Nvidia Shield TV 2017

voncrane
post Dec 14 2018, 04:17 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(xphr3ak @ Dec 14 2018, 04:15 PM)
Do you mean, we can't play GeforceNOW games at all?
I planned to buy a game controller.
Can.. But not a smooth experience for most. That can be rectified if they had Asian servers.. This is my understanding. Owners, do correct if wrong..
voncrane
post Feb 1 2019, 04:30 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(ukiya21 @ Feb 1 2019, 11:45 AM)
Anyone used this like tvbox... what those iptv..... Want plan to buy... but scared dont know how to *ahem ahem* for those astro channel
The Nvidia Shield is not a "tvbox"... No one buys the Shield for the reasons you are in here.
voncrane
post Feb 3 2019, 11:36 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(AVFAN @ Feb 3 2019, 12:08 PM)

this is happening to all kodi 17.6 users.

the only way to stop the auto upgrade is to do it in playstore settings.

but that will stop ALL updates, which is no good.
I actually prefer manually accepting to update apps even those from the Play Store.. Specifically for such reasons. .I only update "critical" apps if i'm sure the update won't break the current setup and or it's a forced update.. Which if not done, can't use the app at all.. Been doing this for years, on mobile devices, PC, etc.. Disabling auto-updating is one of the first things I do after a factory reset or re-flash..
voncrane
post Feb 4 2019, 11:09 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(sonypshomer @ Feb 4 2019, 10:42 AM)
Which setting in google store to disable?
Launch Play Store > Settings > General > Auto-update apps > Select "Don't auto-update apps".
voncrane
post Feb 19 2019, 09:32 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(ukiya21 @ Feb 19 2019, 06:12 PM)
Using plex... i think plex is much more easier to setup for my home collection. .
That's the whole point of Plex.. Sacrifice raw AV quality for some though..
voncrane
post Jun 25 2019, 12:37 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jun 25 2019, 11:54 AM)
My Kodi stopped working a few days ago. When I launch it I get a black/grey screen and nothing happens. Cleared cache and I saw it loading with the Kodi logo and then back to the black screen. Anyone face this problem? Do I need to uninstall and reinstall Kodi?
Most likely. Now if you enabled logging .. You might be able to decipher what might have corrupted the booting and fix it.. Typically some corrupt file or dbase, etc.. This be why it's good to keep backups handy.. Say once per week at minimum. Just automate it and there will always be a backup to restore on a fresh install.
voncrane
post Jun 30 2019, 11:39 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jun 26 2019, 10:40 AM)
Don't know how to enable logging and may not understand the logs anyway. Will try uninstalling first and see if it works. Thanks.
A re-install should clear it right up.. How did it go?
voncrane
post Jul 1 2019, 12:59 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jul 1 2019, 11:36 AM)
Reinstalled and it worked for awhile but its now back to the grey screen. The only thing I use in Kodi is to link it to my NAS for videos, music and photos. Quite strange that its crashing.
How do I do the logging and troubleshoot? Enable developer status and there seems to be a lot of logging related options. Any guides on what to do next?
Yep.. For just that? It's a bit strange... For logging and viewing.. You can use the Kodi logs uploader addon.. Then check the logs for the error. Googling it might bring up others who've suffered the same issue and possibly solved it. However, i did do some light reading. I assume you are using the latest Kodi V18.3? As there were reports about issues with the Shield & SMB protocol used. Did you use Shield's "connect" or created through Kodi?
voncrane
post Jul 1 2019, 07:44 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(gobiomani @ Jul 1 2019, 05:48 PM)
Mine is 18.2 and I'm using NFS not SMB. Will try to reinstall and use the logs uploader addon. I'm not sure what that bolded part means.
Try installing the latest Kodi version... The bold part referred to 2 ways to set up NAS connectivity.. Either using the Shield's settings OR through Kodi itself. I don't own the device itself and so can't troubleshoot between those 2.. Wish you luck.
voncrane
post Sep 12 2019, 01:24 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(ohumayun @ Sep 12 2019, 01:12 PM)
Thanks but the issue is I'm stuck on the first setup page.. I cannot even setup the language much less access the main page sad.gif
If you have a regular PC mouse laying around.. Hook it up.. It should work, at minimum for navigating around. While you figure out how if the remote is physically broken or it's a software issue.
voncrane
post Sep 13 2019, 07:57 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(FaezFarhan @ Sep 13 2019, 03:41 AM)
Can install Astro GO on Shield?
Yes and it works.
voncrane
post Sep 13 2019, 10:43 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(alucard89 @ Sep 13 2019, 09:56 AM)
At least until next shield comes out 😅
It’s due for an upgrade
Haha.. It's long overdue for an upgrade. Nvidia made the Shield TV primarily to show off how their hardware and it's capabilities.. Bet they didn't think it reign over all and for this long. Great for owners though, as support is excellent on account of just one device to focus on.. But yeah, hopefully in a year or 2, they release the Shield 2.. As long as they don't screw it up and improve significantly from the current one, people will have no issues dropping cash for it too.

