Nikon D40x VS Canon 400D, which is better?

clemong_888
post Apr 30 2007, 01:52 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

400D is entry level.

pros of d40x over 400d

-better noise performace
-better awb
-better color reproduction(this is fairly objective)
-sd card?

cons

-no af with non af-s lenses..which means it shuts u out from some cheap good 3rd party lenses..
-less af points.

clemong_888
post Apr 30 2007, 02:35 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(simmytan @ Apr 30 2007, 02:12 PM)
hmm conclusion???

Added on April 30, 2007, 2:14 pmi hope i didnt sound like im looking for a easy way out, but for rookie like me that hardly knows anything so advises are really curcial for me
hard to say, there's no right and wrong here. if u understand technical jargons, reading reviews will help you alot. also, try out the cam before buying it. feel it, touch it, play with it and find out which suits you more.

also,ask yourself,

why do u want a dslr? (u said portraits and landscapes)

then i suggest u go for body only and get a 50mm with another wide angle lens. true u, will not have autofocus for 50mm in d40x but it's not tht hard to learn manual focus.

how for are you willing to upgrade?

will u still be using the camera years from now? if yes, the system does matter.

i can't make a conclusion only you yourself can make biggrin.gif cheers, hope it helps.
clemong_888
post Apr 30 2007, 05:50 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(simmytan @ Apr 30 2007, 04:48 PM)
the dark side?

Added on April 30, 2007, 5:27 pmheard Nikon D40x only supports af-s???
nope,d40/40x only supports auto focus with af-s lenses. other than that, it's manual focus with G,D type lenses.
clemong_888
post May 2 2007, 06:38 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(canon18 @ May 2 2007, 01:12 AM)
Didn't know d40x noise performance is better than 400d. Any proof on this?
i got it out from a japanese magazine. even if not better, it's definitely on par.
clemong_888
post May 2 2007, 11:33 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(canon18 @ May 2 2007, 10:33 AM)
What I understand is Nikon applies more harsh in camera noise reduction. d40x pictures look less noise, but 400d pictures ratain more details. But overall, they should be quite close.

d40x is using the same sensor and image processor as d80 right?
as i read, it compared with both nr on and off and both beats the 400d, so i would say everything is marginal. the d40 n d40x only lost to 5d tongue.gif
clemong_888
post May 2 2007, 02:53 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(chrisoys @ May 2 2007, 11:46 AM)
Never know that d40 & d40x so KENG!!! rclxub.gif

Should have get d40x since is better than 30D!!! rclxub.gif
i'm just talking about noise performance la, nothing else.
clemong_888
post May 4 2007, 02:50 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(lvyk @ May 4 2007, 02:47 PM)
Correct me if I'm wrong...

From my experience on D40 and 400D...

The D40 metering temps to be over expose abit compare to my 400D...
As you can see the exposure on the 2 pictures are more or less the same... smile.gif
more like the 400d underexposes? and why is there a saturation +1 in the settings? not a really fair comparison. tht said, i still prefer the colors on the d40.
clemong_888
post May 4 2007, 03:02 PM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

QUOTE(lvyk @ May 4 2007, 02:56 PM)
Correct... My bad...
Should be in this way...
D40 will normally +0.7 EV while 400D is +0EV?
but when u look at the pic 400d with +0.7EV still looks under while d40 at +0ev is ok. if the d40 would be +0.7ev, it would overexpose, while 400d would underexpose at +0
clemong_888
post May 22 2007, 10:14 AM

どんど晴れ
2,502 posts

u dun need dof preview unless you're doing macro. u rarely use it in portrait.

0.0194sec    0.57    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 21st December 2025 - 10:19 PM