5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Bottom

Travel To Japan V11, Nippon here we come!

mugenz
post Mar 26 2018, 02:24 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Mar 26 2018, 12:02 PM)
Since Nara and Kobe can do day trip. I’ll be moving until the day I go to Kyoto. But seems like I need more days at Kyoto hmm.gif
No need to so fast decide which pass yet. Just plan ur itinerary first then count the transportation expenses and see if worth the money.

mugenz
post Mar 26 2018, 05:04 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(ShinG3e @ Mar 26 2018, 02:47 PM)
oh almost same timeline. me is 10th nov to 25th nov.  thumbup.gif

try to get 7 days JR pass instead since most of your trip is concentrated in either kansai area or kanto area. then from day 9 to day 4 can get the 72 hours subway tix.
tbh, not all places is only JR.

1. I can go Kobe with Hanshin line just 400 yen
2. Go Kyoto also with 400 yen without using JR.
3. Osaka subway can goto almost all attractions.
4. Airport Express by Nankai is just 1000 yen to Namba but if you take JR Haruka to Osaka station but stay Namba u need pay subway fees.

So really depends on where you stay. JR =/= Cover all destination.

JR pass is only worth when you taking JR line from Tokyo to Kansai and back*
But do consider flying from KIX to Tokyo its only RM150++ per pax. Still cheaper than buying 7 days JR pass.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Mar 26 2018, 05:07 PM
mugenz
post Mar 28 2018, 10:26 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(yanniieee @ Mar 27 2018, 08:35 PM)
Thankyou! now i''m looking around collecting which place i would like to visit then only decide the train line.
rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif  rclxms.gif
checked on the domestic flight, it will cost 900RM from osaka to tokyo on november  rclxub.gif
Yes, noted on your comment, i'll study more on rail way line. but i couldn't find RM150+ flight ticket tho, only found 900+
As about the flight from KIX to Tokyo, did you try finding low cost carriers like Peach or Jetstar.

Normally i use https://www.skyscanner.com.my/ to scan all flights.
mugenz
post Mar 28 2018, 10:28 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 28 2018, 10:00 AM)
Last time I think I left my onsen in Gora around 10am and reach Kawaguchiko bus station by 5pm, including 2 hrs spent at Gotemba Premium Outlet

If you are a Initial D fan, you'll find the first half journey quite familiar  biggrin.gif . It's basically the mountain road for the 2nd last team battle (Team Spiral) and the Ryusuke-Rin Hyojo deathmatch dogfight
no way~ that episode about Ryusuke and the long hair guy in Skyline about the ex-gf or something.
mugenz
post Mar 28 2018, 03:36 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Guys,

1. How's the Ride sharing / Uber / Grab scene in Japan? Cheaper than Taxi? still not common?

2. I am looking for hourly rate hotel in tokyo and i found that only "love" hotel and Internet Cafe provide that. Does Capsule or hostel charge hourly? Gonna check out at 12pm and go do some last min shopping but want to find a "proper" place to rest and bath and chill until night flight back to KL.
mugenz
post Mar 28 2018, 03:48 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Chaud @ Mar 28 2018, 03:40 PM)
airport can right? hmm.gif

fly out from which airport?
Haneda. Gonna be very long wait at the airport. Flight 11:45pm.

mugenz
post Mar 29 2018, 12:48 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

For those visited lake kawaguchi and shibazakura festival

1. Any idea if can purchase one way ticket for the shibazakura festival bus liner?

2. any other bus that stop at the festival?
It's seems the blue line bus only reach the last lake and from there to the festival need walk 3km.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Mar 29 2018, 12:48 AM
mugenz
post Mar 29 2018, 12:10 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Mar 29 2018, 10:52 AM)
Why u want one-way ticket? It's actually a bit remote in, so I don't think there's other public buses beside the buses run by the Festival organiser
Because my ryokan at Lake Shoji (next lake)
We can take another bus from last lake to the ryokan. No need go from kawaguchiko station to festival then come back kawaguchiko then go back there again.
After the festival can straight go back ryokan.

