The current gaming industry

TSlittlegamer
post Feb 4 2018, 09:31 PM, updated 8y ago

666 posts

Is hard to find a brand new series of games which is good, i dont mean games that has sequal, ultimately a game with a series has a core mechanics that makes that game unique, eventually i get bored of it. I have play games like "the world ends with you','the last of us' , 'yakuza', 'persona' and other very popular series. But right now it is just hard to find a brand new game concept or game that is fresh. the more games that i play the less i feel excited for the new game hype. Is there any games out there this year that is not a sequel worth mentioning regardless of platform?
pspslim007
post Feb 4 2018, 09:44 PM

701 posts

i get how you feel, but yeah wait for TLOU , or try some games that prioritize with multiplayer, maybe you might have fun with these types of games
tripleB
post Feb 5 2018, 10:12 AM

201 posts

I don't think it's possible to create a new gaming mechanic in today's gaming landscape and still make an impact. Most of the games available today would have been derived from an existing genre.

In 2D, we already have platforming, run and gun, 1 on 1 fighting, scrolling beat 'em up, vertical shooter, horizontal shooter, isometric shooter, puzzle games, sports games, racing games and variants of these genres.

In the 3D era, we have the same genres as above, except they're now in 3D. The only unique contribution in 3D are first person shooters and third person shooters. Resident Evil 4 shook it up a bit with a close, over the shoulder shooting camera. Halo popularized the "rest to heal" mechanic and 2-weapon system. And Gears of War popularized the cover mechanic.

For a while, we had "alternative" games like the Konami rhythm games. We had dancing, guitar, drums, etc. But that genre also became stale due to overexposure by the Guitar Hero games.

I think the issue is that as gamers, we have been exposed to these gameplay concept for too long. That's why every once in a while, when something like Guitar Hero comes along, they become hits, because gamers want something new. But due to gamer fatigue, it also went out of style. Even God of War was considered unique for a while, until people got tired of the same mechanics. That's why the new God of War switched up the gameplay, so that it feels fresh again.

I do want to see something that excites me again, but it's getting tougher to do that.
cstkl1
post Feb 5 2018, 10:24 AM

6,799 posts

the problem is consoles

look at the new released games lately

all priced console like RM199 minimum with full deluxe etc etc going up to RM350

its especially evident in games that are totally cross platform anime/jap games..

ppl are still buying it.

and then u got another end
dumbass who support bad devs with subpar graphics like PUBG.
its still going on strong.

also.. so many of this crazy expensive games still want to do microtransaction inside so u can sort of get a head ( just get a damn trainer if u want to do that)
or they force those that dont to grind endless hours of repetitive shit...

TSlittlegamer
post Feb 5 2018, 10:41 AM

666 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 5 2018, 10:24 AM)
the problem is consoles

all priced console like RM199 minimum with full deluxe etc etc going up to RM350

its especially evident in games that are totally cross platform anime/jap games..

ppl are still buying it.

also.. so many of this crazy expensive games still want to do microtransaction inside so u can sort of get a head ( just get a damn trainer if u want to do that)
I don't think it is console or public's bad taste it the issue. Most of the hardware now are able to sustain major engines that won't limit creators idea. I personally find black desert a graphically terrible game yet many still think it is the prettiest game, their game play is nothing more than baiting players into spending and I don't think is that gameplay unique either.

I feel that is either players are harder to get into hype or creators aren't as innovative as before. Some sequel are good, but I just want to see a brand new title with no reference of main series and being unique by its own, the world ends with you is one of the game that I feel is unique until today
cstkl1
post Feb 5 2018, 10:57 AM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 5 2018, 10:41 AM)
I don't think it is console or public's bad taste it the issue. Most of the hardware now are able to sustain major engines that won't limit creators idea. I personally find black desert a graphically terrible game yet many still think it is the prettiest game, their game play is nothing more than baiting players into spending and I don't think is that gameplay unique either.