This post has been edited by voncrane: Sep 13 2019, 10:43 AM
voncrane
post Oct 21 2019, 12:00 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(juzmafia @ Oct 18 2019, 06:11 PM)
Well it is not a dongle either because there is a HDMI port which means that the device can be placed elsewhere. Furthermore, it has Ethernet port..
This model is better option for traveller but if the estimated price is correct then 'good luck' to Nvidia..

Honestly, I'm disappointed with the new Shield TV coz it's not a future proof device..
No HDMI 2.1, only 16GB storage and no usb 3.1..

If the new features especially AI upscaling & Netflix Atmos is exclusive for the new STV then it will be a very sad news for current users especially those who bought the shield few months back.
Even though there is a way to watch Netflix Atmos on current STV via Kodi,  it's not future proof.
I'm fairly disappointed too. Seems as if the folks at Nvidia have let things get to their heads. Believing that they can get away with just a minor bump. Guess the wait will have to continue. Sigh.
voncrane
post Oct 29 2019, 03:01 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

voncrane
post Jan 6 2020, 06:45 AM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(sonicbull @ Jan 6 2020, 06:22 AM)
Hi. If my tv can't support Dolby vision but use Nvidia shield to play Netflix DV, will the DV quality display on my non DV tv?

Eg. Sony 4k tv, x7000g with WCG and HDR10 to use Nvidia shield play Netflix DV shows

Then, for Dolby Atmos, with Nvidia shield I don't need avr with Dolby Atmos to decode right?

Eg. Get a bookshelf speaker for small budget
Hi, I wrote a response to you in the general Android boxes thread.
voncrane
post Nov 19 2020, 11:16 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(chriscym @ Nov 19 2020, 09:28 PM)
may I know what app you use to get in BR menu? As far as I know Kodi can't support this , is it Plex you are using?
I understand that Remux is same as BD iso. Is my understanding correct? If that's the case iso issue is not a big deal.
Yes (Rip encoding dependent), a remux is exact digital copy... 1:1...
voncrane
post Dec 16 2020, 08:54 PM

Noir et fier!
7,118 posts

QUOTE(calvin @ Dec 16 2020, 05:53 PM)
anyone tried ordering the Shield directly from Amazon ? currently its running for $179 rather than its usual $199 , still cheaper after all the shipment and additional charge overhead.

However still a concern if it would be held at the customs or whatnot...
No one can tell the future where customs are concerned... If I told you it's all clear to import and later you kena customs charge? Whatchu gon do? Not pay and ask them to send it back? I don't think so. So basically, if you have done the maths, want the device and no mind to pay? Just do it. The only way to find out if you'll get held is if it's sent.

0.0589sec    0.62    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 27th November 2025 - 02:11 PM