This post has been edited by mugenz: Mar 29 2018, 12:10 PM
mugenz
post Mar 30 2018, 11:31 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Lynixx @ Mar 30 2018, 10:49 AM)
yes,bus is a good backup if fail the catch the train.

only down point is that it will takes long time to your destination.
You're already back?
Come come, share your experience and itinerary
mugenz
post Apr 4 2018, 01:18 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Looking for a suggestion for dinner place around Gion/Pontocho/riverside in kyoto that is nice and not too expensive. Maybe RM80 to RM120 for 2 pax
mugenz
post Apr 4 2018, 02:33 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 4 2018, 01:50 PM)
That's ¥1650 max per person, not sure what exactly you're trying to achieve. If by "nice' you mean romantic ... a bit difficult with that budget ba. IMO just fire up tabelog, filter by price and do a map search.

nth, just normal dinner. nothing fancy.
mugenz
post Apr 5 2018, 12:47 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(yoonyin @ Apr 4 2018, 04:26 PM)
Nijo Station to Umahori Station, align there and walk 10mins to Kameoka Torokko Station and take the Romantic Train to Torokko Arashiyama Station. Doesn't sound wasting money for me since you are boarding the Sagano Romantic train to see the scenery along the way to Arashiyama.
Kichi kichi omu rice (Youtube sensation Omurice, chef slicing open that infamously fluffy egg omelette)
Tenshu (BIG PRAWN TENDON / ¥1,900, SEA EEL TENDON / ¥1,100, MIX TENDON / ¥1,700)
Omen Nippon (Udon)
Chinchikurin (home style meal)
oh ya.. omurice..
thanks for the suggestions.

QUOTE(quadcube @ Apr 4 2018, 10:10 PM)
nope, been wearing short pants, slipper and t-shirt everyday since last two week laugh.gif the only comment I get is about whether I feel cold wearing that way
Gonna fly next week. It seems the weather is getting warmer. Maybe jeans, tshirt with sweater for night time.
Not sure about short pants. Gonna have some jogger and sweat pants along.
mugenz
post Apr 9 2018, 10:51 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Anyone use before pocket wifi from Wiyo? I see all same operator. By right should be same quality of network but maybe just device quality difference?

Wanna book from Klook but its only available soonest by 16 April. Going off on 11 April.

mugenz
post Apr 9 2018, 02:17 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Apr 9 2018, 12:01 PM)
Using it now in Japan. Speed is fast and good (stream 1080p 60fps Youtube without any issue). Used 16GB in 5days
QUOTE(alan_kong84 @ Apr 9 2018, 12:37 PM)
i use wiyo twice. not bad. quite fast.
Good.. will call and book now
Thanks for the feedback

But how about the device;s battery? can last for how long roughly?

Editted - Wiyo all devices sold out till 18th April! Advise for those going peak period = BOOK EARLIER! hahaa

This post has been edited by mugenz: Apr 9 2018, 02:56 PM
mugenz
post Apr 9 2018, 04:34 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Apr 9 2018, 02:57 PM)
Using it since 7am and battery depleted around 3pm. 2 ppl connecting.

They don’t normally provide USB C cable but you can ask them when you collect the device from them
QUOTE(alan_kong84 @ Apr 9 2018, 03:57 PM)
Battery cant last a day. Bring powerbank. 10am go out then 6pm like battery empty liou... u leaving in april 11? Too late to book d la...
Initially, i thought of taking SIM Card because i can split up with my wife while she shopping and i can still using internet.

QUOTE(sweet_pez @ Apr 9 2018, 04:01 PM)
Don't book these things last minute. If you're based in KL, there's still another hope. Contact H.I.S. office. Their WIFI is at RM15/ day rental. If you can drop by their office in Bukit Bintang to collect, you can still make it to rent. But you have to contact them ASAP to book a unit: https://www.his.com.my/
Alamak.
I purchased with Visondata. RM20 per day for unlimited. But if more than 10 days got 20% discount. So its RM180.

mugenz
post Apr 23 2018, 10:45 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

Just back from 10 days trip from Osaka, kyoto, kobe, fuji 5 lake and Tokyo!

Overall too crowded with people. Missed 90% of the sakura but luckily still able to catch blooming in fuji 5 lake but unfortunately it rained whole day hence missed the view of mt. fuji (Wasted room and onsen with mt. fuji view)

Only thing i will miss is the food, can randomly walk in and the food can still taste damn good. Beef is all over the place. Dont have to purposely go Kobe to try but if for the experience then its fine. Tsukiji market is really overrated. Kuromon is better and less "cut-throat".

The trains schedule can be very tricky. Look out for rapid or local train. Can be very confusing. So do plan buffer time to make sure to get the right track and train. Like others say the train is 99% on time all the time.

For those night-owls, the shops close fairly early even in tokyo. 9pm almost like dead town. So plan ur shopping early.
mugenz
post Apr 23 2018, 12:16 PM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Apr 23 2018, 11:16 AM)
byknye tempat u pigi boss. laugh.gif got buy nintendo switch anot? brows.gif
29,900 yen at bic camera! how u know i aiming switch? lol i didnt buy la.. i scared got region lock.
I went to this UFO catcher at shinjuku (Golden Gai) got switch which almost gonna drop. Wasted RM180 bucks trying to get it. Felt its rigged.

