5 Pages  1 2 3 > » Bottom

> Penang Char Kuey Teow

TSRon2828
post Jan 25 2018, 08:42 AM, updated 8y ago

108 posts

I went to Penang with my wife last week.Since CKT is my favourite hawker food,i am determined to try as many version as possible(why not,this is CKT birthplace)

I did some research as usual and came out with the list below:- (taste is subjective ya)

1)Lorong Selamat (Red hat auntie)
-RM11 per plate
-Seriously hot(high heat),full of wok hei.I have to wait a few minutes only can eat (normally i just eat when served,no problem).Ingredients are fresh,taste is good
-Coffeshop auntie showed black face when i ordered 2 glass of plain water (RM1.40)
-Auntie handles one wok,another young guy handles one wok.i saw that guy smoking while frying the kuey teow.
-Wont return

2)Ah Leng senior (Ayer Itam)
-RM14 per plate (add mantis prawn)
-The spiciest CKT of all that i tried in Penang
-Ingredients are fresh,taste is good
-Maybe will return
-There is a loh bak stall in the same premise.Taste not bad la,price very reasonable.RM7 for my portion is a steal.In KL easily RM10 above

3)Kedai Kopi Bee Hong(opposite First Avenue mall)
-RM6 if not mistaken,with duck egg
-The thinnest kuey teow (for frying,not for soup)i’ve tried so far.So can absorb flavour and wok hei very well
-Actually my wife wanna go shopping and eat tang yuen at this coffeeshop.So can say i just stumbled into a gem,haha
-Surely will return.Why not?reasonable price,no need queue like crazy.

4)Hua Soon (Simpang,Taiping)
-Try this on the way back to KL
-RM4.40 with duck egg,served on large green leaf
-The old uncle frying with high heat from charcoal with an antique fan.Can see fireworks like frying Hokkien Mee.
-Not salty enough for me.Add a few drops of soy sauce then is ok.
-Con9lan7firm will return.RM4.40,apa lagi cina mau

Will go to Penang again this June/July,specifically to Balik Pulau for durian.So will take this opportunity to try other famous stalls such as :-

1)Sister’s
2)Siam road
3)Tiger
4)KTG

Penang lang have anything to add?all suggestions are welcome.I can use as reference for my next trip

This post has been edited by Ron2828: Jan 25 2018, 08:47 AM
bereev
post Jan 25 2018, 08:45 AM

257 posts

QUOTE(Ron2828 @ Jan 25 2018, 08:42 AM)
I went to Penang with my wife last week.Since CKT is my favourite hawker food,i am determined to try as many version as possible(why not,this is CKT birthplace)

I did some research as usual and came out with the list below:- (taste is subjective ya)

-RM11 per plate
-Seriously hot(high heat),full of wok hei.I have to wait a few minutes only can eat (normally i just eat when served,no problem).Ingredients are fresh,taste is good
-Coffeshop auntie showed black face when i ordered 2 glass of plain water (RM1.40)
-Auntie handles one wok,another young guy handles one wok.i saw that guy smoking while frying the kuey teow.
-Wont return

-Maybe will return
-There is a loh bak stall in the same premise.Taste not bad la,price very reasonable.RM7 for my portion is a steal.In KL easily RM10 above

-The thinnest kuey teow (for frying,not for soup)i’ve tried so far.So can absorb flavour and wok hei very well
-Actually my wife wanna go shopping and eat tang yuen at this coffeeshop.So can say i just stumbled into a gem,haha

-RM4.40 with duck egg,served on banana leaf
-The old uncle frying with high heat from charcoal with an antique fan.Can see fireworks like frying Hokkien Mee.

Will go to Penang again this June/July,specifically to Balik Pulau for durian.So will take this opportunity to try other famous stalls such as :-

1)Sister’s
2)Siam road
3)Tiger
4)KTG

Penang lang have anything to add?all suggestions are welcome.I can use as reference for my next trip
WTH CKT >RM10 per plate shakehead.gif
TSRon2828
post Jan 25 2018, 08:48 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(bereev @ Jan 25 2018, 08:45 AM)
WTH CKT  >RM10 per plate  shakehead.gif
Those more than RM10 normally comes with a few big prawns

This post has been edited by Ron2828: Jan 25 2018, 08:49 AM
kaiserreich
post Jan 25 2018, 08:48 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

Sister's nobody go liao.
Can try ah leng datuk keramat.

My favorite is siam road. Sometimes weekend not open and be prepared to queue.

I like tiger also, but my family not so.

Lorong selamat got another stall, a bit further up from red hat auntie. I go there sometimes. Price a bit cheaper than red hat auntie.

This post has been edited by kaiserreich: Jan 25 2018, 08:49 AM
TSRon2828
post Jan 25 2018, 08:52 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jan 25 2018, 08:48 AM)
Sister's nobody go liao.

Lorong selamat got another stall, a bit further up from red hat auntie. I go there sometimes. Price a bit cheaper than red hat auntie.

