133 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Bottom

Enquiries/Recommendations Notebook Recommendation Thread v.30, Ultrabook/Gaming Laptop

myway1985
post Apr 2 2018, 09:37 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(meeprat @ Apr 2 2018, 07:17 PM)
Hi guys, I've been a desktop user since the beginning of time with barely any laptop experience. My last laptop was a 2013 Macbook which has been gathering dust for the last 3+ years and the one before that was a Fujitsu lappie that went with me to uni back in 2002. Looking to get a cheapish laptop that'll be used for mostly work and a bit of gaming thrown in.

1. Preferred brand : No particular preference
2. Budget : Below 2k, preferably around the 1.5k mark
3. Usage : Work (word processing), internet browsing with a bit of gaming thrown in (Civ 5, Ark, CS:GO - graphics can be potato quality)
4. Screen Size : >11" preferably
inspiron 11 3162
pentium n3710
4gb
128gb ssd
win10
11 hd non touch
1yr warranty
RM1399
X_F@cT0R
post Apr 2 2018, 10:16 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(meeprat @ Apr 2 2018, 07:17 PM)
Hi guys, I've been a desktop user since the beginning of time with barely any laptop experience. My last laptop was a 2013 Macbook which has been gathering dust for the last 3+ years and the one before that was a Fujitsu lappie that went with me to uni back in 2002. Looking to get a cheapish laptop that'll be used for mostly work and a bit of gaming thrown in.

1. Preferred brand : No particular preference
2. Budget : Below 2k, preferably around the 1.5k mark
3. Usage : Work (word processing), internet browsing with a bit of gaming thrown in (Civ 5, Ark, CS:GO - graphics can be potato quality)
4. Screen Size : >11" preferably
https://www.lelong.com.my/asus-x441u-awx330...8-04-Sale-P.htm

QUOTE(TeeKanne @ Apr 2 2018, 09:25 PM)
Longshot, looking for tabletish laptop or 2 in 1 laptop

1. Preferred brand : Any, if possible warranty is locally covered
2. Budget : max 2500. around 2000 should be ok
3. Usage : trading, movies, web surfing and reading,Windows 10 OS.
4. Screen Size : <14" or light.
5. Others: hopefully have sim if possible, portable

Can suggest anything or nearest?
https://www.lelong.com.my/hp-pavilion-x2-10...7-01-Sale-I.htm

https://www.lelong.com.my/acer-aspire-switc...8-07-Sale-P.htm
active92
post Apr 2 2018, 10:25 PM

85 posts

1. Preferred brand : Any
2. Budget : around RM8-9k
3. Usage : programming, gaming
4. Screen Size : 13” and above
5. Extras: lightweight. preferably coffee lake. good after sales service.
hakimix
post Apr 2 2018, 10:47 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(1depp1 @ Apr 2 2018, 12:09 PM)
I think any modern Ultrabook from 2017 can satisfy your needs.
Mainly looking for 2-in-1/hybrid with the same specs as mentioned though. Usually I found like Lenovo Yoga but it lacks in graphic card department or with Spectre x360 where the 13" version don't get the graphic card upgrade. I heard with Ryzen the integrated Vega will be more than enough but no model come out yet in Malaysia.
shirogawawa
post Apr 2 2018, 11:03 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(hakimix @ Apr 2 2018, 10:47 PM)
Mainly looking for 2-in-1/hybrid with the same specs as mentioned though. Usually I found like Lenovo Yoga but it lacks in graphic card department or with Spectre x360 where the 13" version don't get the graphic card upgrade. I heard with Ryzen the integrated Vega will be more than enough but no model come out yet in Malaysia.
Microsoft Surface Book 2
shirogawawa
post Apr 2 2018, 11:04 PM

Laptop enthusiast
2,383 posts

QUOTE(active92 @ Apr 2 2018, 10:25 PM)
1. Preferred brand : Any
2. Budget : around RM8-9k
3. Usage : programming, gaming
4. Screen Size : 13” and above
5. Extras: lightweight. preferably coffee lake. good after sales service.
wait for MSI GS65
hakimix
post Apr 2 2018, 11:58 PM

66 posts

QUOTE(shirogawawa @ Apr 2 2018, 11:03 PM)
Microsoft Surface Book 2
The one with discrete graphic card starts at RM8000+ and the one with integrated starts at RM6800+. I don't think that much of a price increase justifies the convenience of 2-in-1 imo. Might settle for a typical touchscreen ultrabook if I can't find the sweet spot for 2-in-1 at RM5500. Thanks for the recommendations anyway.
Respek Wamen
post Apr 3 2018, 12:50 AM