I feel that is either players are harder to get into hype or creators aren't as innovative as before.  Some sequel are good, but I just want to see a brand new title with no reference of main series and being unique by its own, the world ends with you  is one of the game that I feel is unique until today
for every dx released had a major graphical tech

dx12 .. only api optimization was used
the current state of games hardly has used the full dx12 graphical enchancement which result in
1. gpu atm are OP hence manufac like nvidia been on a milking spree. pretty sure their r&d for next two gen of cards are already paid for
2. we are stuck in the current rut. all games lookalike and more games now going for cartoon realism
3. mercy at nvidia gamework crap. which we all know wont run fine until 1-2 gen next card after da game is released
4. indie devs now makes tons of cash with beta/early release.

gaming hardware stuff
i am suprised malaysian dont show middle finger to razer CEO.

theres been razer hardcore following here since da donkey years from parrallel imports etc from their shitty break after one month period.
he now only acknowledges he should launch a store here.
theres more gamers here than sg hands down.

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Feb 5 2018, 12:24 PM
miyakochan89
post Feb 5 2018, 11:05 AM

Wut?
6,725 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 5 2018, 10:24 AM)
the problem is consoles

ppl are still buying it.

Sometimes it's not just the game itself, consoles, hardwares or whatever. Good marketing is good marketing. There are tons of Indie games out there that has amazing mechanics/storyline/gameplays (depending which is of your liking) and yet they are never discovered by people. It takes a good marketing to sell games, create hype and any simple game with brainless gameplay can become the next big thing. It's nothing personal at the end of the day, it's just business. Gaming companies still want to make money in the end.

cstkl1
post Feb 5 2018, 12:13 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 5 2018, 11:05 AM)
Sometimes it's not just the game itself, consoles, hardwares or whatever. Good marketing is good marketing. There are tons of Indie games out there that has amazing mechanics/storyline/gameplays (depending which is of your liking) and yet they are never discovered by people. It takes a good marketing to sell games, create hype and any simple game with brainless gameplay can become the next big thing. It's nothing personal at the end of the day, it's just business. Gaming companies still want to make money in the end.
da issue now is da content and pricing

i seriously cannot believe ppl like pubg when a game like EVOLVE was so good and cheap, they all got put off with mocrotransaction for skins.

rainbow 6 was awesome from day one but only bevame popular lately.

crazy wei ppl paying 300 for a full game

miyakochan89
post Feb 5 2018, 12:34 PM

Wut?
6,725 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 5 2018, 12:13 PM)
da issue now is da content and pricing

i seriously cannot believe ppl like pubg when a game like EVOLVE was so good and cheap, they all got put off with mocrotransaction for skins.

rainbow 6 was awesome from day one but only bevame popular lately.

crazy wei ppl paying 300 for a full game
Who cares about content and pricing, if you are hardcore and you know it's not worth it then you can opt not to purchase or wait until the cheap cheap Steam sales.

But for the rest of the people, the hype is good enough to drive demands and when demand is high = high prices.

At the end of the day, to the developers it's just business! Least amount of effort + effective hype/marketing = WIN! Because let's be honest here, a lot of games have the same concept as PUBG and some even have better mechanics and etc, but hey, PUBG marketing works and the hype moves the game. Nothing we can do about it honestly.

With all that said, there are still decent developers who genuinely care about their contents.

This post has been edited by miyakochan89: Feb 5 2018, 12:34 PM
cstkl1
post Feb 5 2018, 12:42 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(miyakochan89 @ Feb 5 2018, 12:34 PM)
Who cares about content and pricing, if you are hardcore and you know it's not worth it then you can opt not to purchase or wait until the cheap cheap Steam sales.

But for the rest of the people, the hype is good enough to drive demands and when demand is high = high prices.

At the end of the day, to the developers it's just business! Least amount of effort + effective hype/marketing = WIN! Because let's be honest here, a lot of games have the same concept as PUBG and some even have better mechanics and etc, but hey, PUBG marketing works and the hype moves the game. Nothing we can do about it honestly.

With all that said, there are still decent developers who genuinely care about their contents.
name me 3 games and dev that had good content and pricing to match in 2017

TSlittlegamer
post Feb 5 2018, 02:19 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 5 2018, 10:57 AM)
for every dx released had a major graphical tech

dx12 .. only api optimization was used
the current state of games hardly has used the full dx12 graphical enchancement which result in
1. gpu atm are OP hence manufac like nvidia been on a milking spree. pretty sure their r&d for next two gen of cards are already paid for
2. we are stuck in the current rut. all games lookalike and more games now going for cartoon realism
3. mercy at nvidia gamework crap. which we all know wont run fine until 1-2 gen next card after da game is released
4. indie devs now makes tons of cash with beta/early release.