Sister’s now are managed by second generation is it?

The lorong selamat other stall is KTG right?google man with orange long sleeve
Dr Jan Itor
post Jan 25 2018, 08:55 AM

82 posts

Lorong selamat can fuck off. Rude bitch
kaiserreich
post Jan 25 2018, 08:55 AM

Pendekar Papan Kekunci
4,234 posts

QUOTE(Ron2828 @ Jan 25 2018, 08:52 AM)
Sister’s now are managed by second generation is it?

The lorong selamat other stall is KTG right?google man with orange long sleeve
Oh yes, should be KTG.
Sister's every time i pass by, nobody inside.
SUSDarth Vaper
post Jan 25 2018, 09:06 AM

46 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jan 25 2018, 08:55 AM)
Oh yes, should be KTG.
Sister's every time i pass by, nobody inside.
Deswai don’t be LCLY too much. Penang lang don’t eat there, words spread far enough even tourist don’t give a duck.

hello RT biggrin.gif
SUSMarioKart
post Jan 25 2018, 09:08 AM

22 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jan 25 2018, 08:48 AM)
Sister's nobody go liao.

Siam Road unker?

Ptui lah.

I fried also better.

Oily shit. Eat already die faster.
Zoopdiidoo
post Jan 25 2018, 09:16 AM

216 posts

Just go any hawker center and eat the CKT. Good enough. No need big prawn la...as long as the pork lard is fragrant and they fry with very hot charcoal then can go d. Don't overbloat those famous CKT sellers ego.

This post has been edited by Zoopdiidoo: Jan 25 2018, 09:17 AM
DarkNite
post Jan 25 2018, 09:19 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

1)Sister’s
2)Siam road
3)Tiger
4)KTG

1)Sister’s NO
2)Siam road NO
3)Tiger NO
4)KTG << this is what?
jimmybcmy
post Jan 25 2018, 09:21 AM

395 posts

Siam road CKT is the best, no need go try others.

Btw, ts why you pay more than RM10 for CKT in penang? rclxub.gif doh.gif sweat.gif
The_Rock
post Jan 25 2018, 09:22 AM

451 posts

-RM11 per plate
-Wont return

-Maybe will return

1)Sister’s
2)Siam road
3)Tiger
4)KTG

BM charcoal char Koay teow
BM charcoal char Koay teow with crab and prawn.
TSRon2828
post Jan 25 2018, 09:25 AM

108 posts

QUOTE(DarkNite @ Jan 25 2018, 09:19 AM)
1)Sister’s NO
2)Siam road NO
3)Tiger NO
4)KTG  << this is what?
Near red hat auntie.Goggle guy with orange long sleeve shirt

QUOTE(jimmybcmy @ Jan 25 2018, 09:21 AM)

Btw, ts why you pay more than RM10 for CKT in penang?  rclxub.gif  doh.gif  sweat.gif
Haha.....just for the sake of trying.Famous ma....try and see what the fuss is all about

QUOTE(The_Rock @ Jan 25 2018, 09:22 AM)
BM charcoal char Koay teow
BM charcoal char Koay teow with crab and prawn.
Bukit Mertajam midnight CKT?

This post has been edited by Ron2828: Jan 25 2018, 09:26 AM
buysellaccount
post Jan 25 2018, 09:25 AM

127 posts

ya tuhan rm11 one plate.
DarkNite
post Jan 25 2018, 09:27 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(jimmybcmy @ Jan 25 2018, 09:21 AM)

10 years ago yes but now no more la!
He fried so many plates at one go till no more wok hei!
Flavouring is from his sauce! sweat.gif
The_Rock
post Jan 25 2018, 09:29 AM

451 posts

QUOTE(Ron2828 @ Jan 25 2018, 09:25 AM)
Near red hat auntie.Goggle guy with orange long sleeve shirt
Haha.....just for the sake of trying.Famous ma....try and see what the fuss is all about
Bukit Mertajam midnight CKT?
Night la.
acbc
post Jan 25 2018, 09:31 AM

9,048 posts

-RM11 per plate
-Wont return

-Maybe will return

1)Sister’s
2)Siam road
3)Tiger
4)KTG

Sisters retired. New fella took over not very nice.

New Lane Rd also have. Old uncle using charcoal. Ain't cheap. RM 10 up. Easily 30 mins or longer.
DarkNite
post Jan 25 2018, 09:35 AM

ФĻĐ ИΞШB!Ξ
11,058 posts

QUOTE(The_Rock @ Jan 25 2018, 09:29 AM)
Night la.
is this >> Restorant Wei Xiang Duck Egg Charcoal Char Koay Teow?

Also the Malay type there at BM Alma is not bad but kind of over rated - Alma Matary Char Koay Teow.
yukimonochan
post Jan 25 2018, 09:35 AM

382 posts

mana chop halal

5 Pages  1 2 3 > » 

0.0192sec    0.80    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 01:40 PM