Dell XPS M1210 Support Thread #1, COD4? No problem...

Guardian
post Apr 30 2007, 12:01 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(V3000 @ Apr 30 2007, 11:26 AM)
Dont know le but im sure not ram bah.. I tot duo core got 2 cpu in 1?  hmm.gif

Need pro answer this liao smile.gif
First core and second core most probably.
Guardian
post May 4 2007, 09:13 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(eyen @ May 4 2007, 03:38 AM)
Should I remove the battery from the laptop if the laptop is powered using the ac adapter most of the time?
Yes,you should.If not mistaken,heat will reduce the battery life,correct me if I am wrong.
Guardian
post May 7 2007, 01:14 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(ben83 @ May 3 2007, 08:18 PM)
I encounter frequent booting problem with my XPS M1210. Whenever I boot, it stuck on a black screen while half way booting into Windows XP. Already tried reinstalling Windows but the problem persists. All the 3rd party programs in the XPS M1210 also being used in my other different branded laptops too. Dell personnel asked me not to turn on the Windows auto update & system restore, however I don't think all these will solve the problem permanently though since evn reinstalling Windows also can't solve it. Any of you guys facing this?
I am having the same problem as well,started from labour's day,now still in save mode cause can't enter windows normally,gonna give the technical support a call later...Any suggestiongs?As for cpu temp,I aware that most of you have it around 60 degree celsius when running at 100%,right?Mine still around 70+ in always on power management profile.They had changed my heatsink and fan last time,the temp is slightly lower but still abnormal...
Guardian
post May 7 2007, 03:24 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(kwws @ May 7 2007, 02:31 PM)
wow i oso having such problem starting from few days ago...but i think i manage to fix it becuz of hamachi problem thingy...i enable NIC bootup in BIOS n evrything went ok...
anyway i just reformatted to vista ultimate...but after installing the nvidia driver from Dell...my windows experience index drop from 2.2 to 2.0 lol  rclxub.gif
i wonder why...but i think thrs no evident lag on the GUI
Hmmm,what is that NIC bootup?That means it's related to programmes or drivers then,thanks.
Guardian
post May 7 2007, 10:28 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ May 7 2007, 08:26 PM)
It probably means that the network card can turn the computer on if there is any network activity... That setting actually made my old desktop turn on and off at will, kinda scary... ohmy.gif
Erm,ok,thanks.
Guardian
post Aug 12 2007, 10:22 AM

819 posts

It's about 4 months now and something started to went wrong.Wireless adapter suddenly disabled after using wifi for a day + and can't be enabled,need to restart the computer to get it working.Other than that,USB device not recognized pop up appears sometimes and webcam suddenly missing from my computer.Just like solution above,it's working after a restart,wondering any of you having such problems?Maybe it's time to give them a call.
Guardian
post Aug 13 2007, 12:12 AM

819 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Aug 12 2007, 06:21 PM)
I take it that you're using Vista? If I'm not mistaken, the Logitech webcam drivers have issues/conflicts with the wireless adapter... I dunno the details, but if I'm not mistaken it has been discussed earlier in this thread... icon_rolleyes.gif
No,using XP MCE.Thanks.
Guardian
post Aug 13 2007, 06:53 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Aug 13 2007, 01:14 PM)
i encountered that kind of problems...using XP Home...but i encountered after installing the latest BIOS through Dell's pop-up thingy updates... sad.gif
its best to call Dell to get them fixed... thumbup.gif

so whats your current status?...still having the same problems?... hmm.gif
Then it's the same then,is it A08 BIOS update?Dunno for today,using LAN currently,haven't call them.

Guardian
post Sep 10 2007, 01:14 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Sep 10 2007, 03:40 AM)
waaaaaa.....having my wireless problems again...it can't hold long...can't access internet for long hours...anyone faced liked that?... sad.gif
to Guardian...how's your XPS...is it working properly?...any WinXP users having the same problems?...  hmm.gif
i wanted to know...most of you guys using what version of BIOS?...mine is seven... cool2.gif
Hmmm,same problem as mine but rarely happened recently.Other than that,it's working properly,at least for now.Maybe you can give this a try but haven't tried it yet,http://supportapj.dell.com/support/downloads/download.aspx?c=my&cs=mydhs1&l=en&s=dhs&releaseid=R164255&SystemID=XPS_M1210&servicetag=&os=WW1&osl=en&deviceid=9540&devlib=0&typecnt=0&vercnt=6&catid=-1&impid=-1&formatcnt=1&libid=5&fileid=220545 .I am using A08 currently.

This post has been edited by Guardian: Sep 10 2007, 01:17 PM
Guardian
post Sep 18 2007, 06:09 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Sep 11 2007, 09:09 AM)
when you formatted your notebook?...did you switch on you bluetooth or not?...you need to switch it on before reformat... hmm.gif
there are some explaination in the first page about installing bluetooth after formatting the XPS...try to check... icon_rolleyes.gif
owh!...thanks for the link...would try it then... cool2.gif
owh!...yours is A08?...and using WinXP right?...guess...your wifi is much better than mine... sad.gif
Yea,using windows xp currently.Erm,not really when using com for few days,I mean,leave it on for download.
Guardian
post Sep 21 2007, 05:45 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Sep 20 2007, 11:36 PM)
just to share with...i did installed the driver but it didn't successfully completed...it remains 47% install(from morning till night also shocking.gif )... sad.gif
the good thing is that...i can use the wifi for more than a day without switching it off or making it sleep...it works superb... thumbup.gif
but the bad part...the temperature(CPU/HD) goes up high...mine from 48-50c reached up till 69-70c?... rclxub.gif
and the problem is...the driver remains as 47% without completely install...if i need to use wifi for a whole day need to remain the driver witout abort/cancel the installation(which only half-way complete installation sweat.gif )...very weird,wonder why that happened to my one?... sad.gif
anyway i'm still using BIOS version 7...thought of upgrading it into version 8...but how's yours?...managed to use wifi for a whole or two days?.... hmm.gif

