International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

chika138
post Nov 11 2009, 12:03 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Nov 10 2009, 10:10 PM)
just wondering, how was the batch's reception towards the matching results?
i heard sometimes even top students can't get their top 3 choices for the previous batches.
welcome. just remember to spend your time wisely during the study break. i remember slacking after the summatives and having trouble cramming everything in during the last 2 weeks before eos
oh we have top jpa scholars getting their 14th or 15th choices? how bout that?
but this batch we have someone getting his 22nd choice out of 25 PMS
generally this time many didn't get their more ideal PMS, mainly due to the facts that there are too many jpa scholars (jpa set rules on how we going to rank our PMS) and also too many PMS students in total as well
there's NO remaining place left from 25 PMS after the matching, just enough seats for everyone, so basically they have to slot more people into the less popular uni
chika138
post Nov 11 2009, 11:03 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Nov 11 2009, 01:55 PM)
damn dude. thats crazy. hope no one fails, if not gone case man. have to reenter the pool of unis again.

I think my batch will also face such a problem. they said our batch is one of the best. one of the lowest failing rates and all that. but i got a feeling there are more seremban students compared to other batches. so hopefully this wont be a full PMS batch like yours.

btw, judging that some ppl getting 22nd choice. that means alot of people didn't get their top 3, or their top choice ? man, i cant imagine going to Canada  sweat.gif

how was your summative chika?

Mines on friday. I feel more prepared than i was for the first summative. hope that helps. i dont wanna see any more C's! hope to get B at the very least this friday. C+ last time damn sad. wanted to see B's.

but i dont really mind just passing my EOS3 already like i just wanted to pass EOS2. smile.gif but obviously with higher grades than B- biggrin.gif
my ICA for sem 3 was B and B-

actually there're more wtf news which stunned me during this 2 days, really shocking to know the very unexpected results
chika138
post Nov 12 2009, 08:46 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Nov 12 2009, 02:33 AM)
owh. i meant to ask how was your recent sem 5 ICA's? most of the seniors were so stressed out about it, saying the content was crazy with loads of neuroanatomy and MSK go to through?

hmm yeah really shocking, i think i gotta prep myself to go to canada or even NZ which i dont plan on headed to!!
lol i somewhat flunked it tongue.gif
but more it's more due to my lack of preparation
chika138
post Nov 12 2009, 07:52 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Nov 12 2009, 06:53 PM)
chika, welcome to nz lol, was nz ur first choice?
i'm a jpa scholar so yea, they asked me to rank it 1st
otago was my second choice though
in total 8 going auckland, 11/12 going otago (1 person got BMed conditional offer so he'll choose ANU if he's accepted later)

Added on November 12, 2009, 7:53 pm
QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Nov 12 2009, 12:17 PM)
haha chika no worries. ECA counts. next week right? all the best dude!

and yeah i saw their lecture notes. really crazy. but some people claim MSK can be quite easy shakehead.gif
oh thanks
well the ECA questions were not actually that hard just i did not prepare enough

This post has been edited by chika138: Nov 12 2009, 07:53 PM
chika138
post Nov 12 2009, 09:40 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

seed83 i think i know who ur gf is

after considering current circumstances i'm afraid to say yes, just like what the lady said, it's quite unlikely to get another PMS, mainly due to the fact that all places are already fully taken.

the only more possible way i myself think of is someone failing his or her eos5 and lose his or her place (for those who are supposed to fly in jan or february la) then maybe your gf will stand a chance, though i do hope some other fellow forumers here can offer you other alternatives
chika138
post Nov 13 2009, 12:25 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Nov 12 2009, 10:42 PM)
what is 'recognition letter' and 'recognition staff'.........

'better' uni is subjective and relative......which continent was she aiming for, and which uni did she get?...........

there has been some instances of changes and swappings, but very few........
if i'm not wrong what he meant by recognition letter is student attributes form which should be filled up by respective mentors.
but ya care to explain bout recognition staff?
i agree with the "better" uni statement.
there's no better universities, only the more reputable ones, such as edinburgh UNSW etc, even so the reputation does not apply to all specialities, for some uni might be stronger in certain fields.
u call a uni better (that's for yourself) when it suits your needs in many ways eg location, cost, having relatives and friends there etc
eg for me, my ideal uni will be so'ton for its generally warmer climate, coastal location, close proximity to london and relatively smaller city, though history, ranking and reputation wise it might seem inferior to other PMS'es.
however if my guess is not wrong (on who being your gf) i can understand your gf's pain as i understand her predicament now, u have my best wishes of luck in appealing

This post has been edited by chika138: Nov 13 2009, 12:30 AM
chika138
post Nov 24 2009, 07:06 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Nov 24 2009, 03:36 AM)
i'm not 100% sure about this, but i think it won't include what you got for eos. judged solely on how you do for your bmedsci course. about which grade is 2nd upper class... i have no idea.
how is it more economical? unless you hold an australian citizenship or PR.
with IMU you at least spend 2 years here paying rm rather than aud.
oh nope. eos 2 3 5 are counted, 30-50% (i'm not sure with the exact percentage) of the total cgpa
u'll need cgpa 3.0 to get a 2nd upper grade
that's why they dun take in students who just repeated, resit-ed or barely passed (borderline)
at least u need C+ and B- for EoS 2 and 3 to be considered and accepted by prof mak because if u get lower than that it's not logically or sometimes even mathematically feasible to get a CGPA of 3.0
chika138
post Jul 2 2010, 04:50 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(cygoh9 @ Jul 2 2010, 04:33 PM)
NZ is no longer as cheap as you thought, it's more expensive than most PMS unis. Adelaide remains as the cheapest ever still though. But judging from working opportunity wise, many ppl now (historically) will top pick NZ unis rather than last pick it.
nope adelaide is no longer the cheapest
the cheapest would be those 2-2.5 years uk schools like aberdeen dundee nottingham, and the cheaper uk schools like queens and liverpool
both nz schools are only cheaper than the most expensive pms (edinburgh) by 20-30k

8 Pages « < 6 7 8Top

0.0170sec    0.39    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 09:33 AM