shud get laptop locally or overseas?

xin
post May 1 2007, 12:41 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(weniyn @ Apr 30 2007, 09:40 PM)
hi.. for sum1 who'l b going overseas to study, do u think its better to get a laptop now locally or buy when overseas? main worries are regarding d warranties and services in case sumthg happnd to it thr if buy here..
how long are you goin for study ?

ya ..you should buy from msia ..so infuture if u back to msia and wan find parts also easy ... and also check those international warranty got imclude the country u are goin for studies..
xin
post May 1 2007, 11:52 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

if u can;t get much feedback in Ireland then it is better to just get a unit here ...i am thinking that it is better for you to make up ur mind on which laptop or at least the brand u wan ..to futher narrow your choices first ...
xin
post May 1 2007, 01:58 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

Dell and Lenovo has service center there ..HP too ..so try select models from these brands.
xin
post May 1 2007, 02:38 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 1 2007, 02:32 PM)
What are you trying to do here, reinforce my point or what? If so, would you mind adding some constructive comments instead of a one liner?

This post of mine is a spamming post just to ask you, are you trying to spam or what?
alright sorry for spamming ..i search up each main page .

www.lenovo.com
www.hp.com
www.dell.com

and they DO have service centers in Ireland

www.acer.com
www.asus.com
www.benq.com

does not have service centers there too ..

if you are refering to Various Internation Brands? all of them is international brands ...so do search up the sites for more info ..once again sorry for spamming ... notworthy.gif notworthy.gif
xin
post May 1 2007, 06:38 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(vahn87 @ May 1 2007, 05:37 PM)
what? what? if others spamming n u dislike them go tell lyn mods! if it still doesnt work for ya MAKE ur own lyn
spammin is wayy better than ur biatch attitude pointing out others! if the forum all filled with facts only whats make it differs from a god d*mn book?
xin been in lyn like roun 2003, heck, who cares if he's jus 6 y'old, least during those few years mods aint picking on him.
laugh.gif thanks for the standup vahn87, it is all right since forums are where ppl interact..some in a good nature and some are not .. and ya i admit i spam alot to revive topics and that is how i am ... sorry if anyone annoyed ..cheers ..

btw, i notice there are Limitations on International Warranty compare to Local Warranty ..so do call up or email the respective notebook makers for more info. thumbup.gif
xin
post May 1 2007, 07:07 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(Specialized @ May 1 2007, 06:42 PM)
agree.. xin was always there when we hav probs. he helps us a lot.. vahn87 n beyond430 too..

i would recommen to buy there.. i heard some oversea laptop hav climate control.. like they specially built the laptop accordin to the local temperature n vapour density.. heard from my uncle, his laptop which bought overseas has tis kind of proctection. lets say when he walks in snow taking wif his laptop, then wanna use it in the house, he would hav to wait untill the notebook temperature warm to idle temperature or else it wouldn't switch on.
it's to prevent the vapour in the air condense n cause short circuit to the electronic board. juz hearsay.. but x noe whether true a not.. anyway, it's a nice protection feature.
cheers .... the feature mentioned is available to all notebooks ..this feature uses the various sensor in our chipsets and cpu to determine the moisture temperature within the notebook circiut to either stalk or delay the notebook from futher damage. So either u buy it here or Ireland it is the same.. They have this feature ... that is why when our lappy overheats it shuoff automatically ...same applies to overcold lol ...maybe here we dun experience overCold ..hehe thumbup.gif
xin
post May 1 2007, 07:30 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

ya don't expect miracles would happen by just posting in forums. You gotta do research by urself too. Coz at the end of the day, the lappy is yours ...
xin
post May 1 2007, 07:40 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(weniyn @ May 1 2007, 07:37 PM)
hello?? i've been spending days doing 'research' ad.. haha.. my eyes' hurting now..
haha good news! that's how it should work ..i spend months on research b4 buying a laptop.. like this you won't regret getting the laptop later ..coz u did ur 'homework' ... cheers ..any ideal units u found to your liking ? rclxms.gif
xin
post May 1 2007, 08:02 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

Are you taking the DuoCore or Duo2Core ..the specs are nice ..attractive lol

http://minisites.nec-computers-ap.com/E6210/

how is the pricing ?

