8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Bottom

International Medical University, IMU @ Bukit Jalil, Seremban, & Johor

chika138
post Aug 14 2009, 12:56 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Aug 13 2009, 09:26 PM)
yawn.gif:O:O that good?!?! crazy, gaming and downloading movies+music+tv shows must be awesome. yawn.gif

sorry but you're the only other senior around from vista. other people in this thread are mostly like "i'm joining in august"
no worries just jk
ya true also, where go the seniors here ya?
netlynx is especially good when u're the only heavy internet user in your house
like me i paid only rm25 a month (after sharing) and download up to 15gb a day tongue.gif brows.gif

QUOTE(XteBan @ Aug 13 2009, 11:11 PM)
Hello. Im joining in one week plus time. Hahaha.

Im gonna stay at IMU hostel.

but....

i thk im worried im going to regret staying there. =______=
so? y would u stay in IMU hostel in the first place?
nvm it's just 1 sem, get to know some batchmates or friends and move out when sem 2 comes

This post has been edited by chika138: Aug 14 2009, 12:58 AM
chika138
post Aug 14 2009, 11:27 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Benji` @ Aug 14 2009, 11:02 AM)
I think the room is in Block B ; now waiting for my fren/roommate there to confirm =0
I dunno abt Netlynx tongue.gif  gonna hav to ask the dude again
Thats REALLY GOOD!!! 200kb/s is like a dream .... my fastest speed is 100kb/s here -.-

Imagine all that downloads  drool.gif
Vista B if master bedroom rm280 is ok
but urs plus water and electric bills huh
what's the exact rent of the room?
IMO netlynx is even better than internet in PMS later in the sense that they don't have download limit cap (unless u're going USA and canada)
and so far i've no complaint over the speed
download youtube streaming (i stream good quality football matches every weekend)
but if ur housemates are also heavy downloaders and set mutual agreement and limit every1's download speed

Added on August 14, 2009, 11:39 am
QUOTE(D_s_X @ Aug 14 2009, 02:18 AM)
I guess lot's of people are having problems with the well, let me put it... unclear way of the PMS route. I included =(

For example, if we get paired to an Australian university, are the certificates recognized automatically there? Are you able to do your housemanship there then later on practice there?
i'm no expert in this topic
but what i can say is no one (even the experts here) can be 100% sure of what will be the policies later when u graduate
it's subject to change over the time
especially if u haven't even stepped into a med school, which means it takes at least another 5-6 years before u can work

This post has been edited by chika138: Aug 14 2009, 11:49 AM
chika138
post Aug 20 2009, 12:00 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

with almost the same cost
IMU PMS is apparently better than PMC in many aspects
just don care too much bout the waiting time
chika138
post Aug 20 2009, 11:42 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

accomodation (rent+electric+water+internet+blah2) rm300-500 averagely
can be more than rm500
then eat rm400-500 or more depends on what's ur food
rm200 on mischellaneous
that means at least near rm1000 if u're renting a room in bkt jalil
chika138
post Aug 21 2009, 04:59 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Aug 21 2009, 12:33 AM)
wow didnt know it was so expensive. crap chika, i just want a room in vista to download stuff now hahahaah. 15 gigs a day. amazing. torrent or rapidshare though?

any word of advice for respi and cvs summative?
megaupload mostly, cuz i'm using jdownloader so it's actually auto-downloading with full speed after i enter all the links
well from what i heard torrent will go with full speed too (200-250kb/s) if u find those with good seedings
ok for MEQ always remember to read your PBL, it's better if u can find the pbl faci guide and read on the exact learning outcomes (questions are based on the exact outcomes/issues, not the random learning issues u all come out with)
about half of the questions would be from PBL
OBA, no comment
EMQ 1 pharmacology question quite sure to be coming out since u all have so many pharmacology lectures in CVS right? Then maybe 1 physiology question. EMQ is the easiest of all so please don't screw up
OSPE ar just try finish it on time

QUOTE(Benji` @ Aug 21 2009, 08:48 AM)
Hi guys XD, I'm back!
I'm currently sharing a room wit a fren (kinda cramped tho, these fr*ggin mini-sized rooms)
And people, if you wana rent a room
1. Block B is the best!! Just opposite IMU~!
2. B1--> well, if ur the kind of person that doesnt have much nite-life, then sure... cuz the hallway is dark at nite ... who knows what might happen O_O
3. A & C are fine in a way... just remember its better if u move in a pack around all these areas, cuz from what i heard, robberies are quite common sad.gif
Thats all i know 4 now tongue.gif fill ya guys in l8er
good estimate brotha  rclxms.gif
A is a big no no. it seems near if u look from vista B or IMU. But actually the entrance is at the another far end.
B holds the biggest advantage -- being nearest to IMU.
C is when you are searching for rooms in better condition with better (relatively cheaper than B) prices.

