xxboxx
post May 5 2007, 09:54 PM

The mind is for having ideas, not holding them
5,261 posts

QUOTE(mzaidi @ May 4 2007, 09:35 AM)
Xbox 360 Marketplace Territory Controls Strengthened
Source

Does this means Malaysian can't download any contents from any region's marketplace anymore after the Spring Update since we technically have an account that does not match the country where we are located?  blink.gif

if judging by the news, it seems that not only the movie show are being blocked, as the case of mentioning German country. as many will know, German have ban quite alot of 360 games, e.g GoW. it's a big possibilities that games content will also be blocked. if going by technical, i see 2 probabilities how they implement the controls, e.g for US account:

1. if the country is not US, all the content will be blocked.
2. if the country in the supported country show the country's marketplace, otherwise show the marketplace according to the account.

there are possibilities for the number 2, since MS didn't partners with the unsupported country they doesn't need to do any control for that country. this is if MS being lenient. otherwise we'll end up scourging for tunneling server. so better start pray2 it will be implemented like the number 2.

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ May 4 2007, 10:09 PM)
So we have to wait for official announcement. Like someone pointed out, there are alot of US soldier located in Iraq etc etc who also play Xb360. (quite a large sum of Halo 2 players are in the Army!)

who's that dork that say such thing? tongue.gif that only apply if connecting to LIVE, if i understand what that dork trying to say.
unfortunately it's not that simple. yeah, he's a US citizen, but he still need to abide by the country law he's currently in. US you can freely go to any video store and buy adult movie, if in SG you think can ar? like game content for GoW, German already ban the game, surely the German don't want their people still can download GoW content by manipulating the 360 account. if the people can manipulate, the blame will falls to MS.

EDIT: from the other thread
Michael Newey: While we do not advise or condone this since a user who does this is technically breaking a contractual agreement, users with this type of account will still be able to use it. However, they will not be able to download content from Xbox Live Marketplace.
yup, sayonara marketplace. now we can't even download from SG marketplace. no more extra maps or gamer picture. anyone know any good tunneling server?

This post has been edited by xxboxx: May 5 2007, 10:10 PM
xxboxx
post May 18 2007, 09:13 PM

5,261 posts

it's not even 1GB or 512MB, it's just 1MB or 512KB. tongue.gif this when most other Asian country are running on 10MB connection....
xxboxx
post May 27 2007, 11:45 AM

5,261 posts

Valve won't charge for DLC
If you're looking forward to Half Life 2: Orange Box, it will come as good news to hear that Valve have no intention of scraping the barrel for money when it comes to additional content. They told Eurogamer they have no intention of charging users for any of the content they put out.

Team Fortress 2 designer Robin Walker told Eurogamer:

"You buy the product, you get the content. We make more money because more people buy it, not because we try and nickel-and-dime the same customers."

In relation to DLC, Valve's Charlie Brown also added:

"[In multiplayer games] the content you're playing is being created by the players you're playing against, so the more people that get into the game, the more content you're going to have.

And finally, Valve's marketing director Doug Lombardi had the following to say:

"Our philosophy there is, if you buy the product, we put more content out to keep the game interesting, we sell more products. Counter-Strike is number one and has been since '99 because we kept the game interesting, not because we tried to charge people more, and that's come back in sales of Counter-Strike."

This is all good to hear because it's nice to know that not every developer and publisher is out there to milk consumers as much as possible. However, it seems too good to be true.

Cast your mind back a few months and you will remember Epic promised the same thing. They promised to release maps that would be free from day one for gamers who wanted to add a little bit more to the excellent Gears of War. However, come the time for release, all has been changed and the maps, as we all know, cost 800 MS Points until September when they will be made free (admittedly two were released free, but they were sponsored).

It's clear that Microsoft have an overruling hand in DLC content and the prices they should be. So despite Valve saying DLC will be free, don't get all excited just yet. They may well have been talking about PC content and possibly PS3 content being free, rather than specifically 360 content. Either way, promises of free content, in this day and age, can never be taken seriously until the content is finally released.

There are of course other ways to make money and Valve have recognised this. They are thinking that in-game advertising might just work, and many people would certainly prefer that than have to pay for the extra stuff.

Don't hold your breath for free DLC, but do know that at least Valve have the best intentions. We will see what happens after the the Orange Box ships sometime in October (hopefully).

xxboxx
post Jun 10 2007, 11:39 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Jun 10 2007, 06:56 PM)
is it possible to obtain updates without connecting to live? i havent bought the wireless adapter yet
http://www.xbox.com/en-US/support/systemus...stemupdates.htm

download and burn. smile.gif
xxboxx
post Jun 11 2007, 08:36 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(SweetTooth @ Jun 11 2007, 12:26 AM)
^
thanks a lot!
what updates are those? i need game updates basically
thats for the dashboard update. there's no way to get a game update without connecting to LIVE.
xxboxx
post Aug 26 2007, 02:04 PM

5,261 posts

there's an update for the console? i'm now downloading it.
xxboxx
post Aug 26 2007, 02:12 PM

5,261 posts

well, i didn't online for a month... is there any update on this month?

Added on August 26, 2007, 2:14 pmbtw, is an console update

This post has been edited by xxboxx: Aug 26 2007, 02:14 PM
xxboxx
post Aug 31 2007, 09:03 AM

5,261 posts

you can change your type of renewal. so if using CC, then use one of those live card will override and delete the CC info?
xxboxx
post Sep 22 2007, 08:20 AM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Sep 21 2007, 09:59 AM)
It's just a small update for the upcoming game 'scene it'.
Today the team is releasing a minor system update via Xbox Live. Over the next few hours, when you sign in to Xbox LIVE, you'll receive a prompt to accept this mandatory update. What's in this update? Much like the update last month, the only thing this minor release will do is prepare your Xbox 360 for the Big Button Pad that is being released this holiday. Why do we need to release this update now? Simple: The certification team needs time to test the new controller against the retail hardware/software combination before it hits stores.

of course they won't announce it like this: "it's just some new detection method to get those who modded their console, so that those people can be banned. we did it when we're launching halo2, now again for halo3."

major nelson trying to reasoning why the update need to be released now when the game will only hit stores in few months was already a dead giveaway. laugh.gif

xxboxx
post Dec 23 2007, 10:35 AM

5,261 posts

i also cannot. but seems got people can leh
xxboxx
post Feb 8 2008, 08:27 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(PrivateJohn @ Feb 8 2008, 07:52 PM)
COD4 on no.1 again sad.gif Playing Halo with Luna,WussWss & latios as we speak....only got 41,000 players online.
admit it, COD4 is better than Halo3! laugh.gif tongue.gif
xxboxx
post May 4 2008, 08:27 PM

5,261 posts

QUOTE(dark lenanza @ May 4 2008, 04:37 PM)
guys
im so fcuking piss off now

last night suddently i disconnect from live
until now..still cannot login

anyone try celcom broadband to live
now at my office had a promotion

RM120 permonth for 2 years + free modem
hmm.gif

celcom broadband is on 3g rite?
sure lags because ping too high.