> Name of MY edible fish & Fish eating concern, Fish name in Malaysia & mercury in fish Q&A

gark
post Jan 17 2018, 11:31 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Leo.Lee @ Jan 17 2018, 11:27 AM)
I have 2 young kids and my wife are pregnant with another one. My wife have been frequently advise to eat more fish especially those with high Omega 3 content as Omega 3 are good for brain development. It also have the same benefits for young child and also benefit adult in one way or another.

However, I realize that there is also the concern of mercury content in fish especially popular high Omega 3 content fish such as Tuna, Salmon and etc. To deal with that, I am thinking of eating plant based Omega 3 & local freshwater fish with lower Omega 3 content fish (not sure how low) but recently I heard that freshwater fish actually have higher mercury content that can affect brain development. I am confuseĀ  rclxub.gifbangwall.gif . Do you guys have any info about this?

Other than that, I also wanted to show my kids the photo of those fish before it is cooked & served on a plate as I noticed many youngster today don't even know what kind of fish that they're eating. (Including myself, I only know few but not really sure how to differentiate it). I don't want my kids to be like those kids in developed country like USA & etc that don't even realize the foods that they eat especially meat are living being that have head, feet, name and etc before being served as food.

And being a Chinese and living in Malaysia, I also want to know and tell my kids the name of those fish in Chinese, Malay and etc. Hope you guys have some info about this.
Google and you shall find.. innocent.gif

Study shows not the type of fish, but where the fish comes from.. but of course, fish who eat fish (carnivorous) usually have higher mercury levels as they are concentrated.

https://www.ncbi.nlm.nih.gov/pmc/articles/PMC4334092/

https://www.researchgate.net/publication/27...nsular_Malaysia

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 17 2018, 11:34 AM
gark
post Jan 17 2018, 11:35 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(jmas @ Jan 17 2018, 11:33 AM)
why not use supplements if got concern?
Not only pregnant.. if lifetime eat mercury tainted fish.. in kids and adults will lead to future complications..

Unless you avoid seafood altogether..

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 17 2018, 11:36 AM
gark
post Jan 17 2018, 11:38 AM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kentmeng @ Jan 17 2018, 11:32 AM)
Live in kampung the best.
Not really..

their findings showed high mercury intake by fishermen families at the rural areas compared to the general adult population

Depends on lifestyle..

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 17 2018, 11:39 AM
gark
post Jan 17 2018, 11:39 AM

12,534 posts

Anyway.. not only Mercury.. but lead, arsenic, cadmium.. is also a concern..
gark
post Jan 17 2018, 01:38 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Leo.Lee @ Jan 17 2018, 12:28 PM)
Yes, I been googling the whole time since I found out the news of mercury in fish and its effect but it is too much information and some of it even contradict with each other. For example, some say freshwater fish have higher content of mercury than saltwater fish and some say no. Some say you could get plant based Omega 3 instead if scare of mercury in fish.

And to make it worst, I can't find any simple details of mercury contents in our Malaysia fish. Mostly research studies like the links that you post. Those are not for the view of layman (normal people) like me. It is for those professor.
No need professor level.. just read the contents like a book.

Here i summarize for you.

1. Mercury content is co-related to length and weight = ie. eat smaller fish
2. Fish near large cities have higher mercury concentration = ie. east fish from east coast or northern malaysia
3. Low mercury = Spanish mackerel, perch and sardines
4. Medium mercury = Indo-Pacific mackerel, promfet, longtail tuna, snapper, bream (redfish)
5. Highest mercury = tongkol, selar (Both sample from selangor fish market)
6. Lowest mercury level is fish sample from langkawi

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 17 2018, 01:42 PM
gark
post Jan 17 2018, 01:46 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Leo.Lee @ Jan 17 2018, 12:44 PM)
Haha. yea... speaking of arsenic. I have read that white rice actually contain arsenic.. Damm... dry.gif
Yes.. so does almost all the food you eat.

The As level in white ricec is low enough levels..

As is caused mostly by older pesticides which is accumulate in the ground..
gark
post Jan 17 2018, 01:47 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ Jan 17 2018, 12:49 PM)
Eat smaller fish.
Sardine, selar, Kembong, Mabong etc.
Less Mercury.

Depend where they are caught.. in the study, selar have the highest mercury reading.. sample from fish market in Selangor.. sweat.gif
gark
post Jan 17 2018, 01:49 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Leo.Lee @ Jan 17 2018, 01:47 PM)
Whoa.. Thanks for the summary. I guess they didn't mentioned anything about freshwater fish?
No, the report is seawater fish.

But I will assume the same conclusions.. depend on weight of fish and location where it was caught.

If the farm draws water from vicinity of sungai klang for example, I would be very worried. laugh.gif

This post has been edited by gark: Jan 17 2018, 01:53 PM
gark
post Jan 17 2018, 01:51 PM

12,534 posts

QUOTE(Leo.Lee @ Jan 17 2018, 01:28 PM)
Yup. I think so too but I am using canned sardine which is bad if consume too much. The fresh one, I am not sure about the type. As one of the reply mentioned, there are a lot of tuna type. I assume sardine would be the same too.
Local sardines are from the indian oil sardine species.. should be ok if you buy fresh.

0.0226sec    0.87    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 15th December 2025 - 02:46 PM