OSX vs Vista Cnet Asia Review

TScivic98
post Apr 30 2007, 09:21 PM, updated 19y ago

1,255 posts

Guys take a look at this review, comparing OSX with Vista, my guess is 9 out of 10 of us here are not going to be happy with the result.

Firstly, the writer tries to be funny putting in some ancient plot to the review. It is very difficult to understand what he means, I cant really make out how he decide who wins in most of the categories specified. Secondly the writer obviously don't use OSX, he don't seem to know much about it.

http://asia.cnet.com/reviews/notebooks/0,3...009711-1,00.htm

Some of those that I cant agree on:-

We can find a winner even without resorting to talk of clock cycles and gigaflops. PCs are definitely the place to go if you want the latest technology.

OS X doesn't do itself many favors, though. Why, after all these years can you not resize documents or applications by clicking any corner of the window? Why does Apple subscribe to the "mystery meat" school of navigation, where the "minimize", "maximize" and "close window" buttons at the top-left of a pane all look identical until you hover over them? Why doesn't the delete key let you delete files? Why instead do we have to press the Apple plus backspace keys? Using OS X is, at times, a bit like eating in the dark.

Oh, and where are the OS X games? And why does Front Row feel like the poor, backwards relation of Windows Media Center?

The maiden counts to ten, her voice trembling with fear. Our combatants take ten paces and it's Baron Vista who turns first. He discharges his weapon a fraction of a second before Count OS X can pull the trigger, striking the Apple follower in the leg, drawing blood and ruining his outfit. This is the most hurtful injury an OS X user could endure.

The reasons behind this outcome are manifold. Count OS X had other things on his mind at the time of the shootout. He was perturbed by his Internet service provider's lack of support for Macs, and he was annoyed that his poncy outfit, which he paid over the odds for, was soiled during the fray.

There's also an element of karma to it. According to Greenpeace, PCs are greener than their Mac brethren. A Mac "scores badly on almost all criteria", and Apple "fails to embrace the precautionary principle, withholds its full list of regulated substances and provides no timelines for eliminating toxics polyvinyl chloride (PVC)".

Vista Wins!

Wish I have a punching bag...
kevler
post Apr 30 2007, 10:00 PM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

for me ..go to hell of what they said in their own column ..they have brains to tell their own super brilliant opinion..and influence ppl to buy PC or Mac

some of us are already adopted Linux before they switched to Mac ..and we , as mac user , knew of what is good for us ..

the author can talk also able critics ..but the author cannot change of what kind of machine we already comfort with ..
samus_ng
post May 1 2007, 08:50 PM

258 posts

You know...in school everytime a teacher says something bad about me, I'll go saying the word 'stupid' until it becomes louder and louder(until it gets really loud! STUPID!!!). this stupid guy better watch out because that is exactly what I'm doing to him right now! OSX FTW!!!
E|dan
post May 1 2007, 09:48 PM

532 posts

i think he is paid to say that windoze is better..no doubt..thats wat they do
karim_effendy
post May 7 2007, 04:43 PM

204 posts

he can say what ever he likes... i'm still happy with my osx..
AppleMacUser
post May 7 2007, 04:56 PM

30 posts

I would say the same thing if someone pay me good sum of money to do so. Why not? I will use th emoney to buy more mac
elico
post May 10 2007, 10:48 PM

749 posts

they can talk as much as they like.....they just dun seem to see that Vista is really do a "photocopy" of OSX.....although i do using Vista, i hate it so much.

oh ok....here a real fact of Vista IDIOTIC default setting.....the "power button" in the Taskbar.....default it was set to "sleep", you would have to manually set it bec to Shut Down....and it doesnt tell u that it was sleep (if u a new user) until the moment u click on it n found it "sleeping"....

there were more IDIOTIC default setting.....lazy to say...

someday i gonna switch to Unix....currently my situation still dun allow...tongue.gif
kevler
post May 11 2007, 12:01 AM

trading in the zone
2,939 posts

QUOTE(elico @ May 10 2007, 10:48 PM)
they can talk as much as they like.....they just dun seem to see that Vista is really do a "photocopy" of OSX.....although i do using Vista, i hate it so much.