gaming hardware stuff
i am suprised malaysian dont show middle finger to razer CEO.

theres been razer hardcore following here since da donkey years from parrallel imports etc from their shitty break after one month period.
he now only acknowledges he should launch a store here.
theres more gamers here than sg hands down.
I think we are swaying our of topic, what i mean is that most modern hardware can sustain nowadays modern 3d realism. You don't need a gtx 1080 to run AAA games, it won't be at satisfactory settings. And tbh we cant be bother how cooperates marketing scheme works, as for technology available now, there isn't much games with new ideas, is always sequel or another game with same genre just different add ons.

I'm.not sure why you want to bash razer here, I don't think it is related to current topic. Personally I won't even look at razer products, but it is the consumer choice of what they want. Fancy peripheral are just good to have but does nothing to gaming experience

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Feb 5 2018, 02:21 PM
TSlittlegamer
post Feb 5 2018, 02:24 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 5 2018, 12:42 PM)
name me 3 games and dev that had good content and pricing to match in 2017
I don't really care much of the pricing if they are priced at what they worth. If the game dosent spawn interest in me I don't even pay from the very beginning
Duckies
post Feb 5 2018, 02:25 PM

Rubber Ducky
9,804 posts

Actually rather than a new mechanic or gameplay, I would prefer if they focus on the story/plot itself. I think that is what drives me to play the game.

Hands on to The Witcher 3, The Last of Us and Uncharted series for their plot.

Graphic wise is good to see but at the end of the day that is not what's pulling me to the game. It won't make me "Wow I need to play this game because the graphic is so nice!"

This post has been edited by Duckies: Feb 5 2018, 02:26 PM
cstkl1
post Feb 5 2018, 04:07 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 5 2018, 02:24 PM)
I don't really care much of the pricing if they are priced at what they worth. If the game dosent spawn interest in me I don't even pay from the very beginning
let me put it in simple terms..

more ppl just pay for crap and bitch later
but keep doing dat cycle..

makes game devs think they can cut short on testing a fully working game.

example...
this nvidia sponsored games. the game dev has the damn game. has the latest gpu sponsored by nvidia.. but launches buggy ( cause the game dev share holders.. they need to appease.) and they known gamers are dumbass to buy them ( aka FF fans, etc etc).. they will launch it and then over the next two years they will fix it while charging a ridonculous price only to be slashed in 3 months. They know ppl will buy first cause again there's always something in da next 3 months and most ppl will finish single player games in a week or less.

some take it further with ridonculous short content or paid dlc if u want longer content...

so this cycle is controlled by ppl who spend. not da game devs. in da past pc gamers wont stand for dis crap. but lately nobody cares

This post has been edited by cstkl1: Feb 5 2018, 04:07 PM
TSlittlegamer
post Feb 5 2018, 04:29 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 5 2018, 04:07 PM)
let me put it in simple terms..

more ppl just pay for crap and bitch later
but keep doing dat cycle..

makes game devs think they can cut short on testing a fully working game.

example...
this nvidia sponsored games. the game dev has the damn game. has the latest gpu sponsored by nvidia.. but  launches buggy ( cause the game dev share holders.. they need to appease.) and they known gamers are dumbass to buy them ( aka FF fans, etc etc).. they will launch it and then over the next two years they will fix it while charging a ridonculous price only to be slashed in 3 months. They know ppl will buy first cause again there's always something in da next 3 months and most ppl will finish single player games in a week or less.

some take it further with ridonculous short content or paid dlc if u want longer content...

so this cycle is controlled by ppl who spend. not da game devs. in da past pc gamers wont stand for dis crap. but lately nobody cares
Thanks for your input, criticizing others bad taste dosent justify that the game is bad. Nor do I not agree most game dev now have bad marketing practices and is partially due to player base. Not supporting bad games won't directly result in better new original games.

The main point of this thread is, there are lack of original series and idea in game industry. You can't say that the players are causing it. if game dev ask me what do I want, I will simply reply: I don't know, please make something that wows me. Simply to say we gamers don't know what we want, we just want that fresh element.

cstkl1
post Feb 5 2018, 04:59 PM

6,799 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 5 2018, 04:29 PM)
Thanks for your input, criticizing others bad taste dosent justify that the game is bad. Nor do I not agree most game dev now have bad marketing practices and is partially due to player base. Not supporting bad games won't directly result in better new original games.