Btw for those got bitcoins, Bic Camera can use doh.gif

QUOTE(deodorant @ Apr 23 2018, 12:14 PM)
Up until 2016 or even 2017 I would've said "dafug are you crazy?" But this year Feb I went Tsukiji again (5th visit lol) and oh my goodness the place - especially outer market - is practically a tourist attraction nowadays. So many tourists walking around, so many shopkeepers calling out to them in English and Mandarin, I definitely prefer the place many years ago before it got so famous.
First time i felt jap being rude. Shoo`ing people queue right infront of their shop. Then only i get to know actually they are chinese people hired for the mainlander market.

Cheapest Sashimi don was 2500 yen which i can get a better one at 1500 yen in Kuromon.
The only thing cant find in Kuromon is the omelette roll (Really damn sweet and nice)

Luckily i got my sushi craving settled. If not kena potong there.

There is this store which they sell Grilled fish for just 500 yen (not typical salmon), its damn good. I asked for rice and he say dont have! wasted la!

This post has been edited by mugenz: Apr 23 2018, 12:23 PM
mugenz
post Apr 24 2018, 10:03 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(tohff7 @ Apr 23 2018, 01:34 PM)
My sushi experience was kinda horrible for this Japan trip. I went to Uobei Genki Sushi in Shibuya to try out since it has good review in Tripadvisor (don't want to wait so long for Sushi no Midori)

It's definitely cheap, but the sushi quality and taste was quite bad for me and my gf (not even decent in my books). More worthwhile to pay slightly more and go for a decent kaiten sushi restaurant
Didn't really plan my meals, we eat along the way. Like i say randomly walk in and see locals where they eat. I went to this sushi restaurant in Tenjinshinbashi, Osaka called Harukoma Honten, i see so many ppl queue then i just join in and turned out not bad. I googled later and its recommended by bloggers. I still haven't sort out my pictures, the tuna belly sushi is just 400 yen and fatty tuna belly is 700 yen. Superbly good.

Then kaiten sushi around tokyo is not too bad. Randomly outside of train station cheap and decent. Taste and quality definitely better than KL.

QUOTE(quadcube @ Apr 23 2018, 03:08 PM)
even kuromon is pretty bad IMO..Tsukiji was more like a tourist attraction than a market sweat.gif prefer Omicho market in Kanazawa, less "touristy"
Bro, cant compare to those non touristy market. Tsukiji = 90% same stuff

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Apr 23 2018, 08:29 PM)
because i am someone you know LOL! aSmo here la. Thought you buying switch.. So UFO catcher cheaper than BicCamera? hmm.gif
aSmo?? Dont know who la.. Come PM me your real name tongue.gif
Btw luckily didnt buy, i went to ask shops about japan units and apparently no region lock but malaysia and japan electric voltage is different. It might not even work and worst might explode if simply plug in.
mugenz
post Apr 24 2018, 10:15 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(shirley_andy @ Apr 24 2018, 10:06 AM)
I helped my bro to buy switch back to M'sia. He's using it just fine.
Damn, maybe the shop is trying to make me buy their unit.
I asked Bic Camera fellas but due to language barrier and i am abit worried.
But its really cheap, 29,900 yen around RM1000 - RM1100 where here is RM1250 bucks.
mugenz
post Apr 24 2018, 10:56 AM

hmmmm..
1,300 posts

QUOTE(Belphegor @ Apr 24 2018, 10:45 AM)
Please suggest another market since I am going there this coming June. I have already been to Tsukiji market last year February so I'd like to try out other markets.
IMO won't explode la, probably just the fuse will burn saja. laugh.gif
Thank you for the assurance. Gotta buy edi. laugh.gif
I thought Malaysia selling around RM1500 and above? I don't see any switch selling below RM1500 in any physical store. hmm.gif

So is Bic Camera selling at JPY29,900? brows.gif
I deleted the picture i snap for my friends. Bic Camera selling JPY29,900 with single color joycon or two colour joycon. Its cheapers compared others. I went Akibahara and Shinjuku Bics all selling same price.

Yesterday i was in Lowyat and i just simply pick a store to ask about switch. he said RM1250, just console itself,

This post has been edited by mugenz: Apr 24 2018, 10:57 AM

5 Pages < 1 2 3 4 5 >Top

0.1467sec    0.60    7 queries    GZIP Disabled
Time is now: 2nd December 2025 - 06:03 PM