4x4 TYRES & RIMS, knowledge, do's & don'ts

TSJasonist
post Jan 29 2018, 03:21 PM, updated 2y ago

Oldfag
1,176 posts

Guys, especially 4x4 owners who have experience in changing the tyres & rims.. please share your opinions, views & suggestions for rookie like me..
1. currently using stock rims with tyre size 245/70/R16
2. plan to upgrade to a more rugged & sportier rims
3. planning to upgrade to size 265/70/R16 for that "thicker" tyre look
4. preferred rim design in consideration - TE37 (gun metal grey/alloy color), LENSO (Zeus), Fuel Offroad, (any other better recommendations? do feel free to add in, thanks!)

may i know..
1. any changes on fuel consumption after changing the rims & tyres? my current driving pattern with stock wheels earn me an average fuel consumption of around 8.5L per 100km, mostly city drives without much jam..
2. budget matter.. if i put a budget around RM6000, basically what type of rims and tyres can i get?
3. usually i see most ppl who changes the wheels will lift up their ride by few inches, isit really necessary?
4. can i just change the wheels and needless to lift up?

would like to hear more and gain better knowledge here before changing those wheels.. thanks in advance!

This post has been edited by Jasonist: Jul 30 2021, 02:20 PM
TSJasonist
post Jan 29 2018, 03:51 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 29 2018, 03:36 PM)
Just a quick comment.

Changing from 245/70/R16 to 265/70/R16 will sure make your FC go high. The tire is now wider and heavier. IT will also increase your braking distance. If use mostly on tarmac, rugged thread will increase noise to your ears  biggrin.gif

Anyway stay withing manufacturer recommended spec or the insurance will not pay any compensation if anything happened due to modification.
noted & thanks for the feedback.. nod.gif

however, if just change sport rims & wider tyres, insurance also wont cover? blink.gif
TSJasonist
post Jan 29 2018, 04:07 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

QUOTE(Zot @ Jan 29 2018, 03:59 PM)
The manual will tell you what size range for your car. If you go beyond the permissible limit, then if any accident happened the investigation will say that you cannot brake in time because you change the tire size beyond the vehicle brake capability, for example.

If you want more pick-up, then change to bigger wheel and lower profile tire. Less rubber, the lighter to rotate. Wheel has less inertia moment. Again, has to be within spec. Otherwise your speedometer is not correlate to your actual speed.
will take note on this.. especially the speedometer issue is one important factor to consider there.. thanks again! thumbup.gif
TSJasonist
post Jan 30 2018, 02:42 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 30 2018, 11:31 AM)
Changing to larger wheel just add weight.

TS should just find a set of lightweight rims of the same OEM size and keep the current tyre. That will give you noticeable benefits, but don't expect a lot of it.

Bring along a luggage weigh or weighing machine when shopping around, don't feel paiseh or awkward as you are looking for lighten benefits. If end up heavier (unless you really love the design), just keep your current OEM rims. And please select genuine brands instead of replica or copy design. Although many people say they run fine, but when stresses occur, no one knows what will happen as these weren't tested for strength and rigidity....

(A ball park understanding is a reduction of 1kg of rotating mass is equivalent to 3kg (some say up to 7 kg) of curb weigh savings). That is why can get better acceleration, improved braking distance and improved fuel economy, provided you don't widen your tyres)
Thanks for the valuable inputs.. however do u have any specific rim brands in mind for lightweight feature? i wonder basically around how much these lightweight rims will cost though.. my budget is around RM6k for set of rims with tyres included, preferably size 265/70/R16..

been browsing through my instruction manual, it says 265/70/R16 is fine to install so i expect it wont affect much on the speedometer accuracy

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jan 30 2018, 11:38 AM)
1. any changes on fuel consumption after changing the rims & tyres? my current driving pattern with stock wheels earn me an average fuel consumption of around 8.5L per 100km, mostly city drives without much jam..
fuel consumption will be higher.bigger tyre more heavy.but better dry traction and handling.
2. budget matter.. if i put a budget around RM6000, basically what type of rims and tyres can i get?
u can get a lot..265 tyre cost around rm 450-500 for branded tyres like bridgestone/maxxis a/t type.rim usually cost below rm 2000 for lenso.average imported rim are somewhere rm 1300 plus minus
3. usually i see most ppl who changes the wheels will lift up their ride by few inches, isit really necessary?
if u dont change oversize don't have to lift up.because oversize tyre caused rubbing when u turn your steering.unless for aesthetic purpose.some thinks lifting make car nicer.
4. can i just change the wheels and needless to lift up?
usually change 8-8.5j.but it also depend on yr car model and also rim and tyre spec
thanks for the straightforward answers.. learn a lot from here, appreciate it! thumbsup.gif
TSJasonist
post Jan 30 2018, 03:26 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