The main point of this thread is, there are lack of original series and idea in game industry. You can't say that the players are causing it.  if game dev ask me what do I want, I will simply reply: I don't know, please make something that wows me. Simply to say we gamers don't know what we want, we just want that fresh element.
its a problem dude.

not on bad taste... dats on pubg only..

its the AAA games that been launching lately or some subpar indie game now all asking early release at insane prices

as for their exact feeling.. u will see it later reflected in the steam reviews.

the difference with now and then is.. ppl are ok with this kinda of pricing.

hakimix
post Feb 5 2018, 05:02 PM

66 posts

Where's Peter Molyneux when you need him? tongue.gif

I think there are some new interesting concepts and innovations on the VR side of things but other than that yeah we can see that with the current remakes,remasters and sequels and all that. I can still take remakes though especially for Resident Evil 2 and FFVII. About games that I'm looking forward, Kingdom Come is trying to do some kind of new combat mechanics but it still looks like a derivatives of Mount and Blade. I'm still not sure how Ghost of Tsushima will play but I think it will be just like Tenchu. I'm not sure with Death Stranding though as it can go either way with Kojima. Other than that all of my anticipated games are sequels or games that focus more on story-telling than innovation of gameplay.
TSlittlegamer
post Feb 5 2018, 06:56 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(cstkl1 @ Feb 5 2018, 04:59 PM)
its a problem dude.

not on bad taste... dats on pubg only..

its the AAA games that been launching lately or some subpar indie game now all asking early release at insane prices

as for their exact feeling..  u will see it later reflected in the steam reviews.

the difference with now and then is.. ppl are ok with this kinda of pricing.
i agree, AAA games launched recently just dosent meet their hype, either by bad game or bad micro transaction. What we can do as player to pressure the game dev to improve the situation is by not pre ordering, not buying into their microtransaction and merchandise. But this can only help in improving game quality, still it dosent make an impact directly to game dev to development brand new series. Brand new series normally is a risk for game dev, as they have no fan base, concept is new and untested along with other factors. i just wish to see a brand new game name with totally different gameplay or story. The only game dev i can think of is Atlus, aside from the mainstream Persona , they have devil survivor, shin megami tensei and catherine<-espcially catherine, is so weird that game yet is not bad, it is not mind blowing but entertaining when is new at the time of release.

This post has been edited by littlegamer: Feb 5 2018, 06:57 PM
svfn
post Feb 5 2018, 09:55 PM

500 posts

QUOTE(hakimix @ Feb 5 2018, 05:02 PM)
Where's Peter Molyneux when you need him?  tongue.gif

I think there are some new interesting concepts and innovations on the VR side of things but other than that yeah we can see that with the current remakes,remasters and sequels and all that. I can still take remakes though especially for Resident Evil 2 and FFVII. About games that I'm looking forward, Kingdom Come is trying to do some kind of new combat mechanics but it still looks like a derivatives of Mount and Blade. I'm still not sure how Ghost of Tsushima will play but I think it will be just like Tenchu. I'm not sure with Death Stranding though as it can go either way with Kojima. Other than that all of my anticipated games are sequels or games that focus more on story-telling than innovation of gameplay.
haha wasn't Peter Molyneux also slammed for over promising too much back then? i do miss these defunct game studios like Bullfrog, Blizzard North, Westwood, Interplay, old Bioware and Looking Glass Studios. the 90s-2000s was like a Golden Era of PC gaming for people old enough to experience all 3 eras. that was the era where groundbreaking game mechanics and tech were introduced and still influence a lot of games today.

if you noticed publishers like to milk the old IPs because of nostalgia, the remastered trend continues. even new Homeworld game DoK did not push new ground in RTS unlike the first game, in fact it became more simplified tbh. the popular IPs are a safe bet for publishers i guess, but it does leave fans expecting improvement in gameplay depth sad, because all that is improved is graphics.

indie games fare much better, and i prefer playing them more too because even though the scope is small and graphics not demanding, there are some gems that hook me like it used to with old games i've enjoyed. indie devs do take some risks too especially when it's a 1 man or small group project, and sometimes the risk pays off when they tried a new concept and the game manage to sell well with good reviews.

i agree with the AAA pricing though, i've not yet found a AAA game worth buying at full $60+ price after 2011, these days Steam sales are pretty often and new titles drop price quite soon. AAA titles are also very recycled like you said, filled with lots of side quest fluff and it feels more like a chore to play it, and never manage to finish the game.