49 posts

Hey guys, does anyone know the price for the Asus Zenbook Pro UX550VD or VE?
1depp1
post Apr 3 2018, 09:33 AM

357 posts

QUOTE(hakimix @ Apr 2 2018, 10:47 PM)
Yup.. +1..If you have the patience to wait for them sweet sweet Ryzen Vega, then wait. It is the best option now..
hammetts
post Apr 3 2018, 11:27 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(X_F@cT0R @ Apr 1 2018, 07:59 AM)
these two are good enough for you.
illegear are good especially their after-sale services, should not be a worry.
there's no big difference in between 7th vs 8th gen for gaming.
Terima kasih sifu rclxms.gif
singkwong
post Apr 3 2018, 11:33 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(X_F@cT0R @ Apr 1 2018, 07:59 AM)
these two are good enough for you.
illegear are good especially their after-sale services, should not be a worry.
there's no big difference in between 7th vs 8th gen for gaming.
how you know 7th vs 8 th gen no different ? you own a laptop with 8th gen HQ processor and test it ?
singkwong
post Apr 3 2018, 11:35 AM

48 posts

QUOTE(hammetts @ Apr 3 2018, 11:27 AM)
Terima kasih sifu  rclxms.gif
i prefer brand that offer onsite warranty, parking in oval damansara damn headache...
hammetts
post Apr 3 2018, 11:55 AM

66 posts

QUOTE(singkwong @ Apr 3 2018, 11:35 AM)
i prefer brand that offer onsite warranty, parking in oval damansara damn headache...
Example? MSI? icon_question.gif
X_F@cT0R
post Apr 3 2018, 01:08 PM

578 posts

QUOTE(singkwong @ Apr 3 2018, 11:33 AM)
how you know 7th vs 8 th gen no different ? you own a laptop with 8th gen HQ processor and test it ?
i dont own any gaming laptops but there is numerous of peoples has testing both of these processor for gaming
the difference between these processor are negligible, not day and night difference
piscesguy
post Apr 3 2018, 01:20 PM

私の名前はりゅうです
3,963 posts

QUOTE(X_F@cT0R @ Apr 3 2018, 01:08 PM)
i dont own any gaming laptops but there is numerous of peoples has testing both of these processor for gaming
the difference between these processor are negligible, not day and night difference
bro, u can't use this kinda chart which include GPU.,

eg. use this to diff GEN CPU.

Intel Core i7-8700K=16077
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?id=3098

Intel Core i7-7700K=12071
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?id=2874

Intel Core i7-6700K=11114
https://www.cpubenchmark.net/cpu.php?cpu=In...4.00GHz&id=2565

singkwong
post Apr 3 2018, 01:40 PM

48 posts

QUOTE(X_F@cT0R @ Apr 3 2018, 01:08 PM)
we are talking about Mobile processor on laptops ,but you citing desktop processor pulak
madmathiu
post Apr 3 2018, 02:26 PM

109 posts

Hello to all sifu. Can please help suggest laptop options.

I am looking for one around rm3.5k or below.
8th gen i5 or better
Ssd 128gb also enough but prefer 256gb
Dedicated gpu.
4gb ram minimum
Screen size around 13 inch. No need touch screen but need fhd. No need higher than fhd.

Will be using it for some graphic designing and gaming.

Saw a lenovo on lazada for a decent price. Not sure if can get better spec for around that price?

https://www.lazada.com.my/products/lenovo-i...s237989061.html

I'm basically looking for best bang for buck below rm3.5k

I also read that mx150 is better than 940mx. Not sure if true. Need some advice.

Thank you all so much in advance.
myway1985
post Apr 3 2018, 02:52 PM

12,089 posts

QUOTE(hammetts @ Apr 3 2018, 11:55 AM)
Example? MSI? icon_question.gif
msi no onsite...
Spectreoutreach
post Apr 3 2018, 04:44 PM

856 posts

any sifu can give some tips on this lenovo model 320 in term performance plus lenovo aftersale services...its there any alternative to this model/brand ?
Kaka23
post Apr 3 2018, 07:50 PM

8,259 posts

What is the best laotop for business use? Budget below 4K

133 Pages « < 13 14 15 16 17 > » Top

0.0332sec    0.76    6 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 4th December 2025 - 11:34 AM