to Vista users?...most of you guys using which version of BIOS?... hmm.gif
Maybe you can try to cancel the installation,remove your driver and reinstall it again if it's still stucked there.Yea,it's working well now,the temp,unsure about it but mine always around 60-70 degree celsius..
Guardian
post Oct 3 2007, 09:02 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Sep 26 2007, 02:06 AM)
owh!...did canceled it many times...anyway...installed my BIOS driver to version 8 now...it seems to be working fine... rclxms.gif 
and i didn't install that driver(wifi driver)...caused the wifi seems to be working properly back... nod.gif 
but there got some funny part...where, i need to at least restart my XPS two or three times to have a longer usage of wifi(which last non-switch-off for more that a day)... sweat.gif
did you encountered something like this? hmm.gif

Ooo,ok.Nope,so weird..Anyway,try to shut down instead of restart,good luck.
Guardian
post Oct 5 2007, 10:25 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Oct 5 2007, 08:13 PM)
owh!...really?...you tried but still not working properly is it?... hmm.gif
mind to check if there's any driver to force back the availability of wifi that suddenly disappear... sweat.gif 
hmmm...tried already...but the result is the same... sad.gif
So weird..Already tried to reinstall the wifi card driver?
Guardian
post Jan 16 2008, 11:22 PM

819 posts

T7200 processor with 7400 gpu,is it normal to have around 60 degree celsius of processor heat when computer started up?The average temp is around 65+ under normal usage,can get up to 80+ when fully utilize the processor..Also,gpu temp around 70 without any games running,it's abnormal,right?Thanks.
Guardian
post Jan 17 2008, 11:32 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(zhinsara @ Jan 17 2008, 04:32 PM)
interestingly i've had my idling temp (at 50~) in aircon and 60 in normal room temp. load can hit 80....
QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jan 17 2008, 05:53 PM)
I'm currently idling at 60-65, so that should be no problem... Just back up your most important data in a portable USB, just in case... Sure, Dell would repair everything, but the loss of access to your most important files? Priceless... sweat.gif

Sadly enough I live on media files (anime to be exact) so the things I need to back up is in the tune of about half of my 120GB hard disk... Maybe I'll get a 500GB Ext. HDD later (AFTER I get a 8GB CompactFlash for my Axim)... icon_rolleyes.gif
Ok,thanks,seems that mine is normal then,around 70 while using..Anyway,they're going to replace my mobo for one time,hope it works.
Guardian
post Jan 24 2008, 11:54 PM

819 posts

Any xps m1210 users using zalman nc1000?Wondering does it suits this model since it's kinda huge..Thanks.
Guardian
post Jan 29 2008, 02:17 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(Eiraku @ Jan 16 2008, 02:01 AM)
Ahh... Sorry for not replying for so long... The USB Wireless adapter on my Fujitsu was playing hide-n-seek with the net line here in my college, so got some problems even reaching the net... sweat.gif

But, that's old news... My M1210 is back from the dead, courtesy of a new motherboard and 2-sticks of brand spanking new SODIMMs... Truth is, as I thought, only my motherboard got fried - but they changed my RAM to new sticks anyway... thumbup.gif

I also found out the reason why my M1210's MB died off so quickly: A HUGE PIECE OF DUST WAS STUCK IN THE VENT NEAR THE FAN... doh.gif  doh.gif  doh.gif

So people, take some time to unscrew the keyboard off and clean the vents (check the manuals, I don't think it voids any warranties as it's actually necessary if you want to get to the 2nd SODIMM RAM slot... sweat.gif ), at least once in a while... thumbup.gif

Noted though, the fact that my M1210's new MB was a refurb, but you can't really expect a discontinued laptop to still have new parts now, can you?

And one other thing was that it took Dell around 2 weeks after my first "help me" email to my old SA (which was never replied, I think it got lost in the mail on the other side), and around 5 days from my "help me" request on Dell's support side for them to even get to repairing my XPS-tan...  I don't know who's to blame (maybe it's just me), but that's sure a bit longer then "next business day"... shakehead.gif

But then, it's all working and dandy now, so let's just let that slide, for now... rolleyes.gif

Now back to over-working my M1210! *readies whip*
Haha,same problem but my mobo didn't dead.Apparaently,it's heatsink stucked with dust,too.
Guardian
post Feb 6 2008, 08:55 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(unknowndevices @ Feb 6 2008, 04:57 PM)
hmmm...guess...there got lots of dust around us...need to take extra cares of our XPS... sweat.gif
Indeed,it's like sort of clogged.
Guardian
post Mar 28 2008, 01:30 PM

819 posts

Does anyone having webcam quality issue?I noticed that the quality is very bad under fluorescent lighting.Extremely grainy and lots of noise.Thanks.
Guardian
post Mar 28 2008, 11:41 PM

819 posts

QUOTE(NewbieBetta @ Mar 28 2008, 10:00 PM)
mine is grainy..noise is ok
Ok,thanks,thought something is wrong with mine.

0.0258sec    0.71    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 13th December 2025 - 08:00 PM