"PC Games peaked somewhere between 1997 and 2002. That was our golden age. It was after the stone age of DOS, but before the four horsemen of bugs, DRM, graphics fixation, and console-itis came in and made a mess of things."
https://www.shamusyoung.com/twentysidedtale/?p=1861

This post has been edited by svfn: Feb 5 2018, 09:58 PM
hakimix
post Feb 6 2018, 01:20 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(svfn @ Feb 5 2018, 09:55 PM)

indie games fare much better, and i prefer playing them more too because even though the scope is small and graphics not demanding, there are some gems that hook me like it used to with old games i've enjoyed. indie devs do take some risks too especially when it's a 1 man or small group project, and sometimes the risk pays off when they tried a new concept and the game manage to sell well with good reviews.
Thing is it's kind of tiring sifting through the indie shovelware just to get to the good stuff - to separate wheat from chaff. I've become disillusioned when one after another project fail or fall short of the promise. Heck even Maia is still not 1.0 and full of bugs and I kind of give up on it. For indie games, I'm just looking for projects that are done by experienced/veteran devs like the skateboard game Session. I know it's unfair but I kind of burnt out on that front.

This post has been edited by hakimix: Feb 6 2018, 01:22 AM
sleyer
post Feb 6 2018, 08:24 PM

829 posts

all good game are in crowdfunding .. need to wait few year just to play alpha ..
SUSsniperz
post Feb 6 2018, 10:38 PM

2,464 posts

FFXV : Windows Edition is a worthy buy for the current next-gen games though :3
TSlittlegamer
post Feb 6 2018, 10:51 PM

666 posts

QUOTE(sniperz @ Feb 6 2018, 10:38 PM)
FFXV : Windows Edition is a worthy buy for the current next-gen games though :3
FFXV is more like giant tech demo than an actual game, i played it on PS4, the main gameplay last about 20 hours, and still need to pay for dlc. a 10 year delayed game at that price is a rip off. having to play it at 4K texture is for eye candy, it is an very overrated game nonetheless.
SUSsniperz
post Feb 8 2018, 04:55 PM

2,464 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 6 2018, 10:51 PM)
FFXV is more like giant tech demo than an actual game, i played it on PS4, the main gameplay last about 20 hours, and still need to pay for dlc. a 10 year delayed game at that price is a rip off. having to play it at 4K texture is for eye candy, it is an very overrated game nonetheless.
I think you have take it slow and enjoy all the DLC's and I'm sure PC gamers are more happy than PS4 because the release date is way too different. I'll probably be happy with the porting because it's possible now that more FF series are at Steam!
Meis
post Feb 9 2018, 04:48 AM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

The Triple A syndrome.
skylinelover
post Feb 11 2018, 11:58 AM

Future Crypto Player😄👊Driver Abamsado😎😎
11,265 posts

QUOTE(Meis @ Feb 9 2018, 04:48 AM)
The Triple A syndrome.
With loot boxes aka gambling doh.gif doh.gif This worst than DRM fiasco doh.gif doh.gif
hayrol
post Feb 11 2018, 12:18 PM

128 posts

QUOTE(Meis @ Feb 9 2018, 04:48 AM)
The Triple A syndrome.
^^This.
Just look with those f***ing EA & Activision-Blizzard.
Screw all RNG lootbox.

This post has been edited by hayrol: Feb 11 2018, 12:19 PM
Meis
post Feb 11 2018, 10:20 PM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

Game like Travian is a good example of reviving the dead genre, the text-based web browser genre... Utopia.

I wish there are more of that.

This post has been edited by Meis: Feb 11 2018, 10:21 PM
Meis
post Feb 11 2018, 11:13 PM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

This game is very story driven. It reminds of Final Fantasy Tactics... that sob story.

Personally, I like indie games. Not a big fan of Triple A... with exceptions like BioShock series. I don't think Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is a Triple A title.