QUOTE(leehernandez @ Jan 30 2018, 03:03 PM)
do u like black rims?haha..feel black rims looks very sporty on 4x4 and especially the new ford ranger.so garang  biggrin.gif
yup fully agree with u.. it does have certain force while on the roads

i do like black rims, recently i happen to find out about Fuel Offroad rims, those are pretty nice rims.. however not sure they come with 16 inchers though, and wonder how much they will cost too..

or the Lenso Zeus also looks great too

TSJasonist
post Jan 30 2018, 04:36 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

QUOTE(wkc5657 @ Jan 30 2018, 04:15 PM)
From your tyre size, i presume maybe you're driving a triton. If you go 265/70/R16, your speedo will be out by more than 3%. Here's a comparison website you can play with :

https://www.wheel-size.com/calc/?wheel1=245...scl=50mm&sr=0mm

6k plus tyres relegate you to 2nd hand rims category....i'm more familiar with normal car rims but i'm not in the know regarding 4x4 type of rims....you'll need to look around and go through some dedicated 4x4 forums to ask for opinions.

Unless there's a specific need for such wider tyres, there is really no need for you to go for wider tyres as most aftermarket rims will have a little more "poke outwards" compared to OEM rims. Meaning, it will be closer to the side fender, or some call it more "flushed" look.

But again, in short, unless you really damn like the design of a particular rim, if it is heavier than OEM (don't care whatever seller claim, just go weigh yourself), really no point changing.
yes correct.. am driving a Triton here.. thanks for the link, great info for reference.. appreciate it!

TSJasonist
post May 18 2021, 02:03 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

QUOTE(light_up @ May 18 2021, 01:38 PM)
Seems like not much discussion on 4x4, was about to start a new topic but found this. Since it's 2018, I believe TS should have upgraded accordingly right?

Anyway, just to share and ask here.. my car is Isuzu DMax 2014, original tire is 245/70R16, I've used original Bridgestone HT & Yokohama AT, overall both are good tires, the Bridgestone HT is quite, comfort, grippy on wet & dry, where Yokohama AT is slightly poorer than the Bridgestone HT on road, but a lot better at offroad.

Early this year while replacing tires, I just couldn't resist to make my car looks more "bold", so I've changed to 265/75R16, which is about 55mm bigger in diameter & 20mm wider than original, and to make it looks more "bold", I choose a more aggressive pattern AT tire, which is Maxxis 980, looks somehow similar with BF Goodrich KO2 but a lot cheaper.

To add a cherry on top, I've change a set of rims with smaller ET number, from original +33 now +10, tires slightly protrude outward now.

Car looks great now, taller, wider and looks meaner with the bigger tires, but the consequences due to the bigger tire size are super down on power and high fuel consumption, previously 8.5l/100km now 10l/100km, also due to the aggressive AT tire, it's less grippy on road, noisier and even more bumpy. I used to drive fast but now.. it's scary to drive fast.

Above are my sharing.

Now, funny thing is, the desire never stop, I'm now checking on 285/75R16.. probably will do it if they fit.

Anyone having experience with fitting 285/75R16 or 33 in tires on their DMax?
well.. the wider the tyres will definitely bold up ur ride, will look good and increase stability.. but fuel consumption is sth we cant avoid for sure..

for my case yea i've switched to a set of new tyres and rims, have been using them for 2 years now so far so good..

using Bridgestone Dueler AT 265/70/16 (with white wordings on the sidewall) still good as of now.. however due to its bit wider at first i have to make some adjustment inside the wheel arch coz it scratches when turning the steering both left & right

if u decide to change to even wider wheel, just make sure it wont scratch inside wheel arch, unless u heighten ur truck up..
TSJasonist
post Oct 7 2024, 06:00 PM

Oldfag
1,176 posts

recently i get this BF Goodrich K02 fitted on my vehicle, end up the BF Goodrich ALL TERRAIN wordings start to turn brown.. no matter what method i use to clean them, the problem persists.. wonder any BF Goodrich tyre user encounter this issue..

example of photo as below

This post has been edited by Jasonist: Oct 8 2024, 02:26 PM

0.0171sec    0.12    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 05:11 AM