QUOTE(minshuen @ Aug 21 2009, 02:23 PM)
thanks for the advices.actually i am planning to enter the pharmacy master degree of IMU.i find that there is only one intake session which is on january for the master degree of pharmacy from the IMU website.is it true?
This i'm not sure. Y dun u call students services (SSD) to find out more bout it?

This post has been edited by chika138: Aug 21 2009, 05:07 PM
chika138
post Aug 24 2009, 09:50 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Aug 24 2009, 04:54 PM)
how important is anatomy and embryology this time around. will they be saving it up for ospe for EOS?
like blood vessles etc, hmm in dilema if i should squeeze as much as i can from that, currently just banging on pathology like mad!!
i dun think anatomy and embryology play big role in ICA
if u got not enough time then.....
but then anything can happen
still IMO worth to take the risk

QUOTE(D_s_X @ Aug 24 2009, 09:38 PM)
I am looking around for an aparment (not room) which is quite late, I know. but any contacts?
er any1 has any idea how to free myself from answering this question again and again? shakehead.gif
u can either call yvonne the agent 0122871844 or email SSD for accomodation list

This post has been edited by chika138: Aug 24 2009, 09:51 PM
chika138
post Aug 30 2009, 11:49 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Aug 25 2009, 12:30 AM)
yeah , i think they wont ask, esp blood vessles, it hink they will ask application question in objective, so i'll do the minimum reading, some times just way too much.

Embryology i think surely will be objective unless my ass luck kena.

Amiodarone seems to be the drug of choice for most of the arrhytmia's. and the other Na channel blockers except flecanide like not even mentioned in my management notes at the end.  shocking.gif

oh yeah is it true, some times i bantai SOB, or even chest pain depending on the system involved for MEQ they have to accept it right? haha, now finding ways to con the system tongue.gif !!  whistling.gif

Added on August 28, 2009, 7:05 pmWOAH! to all you incoming batches. the jump from EOS 2 to SUmmative 3 is a big one. dont neglect it, had a pretty tough time today!!
and don't expect it to be as easy as summative 1 and 2
no more easy A or A-
B will be the mean from CVS+Respi onwards
am anxiously waiting for jpa grouping for my PMS matching coming this week
chika138
post Sep 2 2009, 12:47 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Sep 1 2009, 01:58 AM)
all the best chika. tell us where will you be placed!!

yeah can tell after the paper , everyone felt the heat as well. it was quite tough. for me at least.
haha my friend who always calls JPA for the matching thingy just told me today
the person in charge is on leave for the whole week
and our ranking form submission due date is next monday.... yawn.gif hmm.gif
btw thanks for the wish

QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Sep 1 2009, 07:13 PM)
sem 4 student here
just wondering where is better to twin to (since we have to make our decisions next semester, best be thinking about it while i have so much free time in sem 4 tongue.gif)
1) uk- i know you can work for 2 years there (foundation year 1 and 2). not sure where you can go after that though. any chance they might make it easier for internationals to become a registrar and subsequently get into a fellowship (specialization?)?

2) aus- heard that they might change their working policies too since australia is getting saturated with internationals. but seems to be the only country where i could specialize there. the darn 6 months waiting period is putting me off though.
to me, in the end the choices still depend on one's personal conditions and needs
there's no definite "best" PMS to everyone
we can give suggestions but u have to make your decision lo
best of luck for your matching next year, in advance

This post has been edited by chika138: Sep 2 2009, 12:47 AM
chika138
post Sep 5 2009, 03:02 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

eh forgot to upload this

M207 Tuition fees & iNFO_Latest.xls

Brighton-Sussex added
And no more University of Melbourne, those M107-ians who got melbourne have to do Bmed Sc first before transferring
chika138
post Sep 5 2009, 07:05 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Sep 5 2009, 05:15 PM)
chika, thaks for the list, very useful.....

they have added uni western sydney, which is a new med school. it only started on 2007, and the 1st batch is currently in the 3rd year of the 5 year programme. i think it is not even in the mmc 2nd schedule, so wonder what happens when graduates want to return to work.....?

same with keele and brighton-sussex........
yup forgot to mention UWS
UWS is in the MMC 2nd schedule, entered the list in 2008, together with ANU
but UWS is not in JPA recognition list (or just yet?)

keele and brighton-sussex are not even in the 2nd schedule
from what i read in the latest 2nd schedule (June 2009), MMC has not taken any of the UK medical schools which were established after the 3 newer medical schools in 1970s (Southampton, Leicester and Nottingham) into the 2nd Schedule
the last UK medical school they took in was University of Leicester in 13/11/1987 (even i was still in my mum's womb then) tongue.gif

Source

Added on September 6, 2009, 10:26 pmand good news my friends

Internships edge foreign doctors out

This post has been edited by chika138: Sep 6 2009, 10:26 PM
chika138
post Sep 7 2009, 09:05 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Sep 7 2009, 08:39 PM)
haha uk also same. 2 years and you get kicked out. seems like America or Canada are the only countries left.