oh ok....here a real fact of Vista IDIOTIC default setting.....the "power button" in the Taskbar.....default it was set to "sleep", you would have to manually set it bec to Shut Down....and it doesnt tell u that it was sleep (if u a new user) until the moment u click on it n found it "sleeping"....

there were more IDIOTIC default setting.....lazy to say...

someday i gonna switch to Unix....currently my situation still dun allow...tongue.gif
we will wait for you to switch as mac-user smile.gif
kotak
post May 11 2007, 05:10 PM

246 posts

dopodplaya
post May 11 2007, 05:24 PM

2,280 posts

I am not an Apple fanboy or Intel x86 fanboy but that CNET article isn't biased at all. You know even Apple uses x86 CPU nowadays. Without the new x86 line of Mac, Apple could die suffering like the rest that went down the history.

Anyways, this move to adopt x86 is customer-wise and at least regain Apple's rep in costumers' eyes.

Anyway I like Vista (own a copy of Vista Home Premium atm), not because I hate MacOSX or other operating system, I am just used to Windows.

This post has been edited by dopodplaya: May 11 2007, 05:25 PM
fyire
post May 11 2007, 07:38 PM

9,270 posts

QUOTE(dopodplaya @ May 11 2007, 05:24 PM)
I am not an Apple fanboy or Intel x86 fanboy but that CNET article isn't biased at all. Maybe it is lame and stuff.

You Mac users, know that even Apple uses x86 CPU nowadays. Without the new x86 line of Mac, Apple could die suffering like the rest that went down the history.

Anyways, this move to adopt x86 is customer-wise and at least regain Apple's rep in costumers' eyes.

Anyway I like Vista (own a copy of Vista Home Premium atm), not because I hate MacOSX or other operating system, I am just used to Windows.
So what's that article got to do with x86 or Apple's switch to the x86? Furthermore, how sure r u that the move to x86 has any effect on regaining reputation?

Biased, I would say there's certain parts that's biased, expecially in the usability bits. Instead of taking a neutral stance, he complains when OS X does not behave like Windows that he's been using.

Lame, yes also. Look at the performance bit. In fact, I got no clue at all what the person's trying to compare in the performance section. First talks of hardware, instead of the OS itself, then suddenly there's a verdict declaring Vista as the winner?
MacDaNife
post May 11 2007, 08:53 PM

Adrenalina Italiana
1,737 posts

I wouldn't take the article seriously guys. Anyone who would try to (literally) dress-up an comparative article like this with people in silly medieval costumes obviously is going for theaterics and a lame attempt at humor rather than a honest analysis of the comparative strengths and weaknesses of the two operating systems.

Take it in the spirit it deserves; as a read-and-forget superficial stab at the Mac OS.

Deriviative "reviews" like this a dime-a-dozen. The CNet editor was short on content and pulled this one from the bottom of the pile.
BridgestoneRE711
post Jun 2 2007, 03:16 PM

♦ ♣ ♥ ♠
3,429 posts

i am used to windows . now i got a mac.
i will get used to mac.
obviously i will say windows is a better user friendly because i am USED TO IT .
it is kinda unfair .

ask steve job do the review , he sure will say OSX better .
the thing is , mac is more alive than windows . but windows is more technical .
Cello
post Jun 2 2007, 03:23 PM

I am just a cellist
767 posts

The main thing is, everyone have their own preferences.

I'm a designer and I can tell that Mac OS X it's the best overall but I still use for Windows for other task that Mac OS X can't.

Conclusion, both of the OS are good but my preferences is Mac OS X is the best. (again, just for me)

Since this is a Apple forum, you guys should really watch this:
http://movies.apple.com/movies/us/apple/ge...ill_480x376.mov

WARNING! IT'S A MUST TO WATCH sleep.gif

0.0179sec    1.43    5 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 18th December 2025 - 09:28 PM