Masquerada: Songs and Shadows - made by a Singaporean developer

They Are Billions is a decent game too.
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL2J2...lW9f4oAKBFVWckP

Oxygen Not Included
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLOvW...pEklADWXnsz14ju

This post has been edited by Meis: Feb 11 2018, 11:56 PM
Convael
post Feb 12 2018, 05:03 AM

1,109 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 6 2018, 10:51 PM)
Oh no , FFXV is not the most perfect game ever released ?

How dare you say that on lowyat forum ranting.gif vmad.gif

Do you know we have many , many, many FF Fanbois here . All that Final Fantasy nostalgia has blinded them , made them angry , made them "appreciate " how much SquareEnix is trying to milk the brand. Final Fantasy XV pocket edition ? Final Fantasy XV Mobile games ?FFXV Fishing VR game ?

If you dare criticizing FFXV in any sort of way , be prepared for the consequence . For eg , I have gotten Death threats & Suicide Threats from Lowyat PM just by saying FFXV is less than perfect. According to these fanbois logics , I should be GRATEFUL because Square Enix is trying to make me pay for even m0ar DLC after the first season pass , but not the fact that they couldn't finish the game 16 months after its initial release date.

I am not your FF hateboi. I went to almost every activity FF15 had in Malaysia , from their conference in KLCC to the launch party in BTS , where they were showing quite some Malaysian developers and Studio actively participating in creating the game. Made me all teary in the eyes for a while . And my negative experience of FF15 has nothing to do with them, these folks in Malaysia have definitely did a great job throughout the development rclxms.gif

Despite of all these , the game is still a trainwreck in almost every other aspects beside the graphics /musics.
Scrapping off Stella and replace her with the generic Luna , biggest villains in the game miraculously vanished without explanation , the railroad driving was just an annoying way to waste your time ( until they fixed it in the recent patch ) . Side quests are bland and poorly designed , hideous amount of Summons . And through countless patches of attempts to fix many of these issues , it is still far from ideal.

Honestly , at this point FFXV is just a shame of the brand 's name . Royal Edition ? HAHAHAHA , they are making more DLC just to milk your wallet , what's the point of even buying a Season Pass to begin with ? One Season pass alone is not enough to fix the game , they need more .

They were supposed to move 10 millions copies of the game to make profit, but they only end up shipping roughly a total of 5-6 millions copies . The game has also garnered incredible amount of negative feedback from Amazon Japan , where many of the Japanese hate the game so passionately as far as to calling it " Betrayal of Square Enix ". All of these have made SquareEnix desperate.

And on top of all of these disasters , do you know the game was marketed as Queerbait ? (Yea they called it Bromance or w/e )
The writer is fairly new and she has done works mostly for Yaoi and BL VN games. This has got to be the biggest joke from Square Enix for a while.

This post has been edited by Convael: Feb 12 2018, 05:46 AM
TSlittlegamer
post Feb 12 2018, 09:29 AM

666 posts

QUOTE(Convael @ Feb 12 2018, 05:03 AM)
Oh no ,  FFXV is not the most perfect game ever released ?

How dare you say that on lowyat forum  ranting.gif vmad.gif

Do you know we have many , many, many  FF Fanbois here .  All that Final Fantasy nostalgia has blinded them , made them angry , made them "appreciate " how much SquareEnix is trying to milk the brand. Final Fantasy XV pocket edition ? Final Fantasy XV Mobile games ?FFXV Fishing VR game ?

If you dare criticizing FFXV in any sort of way , be prepared for the consequence . For eg , I have gotten Death threats & Suicide Threats from Lowyat PM just by saying FFXV is less than perfect.  According to these fanbois logics , I should be GRATEFUL because Square Enix is trying to make me pay for even m0ar DLC after the first season pass , but not the fact that  they couldn't finish the game 16 months after its initial release date.
I am not your FF hateboi. I went to almost every activity FF15 had in Malaysia , from their conference in KLCC to the launch party in BTS  , where they were showing quite some Malaysian developers and Studio actively participating in creating the game. Made me all teary in the eyes for a while . And my negative experience of FF15 has nothing to do with them, these folks in Malaysia have definitely did a great job throughout the development rclxms.gif
Despite of all these ,  the game is still a trainwreck in almost every other aspects beside the graphics /musics.
Scrapping off Stella and replace her with the generic Luna , biggest villains in the game miraculously vanished without explanation , the railroad driving was just an annoying way to waste your time ( until they fixed it in the recent patch ) . Side quests are bland and poorly designed , hideous amount of Summons . And through countless patches of attempts to fix many of these issues  , it is still far from ideal.
Honestly , at this point FFXV is just a shame of the brand 's name . Royal Edition ? HAHAHAHA , they are making more DLC just to milk your wallet , what's the point of even buying a Season Pass to begin with ?  One Season pass alone is not enough to fix the game , they need more .