This post has been edited by xin: May 1 2007, 08:03 PM
xin
post May 1 2007, 11:57 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(adriankhoo153 @ May 1 2007, 11:48 PM)
Lol, i just read this thread and someone mentioning about post count..Is post count reallys tat matter. I dun give an @$$ with the count..haha
right...if it is just for the sake of Stars ..then we cound juz spam everywhere in the forum ..lol

btw..i think Ireland should be not so 'cold' with NEC lappy... but as long as weniyn likes it then is ok hehe .. thumbup.gif
xin
post May 2 2007, 12:38 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

i dunno bout notebooks but my uncle said the pcparts there during PC fair is cheaper than here during PC fair ..so u should do a reserch first and compare the prices ...
xin
post May 2 2007, 01:24 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

how about the white casin ? changed to T31V ma ? i like white better ..
xin
post May 2 2007, 11:46 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ May 2 2007, 10:19 AM)
haha..my friend's Toshiba A100 had been stick with transparent sitcker....especially site below the keypad...to avoid any dirt and scratches...But i think Hp pavilion should have same problem too....
using which type of sticker ? i am using car tints to do that lol .. any pics ?
xin
post May 2 2007, 01:11 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich)
Regarding Singapore, I don't have much knowledge on prices there, but the last time I check, due to the GST imposed, the price of the laptops are slightly higher than in Malaysia, but due to the loophole of Malaysians being reimbursed with the GST paid. In the end, the sum should round out to be around the Malaysian price.

Cheers

It all depends are you going to reside in singapore a long period? let's say a few years of studying or working? so it is always better to just buy the notebook at Singapore, Otherwise, can just get from Msia if you are goin there for a year. Just have ur warranty period extended for better reliability. Since Kaiserreich do mentioned the price diff should be not much both in msia or singapore..

QUOTE(Criptonox89 @ May 2 2007, 12:14 PM)
Something like screen protector...but don't expect the quality of a screen protector....he's in Aus now...tongue.gif Car tints could be better too...haha...stick v-kool on your screen... sweat.gif Protect your eyes..
yup my notebook is using v-kool tint extra from my car lol..it is in silver ... i tot of changing it to clear dark tint later .

xin
post May 2 2007, 08:34 PM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ May 2 2007, 08:01 PM)
the car tint how much ar ???
expensive or not ?
offtopic lol :: depends on which type of car tint you wanna take ma ..u can always use the normal chapalang one selling at tesco or car acc also got ..lol
xin
post May 3 2007, 12:58 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(ayrez @ May 3 2007, 12:55 AM)

off-topic...sry..a notebook noob ere..the car tint?used to protect which part?the casing of the laptop?
casing lo ..hehe basically anywhere that can stick ..depends on how u wanna apply it hehe ..i apply it to below the keyboard where i rest my hands.. and applied car sticker will not let ur lappy grow 'old' so fast ..hehe ..
xin
post May 3 2007, 01:15 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ May 3 2007, 01:08 AM)
yeah .. so whn sell back .. also good value right ??
haha ..i dun think gonna sell la ..juz wanna sayang my lappy abit ..

QUOTE(ayrez @ May 3 2007, 01:11 AM)
ohh...only the below mouse pad part?other places le?like the outer casing?
yup ..i also had some portion of my lcd outer lid casing put the sticker there .lol ..
xin
post May 3 2007, 01:18 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(john_jay2 @ May 3 2007, 01:16 AM)
its all up to u ...
outer casing also can .. depends on ur skill lar ^ ^
ya the hard part is measure and cut..then sticking it also ..need skill ..better appli a bit water to the sticker for easy moving and adjusting ..lol..

erhh oh, big time offtopic ..lol
xin
post May 4 2007, 12:41 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(kaiserreich @ May 3 2007, 11:40 PM)
Too bad your friend did not realize the magics of internet where you can check the price of laptops bought in foreign land first before going there.

the General Rule is, find out the place you are going to, do research on the price offered there and here, compare the warranty offered, and make your decision
ya ..why wanna regret ? if never do ur research first ? lol ...maybe they think that oversea goods must be cheaper gua ... hehe ..take that as a lesson ..lol ..
xin
post May 4 2007, 01:08 AM

Maisonducat Storekeeper
6,549 posts

QUOTE(FoX^ @ May 4 2007, 01:02 AM)
Unless its a brand like Apple or other brands that are not pop in malaysia or offer student discount overseas. Malaysia price is about the best you can get. If you are getting dell or hp, definitely should get it here coz dell and hp international laptops are the same, so wherever oso got parts.

Check if you have student discount.
overseas i can juz got one brand ppop out of my mind ..lol ..AlienWare ...i wan their lappy .. notworthy.gif

0.0242sec    0.54    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 16th December 2025 - 11:37 PM