offers) for the Feb 2012 local programme for MBBS? I know it's so last-minute to apply now but I've just gotten my A-Level results yesterday (ABB) and want to know if it's too late to request an interview now itself,and hopefully be able to join. Am I able to appeal? Thanks in advance. you should call them and ask... if can, arrange for an interview as soon as possible. if u get accepted, welcome. |
Feb 6 2012, 09:59 AM
General misconception by medical students and their parents nowadays of being able to work or go for specialization overseas with any medical degree... But hell yeah, you're right.
But one thing to add is that if your basic degree is not recognized, you can always make it right by going for PLAB in UK or AMC exam in Aussie to get yourself registered but this will take don't know how many years to complete. Even though any who have passed will get the chance to be registered, they will still be in the bottom on the selection list to go into their postgraduate programs as they have to be in favour to their own UK or Aussie graduates. Besides, if you're a non-PR of Australia, your chances of getting into their postgraduate training program is near 0. |
Feb 6 2012, 12:37 PM
Feb 6 2012, 02:20 PM
QUOTE(C-Note @ Feb 6 2012, 12:50 PM) so what is my route if i do a PDS(local degree) in imu and i want to end up in Australia as a specialist or just a normal dentist? if you graduate with BDS(IMU), you'll have to work for the government for a few years to gain experience in order to allow you to sit for certain dental council's examination (just like Australian Dental Council(ADC) exam, they need you to have don't know how many hours of experience before allowing you to apply for their exam while UK GDC has its own type of exam too).Ahem, in a nutshell, you'll spend a few years as a NORMAL dentist until the day you pass those exams--->become PR--->wait for your chance to be called in for postgraduate training. |
Apr 26 2012, 04:41 AM
QUOTE(anggaPra @ Apr 24 2012, 06:24 PM) if i do foundation in science at other university i can apply for imu right? because imu is not offering any foundation in science.. It depends on what program you wanna do.Anyway, IMU doesn't usually take in students with FIS from other universities but someone who went through proper pre-u. |
May 5 2012, 10:33 PM
QUOTE(limeuu @ May 3 2012, 12:49 PM) 100 pms undergraduate Erm... 50 pms graduate is like... too many..... 50 pms graduate 100 local but i suspect they actually take in more than that, as about 20% will drop out....i know some batches with 120+ pms undergraduate.... UQ will soon be cutting its intake by half to around 12 places/YEAR, with Warwick and ANU each giving 6 places/YEAR. This post has been edited by Yeyechan: May 5 2012, 10:34 PM |
May 5 2012, 11:23 PM
May 6 2012, 01:32 AM
It's not only UQ cutting places.... Warwick used to give 13 places per year and it will probably be reduced to 6 per year.... ANU will remain giving only 6 places per year. It could be due to governmental policies to restrict too many foreign doctors from flooding their countries.... Same like auckland and otago...
Sep 29 2012, 10:59 PM
Call them and ask loh....
PMS student»Local students usually You have AABa. Thats ok for PMS la. Cukup makan... But IMU is picking student more and more cautiously lately. Good luck to you. |
Feb 8 2013, 07:13 AM
QUOTE(jikrm1105 @ Feb 6 2013, 10:06 PM) Hi. Im entering IMU this feb for medicine. I would like to know is there any preparation that I have to do before entering? I'm quite blur to be honest. Please share the experience like what you did during orientation week and how is it like on the first day of class.. Hello. Have fun in orientation. It's those time for bonding, and make sure you make the most out of it as I reckon you'll be sticking with your group mates most of the time after that. Thank you so much! Have you considered any volunteer works which might help you on your way towards becoming a doctor?? It'd be lovely if you could shadow a few doctors and see what they do every day, too. However, volunteering sounds much of a better choice as you will be studying medicine for the rest of your life and on top of that, it makes you grow as a person. =) This post has been edited by Yeyechan: Feb 8 2013, 07:14 AM |
Mar 3 2013, 07:20 PM
QUOTE(dywx07045 @ Feb 25 2013, 12:50 AM) Hi guys, got my 2012AS level(not the final A level grade) ABB, but will be resitting Physics to try and get 2A's, but just wanna ask, is ABB enough to get into the Partner Dental School program? Or can i get into the local program 1st, then i study hard while im in IMU and apply to get into the PDS program? Thats my dream to study dentistry in Queensland ABB is fine but they will definitely look for candidates who's got better results first which I think, you might be left out as there are too many AAA students around. If you want it, you work for it. Switching of option in Dentistry is not uncommon when it comes to changing from PDS to local program, it's the other way round that doesn't usually happen. I doubt you'll be the only one who'll want to switch though. |
Feb 21 2014, 03:04 AM
Dec 5 2014, 06:26 AM
QUOTE(aong @ Dec 4 2014, 05:32 PM) Just wondering - does anyone know why the IMU pre-clinical phase is 2.5 years and yet the holidays are so short (1 or 2 weeks), whereas in all the PMS's the holidays can be as long as one month at one shot and yet their preclinical phase is only 2 years? I know that the last semester (sem 5) in IMU pre-clinicals is to prepare us for the clinical phase, but even with this out of the equation, the pre-clinical holidays are longer in many PMS's. Does that mean IMU covers 'more' than the PMS's? Or does it mean IMU spreads the content out and therefore spare time is reduced? Very simple. One, IMU has about 25 partner schools to deal with when setting up a "generalised" curriculum allowing all PMS students to transfer prior to finishing phase I, hence needing the extra hours to cover as much materials as possible. Two, the majority if not all the PMSes usually have more than 2 lectures in a day (?those were my days in IMU... now probably 4? Three, because angmohs are mad about holidays. Try taking away their summer, winter or easter holiday and see what happens. This post has been edited by Yeyechan: Dec 24 2014, 05:11 AM |
| Change to: | 0.0539sec
Time is now: 28th November 2025 - 07:50 AM |