They were supposed to move 10 millions copies of the game to make profit, but they only end up shipping roughly a total of 5-6 millions copies  . The game has also garnered incredible amount of negative feedback from Amazon Japan , where many of the Japanese hate the game so passionately as far as to calling it " Betrayal of Square Enix ".  All of these have made SquareEnix desperate.
And on top of all of these disasters , do you know the game was marketed as Queerbait ? (Yea they called it Bromance or w/e )
The writer is fairly new and she has done works mostly for Yaoi and BL VN games. This has got to be the biggest joke from Square Enix for a while.
Wow that's quite an explanation. For most of it I do agree......
I will give credit to the the game visuals and music (I'm not a music person I but I think the music are ok). The characters there are uninteresting, generic at best. Noctis is brat, and the yellow head happy go lucky boy, a macho and mature man, and another cool and strategic guy. I can't even remember their names....... YAOI? I think their friendship is like child's play, I don't feel their bond at all, the spec guy went blind, they were like.... OK that's bad, let's go on like nothing happen, small quarrel here and there. Dlc talks about their back story, the game tells so little and uninteresting they are I forgo the Dlc, because I know I gonna be boring
TSlittlegamer
post Feb 12 2018, 09:31 AM

666 posts

QUOTE(Meis @ Feb 11 2018, 11:13 PM)
This game is very story driven. It reminds of Final Fantasy Tactics... that sob story.

Personally, I like indie games. Not a big fan of Triple A... with exceptions like BioShock series. I don't think Amnesia: A Machine for Pigs is a Triple A title.

Masquerada: Songs and Shadows - made by a Singaporean developer

They Are Billions is a decent game too.
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL2J2...lW9f4oAKBFVWckP

Oxygen Not Included
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLOvW...pEklADWXnsz14ju

Thanks this is something I'm looking for!!!

Meis
post Feb 13 2018, 11:26 PM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

QUOTE(littlegamer @ Feb 12 2018, 09:31 AM)
Thanks this is something I'm looking for!!!
Subscribe to ChristopherOdd channel. Worth it.

Amnesia is created by indie developer from Sweden --- Frictional Games

I'll choose indie in any day really. Indie FTW.

Cyberpunk, psychological, atmospheric horror

My top fav - Transhumanism, sci-fi, psychological, survival horror
Also from the indie developer from Sweden --- Frictional Games

Some weird and arty indie?!? Fyi, adventure game genre is half dead.

Jazzpunk
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=aNGVXkUz8v8
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=wEnFDqy8-sc..._bp6Oju9wk5Hosm

Off-Peak
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=42KC49J09AM..._bp6Oju9wk5Hosm
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=vp1Mkc0aVbs

Sequel to Off-Peak
https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=FXjUXQ7Rheo..._bp6Oju9wk5Hosm

If you're into Oxygen Not Included, you should check out RimWorld, The Swindle and AntiHero.

https://www.youtube.com/watch?v=s3yVfSa86s8...inCNXoyBZaZnkgk

This post has been edited by Meis: Feb 14 2018, 12:15 AM
Meis
post Feb 20 2018, 10:29 AM

Thinker & Real Patriot
3,077 posts

Thief is one of the finest in the stealth genre.

Why AAA sucks?

Former staffs from Looking Glass created Deus Ex series.

https://en.wikipedia.org/wiki/Looking_Glass_Studios

https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PL84D69322BC1477D2
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLyRg...uxoC3ZiWDRQ3m6Q
https://www.youtube.com/playlist?list=PLjRn...h0t9ujyp9tQRT4J

This post has been edited by Meis: Feb 20 2018, 11:13 AM
H4XF4XTOR
post Feb 20 2018, 11:32 AM

【ツ】PANDAMON 【ツ】
3,081 posts

until this cycle is broken, you can expect nothing.

0.0220sec    0.50    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 20th December 2025 - 08:23 PM