wonder whats the situation in NZ!
Canadian PMS stated black-and-white that no one is allowed to stay on for internship
unless u take USMLE and proceed to USA

ah NZ, that's what i'm wondering too

private students already submitted their Form A (PMS Ranking Form) today (their due date)
but IMU just can't process yet because JPA officer-in-charge is only coming to give us briefing on Wednesday rclxub.gif
the old late JPA mad.gif
all (IMU, private students and JPA scholars) are blaming on them shakehead.gif

This post has been edited by chika138: Sep 7 2009, 09:05 PM
chika138
post Sep 9 2009, 08:40 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Cristiano-Ronaldo-7 @ Sep 9 2009, 07:43 PM)
cygoh how's the general situation in NZ. have heard from seniors in seremban that some people claim the racism there is very bad and have come back home to finish phase 2.

and more over NZ is one of the most expensive PMS's to choose from.

haha today's wednesday, hope you get your whole PMS situation sorted out and you're able to study up for EOS5.

Yeah the USMLE will be referenced back during residency. passing it on the dot will kinda ensure yourself family medicine in the future. hence you gotta do outstandingly well on it. maybe after graduating from another country one can consider US.

chika what i meant was,  by studying some where else and going over to canada to work. dont know what system they employ there, wether its USMLE sort of system or not.
wow really? racism till rather get back home to finish phase 2?
and ya, JPA has again not failed to live up to their notoriety - by not coming again today, and leaves us no single notice on that matter
and hell ya com med report is the most frustrating assignment u'll ever have in your 5 sems in BJ. it's killing everyone
chika138
post Sep 16 2009, 02:31 AM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(monkeygirl @ Sep 16 2009, 01:02 AM)
if melbourne still affiliated with IMU? cause the last i checked, melb wasn't listed as one of the PMS choices for the m207 batch.
yes it is
look at page 3
http://www.imu.edu.my/pdf/Medicine_A%20low.pdf
chika138
post Sep 23 2009, 10:58 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

u want near then vista B
u want cheaper and better room condition (generally) then vista C
u want new then savannah
u want very far and not new then vista A
chika138
post Oct 9 2009, 07:00 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(jasonboey90 @ Oct 9 2009, 06:48 PM)
hi , not an IMU student , just crashing in the forum to ask on any senior to comment about the nutrition and dietetic course in IMU.

I would like to know more about the quality of education , learning strategies and more outline to the course
hey not to say u're not welcomed here but how bout u starting a thread regarding this course?
or u're interested to join us here in IMU?

This post has been edited by chika138: Oct 9 2009, 07:01 PM
chika138
post Oct 22 2009, 09:04 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(limeuu @ Oct 22 2009, 08:45 AM)
the old system was 2 1/2+3=5 1/2 years.....

the new system is 3 1/2 (MUST do b med sc imu, no matter if you already has another degree)+4=7 1/2 years.........

who in his right mind will do this?.......... shakehead.gif
exactly
if i really don't mid spending 7 1/2 years i'd rather choose to go Uni of Sydney to get a PhD with a similar length of time
was about to ask them this question yesterday just that i had something else to do
chika138
post Oct 24 2009, 10:09 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

ok for those who're sitting for EoS 2 soon (someone asked me through PM so i'd just post it here as well)

oh OSPE
er dun worry too much bout the anatomy as it's really gonna be quite simple
basically every component u learnt in F1 and F2 will be asked, including pharmaco and com med
for com med most likely there'll be some calculation question and ranjit's occupational health
but i can't comment too much on patho because the syllabus has changed quite a bit
SAQ? well depending on how prepared you are and how well u perform on the spot. The most important thing in SAQ is to finish answering all your questions if possible
but if u didn't study well and perform badly in SAQ prepare to fail that particular paper. most of my friends, yes, they got B- or below for SAQ
chika138
post Oct 25 2009, 01:25 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(Gorila_ @ Oct 25 2009, 01:20 PM)
For SAQ, study all the not so important stuff, like Com Med, BS, basic biology, etc,etc.... We get all the Qs from these components, and many of us left stunned during, and after the exam. Totally spoils my mood for OBA that afternoon.
yes everything is tested, including BS, but i find BS quite unpredictable
embryology can be tested as well, read the more basic stuffs
hypersensitivity is a FAQ in SAQ as well
that's all i remember for now
chika138
post Nov 1 2009, 10:28 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

QUOTE(C-Note @ Nov 1 2009, 03:27 PM)
Hi there,

I'm interested in doing dentistry in IMU. Whats the annual fees for dentistry? I can't seem to load the webpage.

Is it credible and recognized in Hongkong?

Thx!
just curious but why hong kong?
chika138
post Nov 10 2009, 04:28 PM

Happy-No-Lucky
853 posts

finally m207's matching result out today
i got otago
don't really like it, but well, it's life, just have to accept it loh

8 Pages « < 5 6 7 8 >Top